You are here: HomeNews2016 06 08Article 445814

Chaos as Afenyo Markins’ client arrested in court over $400k

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

What the lawyer did was obstruction of justice.They guy stepped out of the court room so can be arrested by law.

• Acidic Flagbearer 7 years ago

You Afenyo-Markin, you yourself should have been arrested on the spot for extortion of money from ADB.

• kabokabo 7 years ago

Ghana is now lawless Isn't the same airport they carried 3 million dollars through to Brazil?
    Why arrested and confistacated an amount of 400K?
    World is watching us

• 21st century 7 years ago

You can go truth the airport with money declared to the due authorities not hidden

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Don't expose your ignorance. Money follows due process before it leaves the country. If he had gone through the process, no one would dare touch his money. You would have to declare the source of the money during due process, ...

• RAS BO 7 years ago

HE IS FULL OF FOOLISHNESS

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

NDC SMUGGLER NAYELE AMETEFE AND ALLOTEY JACOBS WERE MADE TO GO THROUGH VVIP SECTION AT KOTOKA TO AVOID DETECTION OF THE HUGE AMOUNT OF DOLLARS THEY CARRIED

• www.owscr.com 7 years ago

Learn to build your own solar cells panels for first time build

• ras 7 years ago

Wait till it happens to u.

• Angela 7 years ago

They have probably used tye money and have no means of giving it back, that is why they have arrested him so they can prolong the case

• Pontius Pilate 7 years ago

That is an awful lor of money to be carrying about on internationial trips. Did he declare the money to immigration officers ?
    It would be interesting to know the judge's reason for upholding the petition.

Or is anybody m ...

• John 7 years ago

Immigration officers all over the world would suspect something illegal if you carry such an amount on you when traveling.Why shd Afenyo Markins handle such a case?Is it bcos of his share?NPP shd talk to this guy.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

That is what Ghana has become,the judicial system,the corrupt judges will always release the person or the money confiscated from the criminals.

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

$400k is less than Ghs 160k. Woyome stole Ghs 51.2M and he has a lawyer. There is nothing to suggest that he got this money illegally too. Imoro Alhassan is walking free on our streets with Ghs 900k to pay. Ataa Ayi also had ...

• Davidt 7 years ago

Idiots

• uncle 7 years ago

Everybody has the right to an attorney...

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Usually, the money is not seized for good! He has to pay a heavy fine for concealing the funds which is definitely above the $10,000 International law limit, before the money is release to him at another day.
    I believe this ...

• Neutral Zone 7 years ago

U smell urself. LOL.

• Davidt 7 years ago

The Jidge is an idiot

• Kwame USA 7 years ago

DRUG money

• Ay3ka 7 years ago

This corrupt individual, who also doubles as an MP, employing his usual legal 'gymnastics' routines, to get this obvious money launderer off the hook!
    Juxtapose this 'open-and-shut' case with that of Sammy Crabbe, and decide ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Oh Ghana where is the Rule of Law? You took the money from the person,he has gone to Court and arrest him within the Court premises.Is Ghana becoming a Lawless Country?

• Kwasi Asamoah 7 years ago

Once he stepped outside the court room, he could be arrested. Please note that he was arrested at the court premises but not the court room. Learn the law before you make your comment otherwise you will look stupid

• AMANKONA KWASI, BEREKUM 7 years ago

But what was his crime for the arrest???

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Ask the writer....

• BB. 7 years ago

Probably for carrying the money without declaring and paying taxes on it. If he was caught outside no judge will let him go without him paying a huge penalty.

• kum 7 years ago

It's already a lawless country.
    The judicial system has collapsed.

• Osei Kwame - London 7 years ago

Afenyo always with money stories. I'm beginning to suspect him now. Very sad, Ghanaian politicians!!

• Ama 7 years ago

He is a brilliant lawyer that's why clients request for his services.

• sam 7 years ago

Afenyo is a top coperate lawyer that's why his clients are big. coperate lawyers always deal with financial issues.

• EDEM 7 years ago

Even those who assisted the drug lady arrested in London were set free in Ghana. Why treat the man like a criminal for carrying money. How many of our traders don't carry more than that amount in Ghana. Release his money to h ...

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

I believe lying to Customs and Immigration Officials is a crime. What did he say about the money on his embarkation forms? Question. That may be the reason why the money was confiscated and the reason why he was arreste ...

• GHANAMAN 7 years ago

Afenyo Markins, so you have already finished the chopping the 'edzeban' from ADB and you want more from cocaine barons. After that you buy your way into Parliament, a place reserved for the decent and noble. This man must be ...

