You are here: HomeNews2016 06 12Article 446949

Men to blame for failing marriages – Otabil

Read Comments Comments (78)

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

This man is not really normal. What education has he?

• APONKYE 7 years ago

We shall soon see Otabil walking along the streets with bags full of rubbish. Someone should rush him to Pantang hospital.

• Ben Jason 7 years ago

whe men went to otabil for advice about their marriage, he said to then that its evil spirit that is disturbing the families! so i will pray and break it for you. now that people begin to realize that his prayers are all fake ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

you are rather insane, man learn how to respect your elders. Can u insult your father? Repent

• Kojo 7 years ago

You are getting insane. Man learn to respect your elders. Can u insult your father?

• Concerned 7 years ago

Otabil obviously have a good woman who is supporting him like a good woman should so he thinks every woman is like his. His comments doesn't recognise or praise good women but seems to suggest all women have the same characte ...

• Kid 7 years ago

I respect Pastor Otabil a lot, & I believe he has a profound influence on our society ,,I think he got it all wrong this time ...Every marriage is different ,,he seems to be referring to his marriage ,,How can it be the husba ...

• Nana Asumadu 7 years ago

I agree wd u every marraige is different and should b judged on its merit . He has painted every man wd d same brush.

• Saint Ghfuo: Mediocrity Stinks!!! 7 years ago

Young women who have no respect for men but want to be with a guy with some money. Quick pregnancy and single.....lol then she begins to hate men and if the offspring is a female......the cycle.continues

• Kwabena Danso, Gbawe-Accra 7 years ago

Everywhere sentence in this story needs rebuttals and time is not on my side but in a nutshell i can say that Otabil will gradually break all marriages in Ghana with this kind of teachings and eventually render these women in ...

• Ajo 7 years ago

Rubbish read what he said! He didn't say all!!! More husbands are at fault but there are also wives who don't do the right thing!

• j e wilson 7 years ago

This is good than talking polities

You have every right to disagree with him but I think calling a man of God to be not normal is way above the line.

• Mr ROMANO. 7 years ago

THERE IS NO MAN OF GOD IN GHANA . THEY ARE ALL FAKE AND MOST THEM ARE BANGING THEIR CHURCH MEMBERS .

• lejend 7 years ago

Mr Otabil is nothing more than an ispirational speaker period. We are all men of God.

• Willie Dubai 7 years ago

Please show respect,if you disagree with him doesn't mean you have to insult him.

• Kojo 7 years ago

look at You, why do you know?

• Kojo 7 years ago

look at You, what do you know?

• Berea 7 years ago

Otabil needs to undertake an objective view of this. You need to understand the context of today's life of RIGHTS and EQUALITY. This is part of the issue. I would respect an objective view and not a subjective one. You are ...

• auffo addo retirement party 7 years ago

A paragon of bunkums.

• Create,loot and share 7 years ago

This man knows what is happening in every house in Ghana.

• Husband 7 years ago

Dr Otabil, you got it wrong! The order was given to the man, but it was the woman who first ate the fruit, and subsequently gave it to the man. Women are the main causes of broken marriages these days. They start it all immed ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

Nonsense you just want to oppress women! Shame on you!

• Miloboy Akara_Garu 7 years ago

may God bless you for that message

• NOBODY 7 years ago

How does a pastor who does not monitor marriages across Ghana or who has not conducted any studies on why marriages fail in Ghana come out making noise that men are mostly to blame for failed marriages in Ghana? Is Pastor Ot ...

• Samirt 7 years ago

This Pastor is wrong big time,every thing in marriage is mutual but just saying it's all from the men is totally wrong.Yes I agree parents should never push their children who they should marry allow them to make their choice ...

• NOBODY 7 years ago

I agree with your comments. I believe the Pastor will reach more than his congregation if he were to keep from using generalities to paint groups within society. He has good points, but they need to be tailored according to r ...

• PKB 7 years ago

Women of these days

• Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

As you can see, there is no dispute here. Men are the ones who are given the VISION for a generation. Not women.

