Supreme Court orders EC to delete 56,000 NHIS registrants

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Prof Denis@ Diaso 7 years ago

The judges have spoken

• Johnny 7 years ago

Well done judges

• Omanhene 7 years ago

Supreme Court should not Dodge A GOLDEN MOMENT to ORDER NEW REGISTER.

• Truth is Justice 7 years ago

Thank God, the end of Mahama's corruption is near.

AUTHOR: GHANA MUST WORK ------Bigotry on Radio Gold&Muntie Must Stop Anytime you listen to radio gold and muntie , you only hear bigots making analysis founded on their bigoted minds. This is led by fake socialist like Kwasia ...

• facts 7 years ago

INCOMPETENCE promoted by corruption is all over, from the presidensy to the EC, etc. How can the EC, after hearing from the courts that there were faults in their systems, wait until today when they are instructed to clean th ...

• Joe Blocks 7 years ago

HURRAY? You should be laughing from the wrong side of your mouth if you have any idea about the law of averages.
    Most of them are from NPP. WISE UP!!

• DEEP THOUGHT 7 years ago

Still not too clear!!!

Author:- SOWOTUOM SOLDIER.......
    YOU ARE STUPID LIKE AMETOR QWAME,THAT IDIOTIC BEAST HAS GOT A BROKEN AS SOON HE HEARD THE VEDICT HIS VOICE HAS CHANGED AT ASEMPA FM. WE ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE STING ECZEMA SKIN KOKU ANYIDOHO ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 7 years ago

The EC should have not only read my article of May 21, 2016 but also acted on the seven-point action plan to immediately delete and register the names of those who used the NHIS cards to register as ordered by the SC on May 3 ...

• Joe Blocks 7 years ago

NPP just shot themselves in the foot. The highest number, 7000, out of the 56,000 comes from the Ashanti region, NPP STRONGHOLD. Now who is more savvy in this game? Hahahahahah.....

• Stoway 7 years ago

Myopic minds and ignorant party leaders and supporters do not know the intellect endowed Ms Osei and modern way of solving demanding problems.
    Africa and the world will soon celeberate the best ever young female electoral co ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Tweeaaaaaa

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: GHANA MUST WORK ------Bigotry on Radio Gold&Muntie Must Stop Anytime you listen to radio gold and muntie , you only hear bigots making analysis founded on their bigoted minds. This is led by fake socialist like Kwasia ...

• Slyster 7 years ago

There are women younger than her who hold phds but because they are not ndc members they couldn't get that appointment. Do you research before you talk nonsense.

• MUGU YARO 7 years ago

THIS IS NO VICTORY, AS THE REAL INTENTION WAS TO GET THE SUPREME COURT TO ORDER A NEW REGISTER, HOW MANY OF THE 56,000 ARE EITHER NDC OR NPP? THE NPP IS NOT ATTRACTIVE, THIS ORDER WILL NOT WIN THE NPP POWER. NANA ADDO IS A DI ...

• AMUZU 7 years ago

This is about Ghanaians electing their leaders NOT NPP'S Victory.

• ADANKO 7 years ago

Bravo, Supreme court. Tell NDC that they are not above Ghana, The law must be abided. Next time NDC should think before they act.

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Abu Ramadan has no evidence,he could not provide the name of a single person who registered with the NHIS Card so finally his case is foolish.Thank you.

• Ataa 7 years ago

His case is not foolish. If it becomes evident that EC did not present a full list of those who registered with the NHIS card then they are rather in contempt of court. Abu has at least succeeded in getting approximately 5600 ...

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Please read the directives again. That is a new application. It will be dealt with it. Secondly, what happens if someone goes to the polling station to vote with an NHIS card on elecyion day?

• NUNA 7 years ago

What has Fulani Ramadan gained in all these besides futility? these 56,000 NHIS registrants might even be NPP people and when they are expunged who loses? even if you split the numbers into NPP and NDC which of the parties do ...

• kwabena Wiafe 7 years ago

Ignorant can we leaves in USA here use our green card or insurance card to vote?

• NUNA #1 7 years ago

Call Ramadan Fulani or Fuseni, he still did the right thing and it's worth it. And you can't take his citizenship from him. And he is not a member of any of the parties mentioned in your comment, and whichever party losing or ...