• Hallmaster 7 years ago

It appears most of our MPs are engaged is full time jobs outside parliamentary duties. If they cannot devote themselves 100% to their constituents, then they should resign their positions. If the constitution allows it, the ...

• RAYMOND NASH 7 years ago

BUT THE MAN WAS NOT EVEN ARRESTED AT THE AIRPORT WITH DRUGS, SO DOES CARRYING A LOT OF MONEY MAKE YOU A DRUG DEALER?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

RAYMOND NASH, please, what is the minimum or maximum amount of cash one need to carry flying in/out Ghana?

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

You declare if it is above $10,000, This is internal law and applies everywhere.

• S, Majeed 7 years ago

An order of a court is an order and must be respected. The law and order enforcement in the country has realy put the state into a banana repulic.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

These lawyers want to re-write laws and orders in Ghana.

• ABOLO KPAKU 7 years ago

Since the money involved was dollars the judge took 10% of it. ($40,000)

• sa ad 7 years ago

And where was NACOB when Ghana took USD3,000,000.00 to Brazil? And became a laughing stock by the international media

• KKD 7 years ago

Age yo Marlins is a hungry street thug masquerading as a lawyer. Tweeeeah

• Crackadoddledooooo 7 years ago

Did the man declare he was carrying $ 400,000 out of the country to Ghana Customs at the airport and what was the source , and what was the use and the destination of the $ 400,000. There are FX regulations that have to be f ...

• john 7 years ago

the minimum amount to carry is $10000 and need to be declared and failure, consification,

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Confiscated on site, if not declared officially. But need to be returned with a fine; Once the fine is settled you are good to go with your money ok..!

• Photosy 7 years ago

No right thinking person knowing the laws governing anti money laundering will allow this to happen. No one above the law or below the law is allowed to even carry up to $10,000 or more. I am totally disappointed in the judge ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

Who the hell travels with 400,000 US dollars in cash? Is this money meant for the money-strapped NPP for their campaign?

Someone tell the so-called Lawyer Afenyo that his client was not arrest for money laundering. He was ...

• Doctor Taabea 7 years ago

did narcob arrest the officials who flew 4 million dollars to Brazil? nonsense.

He should learn from Kotiboto K.T. Hammond.

Why didn't he have the money in the form of a cheque, just like K.T. Hammond did when the disposed of the drill ship like people sell tomatoes at Asafo Market brought the booty ...

• JM 7 years ago

Rule of law and human rights is killing Ghana.

• BONTIKILLER 7 years ago

Where is our country going to? STONE AGE? why de sudden disrespect for rule of law? Are we in autocracy now cos de intimidation is getting too much. GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND AND HELP US

Who the hell travels with 400,000 US dollars in cash?

He was not arrest for money laundering. He was arrested because he is suspected of dealing in drugs. Period! Go to bed!

By the way, what are the rules governing ho ...

• SIKALE 7 years ago

There are some people who are making uninformed comments on this news item. When you fill immigration forms at the airport, you are asked to declare on the form if you have more than 10,000. If you answer "No" and you are sea ...

We have too many people in Ghana who are just stupid as hell but think they know it all. Unfortunately, some of these fools are "educated". Call them the "Educated Fools".

• Omanhene 7 years ago

law does not matter.

• Francisca 7 years ago

Where from the 400,000 US dollars? Have you given that a thought? If you care to know, anything in excess of 10,000 US dollars is subject to be seized by the state.

• kum 7 years ago

Francisca, have you ever travelled with more than 10k dollars before? I think we have too many incompetent officials working for the state.
    Now if you are a resident in the country you're flying, 10k dollars is given to you ...

• philip 7 years ago

yes it is

• Etsey 7 years ago

tHE TWO SHOULD BE ARRESTED

• Johnson 7 years ago

GHANAWEB you like using old pictures of political figures too much.

• ZEBILLA BOY 7 years ago

How do you convince the upcoming generation that education is the key to success when we are surrounded by poor graduates and rich criminals?

• Charles 7 years ago

NDC has captured NPP's campaign money and now NPP's eyes is red. Where are the NPP lawyers? Effa Dartey, Kwame Akufo, Egbert Faibelle, Nana Bediato, Gabby Okyere Darko, Philip Anderson, Ursula Owusu?

• sam 7 years ago

for God sake let stop this cheap journalism and politics. Afenyo Markin is a lawyer and this doesnt mean that he should be brought into this kind of issues. we happy to tarnish people reputations.

• OYIWA 7 years ago

Terkper and Mahama clearly are panting like a fish on land for that money.
    This is what happens when thieves parading as politicians run a country into the ground, desperation becomes the order of the day.

