You are here: HomeNews2016 07 06Article 453168

US threatens to cut over $500 million aid to Ghana

Read Comments Comments (203)

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

Yes, they are it again. How possible that there is still slave trade in Ghana?

• PUSSY KING. 7 years ago

WHERE THE ODWAN FUNU PRESIDENT,HE CAN'T DISLIKE AMERICA CARS AND GETS THEIR MONEY FREE.THE COMMENTS OF THIS USELESS PRESIDENT WHOSE COUNTRY CANNOT EVEN PRODUCE A LORRY TYRE HAS BROUGHT WOES TO AIDS GHANA GETS FROM US.IS MAHAM ...

• kabokabo 7 years ago

This is an indirect response to President Mahama s comment he made about the Ford gift ''I DONT LIKE AMERICAN CARS''
    They are saying if you dont like our cars, we cut 500 Million aid from America to Ghana be ...

• Sinclear 7 years ago

STOP MODERN DAY SLAVERY OF KIDS IN GHANA NOW

• Koj 7 years ago

I clearly remember like it was only yesterday when I took on a shoe-shine job as a child among others like a paper bag seller and other low income street hawking businesses. Well, no one forced me into those ventures, but I d ...

• Activist 7 years ago

You're totally wrong with your lenghty comment & far away from the the true issue.
    You ended being a partisan instead.
    This issue existed generations from all the way far back even before Ghana was renamed the Gold Coast.

Author:- Who Say Man No Dey.....
    Recalcitrant n highly disrespectful EC boss Charlotte has met her meter. She has now seen her smoothness level where is her corrupt love-boy jm to order the SC to leave his queen alone Man Pa ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

This child-labour thing has been with us as far back as Methuselah's age. It is cultural and it is economic. It has outlasted difference political regimes and as much as we all do agree that it is not a pleasant thing, it is ...

• Abrewa 7 years ago

Thanks for your top-up.
    On this forum you can see clearly that some us are totally blindly brainwashed politically in a courseless drifting direction & destination.
    He's just one out of the millions on this forum.
    The late ...

Author:- NDC DESTROYERS PARTY.....
    No wonder HON. KEN AGYAPONG said that maame alata traded her stinking pussy for her position. John atopahene mahama will soon reside in NSAWAM AS YOUR PEMENENT HONE FOR THE YOUR OF YOUR LIF ...

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

Old Soldier you are Malade, Sick in the head

• jojo 7 years ago

that's why we are where are now, it breaks my heart to see kids on the streets selling, if that is not slavery what else, the fact that it has been with us for a long time doesn't not make it right. shame on our leaders

You did the "child-slaving" thing so that you could buy yourself some food to eat. Do you know the number of children in the USA who go hungry everyday and American government doesn't take care of them?

What you and the ...

You did the "child-slaving" thing so that you could buy yourself some food to eat. Do you know the number of children in the USA who go hungry everyday and American government doesn't take care of them?

What you and the Am ...

• The Don 7 years ago

two wrongs do not make a right. Slavery in Ghana, and slavery in America are both wrong. America has many ills in its society, but that does not mean that if it has the power to influence certain backward behaviors in poorer ...

• NPPKWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

You are a stupid fool, and this is why. I did lay out the fact that child-labour is wrong and attributed its existence in Ghana to our socio-economic situation. The earlier writer whose comment said he himself engaged in chil ...

• The Don 7 years ago

Koj, I hope you are not trying to justify this evil act. We are not only talking about street hawkers here, but we are also talking about the young boys who are sold by their parents into slavery on the fishing boats. Having ...

Am surprised that you could even come to the conclusion that Koj is against the practice of child-labour and even supports wholehearted, without any reservation, American's threat to withhold aid to Ghana if the government do ...

• Otsibu Darko 7 years ago

What about the 'old days slavery' where they stole our people(young and old,)and subjected them to all kinds of wicked atrocities to build their country and still treat blacks in american like 'vermins or dirt', stealing our ...

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

Exactly so! This a hidden response. The president in my view, spoke amateurishly and the consequence is dire.... What the ambassador is saying if pursued will debilitating to our general economy earth. Governments should wor ...

Author:- Gyeeda, Sada, Suba,Bus Branding Woyome.....
    The first one to be caught for contempt is john Ford Mahama. The guy is a thief. He stole election 2012 by bribing Atuguba and Afari Gyan. He intends to do same by employi ...

• Mensah Abrampa 7 years ago

Instead of asking the government to account for the huge aid package you are building idiotic conspiracy theories. You get the government you deserve. Wise up!

