You are here: HomeNews2016 06 26Article 450727

Charge 1% of cost of Hajj into Zakat Fund – Mahama proposes to Muslims

Read Comments Comments (53)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE! P33 ) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: JAB-------**--guys are you crazy? You guys are fools that's why you call yourselves "young Cadres". If this is not a bribe what will it be? Guys don't talk about Peduase lodge, a gift from Ex- Libyan President to Kuff ...

• Ghana Man X 7 years ago

Zongo shall continue to show NPP the usual RED CARD !!!!

• Calculus 7 years ago

Hajj was a disaster under NPP government. Many slept with mosquitos and rats before some could travel to Mecca. Bawumia a Muslim could not do anything about it. Even a Muslim was a vice president but it was disgusting seeing ...

• Y2000 7 years ago

Under Mahama's leadership:

1. Ghana is issuing domestic Government bonds at 24.5% yield (interest rate). When government issues a bond, it means she is borrowing the money, expecting to pay back the borrowed money and the ...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Fool Addae

• aikins 7 years ago

There he goes again,

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

The Supreme Court is confused about the whole thing, they messed up big time from the beginning and now looking for a way to turn around. This case is the silliest one i have ever seen , why should the NHIS card bearers go th ...

• MAKA-A-MAKA. 7 years ago

SHUT YOUR PROTRUDING WATERING MOUTH UP,OFUI BA.MAHAMAH HAS STOLEN MORE THAN MOBUTU SO WE NEED A REVOLUTION NOW.THE SUPREAME COURT JUDGES INCLUDING ATUGUBA ARE DISAPPOINTED IN MAHAMAH'S CORRUPTIBLE GOVERNMENT SO THIS IS NOT TU ...

• aikins 7 years ago

Did you say mahama will continue to fight corruption ? Funny world indeed

• Ghana Man X 7 years ago

I agree with u 100% BBC has said it all

• Anwar AKA Panji 7 years ago

Is we in upper west part of zakat fund

• JK PUTUPUTU 7 years ago

Aikins, I find your lack of intelligence very disturbing. What is so corrupt about the President's speech? Your lack of knowledge and partisan politics has poisoned your small brain. It has also clouded your analytical judgme ...

• aikins 7 years ago

I have more than your entire family put together, even that bitch mother and the drunkard father in Nsawam prison you respect them.

• Malik 7 years ago

Everything will soon be taxed including air. Meanwhile all the taxes have been stolen by the greedy bastards. Muslims should protest and refuse. This is unfair tax aimed at a specific religious group.

• Mufti 7 years ago

John Mahama will push to the mismanagement this fund. Who told the Prz Mahama you force people to pay "Zakat?" If I have removed my Zakat and am going to Hajj, you will take another Zakat from that again. In Islam you can't d ...

• a hayye 7 years ago

The President has suggested good idea for the Muslim community.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

Three men want make phone call from Hell to remind to their relatives about its harsh conditions Their Nationalities were American, Italian and Ghanaian. So they decide to go to Devil who is the boss. So the American made a c ...

• obi 7 years ago

Zakat funds is not maid for the funding of others education pls each and everyone is poor now a days and end help

• Odikro 7 years ago

Check all the huhudious taxes and charges Ghanaians pay under the corrupt John Mahama. Mahama is just another name for taxes in Ghana, right?

• obi 7 years ago

if u use Zakat monies to fund someone is Haram ,and even no need to us state money to send some one to perform HAJJ aba citizens taxes ?

• Zawumia 7 years ago

The majority of Muslims shall continue to support the NDC

• Togbega 7 years ago

Pelpuo too has doctorate degree? Hebei! I can now understand why everybody aspire to be a politician. After all you don't have to study, write any exams, prepare a research proposal, do any field research work, write a disser ...

• NPP = NANA PROMISES PARTY 7 years ago

Ghanaians are now suffering from "AND" (Acquired Nigerian Disease).

Everyone has a doctorate degree. Very soon, even the school dropout Kweku Banku the stomach journalist will also get one and he will be known as Dr. Malik ...

• Sham-una 7 years ago

Laudable idea mr. President. Thank you .

• ugly akufo addo 7 years ago

we know u hv gool intentions for Muslims communities in Ghana n will never let u down our President

• aikins 7 years ago

Now I can understand why you always insult NANA ADDO DANQUAH AKUFO ADDO, tribalism.

• Hamid 7 years ago

This is what we need. I support the president 100%. What we muslims need most is higher education and jobs so that we can participate fully in the workforce.

Compare this idea to that of Bawumia who has no plan for us and ...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

how can arab terrorists headed by fake prophet deceived and brainwashed black people into thinking god only exists in one saudi arabia.

foolish zongolese not building good houses for themseves but spending good dollars t ...