Did the man declare the huge sum of money he was travelling with? He wouldn't have been arrested otherwise;and a court ordered that the money should be released to him? Sometimes I wonder if the Human Rights Court protects th ...

• KWADWO 7 years ago

WHERE IS THE $10,000 DOLLAR LIMIT LAW?

• KWADWO 7 years ago

AND THE JUDGE ,A GOAT JUDGE???

• MAHAMA 7 years ago

NACOB is looking for money to help boost JDM campaign. This will die out because we are aware of how bias that security institution has become lately.

• Kwame USA 7 years ago

What law says in Ghana that one can only travel with 10K?

• KWADWO 7 years ago

KWAME USA,DO YOU CARRY $10,0000 OUT OF THE USA ?

• Kwame USA 7 years ago

In the USA the limit is 10K by Law...

Does Ghana have a similar law? Just because USA have a 10K limit when traveling does not mean Ghana have the same laws!!!!!

The maximum is 5,000 US dollars. This chap had 400,000 US dollars, 80 times the permissible amount.

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Ghana Customs, Currency & Airport Tax regulations details

Currency rules

Currency Import regulations:

"Local (Ghanaian Cedi-GHS) and Foreign currencies: Residents and non-residents, up to USD 10,000.- or its equivale ...

Ignorant fool, stop selling your ignorance on here. I guess you are one of those yahoo Ghanaians living in America who are as dumb as hell but think they know it all.

Go to the US Embassy website and read what the restric ...

• YF 7 years ago

There is no limit to the amount money one can take in or out of the USA, HOWEVER ALL amounts exceeding $10,000 MUST be declared to US customs. Amounts up to $10,000 can be carried in or out at will (no need to declare). Ghana ...

• Slick 7 years ago

Only in GH ppl talk trash...Mayweather and the rest travel with hundreds of thousands of dollars. Now people can't be rich anymore? Only drugs makes people rich? It's a shame, maybe Trump should be arrested because he's a bil ...

Another dummy. You cannot enter m nor leave any port of entering or departure in the USA with 10,000 US dollars. Mayweather can have whatever amount of money he wants on him and so far as he is not leaving or entering the cou ...

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

To loose 8-15kg just starve for 9 days.
    Do not buy anything from this fella.

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

IF THIS MONEY WAS LEGIT WHY WAS THE MONEY NOT TRANSFERRED THROUGH BANKS? LET US HEAR WHAT THE NACOMB HAS TO SAY FIRST WHY THIS ARREST WAS MADE. GHANA IS BECOMING A DRUG HUB AT THE PORTS AS AS WELL AS MONEY LAUNDRY HUB. THAT' ...

• Wisa 7 years ago

Israel laryea , your wife louisa is sleeping around with Michael nyinaku, now you know so what are you doin about it , hahaha ...

• Joey 7 years ago

Mahama is a fool and idiot.

• Red Cock 7 years ago

Very stupid so where are the drugs or they don't know the law.Foolish morons,in any case there is an order to release his money ,they should just respect the court order,confiscation indeed.

• SIMPLY GEORGE 7 years ago

There is nothing like celebrated solicitors in instances when the law reinforcement agencies need to do their job. One could be acquitted and discharged on one charge but could face other charges. lt don't really matters whe ...

• koffi montreal 7 years ago

Ghana ,my motherland ,land of freedom and justice where not a single judge nor police can got up and say enough is enough,law isn't working ,the laws the rules,what a shame people who so-call themselves educated are messing u ...

• Luze 7 years ago

Too known Makins, now you know that leather pass khaki.

• black magic 7 years ago

THIS IS THE ROYAL TEMPLES OF INDIAN HIGH SPRITE
    Powerful Money Talisman.
    MONEY BELT
    MONEY CHAIN
    BUSINESS LOCKET OF CONTRACT
    ATTRACTING CUSTOMERS
    This talisman is very strong and powerful as there are many rituals and ce ...

• kweks 7 years ago

Afenyo you are fortunate its not you yourself been arrested. Allow security to do their job. Just ensure he is not mishandled.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

The Judge is definitely corrupt. No wonder the US UK etc don't trust Ghanaians one bit. The Judiciary is CORRUPT to the core. Rotten If I may say. Rotten

• BB. 7 years ago

Why would a person be a member of Parliament and a practicing lawyer at the same time. Isn't this a conflict of interest issue.

• YF 7 years ago

So in Ghana you can be an MP and still RUN (...not just own) a private practice, business or company. No wonder the system is so corrupt

• gym 7 years ago

What is wrong with our judges.Are they there for the rich .how come somebody carried $400k through the airport.