• kodjo nyasani 7 years ago

Who is this stupid cat calling himself pussy king you have the effrontery to insult the president of Ghana shut up your dirty stinking mouth.You useless hooligan

• Slyster 7 years ago

Who the hell is the president? If he wants respect he has to earn it. I don't know what you guys see in this clueless president. All he does best is to borrow a nd borrow and borrow at extremely high interest rates there by ...

• Roots 7 years ago

Big Brother is watching you with 4 big red eyes: 2 front & 2 back!!

• lol the truth has spoken 7 years ago

And they act as if it's for their own good

Author: BENTA
    Date: 2016-07-06 08:30:31
    Comment to: NONSENSE! ! WHOM ARE WE GOING TO FIGHT?

You promised 200 Day SHS in 4 years. You were able to finish only 13. Where are the rest? You promised USD1BILLION for SADA in ...

• Brian Williams 7 years ago

What will help is involving the FBI to expose corrupt Ghana government officials who are stealing from the country's treasury and hiding them in foreign banks. Imagine what will happen if Obama takes a gift from a foreign co ...

• Mr piano man 7 years ago

Sia....imagine Mahama approving LGBT in GH. Idiots, always picking only the goods stuffs abt USA. Pick all their nonsense in addition ....sia

• Frank Toku 7 years ago

Are you insane? Why pick their bad behaviour? Some People Are really stupid. Go learn how to play the piano & g r the some sense in the musical cords

• Frank Toku 7 years ago

@piano man : are you insane? Why pick or copy their bad behavior? Some people are naturally stupid. Why would l want to do that which is not good for my well being? Is this what you are teaching your kids, if you have any?

• kabokabo 7 years ago

This is an indirect response to President Mahama s comment he made about the Ford gift ''I DONT LIKE AMERICAN CARS''
    They are saying if you dont like our cars, we cut 500 Million aid from America to Ghana because we support ...

• Derrick 7 years ago

It does exist in very subtle forms. Think about the many kids street hawking all day inspite of a policy of compulsory basic education.
    Take a trip to the fishing villages around the volta lake and you would be amazed. The g ...

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

If you don't think for us, we can't do it. We are simply incapable in bringing anything progressive in almost every aspect of our lives. If you didn't abolish slave trade, we'd still be fighting wars, capturing people and s ...

• Esi 7 years ago

Lmao!!!!!!!!

• Nana will win 7 years ago

I don't think you understand what the ambassador is talking about, you need to go back to class room. Just go to Afram Plains and you really understand what the ambassador is saying. Let stop stop criticize for the sake of po ...

• Honesty 7 years ago

They can not continue to have children just to use as farm hands. Every child has a natural right to life and education.
    Mechanisation of agriculture is the way forward.
    Stop chasing village women and drinking apieoo and sa ...

• Repugnant. 7 years ago

Ashantes have been slaves for far too long under their pseudo king and phantom kingdom.

It is about time they fully understood that Ghana is a country in which the supreme power is held by the people and their elected rep ...

• Esi 7 years ago

You have lost the plot.

• BERGER HAS NO CHOICE 7 years ago

ASHANTI WILL STOP IF OUR COLONIAL MASTERS STOP

• Charles 7 years ago

In a "Better Ghana" Adults will be working in jobs and children will be in school. The Anger of the US government is better directed at the failed Governments and politicians who just look on while the country deteriorates un ...

• Kofi Kyei- Baffour Kantanka 7 years ago

I just returned from Ghana to Canada on Sunday, I was there 3 years ago. The question that immediately came to my mind was "is there any gov in Ghana?" No more organic food, women and children suffering, not too many people l ...

• Rebel 7 years ago

Mr Jackson is right. Ours is a banana Republic, a nation that does not enforce its laws, policies and programs. Money meant for SADA to alleviate poverty to stop Kayaye, etc was blown, yet culprits are walking free. We have s ...

• Eagles eye 7 years ago

When Nana promised free education at the primary level to take our sons and daughters from the street,some idiots shit down this important pilicy.NPP introduce free SCH meals to encourage children whose parents cannot afford ...

• mr amin 7 years ago

Eagles eye, I second your comment let's kick the ndc out.

• Oburoniba Fitafita 7 years ago

Who pays for his tour around the nation just to campaign for re election ? He did same thing when Mills died and put the nation under financial stress. How long can would it take to exercise checks and balances over powers en ...

• Azure 7 years ago

Ambassador don't you think if your country and others stop exploiting the resources of poor nations parents of 'slave children' will not be so poor to sell their own children into slavery? Don't tell me people in your country ...

• The New Black Panthers 7 years ago

Next time the US will threat us with acid bombs like Hiroshima to wipe the entire African continent off the globe!!!!!

Do we still forget how they'd systematically wiped off the original indeginous Americans (the Red India ...

• MA16 7 years ago

This isn't a game of "this country threatened another country with war" this is "one country threatening another because they think threatening country thinks they are SUPERIOR" It is obvious the United States economy is bett ...

