You are here: HomeNews2016 07 01Article 452000

Ghana cautioned to end modern slavery or risk losing U.S. aid

Read Comments Comments (36)

• Sinclear 7 years ago

how to have slaves what ashamed

• paapa mate 7 years ago

Is you crazy? Learn what from arabs specifically?

• Oburonewewu 7 years ago

They do not understand the African culture and they want to destroy it for some dirty money. Fuck them Americans.
    If helping your parents to feed and clothe you in your free time is termed slavery, then so be it. they can sh ...

• Kojo Jackson 7 years ago

There is more modern slavery in the United States of America than in Ghana. There is the worse form of every crime in America than there is any part of the work.

Solve your problems before trying to impose your foreign cu ...

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

This is serious. Is the report true or I'm I missing something. where are the slaves??? OO!!! maebe the whole country or perhaps continent has been enslaved. What a shambolic Country, sorry Continent.

• KKBK 7 years ago

These US aids comes into the country but only a few enjoy it. US should stop giving out this moneys because its not been used for what its was intended to be used for...

• Dessir 7 years ago

Gov't should let all NGO n the country accounts for their income and pay taxes on it.US AIDS don't benefit the country.

• OFOSUAA 7 years ago

All Ndc Voters Should Examine Themselves To See If They Are Very Normal At All. Its Undeniable That Ndc Strongholds Are The Poorest Of The Poor In Ghana So No One Needs To Be Told Of The Urgent Need For Development In Those A ...

• OFOSUAA 7 years ago

NDC STRONGHOLDS ARE POOREST YET VERY TRIBALISTIC TOO MUCH....All Ndc Voters Should Examine Themselves To See If They Are Very Normal At All. Its Undeniable That Ndc Strongholds Are The Poorest Of The Poor In Ghana So No One N ...

• Life 7 years ago

Insulting our Volta brothers and sisters does not help. You push them into the arms of the manipulative NDC gurus

• Dessir 7 years ago

Rubbish,crappy ridiculous comment:They are the poorest stronghold because Ashanti's had disinfrachised them period of long time:Now they are benefiting g from the fruit of our nation And for the record e of them are the Bevi ...

• Bentum 7 years ago

Does Ghana really need AID from the US with conditionalities?In my candid opinion,the so called AID is just a fraction of what the US takes from ordinary visa applicants.They find flimsy excuses to refuse 1000s of visa applic ...

• Frustrated Ghanaian Living Abroad 7 years ago

Bentum, obviously you or a family member or a friend was denied visa but your argument is off base and I will explain to you why. If the visa fees were as big a revenue generator as you claim to be, they will be begging Ghana ...

• NPP = NANA PROMISES PARTY 7 years ago

No one can control this. I repeat, no one, not even America. What is going on is more of a cultural thing that has been there since God-knows-when. It is fueled by cultural practices and poverty.

It is not usual within th ...

• RUTH 7 years ago

.... It's JOHNMAHAMA whose thievery and corruption is destroying Ghanaians..... Sada was northern controlled under northern president yet they stole all monies for the program.....

The practice was still there when your Agyekum Kufour was president of Ghana. This is a systemic problem that is linked to culture and poverty. If you want to politicise it, then apportion some of the blame to your Kufour for ...

• JOSEPH ANTWI BOASIAKO 7 years ago

The worst illiterate is the political illiterate. He hears nothing, sees nothing, takes no part in political life. He doesn't seem to know that the cost of living, the price of beans, of flour, of rent, utility bills, shool f ...

This is a problem that NPP didn't solve. Remember how long NPP was in power? 8 years!

• LOL 7 years ago

Most of the slaves are NDC supporters so its ok.

• Daniel ,Sami and Ocansey and kooberna 7 years ago

We are already slaves ,what slavery again do they want us to stop .Africa is already slave under the western world

• black magic 7 years ago

hi there is indian spritualist in the wold call for all spritual problem money charm locket
    and knws that this year is for the lord lucifer a lot will happen in 2016 just calculate
    666+666+666+6+6+6 give the answer is ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

THE US CANNOT DICTATE TO ANYONE ABOUT HUMAN RIGHTS. BLACK PEOPLE ARE STILL KILLED LIKE ANIMALS IN THE USA POLICE. UNTIL THIS IS STOPPED, THE USA HAS NO MORAL ROGHT TO LECTURE ANYONE.

• The Don 7 years ago

US is making great efforts to curb police brutality. Are you saying that because injustices happen in the US, that they have no right to criticize the Government of Ghana on efforts to alleviate Child Slavery. Two wrongs do n ...

• paapa mate 7 years ago

A-1. A point well made, plus they brutalised it too. This is a sick attempt to pass the buck and blame others.

However, we all moving up. someone is compiling a list. Compile a list also. There is nuff information - compa ...

• ANANE Faust's ( Italy 7 years ago

Our cultural heritage is to travel and fine something,abrod or home.the akan tribe believe in this. In Ghana if you leave home to abroad,you become a hero,.

• Dessir 7 years ago

John Kerry announces in which American channel: And where those child were trafficking to and how many by American statistic:

• OWUO MPO SURO. 7 years ago

IT IS LONG OVERDUE,EVEN THE PRESIDENT IS A FORMER RAPIST.PUT AN END TO IT BECAUSE OUR PRESIDENT DOESN'T LIKE AMERICA FORD WHY YOUR MONEY?.ASK MAHAMAH IF GHANAIANS SEE YOUR AID.THEY SHARE IT AMONG THEMSELVES ANYTIME IT COMES,G ...

• Yaonono 7 years ago

How come foooooooooools are always beating the wise?

• Abargnah 7 years ago

hmm,its a shame,the caution is good bt re we in our selves? what is our coat of arm?freedom and justice ooh no,its rather slavery and injustice, we re still ruled by those gays.

• No Mercy 7 years ago

The Ndc Government Mahama is mismanaging Ghana very bad.Corruption 65% of The People are suffering.

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

Ghana should caution America for the latter's support for terrorism and terrorist groups all over the world.America itself is a terrorist nation.It recruits,trains,finances and equips terrorists to overthrow leaders of natio ...

• ghanani 7 years ago

Yes America gives aid and later on turn around to use it to blackmail nations.Are children not being used on farms in America to harvest crops?Does that not amount to child slavery.I blame our leaders who have messed up the c ...

• SHAMO 7 years ago

THE MP'S IN GHANA ARE NOT DOING THEIR WORK RIGHT WITH THE PUBLIC BUT TO THEM SELF. SELFISHNESS LIVING ALL THOSE CHILDREN RUNNING AROUND DOING NOTING

• Iddrisu 7 years ago

Good observation made by the USA. I think US can still support us to come out with practical and realistic measures that can end this unfortunate practice. The kids need education for a prosperous future. They need education ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 7 years ago

Nonsense is America government made we Ghanaians suffering since they destroyed Dr Kwame Nkrumah government
    Is about time we put our resources together build our own nation than taking one million dollars from America ev ...

• asem 7 years ago

the government is busy looting what has anti slavery got to do with him? it is none of his business