Ghana buys 180mw from Ivory Coast to tackle dumsor

Read Comments Comments (124)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: CLOSE OBSERVER-------- Stupid people are dominating our leadership positions. NDC does not believe that Ghanaians are suffering. Ghanaians will therefore not see the end of their problems until the USELESS NDC governm ...

• ivy Seth 8 years ago

FOOLS

• GHANER 8 years ago

KUFOUR BROUGHT DUMSOR AND RUN AWAY:

• JIMMY CASH 8 years ago

GOOD BLESS MAHAMA

• Shaibu 8 years ago

When I read such stories, my heart beats like never before... So where is all these money? High utility where does the money go? Oil money college allowances where has it gone. ? Hmm just to the pockets of these few NDC commu ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

mahama best among the rest, vote mahama for peace and development, long live mahama

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

Read this nonsense:"Ghana and Ivory Coast have a power exchange arrangement. Ivory Coast comes to the aid of Ghana at certain times when power is needed and Ghana also goes to their aid when they need power." I see! Since whe ...

• YAO 8 years ago

All of taxpayers monies have judiciously been used in investment for the country. we can all attest to the development that has gone down under this government.this is no propaganda,only the NPP will be blind to all these. Th ...

• Independent voter 8 years ago

A country that has failed.

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

In August 2015, Government fully
    redeemed its obligation under the
    US$1.7 billion syndicated loan for the
    2014/15 crop season.
    COCOBOD has secured US$1.8 billion
    at an interest rate of 1.1905% for the
    2015/16 crop seaso ...

• Darken Rahl 8 years ago

And Mahama came and fixed it. Mr fixer, Toaso

• eyeoftheSavior-AbidinginSalvation. 8 years ago

In ghana. We shouldn't have this problem or waste monies in importations. I think the gridlock is not being identify properly. During the time of building the themal plant, the population of ghana was just around 5million. No ...

• eyeoftheSavior-AbidinginSalvation. 8 years ago

If the able pockets could see through this my suggestions, that ease power to the industries from VRA and ECG, private solar ventures supply electricity to households in villages and small towns. In a sense, jobs and electric ...

• Aj 8 years ago

Ivy only yesterday the ndc ministers were all over radio/tv stations singing ghana economy is bigger then ivory coast.little did we know that we beg them for 180mw every month.hahaha wow from war to hero ......oooh ghana you ...

• YAGA YOO 8 years ago

MY HEART IS SADDENED BY THIS PERSISTENT DUMSOR WAHALA. SO CANT WE GET ANY SAVIOUR FOR THIS DUMSOR WITHIN GH? ALL THE DREAMS OF OSAGYEFO HAS BEEN SHATTERED WHY? CANT WE GET A COMPETENT PERSON TO LEAD US OUT OF THIS DUMSOR DISE ...

• GJK 8 years ago

AJ please remove your blinkered ideas and your uneducated analysis. The fact that our economy is better than Ivory Coast, thus not mean that we shouldn't import energy from them.

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

It is amazing how tamed Npp people could fall for this story,President Mahama has fixed dumsor,let's stop pretending

• Roland 8 years ago

stop your nonsense on this platform. Even UK government imports many items from other countries both develop and less develop. You can take it or leave it that ghana economy is bigger than that of Cote d'voire even though you ...

• Nathan Reddington Rover 8 years ago

USA economy nis bigger than China's yet USA goes to borrow cash from the Chinese. So what difference does it make when a country like ours with better leadership under President Mahama goes to purchase power from the Ivorians ...

• NANA APPIAH 8 years ago

You a very big fool for describing dead goat Mahama as a man with better leadership. What is leadership when all you hear is the collapse of NHIS, bUS BRANDING SCANDAL, SUBA, GYEEDA. Surely I can write a book about the stupid ...

All those criticising government for purchasing power are pea brained. This is what I call proactive measures. Forward looking government. Is it the availability of the power or the source? In any case does it matter where it ...

• FAITH 8 years ago

DUMSOR IS OVER - PERIOD

• fella 8 years ago

Over for Over for the where

• Stinky Finger 8 years ago

Mahama needs to be taken deep into the woods and shot.His mismanagement of our affairs has turned Ghana into a begger country.Vote him out or take him our by force.Ghana cannot another four years of his gross incompetence and ...

