You are here: HomeNews2016 06 06Article 445143

Black Stars shouldn’t expect high bonuses – Jon Benjamin

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Blazeifire 7 years ago

Look this man is not part ghana business so who is he to talk about gh issues can the gh ambassador in UK talk about UK business......I dunno why Ghanaians tolerate nonsense like that

• BHONO HOLLAND 7 years ago

GHANA AMBASADOR TO UK SAY SOMETHING TO UK FOOTBALL ABOUT RACISM DISCRIMINATION,OR OTHER THIER DIRTY TACTICS,WIL SEE ONEWAY TICKET TO KOTOKA,COLONY DONT START OOOOHH

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Ok, idiot,let us pay them millions while we suffer, You NPP clowns complain about anything that will save us money. PAY THE GREEDY BASTARDS MILLIONS WHILE WE SUFFER. Whatever happened to patriotism?

• MAD COBRA 7 years ago

What patriotism in Ghana are you talking about you are a joke.

• Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 7 years ago

OUR PLAYERS ARE NOT PATRIOTIC. HOW MUCH BINUSES DO CHILEAN, BRASILIAN, ENGLISH, FRENCH AND GERMAN PLAYERS GET? INFACT, HOW MUCH DO PLAYERS IN EGYPT, SOUTH AFRICA, ZAMBIA GET FOR PLAYING FOR THEIR COUNTRY? GH PLAYERS ARE SWOLL ...

• KWAA 7 years ago

Mr Benjamin,it could had been a very noble idea to represent one's Country internationally.But not this Ghana.Why should footballers sacrifice their sweat, represent Ghana for free,only for politicians to steal even taxes fro ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WEEPING MORE THAN THE BEREAVED AND JUST LIKE A MURDERER WHO TURNS UP AT THE FUNERAL OF HIS VICTIM. HE PRETENDS TO CARE ABOUT GHANAIANS YET STILL SUCKS GHANAIANS WITH CONTINUOUS INCREASES IN NON REFUNDABLE FEES. TWO FACED VAMP ...

• KOBBYJONES 7 years ago

BECAUSE WE TEND TO BE PEOPLE OF LOWTHINKERS MOST OFTEN WE WAIT FOR THE WHITE MAN TO TELL US THE TRUTHY BEFORE WE ACCEPT IT AND EVEN THAT WE ARGUE BLINDLY. ARE YOU SAYING BECAUSE HE IS NOT A GHANAIN, HE SHOULD NOT SAY WHITE IF ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

The British have cancelled their membership from EU to concentrate on colonization as they got so broke. France has never left. So now guess who is the governor representing the greedy queen?

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

winning bonuses.

England – £750,000 each
    Germany – €900,000 each
    France – €1 million each
    Spain – €850,000 each
    Belgium – €1 million each

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

Wales' players and the Football Association of Wales (FAW) are in talks to resolve a dispute about their bonus payment for qualifying for Euro 2016.

It is understood that before the campaign, the FAW offered the squad a sh ...

THESE GH HYPOCRITES SHUOLD SHUT UP. DONT U ALSO COMMENTS ON OTHE RINTERNATIONAL ISSUES? WE LIVE IN A GLOBAL WORLD NOW. JON BENJI, CONTINUE TO CRITICIZE THESE GH FOOLS...IF WE LEFT THE SUCCESS OF GH ONLY TO GH. WE WONT EVEN HA ...

• Osu Klottey 7 years ago

A new colonial Governor is in the making,in name of JB

• Kwaku 7 years ago

We will pay these unpatriotic spoilt brats millions and suffer here in Ghana. Useless people. Some of you will complain about every thing.

• abdul 7 years ago

look at this idiot, did u even read the full speech,kwesia

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

He want to become a Ghanaian. So, let's grant him citizenship, that's all.

• PatriotGhana 7 years ago

Seriously, who asked him. What a Jon!

• Nii Armah Kweifio-Okai 7 years ago

The British High Commissioner may well be defining a novel kind of long overdue engagement with our countries. I support him.

Surprising thing though is that this form of engagement is coming from a pom traditionally note ...

• Feel Good 7 years ago

Where does this idiot come from. He puts his mouth in everything about Ghana. Can't you mind your business? Talk about your failed British Empire and leave ghana alone. You stole our resources to build your country and turn ...

• atta kofi 7 years ago

why is this man always interfering in the affairs of ghana

• talk some 7 years ago

He has the right to because British tax payers money also get donated to the Ghanas development

• sam 7 years ago

dont know if to hate this man or like him. lets face it he has some love for the country- but is it genuine love or fake? dont think we should verbally abuse him

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

Never seen a diplomat so passionate about a country.....we should embrace and welcome his comments.I see him as an influence for positive change in Ghana.He has certainly gone a step further than Ambassador Craig whom I also ...

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Initially, I thought he was intruding. On a second thought, he needs to. I think he genuinely loves Ghana. Is he perfect, No. but who is?

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Only in Ghana will any Tom and Harry will wake and talk shit. Try that in America and see how you end up. We are becoming a stupid nation, and all because of lack of leadership skills.

• des 7 years ago

Do you live in America? you don't know what you talking about.

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Why don't you tell me where I live? I am New Yorker, and live in Manhattan, and very well educated. And always have my government issued gun with me, play with me and i will fuck you up with my gun. Piece of shit, when I want ...

• Sumaila Atolai. 7 years ago

First of all,you're not a Marine.whoa! whoa!.... and in America,you can say anything you want.You can ask Donald Trump.

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

You piece of shit, sandbag, if I am not a marine why don't you tell me where you are, and I will put my AR 15 in your stupid ass. When was the last time British diploma made a comment about American internal Affairs. Stupid ...