Sincerely,
    Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah
    Deliverance is necessary if you are UNMANLY and EFFEMINATE

• NOBODY 7 years ago

You're a man of deception for thinking that only men are given vision. People like you misuse the bible to subjugate women to serfdom. I'm sure there are more women in this world with better vision of things and life than you ...

• Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

Clearly, you can't read properly. The assumptions you made are clearly a reflection that you don't love truth and are used to spreading lies about men of God.

You are manifesting a "MAD" state of mind. I told you, you are ...

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Why don't you teach me how to read, you quack Apostle and a Man of Deception? You do not even understand the very book, the bible, that you love to use to deceive others. Crooks like you prefer to see the general public act l ...

• C4 7 years ago

You might have 5 children and only 2 of them are biological yours if you find out they send you to juju man to kill you what kind of wickedness on some part of women

• Roland 7 years ago

Worry not about juju. They do not work.

• Paa 7 years ago

Rev. Otabil obviously didn't have a good relationship with his father. Every now and then he tells his congregation some horrible things about his father in the name of a moral lesson. Otabil's bitterness against his father's ...

• Divine Order 7 years ago

Agree!!! Sometimes, one's experience in life can make him or her very subjective and bias.

Marriages do not fail solely because of men's shortcomings. What's the purpose of women? To be helpmates, hence, when women fail to ...

• Kobooh 7 years ago

Sheer nonsense being propagated by an ignorant man. The danger is that the gullible woman will use this as excuse. Similarly, the ignorant pastor should preach that teachers are to blame for failed students? How then can o ...

• asem 7 years ago

thank you, but tell the ladies to educate themselves not to sit down and wait for rich men to marry them

• Mike 7 years ago

Its true....The man is the head of the family....He is also the spiritual head of the family....The man must pray for the family...the woman is a helper...

• Mike 7 years ago

Maybe that still works in Ghana. I live in the UK and I do not think it works in Ghanaian marriages anymore. Until Duncan-Williams and pastor Chris had broken marriages they would have said the same.

• lankwei 7 years ago

It takes two to tango and there is no smoke without fire!
    To intimate men are, invariably, to blame for failing marriages, is absurd!

• Jtettey 7 years ago

Mr Pastor try to put things in balance.It is wrong to blame men alone. Failure of marriage can be only attributed of guilty of responsibility.

• Fox 7 years ago

The Blackman is using the Bible to deceive his fellow blacks through manipulation. Yes, the Bible is real, no doubt. However, the black man is taking advantage to dupe others. A typical example is the man above. Stop your gab ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

There are four types of sex in a marriage:

Kitchen Sex:
    This is at the beginning of the marriage; you'll have sex
    anywhere, anytime, any room. Hence, in the kitchen.

Bedroom Sex:
    You've calmed down a bit, perha ...

• motion 7 years ago

This man does not know what he is talking about. He should only be grateful he had a good wife to marry and stop telling us what he has no knowledge about.
    If he were in the shoes of some men he would have understood that l ...

• Hope 7 years ago

OTABIL LEARN FROM PROPHET TB JOSHUA. TO BE A CUSTODIAN OF THE MYSTERIES OF GOD YOU SHOULD KNOW EHAT IS GOING ON IN THE WORLD.

• HONOUR OUR FATHERS 7 years ago

In one breathe, the preacher is telling us he has a bad father and in another breathe he is telling us to teach our children to respect who? Pastors? And DISHONOURS our fathers because they had challenges and fell short of ex ...

• nana addo 7 years ago

Otabil is a con artiste. By saying this he is worming his way into the hearts of all the gullible women in Ghana.
    This means more tithes and donations to the church for prayers for marriages to succeed.

• Dr. R.R. Baidoo, USA. 7 years ago

Dr. Otabil is right. Marriage and for that matter every relationship trives on mutual respect. Disagreeing with this means you have lost it. Your marriage is on the rocks.

• Tei Kubi. USA 7 years ago

Please stop generalizing failed marriages on gender bases.Marriage problems may originate from both isles of the Union. That is exactly what it is.

• Malcom Bawa Akumbugle 7 years ago

Pastors you got it right,Prophet Muhammed taught us to married women who are religious and Men who religious this are the people who believe in destiny and willing to change it through prayers, hard and taking their reposibil ...