• Nhyirahene Mateo 8 years ago

You are one of the reasons y your candidate will become president. You can't manage a smaller group, you want a bigger one? What a dream! Only people with bad mind will have this dream, wake up to reality

• GHANA IS SINKING 8 years ago

Ivy has emerged from a destructive civil war to repair their economy to a point where they provide Ghana with their surplus electric power.What next?Sierra Leone sending us food aid to supplement our food shortages.This Presi ...

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

In 2014, Government increased
    producer price of cocoa by 62.74%,
    i.e. from GH¢3,392.00 per tonne to
    GH¢5,520.00 per tonne. In 2015 it
    was further increased to GH¢6,800.00
    (GH¢425.00 per bag).

• Theo Lenzy 8 years ago

What is the electricity Penetration of Côte devoir? You have nothing to contribute you fool.

Fools . You can decide to switch off your power if you are not happy

• ABI 8 years ago

DUMSOR IS NOW A HISTORY

• FAITH 8 years ago

TRUE TALK;

• masa 8 years ago

Where in Ghana?masa you don't know what you are talking about Domsor is on

• YAO 8 years ago

the President promised to fix dumsor and he has done so, lets all be glad its all over. this tells us that our President is a man who really delivers his promises. The construction of 2 350 MW coal-fired plants to be sited at ...

• E. A. Adu Gyamfi 8 years ago

NOTHING GOOD COMES FROM HEAVEN? ARE YOU SURE? TO ME GOOD THINGS COME FROM HEAVEN ACCORDING TO

James 1:17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no va ...

• ABBA ATTA 8 years ago

WikiLeaks- How America Assesses Nana Addo And The Use Of Narcotic Drugs

In a desperate effort to cast President John Dramani Mahama and the NDC in very bad light before the Ghanaian people, NPP flagbearer, Mr. Akufo-Addo ...

• Theo Lenzy 8 years ago

Prince, you are uneducated idiot. What do you expect government to do when bui and Akosombo are not producing 20% of their total capacity. What is the record of npp? Nana will never be president. Big fools.

Look at who is talking, what alternative do you have for the good people of Ghana? Stop this useless argument and concentrate on how you guys can sort your squabbles. Small party you can't manage, you are thinking of Ghana; w ...

If Kuffuor had done something about this the government of JM wouldn't have inherited such trouble.

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

How much money do you pay Ghanaweb to always be the first to give your comments to jump start your lies and half truths?

• Elvis Takyi 8 years ago

Just to win an elections and dump Ghanaians again. Ghanaians are like animals easily forget. How on earth can we vote for Kubolor Mahama again? Idiot Mahama and his governance. Long and big penis mahama. Menstrual sucker John ...

• ivy Seth 8 years ago

THE REST AND HOW IS NO ONES BUSINESS

• GHANER 8 years ago

PLEASE NPP SHOULD SHUT UP

• GHANER 8 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU MR: PRESIDENT

• YAO 8 years ago

Whether Mahama is insulted or not, he still remain President till 2021. it is only those who have chosen to be blind who do not see the good works of Mahama. To ensure equitable distribution of opportunities in the ICT and Te ...

• Manifest 8 years ago

Hey, do u no de man u ra insulting can be ur father.. Ephesians 6:1-3

• Theo 8 years ago

Right minded people in Ghana will support government for this initiative.

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

School Infrastructure -
    •A total of 1,614 out of 2,578 basic
    school projects have been completed
    under the Schools Under Trees
    programme. The remaining are due
    for completion in the medium term.
    • A number of teaher ...

And by God's grace he will win again. Stupid idiots. I didn't know we have such fools in this country. Baboons. You need power and you have been given power and the dogs are barking again

Fuck you stupid fool, I pray you wake up from your slumber to appreciate the GOOD EFFORTS OF THE PRESIDENT. Mad person. Your brain need MENTAL OVERHAULING

• ABI 8 years ago

SHUT UP THERE; NOTHING GOOD COMES EASY

• Me 8 years ago

Can the Ghana government come to the UK or go to Canada and just copy what such countries do?
    Just go and copy - we are not asking you to be ingenious or innovative. Just go and copy and let Ghanaians enjoy constant power to ...

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

There will be no change. The people is the problem. People make a country and people destroy country. In Ghana everyone is trying to beat the system and cheats on the next guy. How do you build a country with people like that ...