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

Sir you are a fool and ignorant. I guess you are happy living in your garbage and stench filled environment still blaming others for your situation after almost 60 years of independence ?
    Why do we need financial aid from an ...

• Obi Nim 7 years ago

Change your forum name to: Kwaku Bibini cos that fits your backward mindset quite well.
    Keep bleaching your brains too, not only your skin.
    Kurasini you're off the course!!!

• Abigi 7 years ago

Tell the US to take the aid off the table and we will keep enslaving our children. Because we are very intelligent people and do not need KKK money. Useless bunch of BUMS who sleep, feed with roaches and rats to be harvested ...

• dart 7 years ago

Foolish comment. What benefit do u derive from keeping ur mineral resources if you exchange them for money.

• dart 7 years ago

Foolish comment. What benefit do u derive from keeping ur mineral resources if you do not exchange them for money.

• Attu zongo 7 years ago

Very well said in proverbs ambassador.
    It's bcos of useless criminal corruption records and greediness amongst our corrupt national destroyers company ( ndc ) leaders therefore the floating voters support you very well for ...

• Traitor are you American ? 7 years ago

They are right some of you will just say anything and your quick to agree with everything just who and what do you think Americans are and why do you worship them

• onipanua 7 years ago

With the NPP the colonialist-America,the UK,etc with make a swift comeback to Ghana to take control of our resources and make Ghanaians poor.The NPP has always been the friend and poodle of countries like America WHICH CARE L ...

• yaaah 7 years ago

Onipanua

If this is the way u think then ur name should have been ABOANUA. the name unipanua does not befit the way u think. Aboa muuuu

• yaaah 7 years ago

Onipanua
    take a look at ur birth cert.ur family name on the birth cert is ABOANUA not onipanua.ur parents knew that when u grow u will behave like aboa and make unguarded statements. Now u have grown and u are behaving as pr ...

• j0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

When was the last time an UK neo-conversertive party spoke on behalf of NPP. 2 , When was the last time an Ex Aparthied and a segregationist spoke on behalf of other political parties in Ghana apart of NPP?

• Eagles eye 7 years ago

It is 1000 times better to be ruled under the west than our own incompetent and corrupt government.
    At least, we know basic necessities in life wld be provided and we can live as a real human beings.just take a look at our l ...

• NDC AKUROMFUO PARTY. 7 years ago

The author Onipanu, wo tori so wo kwa, think twice and stop fooling by talking nonsense and think for the well being of motherland Ghana. The country is not for the useless NDC Party.

Mahama is corrupt

• Deede 7 years ago

Who oriented him to be president?

• king 7 years ago

our greedy leaders use all those moni 4 themselves oooooo. Us gov't is better to put in better measures b4 sending those moni else u will still achieve zero goal this yr too.

Mahama is a bad leader,the whole world leaders see's him as clueless and opportunistic president.

• Really and after you've sung his prai 7 years ago

Come now you are a ball-faced liar, he will be elected again because of you and he knows it which why the statement made was that he sleeps well so don't lie now about where your loyalty stands and will continue to stand

• Dzunenyo 7 years ago

Yes Mr Jackson, you are welcome, there is no other ways helping Africans. Good gorvernance,Credible Electoral Process, Freue & Fair Elections,Transparent Administrations,
    Free Corruption, then more Supports for DEVELOPMENT.

• OFOSUAA 7 years ago

John Mahama is the worst culprit here bcos he packed sada with his family and cronies so they chopped all the monies meant for sada to alleviate poverty up north and curb kayayeism in accra and kumasi....john is too mean to e ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

No wonder NPP and its supporters will support the the arch-imperialist America blackmailing Ghana. THEY HAVE ALWAYS SIDED WTH THE NEO-COLONIALISTS AGAINST GHANA.Only the ill-informed does not know that America and its western ...

• RUTH 7 years ago

JOHNMAHAMA IS EXTREMELY dangerous to the country and the future of the youths...... Unprecedented dumsor, unemployment, unprecedented utility tariffs plus collapsing businesses, 8.7 billion ghc or 4.3 billion dollars in 2012 ...

• BMr Bond 7 years ago

Sir thank you feeding us with information we knew it exist.We do not know the exact amount the US provide to support the private but no private sector has receive money from our criminal hooligans thieves from NDC goons then ...

• Kootse 7 years ago

These Americans are evil. They are Devils bearing gifts with one hand and mortar bombs on the other. They have started their campaign to destabilise Africa so they can dump their military arsenal here to prop up their defence ...