• KK 7 years ago

Yes most of these people didn't understand his message. Otabil is 100% and unless you are biblically inclined you won't understand him. All these guys are just talking about earthly marriage. If u marry someone based on his o ...

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Men and women get into marriage and they are both responsible to keep their marriage alive.Sometimes the problem comes from the men just as well as the women.Thank you.

• Praprabo 7 years ago

A statement like this should be grounded on empirical research. In today's world the temptation is to say things to please women, a phenomenon some women loathe and detest and consider it as patronizing them. Otabil should co ...

• Myself 7 years ago

Not only for failed marriages, But for all the problems in the world. For the wars,corruption every where including the church. Men have abandoned their leadership responsibilities. If women refuse to work for a few days the ...

• Truth 7 years ago

I respect Pastor Otabil but I disagree with him on this issue. The issue of marriage and problems associated with it can't be generalized. As a counselor, I treat and address each and every situation differently. I made simil ...

• JM 7 years ago

Pastor Otabil some women do.

• JM 7 years ago

Pastor Otabil may I ask is Jesus or God a man. If your father threated your mother badly don't blame all men.

• Pk 7 years ago

Marriage is a choice. Men should be responsible for their choices. Pray for directions if you have issues. As God has placed men as head of the family. Whoever finds a good wife finds success.

• KK 7 years ago

Unless you are spiritually and biblically inclined you won't understand his message. It's not that Otabil doesn't know women also have their own faults in marriage but what he is meaning is the core responsibility. When a co ...

I AM SURE OTABIL BLAMES GOD WHEN HIS CHURCH COLLECTIONS GO DOWN! LET'S HOPE HE DOES NOT TURN HIS UNIVERSITY INTO AN INDOCTRINATION INSTITUTE.

• Alex London 7 years ago

Otabil I think you are very poor in human social relations despite your Doctorate degree and high profile character within Ghanaian Society. You have seriously exposed your ignorance in the subject of social science.

• Kwabena Danso, Gbawe-Accra 7 years ago

Sorry I meant every sentence

• kwadwo frimpong 7 years ago

God bless you.

• Natural 7 years ago

Very insightful,grt lessons out there!!!

• Red Cock 7 years ago

It isthese pastors and counsellors who are destroyimg marriages because they wont hesitate to blame everything on men and women always think they have no role to play in a marriage.If a man is neutral or a bit bad a good woma ...

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Correct - a lot of them are immoral, messing around children here and there. They fit get involved with their kids upbringing and then are surprised when they end up old, lonely and sad!

• dan 7 years ago

I have never liked a lot of your preachings but this one hits the nail right on the head. Many of my colleague men may disagree with this preaching but it still remains a fact that majority of the stake in holding a marriage ...

• For the where 7 years ago

This is absolutely false. What kind of preaching is this. So what is the responsible of women in marriage?

• kwesi kwatia 7 years ago

I don't see anything wrong with what he said.what a lot of us don't seem to realize is that,he is using a biblical principle to teach what responsibility is about.The Adam and Eve principle can be likened to majority of marri ...

• Omanba Kwame 7 years ago

Finger pointing will not get men to heaven,or obtain eternal life. But,the command in Matthew 28:19 - 20 will.

• Lyn 7 years ago

Understanding this article is very important. This is truth. God bless you Ps. Otabil

• bonney 7 years ago

more of this Pastor

• still rastafari 7 years ago

i disagree but thanks for the advice

• still rastafari 7 years ago

some women are....but thanks for the advice

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

I don't agree more or less with Otabil the woman, Eve should have consult, the husband about what God said to the husband before eating the forbidden fruit in the Garden. ( Genesis 3;2-3) The word of God says the two shall be ...

• peace 7 years ago

a lot ladies are hanging around with the sole aim of marrying rich guys ...but ask them whether they willing to help these guys when the misfortune comes ?
    Marriage is a vocation but it has variations from tribe, region, rel ...

• peace 7 years ago

marriage counselors we beg, always do not forget that, no matter how we adopt the western culture but there is still small African mentality in us, in your judgmental jurisdiction perspective do consider how your grandparent ...