• Roland 8 years ago

which corner are you hiding? Even cleaning you could not do properly, better shut your mouth

• oppong london 8 years ago

if ghanaians are wise enough,how would they vote ndc and stupid john mahama again,just compare old man ouattara and john mahama after the war,old man is supplying the so called young man power[electricity]useless ghanaians in ...

• YAO 8 years ago

It is said that the voice of the people is the voice of God,the good people of this country voted for God's chosen Mahama. those who don't believe it are just being hypocritical. A lot has changed under this govt in terms of ...

• GP 8 years ago

Oppong! the fact that you vote for the other party does not make you an intelligent man. The fact that Cote d'Ivoire are supplying us with power does not make President Mahama " foolish leader" either. It is unfortunate that ...

• Theo Lenzy 8 years ago

This is the best decision government had taken. Stop bathing dead bodies there and come build Ghana. Idiot.

• cuuh!. 8 years ago

Oh! Jesus Christ. Gh!, Gh!! why. What is wrong with u.

• MAWULE FIAGBEDZE 8 years ago

MY NDC FRIENDS FRIENDS WHO ARE NOW IN NPP. WE BLESS LET COME TOGETHER WITH OUR IDEAS TO BUILD GHANA.NDC MAHAMA IS A FAILURE.WE ARE BLESS ALL VOLTA CHIEFS AMEN

• YAO 8 years ago

it is NPP's Nana Addo who is a failure, after ousting Afoko, Crabbe and Agyepong he expects us to trust him he will plunge this country into war. Vote Mahama for a better Ghana. The oil and gas sector currently provides direc ...

• Kwapps 8 years ago

If Akufo-Addo was able to remove Afoko, Crabbe, and Agyepong, it is a testament of a man who will deal ruthlessly with anyone be it in NPP or elsewhere. Who has Mahama disciplined so far? People who should be languishing in j ...

• Roland 8 years ago

Voltartians are not ready to waste their votes. we are still from Togo

Useless comment, small party you can't manage you are belittling God's chosen person who is hitting his head hard to make Ghana a better place. Shaaaaame!

• and so wat? 8 years ago

charlie! this infomation be too concrete. where you get am for? you get am from wanna reports??? Gh journalist. Big up

• BEN MAHAMA,FLORIDA,USA. 8 years ago

WELL SAID OPPONG,ABOUT 80% OF GHANAIANS ARE SO FOOLISH THEY BELIEVE ANYTHING TOLD,RIGHT OR WTONG,AND ATTRIBUTE ANYTHING TO GOD AS SAID BY THE CORRUPT PASTORS THERE.ITS UNBELIEVABLE.GHANAIANS MUST THINK AND NOT FORGET EASILY.

• agyapee147 8 years ago

why should ghana depend on foriegn brains to develop power. we should risk money to develop our own engineers. politicians must wake up.

• BEN MAHAMA,FLORIDA,USA. 8 years ago

GHANAIANS,VOTE OUT CORRUPT AND COPIOUSLY BRAINLESS MAHAMA & NDC AND U WILL BE FINE.

• YAO 8 years ago

Ben, Ghana is better under Mahama. it is a fact, Ghanaians abroad are all praising Mahama and so are other foreign Presidents. Mahama must be retained so he continues changing lives.2,000 jobs have been created under the nati ...

• Tim 8 years ago

yao..u must be drunk or retarded to spew this garbage. who is praising the goat of a mistake called mahama??

• Pintoa 8 years ago

Ibrahim Mahama, the brother of the president is still diverting water from Bui dam for his galamsey business.

• Bbb 8 years ago

Ghana need a good leader with maturity and wisdom not JSS minded Mahama.Wabon paaa.

• YAO 8 years ago

Nana Addo cannot rule in Ghana . he is a war monger, all die be die, SA3, it is just ungodly. Mahama has managed this country well and he deserves a second chance, he has the men and he is competent as well.
    The 8.3 millio ...

• Ernest 8 years ago

Oooh wat a shame.. eeeiiii nti ghana nie. God come and save us frm these useless leaders in our country infact they are punishing wit whips.Four years frm sch work me.. still at home and my parents feedin me. Oooh ghana mpan ...

• Victor 8 years ago

Should we have spent all that amount of money in building this Bui dam at all?
    It's contribution to Ghana's power generation capacity is insignificant!

• Ben 8 years ago

You see, Ghanaian dont want to admit their country is in the hands of robbers.It shouldnt be bcos its my party so even if we are been tighten to the wall, we need to be mute. Its our children that will suffer in the end. Plse ...