• Finally a commenter with brains 7 years ago

Keep your affairs seperate this man has been showing a lot of so called interest in Ghana lately why ?????? (what about Ghana has changed that has peaked his interest so)

• Don't give us anymore money 7 years ago

Please cut it all off. Don't give us anymore money. We are no better for it. All this funding keeps us poor. We are always just waiting for handouts.....perpetual beggars....twea

• people Don't know 7 years ago

And yet the lazy idiots at the women ministry and those in parliament continued organizing demonstrators against Agyapong

• TM's 7 years ago

Brethrens this pressure to streamline our energy sector by allowing ppp participation in return for us aid isnt for our good. The commissioner is on for a course. They give with one hand and take it back with another. Pls do ...

• Tweaa dc 7 years ago

ONE HALF OF THE MONEY IS RESTIN
    G IN SOMEBODY'S FOREIGN ACCOUNTS OR HAS BEEN USED INSTEAD TO PUT UP THE NDC'S HEAD OFFICE. ASK ASIEDU NKETIAH.

• Obiba Broke 7 years ago

John Ford Dramani corrupt Mahama, your days are numbered. You purchased a pistol recently with intention to cause trouble. Your foot soldiers are planning to kill the supreme Court judges. Ghanaians are ...

• Heart 7 years ago

Charity begins at home, they should solve the problems of discrimination and child labour in their own back yard. How can they dictate to us on what is and what is not child labour. This kind of bullying should be stopped.

• Tet.. 7 years ago

They're not depending on handouts from us.

• Nii Okai 7 years ago

Yes, it may sound like the US is dictating to the government of Ghana or to all the people of Ghana including the so called opposition parties in hiding on this issue of modern slavery, but in reality the USA is pinpointing t ...

• you are one of the biggest types of.. 7 years ago

The US has a historical reputation which is that everything they do will always serve the best interest of themselves. How and where do you see that this is really about the best intetest of little black African Ghanian child ...

• j0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

Nothing wrong with that.

• Bentum 7 years ago

Please bully Americans go to hell with your money.In any case that money is just a small part of our inheritance.What our forefathers who were forcefully and painfully taken away from their land in Africa across the Atlantic ...

• Alhaji Abbas 7 years ago

This kind of aid to Africa to help the unemployed single mothers children and youth did not start today in Ghana ; the fact is that this donation is an ugly arm of democracy that the US as a nation practices because the US fo ...

THIS DONATION DIDN'T START MR MAHAMA TIME OK SO STOP POINTING FINGERS .

• Am for Ghana 7 years ago

This is not about cutting aid. It is rather sad to hear anoda country tell us what we must do to help our own people..So dnt our leaders think? If they dont, why aint we showing them the way by hittn it hard on them instead o ...

US IS NOT FOOL

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

The US can go to hell with its 5oo million dollars aid.Ghana can survive without that money and the government should not bow to the bully's blackmailing.Ghana is not a colony of America.Take your America!!!Ghana is not your ...

• ANTICORRUPTION 7 years ago

The looting of State resources is too much and is killing Ghana. Add it to the demands, please.

• omanba 7 years ago

America also uses child labour .In its agricultural sector children are used to harvest farm crops.What is America saying about that?This is the bully at its best.It is always dictating to poor nations to bend to its will.

• lol the truth has spoken 7 years ago

Wow you know about that too yep it's true

• Sam 7 years ago

oh my God, pls help redeem dis nation ghana from slavery

• Private Mensah 7 years ago

unlike the British clown who only comments on comical issues

• omanba 7 years ago

Well said America?Shame to you to back the bully to tell Ghana what it should do.America is also using child labour in its agric sector.

• It is of your own doing blame yoursel 7 years ago

You have not kept the affairs of Ghana seperate from America (united states of africa) & some have accepted this coveted status with horrific honor, why can't africa just be africa ? Why has it striven so hard to be just like ...

• ALUTA CONTINUA 2 7 years ago

REPARATIONS NOW.

$500M IS PEANUTS

• Johyeaf 7 years ago

We should be paying reparations and apologising to those who ended up as slaves. We will never get on until we recognise our role and resolve never to let it happen again. As you can see we are not even prepared to take slave ...

• Yaa. 7 years ago

Don't waste your money because Our president only encourage criminals in Ghana! The country is full of crimes. Armed robbery, drug dealers and all the evil under the sun. Hmmmm I blame ECOWAS. Ghana was peaceful country till ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

The American society is full of more evil things than Ghana.Use of drugs,gun violence,wanton killing of blacks by the police,etc,etc.Continue to love America and hate your country.SHAME!!!

• Chris 7 years ago

Onipanua you are one of armed robbers mahama has paid to comment on every comment. Read what Yaa wrote! She said There was peace in Ghana before ECOWAS. Armed robber Onipanua spare us your crap.