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Stupid fool why don't you go and kiss his ass.

• ata 7 years ago

Massa shurrap. U sound infantile

• ata 7 years ago

Massa shurrap. U sound infantile. Go buy some water with your food stamp n cool urself down

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

John Benjamin is the finest British High Commissioner to ever come to Ghana.

• Citizen, Ghana 7 years ago

Who is this High Commissioner to meddle in Ghana's affairs? He should concentrate on teaching his country some moral values. Ghana knows that it is not right to pay our footballers huge bonuses, so we don't need him to tell ...

• Haruna Gbadamoshe 7 years ago

Why are people wanting to hang the ambassador ? Is there something which he said that is not true? We just don't want to be told the truth . Even if the truth comes from the devil, IT IS THE TRUTH. There are so many things wr ...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

Mr Jon has said the truth and it's not merely the truth, it's in our interest and fools on this platform are insulting him?

what do we need? pouring the tax money on rich footballers and corrupt officials or safeguarding ...

• talk some 7 years ago

Thank you Ghanaman. I wonder how people are still able to sit down and think negative about what Jon says. He isn't the one messing sports in Ghana. The only reason anyone will question his right to ask questions is their inv ...

• POW@Watch Phobia 2016 7 years ago

Being a president, minister, paliamentarian, district chief executive etc is also to serve your nation and should be done in honor of the nation. Somebody becomes a minister of some sort, irrespective of how poor that person ...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

I like your comments but I have problems with your heading. You know you have very large feet(US 17), so how can you refer to them in your comments. Please tell Kwesi Owusu to come and see me.

Playing for the nation is not their job where they earn salaries. It is an honour therefore to make the little effort to represent your nation while still collecting your salary from your usual work.
    You misunderstood the ...

• POW@Watch Phobia 2016 7 years ago

Let me put it in a very simple term for you.
    All I'm trying to say is that, each time the players leave their respective clubs to honor a match for the nation, they lose their clubs winning bonuses for that particular week ...

• Ohene Gyan 7 years ago

Why is everyone bad mouthing this guy, and condemning him for what he said? Do you people make that kind of money working down to your bones day in day out, only for someone in ninety minutes
    to make around $8,000 to $10,000 ...

• Eric Owusu 7 years ago

I disagree with what this man is saying. Every player should be treated equally in order not to bring their spirit down. What this man is saying is never done anywhere. He cannot dictate for the courtry.

• MMB 7 years ago

What the man is trying to encourage is patriotism and I believe the players themselves should even come out to say it if they really are patriotic.
    Samuel Eto Fils used to pay the Cameroun national team when the team was dow ...

• Twaala 7 years ago

Believe it or not this gentleman loves Ghana. He is trying to inject some fruitful ideas into our minds. He wants a change in Ghana b'cos he has realised most of our weakness. Many of us may dislike him and he is aware about ...

• Twaala 7 years ago

Y

• OKO NOKOFIO 7 years ago

A fine article from a down-to-earth guy who loves being a proxy Ghanaian.

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

There is no free lunch.

• MMB 7 years ago

WHAT A SPEECH. To me you never mince words in any of your statements. I know people will hate you for this as you rightly asserted but never worry. My attention was drawn to you only last week of being outspoken and what I ha ...

• kutsii 7 years ago

Thank you for ur advise and prophecy, Mr. High Commissioner. You are a bold and no nonsense man.
    Surely, when the mist have rolled and the dust settled, we shall see ur prophecy come to pass, when the coefficients thief, Kw ...

• Ama 7 years ago

Love him or loathe him, he spoke his mind eloquently and I believe some of the sports administrators will be quaking in their boots.

Kwasi Nyantakyi has been at the helm of affairs for so long why doesn't he leave. Jon Be ...

• AK 7 years ago

This Ambassador is dabbling in the affairs of Ghana too much. Does he think we are incapable of governing ourselves? He lacks all the credibility of an Ambassador. The government of Ghana must ask for his recall. It appears h ...

Nonsense . Accept your faults. We have been raised to be fearful of our leaders. NOT ANY MORE. He is right in whatever he said. It is out of love that he is prompting us once again yo be critical

• NDC DESTROYERS PARTY 7 years ago

foolish man who COWARD YOU to fear your leaders ,it was your colonial masters who pumped that sense of stupidity into your that is until now you do not THINK like a normal human being.Can Ghana ambassador speak again ...

STUPID GHPPL....SOMETIMES, IM INDEED ASHAMED TO BE ASSOCIATED WITH ANYTHING GH. I SWEAR TO GOD!...

• Tudu 7 years ago

makes sense.

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

Who the hell is this man?

• Habib 7 years ago

Okro mouth person. Mind your own business.

BENJAMIN IS NOT GH SO HE SHOULD SHUT UP? HOW MANY OF YOU GHPPL WITH FOREIGN PASSPORTS OR EVEN GH WHO HAVNT EVEN TRAVELED ANYWHERE...COMMENT NEWS CONCERNING FOREIGN NATIONS. SO THESE HYPOCRITES SHOULD SHT UP N LEARN FROM WHAT ...

• Putin 7 years ago

...Jon Benji won't just go 'way! Leave us in peace in our 'Jungle'

• Plasma Kote 7 years ago

Our government cannot just tell him to SHUT UP !!!!!!!!

• Plasma Kote 7 years ago

This is Ghana and not the UK.

• Uncle Ben 7 years ago

Mr.John Benjamin I suggest that you are recalled and School on diplomatic business.

• Nii Addo 7 years ago

Those lambasting john Benjamin are fools. You areveither daft or uneducated. Idiocies