• Kwapps 7 years ago

The current NDC'S EC should be ashamed of itself. Bawumia said the fools don't read and if they do they don't understand. They should be dragged to court every time. Idiots

• Arthur T. 7 years ago

thanks SC

• ABBEY 7 years ago

Osei takes orders from Mahama not the supreme Court.

• Ataa 7 years ago

Hide behind your PC/ mobile device and go blah blah blah. She takes orders FINAL orders from the SC. I thought the President said he did not meddle in such affairs or?

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Clear and straight to the point directive. No ambiguity at all! So, why twist it?

• Adjei 7 years ago

They judges know osei will not obey.

• KOFI AMA 7 years ago

WHAT,ARE YOU MAD?.THEN SHE WILL BE IN JAIL.DO YOU UNDERSTAND SC?.YOU NDC LAWLESSNESS PEOPLE ARE THE MOST STUPID PEOPLE IN GHANA EVEN MAHAMAH IS NOT ABOVE THE LAWS OF THIS COUNTRY.LET OSEI REFUSES TO OBEY THE ORDER AND YOU WIL ...

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Good Job SC

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Good job Charlotte Osei,you have complied with the 2 Supreme Court orders.Those who wanted to discredit your ability are now ashamed.Thank you.

• Wofa Martin 7 years ago

The question is assuming that the Affected registrants do not have other valid forms of identification such as drivers license or passport, does it mean they have disenfranchised per the court ruling? Let's ask ourselves how ...

• ok 7 years ago

if you have no other identity somebody has to be a witness that you are a ghanaian. simple. ok wofa martin

• King Yobo 7 years ago

The system allows for people without national ID or passport to register if they can get two people to testify that they are in fact Ghanaian.

• Ataa 7 years ago

That brings to question the number on the EC list. How many people have drivers license, birth Certs, passports? Clearly I would think the majority of people registered with their NHIS cards because it was easily available at ...

• Cobby 7 years ago

If u don't delete n there comes any inconsistency during the election all those concerned including Harlot Osei will be perpetually jailed!!!!

• Nortey 7 years ago

Sack her for wasting National Resources in this case.
    We didn't have to go to court. Even market women were telling her to delete the names

• Koloto martu 7 years ago

Do you think, deletion can be made in such a way that it will affect and disenfranchise people in strong holds of one party to loose massively and that will silence us all? The fact is that decision of court rather will pave ...

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

I said that once the EC has complied with the 2 Supreme Court orders,the case is closed.In Supreme Court,the judges look only at the process and procedures of the law so the numbers are irrelevant.Thank you.

• Hanson 7 years ago

Sack Charlotte osei now.
    Wasted Ghanaians resources

• NUNA 7 years ago

Ramadan has only crippled NPP. Who is the loser now?

• Kanawu 7 years ago

The shameless crook Charllote Osei submitted only a fraction of the NHIS names knowing she would be asked to delete. Shameless referee bent on stealing the mandate for non-performing Mahama.

• NARTEY 7 years ago

THIS IS WHAT THE SC SHOULD HAVE DONE WEEKS BACK WHEN THE PLAINTIFF APPEARED BEFORE THEM. THE SC ASKED THE EC TO PRESENT A LIST OF PEOPLE AND ALSO GAVE THE PLAINTIFF THE OPPORTUNITY TO FILE THEIR CHALLENGE BUT NOW TELLING THEM ...

• King Yobo 7 years ago

Out of the 56,000 NHIS registrants, 38,000 has already been expunge from the register using EC guidelines for removing undesirable persons from the register. You see, the EC has already been doing what it needed to do. The SC ...

• Kwapps 7 years ago

You father is a waste of time enemy of progress

• DOMINGO 7 years ago

What prevented the SC from making this ruling last week after the EC filed their list? A merry-go around which is casting the SC in a bad light as an entity bent on wasting every body's time. Why are they inviting the plainti ...

• King G 7 years ago

EC said the supreme court has not given them new order to delete the NHIS card holders in the register rather they will use existing procedure to delete the names. is the same thing SC has said again, i wonder why Npp and hi ...