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

THE FOOLISH US AMBASSADOR DOES NOT UNDERSTAND THE CULTURALMILIEU OF GHANA.As a child who lsot his mother early. a family member took me, gave me a bed and some meals. I sold chew stick, sardines at railway station and in the ...

• Aggie 7 years ago

Children ares supposed to g to school

• MA16 7 years ago

Fuck it, just fuck it. Open your eyes, people! They are constantly threatening us with cutting aid for everything; first the terrorists they brought here, they said they will cut aid if the terrorists happen to get away. Now ...

• And what about the Saudis or India 7 years ago

What exactly has happened when unsuspecting Ghanians and Ethiopians ended up in Sadudi Arabia or India ? Did the Americans threaten them ? And suspose that they did well how would their loyal business associates take that ove ...

• MA16 7 years ago

In a case like the Nigerian/Indian one that you mentioned, yes, threats are more needed. But for this? This is an internal problem, one that easily go away if the government was trying hard. I'm angry with the fact that the W ...

• Oduro Senior 7 years ago

Yes, well said. This would send a ripple effect to our donors and abate the political noises on our media.

• DRAH DANIEL 7 years ago

GHANA OUR LEADERS DON,T CARE ABOUT WELL BEEN.ONLY ABOUT THEIR WELL BEEN.

• nana addo 7 years ago

China all the way

CHINA HAS MORE THAN 400 MILLION LIVING POVERTY STANDARD .

• Santo 7 years ago

Nana Oye Lithur must get to work. The program is enough. Move out with your staff to a frame plains, yeji, nzema area, Kumasi, etc. We don't need any reminder to sit up. It is sensible.

• kwame 7 years ago

Mr. Ambassador please don't close your eyes to the root cause of begging, slavery, fishing etc. It's poverty. If there is no electricity no investor and no jobs creation hence massive youth unemployment and poverty. Please in ...

• Kofi koo 7 years ago

so cut it. we are tired of your treat.

• Ernie 7 years ago

Beggars

• Veert 7 years ago

Ghana prosecutes drunks little theives so you will wait a loooong time mate for a REAL conviction in Ghana ....why not try and convict that Ameri power deal sheik and us his $150 million fee to help the children direct as if ...

• ERIC 7 years ago

USELESS ,CORRUPT MAHAMA FORD WILL JUST STEAL THE MONEY.

• PAUL 7 years ago

Very Clear. MAHAMA'S COMMENT ON US CARS IS NOW RESONATING IN OUR FACE. PRESIDENTS DONT TALK BY HEART. THAT STATEMENT WAS VERY VERY BELOW THE BELT.

• yaaah 7 years ago

Go ang look at ur birth certificate.ur name is ABOANUA not onipanua

• S.N Atiaja 7 years ago

this government has neglected so many pressing needs in the country and focused on infrastructure only ..and then they come and chant unprecedented achievement ...tweeeeaaaa what is unprecedented ...the US should stop wasting ...

• 3fo the carpenter 7 years ago

Nkwasias3m nkoaaa wo gh

• Pelicles 7 years ago

The US should cut the damn aid. We don't need it. It helps our leaders to be stupid and non-thinkers. We need leaders who will use their brains to digest issues and come out with solution. Aid, be it money or whatever shou ...

• pappoe 7 years ago

We don't need their useless money

• Golden Boy 7 years ago

please keep the money ,John Mahama and his NDC thieves will continue to chop your money and create a fake report to cover it, please we beg you!

• Dotse 7 years ago

The fact of the matter is the aid given to Ghana is just on transit basis. Once the money gets to the gov't, it is easily diverted to their private accounts in the US and Europe. Until we stop these naked stealing and stop wa ...

• kojo kromponi 7 years ago

If individuals engage in child labour is it the making of the government.In the U.S. individuals engage in terrorist attacks,do we blame the U.S. government for that?

• DOGO 7 years ago

My people please lets just accept that Ghanaians faulted by electing this bafoon of a president to lead our dear country. It seems like he and his government cant get anything right. They are so busy stealing and playing the ...

• Etse (Ho) 7 years ago

This is because mahama denied American cars and said is not good,
    That is why they are doing that

• Alhaj Kasun. 7 years ago

yes,our dead goat President won't listen, so u better go to hell,foolish American gays,u took from us our properties n now u urging us before u help us.

• truth 7 years ago

those children. After all is the politicians enjoying those money?

• igp 7 years ago

Hey Oman Ghana , Kwame Nkrumah would have told Rob Jackson take your foodstamp program and Ghana will look else where. Where in the world does a so-call friend tie tbe hands of a friend to the back in order to extract a deal? ...

• I'M BACK HOME 7 years ago

The USA should be the last to talk about modern slavery when that is what they are doing to the African countries indirectly. Let them take their BLOOD money and get the HELL out of our country.