• Anwar AKA Panji 7 years ago

GhanaMan allow us to follow what Allah won't us to do. why always attacking us pls.

• Don Lam 7 years ago

You are lucky real ID's are hidden on this platform, like we, Muslims would have shown you what we are made of. That we don't take such foolish comment of yours about 'HAJJ" for granted...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

You haven't answered any of the issues i raised that makes black moslems and christians stupid.

Why will the true God who created every human decide to give his true religion to a single group of people which only spread ...

• Ras 7 years ago

Govt shd rather include the hajj in the national budget, so that the trip will be sponsored fully by GOG.

• Golden Boy 7 years ago

Do you hate Muslims that much? individuals and organization pay into this fund not taxes, %1 charge of hajj cost means extra cost to the people

• Musah 7 years ago

Mahama must go! His solution to every problem is more tax. That is a recipe for disaster. Please, vote him out!!

• jor 7 years ago

Maha has given up on state funding education. Now asking organizations rather to tax their members. If going to hajj cost $5000.00 now it will be more

• nana kwame 7 years ago

Muslims are fools oo,dat x y Christians will always rule over u ppl,u tink upsyd down,even yr stupid religion x making u guys mad even more,x beta to b a hari Krishna dan b a filthy Islam slave.always supporting negative syd, ...

• Musah nashiru 7 years ago

Kwame or wat ever u call ur self, U R A SENLESS ,foolish stupid man fr making dat remark abt Islamic religion,.U CANT B A POLITICIAN BCOS U SPEAK FRM UR ANUS B4 u think.dos ppl who remarked abt Muslims supportin ndc is barely ...

• abebs 7 years ago

Mahama, the tax collector. Everyone can be president if it is all about taxing. No innovative ideas.

• Xorla 7 years ago

I pray for all the saints commenting on this topic, Amen

• Musah nashiru 7 years ago

Wat gut hav u to talk abt Muslim after u wer entwined in de foolish spell of lordina in abondoning ur birth religion Islam.all ur farmily members r Muslims , YY ONLY U?????

• fake 7 years ago

Ghana is down to drain bcoz of foolish Christan. Bcoz u think everything is about this world. Hell fire await you fool.

• Don Lam 7 years ago

GhanaMan, or whatever you call yourself..you are very lucky..that real identities are hidden on this platform..I SWEAR TO THE ALL MIGHTY ALLAH, we would have shown you what Muslims are made of and they don't take this your fo ...

• mohammed was a terrorist 7 years ago

u idiot what can u do? get away with your useless fake terrorist islam.

ghana is free talking nation. you can move to live in shariah governed pakistan or saudi arabia and leave ghana in peace.

• ada 7 years ago

You need that money for campaign in this election. Do you know what goes into zakat? for you to propose sources of funding. You are displaying that you are indeed munaafiki

• MAKA-A-MAKA. 7 years ago

HE IS STEALING LIKE MOBUTU.HE WILL EVEN TAX GOD[ALLAH]WORDS.MAHAMAH IS A SHAMEFUL PERSON WHO NEEDS NOT TO COME NEAR WHERE OUR COFFERS ARE.SOMETIMES IT IS THE GOVERMENT WHO HELPS THESE PEOPLE THEN HOW CAN THEY GIVE OUT MONEY I ...

• ALEX ALASCO 7 years ago

when did the zakat fund hire president Mahama as its consultant? cheap political comment.

• BlackBoy 7 years ago

Okay Ghanaians please help me answer these questions.
    1. Why is Mahama bringing up such an idea at this time?
    2. Who regulates the flow of cash to this account?
    3. Who regulates the disbursement of funds from this account? ...

• kojo 7 years ago

nice idea but the muslim community should not heed to it. the reason being that, this ruling party will borrow from it and they will never refund the money. SADA was setup in 2010 under the late prof mills administration to b ...

• Aha 7 years ago

good idea but may not be consistent with principles of zakaat in Islam, as zakaat is 2 and half percent on one's properties that has been acquired for a period of one year. The hajj money is therefore not qualified as Nisaab

• Abdul 7 years ago

So Mr President all that you know about governance is tax, they should tax them so you will go and collect for Germany cars , you are not serious

• osman tle 7 years ago

pls dont attack Islam, muslems submit them self to one God unlike cristians who worship jesus cross and belief in trinity. muslems follow Jesus and his teaching than u disbelievers, read your bible well, san john jesus said i ...

• YAS 7 years ago

Good idea meant for Muslims to help themselves to achieve higher education instead of putting Arabic teachers on government pay rolls. But like every thing else in Mother Ghana, I hope the selection is going to be base on mer ...

• milky 7 years ago

Mr. President, there are a lot of serious matters at heads you need to looks into not this, please