• Pea kofi 8 years ago

Shame unto Asieduaa Nketiaa, Kofi Adams, Ayidoho,and all NDC supporters who always wish evil for Nana Addo.

• YAO 8 years ago

Kofi you must be worried about Nana's own people who wish him evil. Nana is going Solo because even Kufuor detests him.Nana has already lost and JM has won. 190,607 beneficiaries involved in various businesses have received s ...

• Nana kwame ntiamoah 8 years ago

The so called npp has nothing to offer Ghanaians. We saw what they did to Dr Kwame Nkrumah during his regime. President Mahama is doing his best so please leave him alone. It's even obvious he is going to win this year's ele ...

• Alpha nartey 8 years ago

hmmm, Education is not all about reading and writing English. some of the comment people post tells me they only know how to read and English but they are not educated. how can you be using harsh words on your president if u ...

• Yussif 8 years ago

John Mahama is no fit to be president of Ghana period,with all this dotted power plants the only thing that comes to mind is incompetece,he just commissioned komenda sugar factory with electricity problems,how is the factory ...

• YAO 8 years ago

Ghanaians have seen the light, J.M is the light, come November 7, we shall renew his mandate. NPP haters should advise Nana to start typing his concession speech. Mahama has transformed Ghana and changed lives. 12,000 young f ...

• NDC HAUNTED BY GHOST OF MILLS 8 years ago

this happens when u ve thieves n stupid people in government. oh God save us from this tyranny

• YAO 8 years ago

NPP are good at stealing, While 25 million Ghanaians had to make do with only 13.6% stake in the Jubilee field. Two NPP top shots, George Owusu and Ambassador Edusei, both pals of President Kufuor, were given 3% shares which ...

• Bad policies, high taxes kill economy 8 years ago

It is clear that the energy problems we have now has more to do with government energy which at best can be describe as haphazard. Also, Terkper, the Minister of FInance thinks that high taxation and levies are the solutions ...

• Kingrichie 8 years ago

Ghana is failed state being governed by a bunch of mediocres

• Owusu kwame 8 years ago

AOW MOTHER GHANA, SO WHEN , I MEAN 3NO NTI DA BEN WE ARE BUYING WHAT EVER MW FROM IVORY COAST AOW AMA GHANA . WHEN WILL I GROW UP FROM BEGGING FOR HELP . HOW LONG WILL I SUFFER FROM THIS INCOMPITENT SILLY GOVERNMENT. AWURADE ...

• WhenIdiotsRule 8 years ago

A country run by idiots making stupid agreements that would cost the country money, without fixing the problem in the long term !

• HAJIA KK 8 years ago

In the Eastern Region, works within Suhum, Asamankese and Kyebi town roads have commenced. The procurement of works on the Kade Town roads is
    ongoing. These works are being funded by the Cocobod. Work has resumed on the Kwaf ...

• Heer 8 years ago

Crook sheik and his AMERI company at 250mw - where ? And the crazy 20 year METKA POWER barge deal at 250mw - where's power?

• Kanawu 8 years ago

Dr. Bawumia has always maintained that the energy crisis in ghana is not a technical one but a financial one. The useless dead goat yentie obiaa mahama and his corrupt and incompetent NDC administration have refused to listen ...

• YAO 8 years ago

NPP have no solutions to Ghana's problems. For heavens sake, they cannot even solve the problems in their own party, how can we trust them to solve Ghana's problems.Mahama will amass the needed votes to retain him in power IN ...

• Felix KUUNAA from 8 years ago

Oh President mahama go on YOU are the best we are need development thank Ghana web God you all

• Felix KUUNAA from Adenta 8 years ago

President mahama Ayikoooooooo

• Alexander Anim 8 years ago

i think the current situation does not need insult but rather need critical thinkers . GOD bless whoever love Ghana

• shepherd 8 years ago

if u are to compare akuffo addo do that with mills,akuffo addo is going for a third term,as mills did before he won..mills was patient in 2nd term of losing but his 3rd term he said Ghana will turn like Kenya when he looses a ...

• FRANClS 8 years ago

Chiefu u see ooooo all bc the center can 't hold today book, tomorrow lamps ,torch ,generators and now ivory coast abaaaa why why ? Chiefu we de see ooo November 7, yoooo.