• Yudzinia 7 years ago

I dont tynk only de government shuld b blamed here. Some citizens of dis country involved in de act shuld also reason n knw dat dey r destroying de lives of our children.... IF U WANT UR NATION TO HELP YOU, HELP YOUR NATION!! ...

• Hon Ntow Oduro.Assembly member, Poano 7 years ago

I perfectly agree with the US government.Even money given are not used for the required projects under the mahama's administration.They should put a stop to every grant and let them use their IGF for their projects

• Putin 7 years ago

Don't mind these parasites! They have been itching to get their hands on our national infrastructure for ages. That is the real slavery: work in Ghana, pay your light bills and an American grows richer.

• Asempa 7 years ago

Funny how the US Ambassador issues threats. This is a country that cruelty and stole hundreds of millions of Africans to build its wealth. Fast-forward: today, the US police and army shoots blacks in the streets without provo ...

• Johyeaf 7 years ago

You really need to be corrected. Americans did not steal or snatch people from our shores. Do some research. We ourselves stole and snatched our own people and sold them for a pittance. Ask the Chiefs, some of them are still ...

• Kumamang(fight for the nation) 7 years ago

I agree deeply with you..... Have you read the books; 2000 seasons;call me by my rightful name;queen pokuo;Anowa; you shd read them. There is so much in them with regards to greed, betrayal and power.

• asem 7 years ago

it is not a threat, we have to do the right thing. If this age and time there is slavery going on, what do we want them to say? they are always pushing money into our economy and we have refused to use it for the exact purpos ...

• Dessir 7 years ago

These NPP surrogate writers where do they find these non-sense;.Last article said fundings and now it is investment money soon it will be budget subsidies and if that don't surge it will be change to direct government loan

• shepherd 7 years ago

national determine criminals u have sent the country to a deplorable state each year u earn 15million from USA to support ur work in addition to taxes,oil money,borrowing we still receive pity money frm USA where is our money

• Ama 7 years ago

Politics in GHANA is all about MONEY, selfishness and lies, they don't think about the kids at all, nyame ahu muoooooo.

• CONCERN 7 years ago

"Why don't you call a spade a spade"? Why US government tie it to a reason such that; if Electricity problems are not resolve in a timely manner US will cut the $500 million aid towards electricity or energy sector?
    Quote fr ...

• Gambo 7 years ago

Mr Ambassador, your 15mil has gone into the pockets of our corrupt President and his cohorts in NDC that is the reason why you can't see any of training and enforcement. Hahahaha. Your money is gone.

• kotoo 7 years ago

Stupid President,if you don't have appetite for american cars,then,don't have appetite for american dollars.

• kotoo 7 years ago

The social system in advanced countries is differend from developing world.In advance countries like Germany,there is a system called monthly social allowances for every child.So you cannot practice child labour activities.

• kotoo 7 years ago

The social system in advanced countries is differend from developing world.In advance countries like Germany,there is a system called monthly social allowances for every child.So you cannot practice child labour activities.

• Basu 7 years ago

Charity begins at home, where does your so called aid goes? Private pockets,stop because it doesn't benefits Ghanaians.

• kotoo 7 years ago

Where would you be without Americans.Why do you want to go to America.Idiot.

• Victor Baidoo, South Africa 7 years ago

SLAVERLY CONTINUES IN GHANA BECAUSE OF THIS SAME THING: AIDS. AIDS AND LOANS WITH STRICK CONDITION HAVE RESULTED IN: 1. OUR LEADERS HAVE BECOME LAZY IN THINKING- they say: why think, after all we can get free AIDS and LOANS a ...

• Tony 7 years ago

US Ambassador were Ghanaian do not need US Aid first all we need is to stop these greedy, selfish and corrupt politicians deposit stolen money in West banks.secondly, refund all rejected US VISA fees which is billions o ...

• Enoch. O 7 years ago

Does Ghana really need AID from any Nation.....NO! The country that exports Gold, Timber, Diamonds, Cocoa, not to mention Academic Brains, etc, etc, Why is Ghana not represented in any of the fixing of prices on commodities, ...

• Joe Mensah 7 years ago

who cares if they cut their aid our children are hard working children not like theirs . many of us know how we treat our children and they don't have to dictate us again

• Johyeaf 7 years ago

You are one of those people opposed to free compulsory education because you want to use children as a source of free unpaid labour! You see your children as a way of making money at their expense by not letting them go to s ...

• Abenabakofi 7 years ago

No wonder because the scripture said, if a stupid fool lead the nation, that nation suffer. Due to the stupidity and foolishness of Ghanaian leaders our youth will suffer all the time . Greedy bustards,hypocrites and vampires ...

