ECG: 70,000 installed meters unaccounted for

Read Comments Comments (35)

• GHANAN 7 years ago

ERRORS ARE BUIND TO OCCURE IN SUCH SOFTWARES

• GHASNAS 7 years ago

WE EVERYTHING FREE

• Observer 7 years ago

Steadily ECG is being forced into a corner. The scale of the fraud is just beginning to emerge. Desperate now, they are saying anything that comes to mind, so long as they stay off the hook. Only in Ghana!

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

Kalabule or just ignorance?
    Why not use Ethernet Controlled, internet Controlled Meters? Remote reading of the meters is what needs to be done. You can easily catch meters that are unauthorized by simply rotating the per ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

How long does it take to fix man made errors. Electricity has never been free in Ghana since Nkrumah's time. Mahama himself, Kofi Adams and Kwasi Pratt have all come to realize that the electricity bills are outrageous. Peop ...

• GHASNAS 7 years ago

CHANGE ALL METERS WITH YOUR OWN SOFTWARE OR ELSE; GHANAIANS ARE THIEVES

• Odikro 7 years ago

So, staff of ECG stole these meters, installed it for customers, charged them, pocketed the monies and the general population of Ghana would have to pay for the free power the thieves enjoy.

• JIMX 7 years ago

THIEVES BROKE ECG

• Aliu 7 years ago

ECG. infact what happened to the user's of this meters I don't trust them.

• Pea kofi 7 years ago

Hi all l know this Douglas Bristol personally. His mouth smells like toilet and all his friends are staying away from him due to the stinking odour from his mouth.

• JIMX 7 years ago

IF YOU SLEEP GHANAIAN WILL STEAL ALL YOUR POWER: CHANGE ALL THE SOFTWARES IN IN THE METERS NOW OR ELSE: STEALING WILL CONTINUE

• ADJEI 7 years ago

ECG should set up a reward for persons who report such stolen and unapproved meters. The reward should come from surcharges and reconnection fees. Wake Up ECG

• THIS DAY 7 years ago

If you institute KILLER BILLS, this is what you get. Stupid people ...

• adamu musah 7 years ago

I wonder the kind of explanation coming out from authority of electricity. where do such peoples get the meters to fix. they should immediately be arrested and arraign in court to pay all what they collected in addition with ...

• obi 7 years ago

u know all this and what have u done about it

• Paa frank 7 years ago

The solution is simple. If you identify an unbillable meter through your billing system, shut that meter down. What is so complicated about that. You already have a count unless if some officials are behind it. Corruption all ...

• THEREALTRUTH 7 years ago

You are correct but I know where to look first. Just check all the government officials....judges...police.... Thats where 90% of the meters are....and end with the employees of the electric company...you'll find 100%.

• Jontesi 7 years ago

ECG has lost not only its directional signs but it's bearing. The MD is clueless. There is a system that can be used to trace and locate all meters when in use. Why are they not taking advantage of proper technology? Who went ...

• Joe Navajo 7 years ago

Shocking ECG does not know how many meters it has in circulation.

• Martin 7 years ago

I wonder how a company like the ECG can run a profitable business, when its staff and customers are engaged in unscrupulous practices like stealing meters. These thefts not only prevent the ECG from upgrading its equipment, b ...

• Ritewing 7 years ago

When did the unaccounted meters come to the attention of the Electricity Corporation? I do not believe there is anything like this happening. There is a big issue about astronomical tariffs. It has been blamed on 'faulty what ...

• Eddy from Qatar. 7 years ago

My heart always bleeds when i hear of ECG. When u employ many unprofessionals to manage state assets this is a type of result u will get. The staff and the contrators to ECG are thieves and i am sure of what i am saying. We a ...

• Asem 7 years ago

Human beings are inherently evil and deceitful that is why you need an effective leadership and implementable reward and punishment system to ensure that dishonest people are caught and punished. But if the head of a fish is ...

• KO 7 years ago

...wicked people all over the country, not just leadership

• KO 7 years ago

Privatize electric distribution. Government should just have oversight on the company. Should the govt fail in it's duties, vote the govt out of power...

• Teiko 7 years ago

What ECG is putting Ghanaians through depicts how weak Ghanaians are. That nobody could sue ECG after admiting the meters were faulty but have billed the people with it making billions of cedis

• Teiko 7 years ago

And continue to use same meters? I suggest that everyb

• Teiko 7 years ago

I suggest that everybody removes that meter and connect directly to the grid without paying till better and tested meters by independent body is approved. As for paliament, not until someone starts killing ECG workers, they w ...

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

Kalabule or just ignorance?
    Why not use Ethernet Controlled, internet Controlled Meters? Remote reading of the meters is what needs to be done. You can easily catch meters that are unauthorized by simply rotating the per ...

• Join me on facebook to stop this 7 years ago

Well, we are still in danger because of the new smart meters that are being introduced in the system. Our lives are totally in danger because of the high radiation those smart meters generate. We are no longer safe in our ho ...

• JM 7 years ago

JM please sack water and ECG bosses before they sabotage your government. When ask any of those workers why all this increment's in high billing? , their answered always is that is the Government's who increase the rate..

• K. OWUSU-Ansaah 7 years ago

Why are the ECG complaining.when you apply for a Meter .it takes the estimator about SIX WEEKS to come to your place to take. a look.Another FOUR WEEKS to give you Bill to pay..Another FOUR WEEKS to connect you.who ...

• Dan 7 years ago

Go to Airport Hills Community and check. Many of the residents or houses there are using such meters and they are not billed. ECG you are a liability to yourself

• The Voice of Ghanaians 7 years ago

Join The Voice of Ghanaians on facebook for more on this smart meters that are being installed

• Attu zongo 7 years ago

The institutions are extremely weak due to corruption and criminalistic inducted by former President rawlings.