• HOLY.....BOLGA 7 years ago

WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THIS AND THE EARLIER RULING? THIS IS JUST A WASTE OF EVERYBODYS TIME..

• Steve, Koftown 7 years ago

Total waste of our time and money! Abu, don't follow the whims of people who make you feel you're somebody when they need to use you to achieve their purpose and dump you later and call you names like pepeni! Beware of them! ...

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

I just can't laugh any longer.Abu Ramadan should call Mama Water for evidence.Thank you.

• Ama 7 years ago

Fulani man causing confusion

• Earl Jones 7 years ago

If the EC really really has malicious intentions, it is well within its power to submit names of those who registered with NHIS cards for deletion to come from NPP's potential Voters.
    We will never know but if this should h ...

• Ben Jason 7 years ago

that is what the idiotic Abu ramadam want and he get it. NPP don't think before doing things. now how do you know if those names are all coming from NPP stronghold? very smart EC boss! very soon NPP would be laughing in the ...

• George 7 years ago

That's it?Only that 56000.

• Gbormita 7 years ago

How would these Ghanaian citizens vote? How would there register?

I thought these people should have been rather asked to prove their identities in order for them to vote. It is illegal to disfranchise some Ghanaians. The ...

• Akuffo Addo Retirement Party 7 years ago

Waste of time. Time should be spent on bringing us together, being cordial and collectively moving Ghana forward.

• Frantic 7 years ago

Talk about the many holidays we have on the national calendar if you are really serious about time wasting.

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

i thank God that the sc has taken this decision.i entreat the ec to follow the directive.let us all respect the sc order so that people do not have course to complain of the register again.long live our country.

• Osei 7 years ago

Now poll researchers should take interest in knowing how many of these so called foreigners will be successfully re-registered. Those who will not be able to make it could be deemed as foreigners, under age, dead, lose intere ...

• fjjfdxv 7 years ago

NDC paid judges. Frauds!

• KK 7 years ago

Period, the court has spoken, let there be peace now. Everybody should go and campaign. If win fine , if lose no blame game. We're tired.

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Victory for rule of law.Those who wanted to discredit the EC boss,Chalotte Osei have failed again.Shame on them.Thank you.

• #THENEXTSUITISCOMING# 7 years ago

So does Lawyer Ndebugri understand what the EC meant now? Does David Annan understand what the EC meant now? Does Charlotte Osei and John Mahama both understand what the EC have been saying since 2014?
    Now, the real numbers ...

• Kasa 7 years ago

MAGANA YAAAAKARE BAM

• maxim 7 years ago

Masa,this be foolish case and waste of time

• Papa Akwasi 7 years ago

Npp guys don't simply understand the judgement. Sc is saying the EC should delete 56ooo out of the supposed milions who registered with nhis card.and you are jubilating.The 56000 may mostly come from npp stronghold.Think of ...

• Ataa 7 years ago

Don't mislead people...take them out but give them the opportunity to register again. Clearly you know as much as I do that the 56000 could not be the entire list. If there is proof that EC presented a list that was woefully ...

• EFO YAO 7 years ago

WE NOW KNOW THAT ONE CANNOT REGISTER TO VOTE WITH AN NHIS CARD PERIOD.THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE THIS VERDICT AND MOVE ON. NO IFS, BUTS, WHEREFORES.

• Abdul-mumin Abdulai 7 years ago

Soon the EC will be cited for contempt. What has the EC got to benefit from all this legal tussle if not for a sinister motive.

• Ataa 7 years ago

I agree..if it becomes evident that there are still names on the list who registered with NHIS what happens? I strongly believe that the list should have been longer than 56000.

• jo 7 years ago

So sc ruling if someone is living in remote villages and doesn't have any Id apart from nihs card how can he vote.if someone voted with nhis card and now he is leaving abroad how can he come and register,come back again to vo ...

• Stoway 7 years ago

Such people will need guarantors yo confirm their identity. This is already being dine gor many years.

• paul 7 years ago

The last time I checked the NDC interest have rather prevailed in this ruling, it is embarrassing and disappointment to Abu Ramadan and his pay masters the Npp and his brother in law Bawumia.