• Igp 7 years ago

This is the joke of the day: US Ambassador catches his ball. Another anti-African Obama appointee staunct. We know Obama neglected Africa compared to how he staunchingly defended Islam, China's outrageous human rights violati ...

• Igp 7 years ago

This is the joke of the day: US Ambassador catches his ball. Another anti-African Obama appointee staunct. We know Obama neglected Africa compared to how he staunchingly defended Islam, China's outrageous human rights violati ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Folks this serious allegation that needs investigation and probe.Since US support our private sector,education, agriculture and health and the US is treating to cut $500 million and $146 million respectively.am calling parlia ...

• BABANGIDA CASAGRANDE/NIMA 7 years ago

THIS IS THE MOST DUMBEST PRESIDENT EVER!, FOR SAYING I HATE AMERICAN CARS. AND U WANT HELP FROM AMERICA

• papa stev 7 years ago

Prez mahama is managing director of Ghana traffickers and hockers how can he jail somebody and who Will he jail Incompetent Fulani president

• Kojo 7 years ago

Ungrateful USA. Didn't we help "traffic" two gitmo detainees to Ghana?

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Go to the Afram Plains and the Volta Region of and see modern day 'slavery. I It is so shameful.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Mass a you have brought us this far through your cia that's why after all you have no peace you can retrieve everything and by his Grace we shall always survive, abba.God is GODand not america

• Sam Essuman 7 years ago

That's the consequences of undiplomatic comments by our President that " I don't like American cars". This is not a threat, but diplomatically coming at Ghana. More of such talks from the Yankees will follow soon
    Government ...

• Frank Toku 7 years ago

@Kwaku Broni: very sensible man. If after 1957 you are still dependent on aid, you must re-evaluate yourself & see what's wrong. Thank you Mr. Kwaku Broni. We need intelligent & analytical persons like you in the country

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

LET THE US CUT $1,000 MILLION IN AID. PERHAPS WE DON'T NEED THAT KIND OF AID.

• Vote Nana 4 Best Change 7 years ago

What a cursed president. All patriotic Ghanaians should restore our nation back to it's glory before it's too late by voting NPP n Nana Addo come 7th Nov 2016.

• Obaapa 7 years ago

Cut it cut it

• mahlon 7 years ago

Fuck the US they should curb the gun violence in the US, and stop being the world policeman.

• Agbeli Kumordzi 7 years ago

Nonsense America ambassador should be ashamed for him self by saying that after having enjoys slave money that his parents left for him
    That ambassador need a history lesson
    If Ghana government is smart enough that 500 mi ...

• AMOH 7 years ago

MR. AMBASSADOR...YOU MAY EVEN CUT FROM NOW..WHY DO YOU SEND MILLIONS...IF OF GOOD FATE AND DO NOT SUPERVISE THE SPENDING...? WE THE DARKY GHANAIANS NEVER BENEFIT FROM SUCH MONIES..LIKEWISE THE MILLIONS OF NGOS LIKE GLOBAL FUN ...

• Oboobay 7 years ago

The ambassador should have put GALAMSEY as one of the conditions

• SHAMO 7 years ago

THANKS AMBASSADOR ROBERT JACKSON FOR THIS MISSION TO STOP THE MODERN SLAVERY, AND ALSO ABOUT THE IMPROPER USE OF FUNDS TO HELP THE HELPLESS,AMERICAN ALWAYS LIKE TO HELP BUT WE ARE NOT GIVING THEM THE CHANCE TO DO JUST THAT. I ...

• Gbormita 7 years ago

time for reparation of slave labor.
    Hopefully, the oil companies begin to pay higher dividends beyond 10% for Ghana to move forward

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

Ambassador Jackson , nice try with your threat regarding this your " tied aid" money. If the US taxpayers have money to burn in " kleptomaniac republics" with visonless political and traditional leaders advised them it is bet ...

• Obi Nim 7 years ago

What a fucking bushman's name is this?
    Even your cocoa-ase English stinks just as your primitive name!
    When will you be civilized enough to be proud of your own pure identity?

• RICHARD, USA 7 years ago

Excellent PIECES OF ADVICE (not threats) from the Ambassador. This government deserves these strong words. This government is engulfed with SELFISH POLITICIANS who do little but unjustifiably EAT BIG. They hurriedly go for al ...

• RUTH 7 years ago

........ Hahahaaaa ide biiiiiiii Keke thieves in government bleeding our coffers empty..... JOHNMAHAMA IS EXTREMELY dangerous to the country and the future of the youths...... Unprecedented dumsor, unemployment, unprecedented ...

• John Spotlight 7 years ago

oh! so 15 million ayira?
    Eishhhhh....

@John Mahama - You really don't listen - do you? Your mama always complained you had stubborn ears.