• shepherd 8 years ago

so will we pay for ivory coast and the ameri deal....come on please....we sick n tired of.always relaying on others

• Christian 8 years ago

Elvis Takyi respect elders in ur house OK or I think u don't have elders so u just open ur big mouth in talk any how u like God have mercy on u

Which abroad are you referring to. Because I don't see that in the USA. You are a big liar.

• Kofi K 8 years ago

Shame unto Mahama and his NDC

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 8 years ago

This talisman is very strong and powerful as there are many rituals and ceremonies involved In the preparation of the talisman so that the talisman is charged and will help you in solving all your money problems. This powerfu ...

• Nanaba fresh Guygee 8 years ago

Truelly Ghanaians are suffering ah why. Mahamma must step from the seat 2016

• Youngg Geniuss 8 years ago

First fool is not a fool, but a subsequent fool is a bigger fool indeed.

• Kingbarbs 8 years ago

The educated illiterate would lash on president mahama because of their selfish interest but we the floating voters are not stupid to listening to them.we make sure if it must be done it must be done well.

• ampaabeng frederick cephas 8 years ago

I suggest is a good idea,if only this dumsor will stop

• K Mensah 8 years ago

ABBA ATTA Lying to smear Nana"s character is like feeding on Mahama's faeces. Get a life idiot.

• K Mensah 8 years ago

YAO When will you learn to be objective. Stop licking Mahama's ass!

• Ritewing 8 years ago

If it had been hidden from the idiots it has now become clear. A young and clueless President Mahama is desperately gone shopping for energy, from an old and wise President Allasane Quatarra. It is not lost on us that the cou ...

• Babylon 8 years ago

Those who keeps on insulting the president are fools. This country doesn't belong to you too. It is for all if us so stop your stupid things.

• Babylon 8 years ago

Stop insulting the president, why some people in this country don't have manners. Do they insult their parents at home these way? BIG FOOLS.

• mckin 8 years ago

chaos wll always befall a country wen parties rig election to b in power
    the seat was neva urs
    but this man claimed it byforce
    now see wat ghana has bcam

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Installed Capacity is 3000 and Peak demand is 2100.So,why is the Country
    still encountering electricity cutoffs!.
    Either quoted installed Capacity by officials is exaggerated(not the truth),
    or the problem is money to buy ...

• Jah 8 years ago

There are too many illiterates in Ghana . That was the first thing that caught my eye when I read the story.

You are correct. If we need only 2100 megawatts at peak periods and we have 3000 installed, then why go buy more ...

• apuuuu 8 years ago

When whites men take five step forward we take twenty steps backwards because of power corrupt we wait for election time before we create jobs we wait for election time before we look for dumsor solutions President Mahama o ...

• sancho Panza 8 years ago

So what about the President bragging that he has resolved 'dumsor ' for good!

When people like you are members of the opposition party, dust will always be thrown in the eyes of the people that the leaders are effortless. Shame!

• Alhassan Kamil. 8 years ago

This is good leads who cares about his people and doesn't mind going the extra mile to ensure the comfort of his people.

• Alhassan Kamil. 8 years ago

Yes of course Ghana is ahead of Ivory coast, but for the sake of Ghanaians, JM is retreating to our junior brothers to secure the needed energy for the continuous operation of businesses and the ultimate happiness of Ghanaian ...

• Mariam Mohammed Tea 8 years ago

Dumsor is over what about our education His Excellency, high bills, preventing we the future leaders. Please we do respect I urged u do something to reduce unemployment in the state I know and believe you will E_DEY_BEEEEE

• Theo 8 years ago

The demand for power is increasing every day. Wherever government gets the power for our consumption is not the issue. Akosombo is not producing enough therefore the move by government is a good one

• Theo 8 years ago

Do people want government to manufacture water into the dams. What kind of stupid comments are people putting up here. Demand for electricity is high now in Ghana. Government is doing what is necessary for the people of Ghana ...

• Holy 8 years ago

Who told you Ghanaians in abroad are praising Mahama even Ivory coast is better than us. Yao you are a fool even are you employed.

• JM 8 years ago

SO WHAT IF TRUE.

• VOICE 8 years ago

WAT JOB ARE YOU GOING TO PUT UP TO PAY TWO MILLION PERSON LI BILL.YES ELECTION PLOY.MMOA NE NKWASEAFOR BETO AMA NDC.YPU HAVE SEEN NOTHING YET.