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER NOW 7 years ago

The Supreme Court has ordered the Electoral Commission (EC) to take immediate steps to delete the names of all unqualified persons on the electoral roll as stated in its earlier judgment delivered on May 5, 2016.
    This includ ...

• black magic 7 years ago

hi there is indian spritualist in the wold call for all spritual problem money charm locket
    and knws that this year is for the lord lucifer a lot will happen in 2016 just calculate
    666+666+666+6+6+6 give the answer is ...

• Yahaya Hamidu 7 years ago

Supreme Court with supreme judges giving a supreme ruling in the Supreme interest of mother Ghana. God is with you judges.

• kkk boy 7 years ago

hahaha no comment

• malabo 7 years ago

Good, this is what the nation is waiting for, they should punish them heavely to set an example for the stuborn youth who are recently insulting elders because of politics ,

SC judges have spoken. Questions to ask the judges. No telephone numbers and no address of the NHIS card registrants so how do they expect EC to contact them for reregistration?

• Al Hajj AAA Rashid(OH. USA) 7 years ago

Kofi,having read almost all the contributions, I can bet that you are the author of the most intelligent contribution here. Thank you.

• King 7 years ago

Majority of the nhis registrants are from Ashanti and Eastern regions and for that matter it's gonna affect npp in one way or the other. The most important is to sell your message and stop unnecessary litigation period

• Papa Akwasi 7 years ago

Kofi perhaps by electronic and print media.To me there is nothing good about this judgment. Absolute waste of Ghanaians time.

• True talk 7 years ago

Supreme judges never helped this country at all,56.000 people register with NHIS cards?and supreme court agreed? Please don't let us do this to our selves.

• yag 7 years ago

It is true they had it wrong from the onset.They should not punished citizens unduly. Instead they should request anyone who know any foreigner in the register to submit evidence for deletion. Voting is not compulsory so some ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

HAS THE SC THE AUTHORITY TO DISFRANCHISE A GHANAIAN CITIZEN BECAUSE ONE REGISTERED WITH A DOCUMENT NOW DECLARED VOID, BUT WAS VALID AT THE TIME OF REGISTRATION?

• Aponkye B33 7 years ago

Fucking Georgina wood is my next target. Okay with adwoa sarfo Ursula samia and co

• Layimomo 7 years ago

What evidence can we give as to whether those who Use NHIS card for registration belong to one political party? I don't think NDC/NPP will delight in this ruling. We should not forget that the use of the card was a bill pas ...

• Jojo 7 years ago

The most dangerous thing in Africa is when an educated illiterate is hype in the media or by some useless criminal political party. The end means is the poor less educated people suffer more. From the basis at which Bawumiah ...

• CRITICAL OBSERVER 7 years ago

Will re-registration of NHIS card registrants add more votes or reduce the votes of any of the political parties? What a country full of jokers!

• EC has lost big time 7 years ago

when its coming then its doing

• Kijo 7 years ago

So how were people registering in the previous elections prior to the NHIS cards?

• Kwapps 7 years ago

Hahahaa, they don't read, and if they do, they don't understand. NDC and their EC stooges have been dealt a knock out blow, no more bloated register in the Volta region

• Whatever 7 years ago

RAMANDAN LOST

• Judge No 1 7 years ago

An action backed by legislation was taken. Several years down the line the SC claims irrespective of the law, the action mus be reversed. This is a dangerous precedent. What happens in civilized societies is going forward, ...

• seidu 7 years ago

infact president mahama hv pateint for dis fulani man called ramadan. npp askin of deportin of fulani ppl n u ar here addin salt into de injerin

• nana 7 years ago

I will send the government of Ghana to court for wasting our money on the e c for the registration of the NHIS

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 7 years ago

Am completely baffled by what the plaintiff is saying. The question is the number of people who used the NHIS did they all belong to NDC? So what victory is the confused guy talking about ?Did these people just got up and de ...

• jonny 7 years ago

where was the law? and who sai
    d it was NDC who used nhis cards? Abu Ramadan has just won a useless victory.

• Nana aaron 7 years ago

After NHIS what next? Will the deletion make the register credible? Abu Ramadan answer me.

• Freddie 7 years ago

So a total 56 thousand Ghanaians are going to be disenfranchised because of some fucken supreme Court rule.