• RUTH 7 years ago

........... Hahahaaaa.... JOHNMAHAMA IS EXTREMELY dangerous to the country and the future of the youths...... Unprecedented dumsor, unemployment, unprecedented utility tariffs plus collapsing businesses, 8.7 billion ghc or 4. ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

The USA should know that the NDC government think of looting state cash and rigging elections,apart from all the money they borrowed even aid for specific purposes ve been dirverted,I'm suprize the ambassador is mentioned str ...

• Bro Dan TRC 7 years ago

Bless people of the Nations of the world, dignified people of African, noble people of Ghana; what shall we say to this nonsense talk? Even Prism Death Ghana survived by the help of the Most High God!! Adom no di Ghana be tw ...

• Ray 7 years ago

Americans should go to Afghanistan and India and most part of the world where child labor exist, Children helping their parents on farms on weekends never means child labor. Keep your money and leave Ghana alone,America.

• KKD 7 years ago

Nonsense. This foolish American man should concentrate on stopping the police in his country from killing black people. These Americans always act holier than thou. Meanwhile their country is full of problems with black peopl ...

THIS GHANAIANS ARE NOT FILLING THE PAINS BCOS OF WE GHANAIAN ABROAD . GHANAIANS WORLDWIDE WILL STOP SENDING MONEY HOME IF CHOOSES TO VOTE NDC 2016 .

• Boga Listo 7 years ago

Slavery at it best. oooohhhh mother Africa(Ghana) when are we going to be free from these oppression

• mike 7 years ago

Please just do not give it to them if they do not do anything about the problem. Useless government

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

This is what happens when we depend on foreign aid for our development - we get told what to do by donor countries.

We must wean ourselves away from foreign aid and investment by exploiting our abundant natural resources o ...

• VOTE MAHAMA AND THE USELESS NDC OUT 7 years ago

Mahama is useless as when he was in his 30's to40's . Just Useless can not think well tomake good decision. Useless.

• k, no problem, a 7 years ago

This people. So if the child does not sell ice water what is he going to eat. There are very poor homes. They should study well our society befire they talk. Now they are goingbto kill the cocoa industry. Because all those ch ...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Oh so Ghana receives $500 million, another $500 plus $146 million and many other social reliefs/interventions evey single year just to be managed to help these sensitive areas but the government cannot do that. All Ghanaians ...

• Ali Maham 7 years ago

Mahama and his Government can't Prosecute Offenders of Human Trafficing and Child Abuse because those involved are Big Shot NDC members close to the Government. Mahama is destroying Ghana at all levels with his inefficiency ...

• Kotoua Selira 7 years ago

The embassador is 100% right and the NDC government should protect Ghanaian from being used as slaves in other countries.Please take a look at this videos
    1.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUMCTIlj6j4

2. https://www.youtu ...

• Makafui 7 years ago

Well said but I think US has more reasons to give than they are saying. I feel Ghana is even a slave to the US.

• Wisdom 7 years ago

Government needs to demonstrate competency with some bold initiatives.
    Here are some:
    1) A much published telephone number and web site where slaves can report their captivity.
    People who suspect slavery going on should al ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

Concerns raised here by ambassador Jackson are right on the money. Cutting aid to a social service sector is definitely the wrong approach to change the situation. The parliament of Ghana must be in the position to effect cha ...

• Kofi, TX 7 years ago

Then why do we still accept their aid? Am confused. It seems you are just being biased here. Just be bold and tell them to keep their money. Why with all the rich resources we still go and beg the same colonial masters you ar ...

• Kofi, TX 7 years ago

Then tell our stupid leaders to refuse the aid. It's as simple as that. Then they will not bother you. You can't eat your cake and have it. You have to be held accountable as long as you go for it. Ghana is independent and 60 ...

• peter 7 years ago

We are tired of your autocracy and threats, cut the aid and come for your GITMO TWO. Nonsense!

• Akwodaa Joy 7 years ago

Mr Ambassador, America can tell us what to do, OK. What about black and non whites being killed like fowls in your country? We Ghanaians don't like to deal with racist governments. What are you saying and more importantly doi ...

• Wadi 7 years ago

Election is coming , The politicians will give you the youth wee to smoke , akpeteshi to booze .
    After voting for them, you will see your SOOMII ....
    Mahama , Akuffo , all MPs the same .

The stupid guys will go out fig ...

• Janet - Tema 7 years ago

Mr Ambassador is that our thank you. When our President sacrificed to accept your terrorists in you have forgotten so soon. Have you forgotten the insults President Mahama received when the guimo 2 came. Don't you know that b ...

• Kumamang 7 years ago

Are they not the initiators of the slave trade... Shame on them to tell us to stop. At least we don't chain them and deprive them of sunlight and bathwater for days. If you ll put out our fire, have a bucket of water next to ...