You are here: HomeNews2016 05 19Article 440050

Michael Jackson's gold casket lands in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (120)

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 7 years ago

vote mahama for peace and development,NDC all the way

• kabokabo 7 years ago

If money can save life this woman Achiaa would have been saved. If you get the whole world and loses your soul what will you benefit? Is she going to heaven with 30 Thousand dollars coffin? Christ in me is the hope of Glory. ...

• Nii Nortey (NY) 7 years ago

How much does he pay his workers?

• Freewoman 7 years ago

A very Good Question :-)

• DESPERATE KYEBI DWARF 7 years ago

EVERYBODY KNOWS. THEN KUFOUR GAVE HIM ANOTHER BREAK.

• LION 7 years ago

Yes! How much does he pay his employees???

• Freeman 7 years ago

You're right, $ can't save any human being from inevitable death. As for the gold casket it seems to be a wasteful expenditure only to the poor folks among us. This guy Nick is rich and can afford a gold casket to bury his de ...

• sooo 7 years ago

it is good to honour ones parents both in life and in death but I would rather not spend that money on a coffin. He could have donated it to some kidney and hole in heart patients in honour of his mother.

• Ada Boy 7 years ago

Poor,hungry grave raiders may have a cause.

• Koffi parker 7 years ago

if he can afford A$30,000 dollar casket what stops him given the burial 24 hrs watch or they are usually buried in a back yard

• King yasco 7 years ago

If Jesus can save life he would have saved him self.U always undermine God at de expense of ur Jesus

• Christ 7 years ago

May God have mercy on you

• Rams 7 years ago

Jesus is alive , he is not in the grave like order Prophets. Humble your self and read the bible.

• Bright Baffoe 7 years ago

No one is undermining God. God is superior. Remember Christ had victory over death. He rose up from dead on the 3rd day. He is living now. Turnback to Him brother. He is the only one to be belived. He is the only one that ca ...

• Alex 7 years ago

Ah study study the Bible very well

• ike 7 years ago

In case you do not know, Lord and only Saviour Jesus Christ is God! The fact that you kept mute over been slapped doesn't mean you couldn't have replied the fellow or you are a fool. Jesus is God, Bro.!

• SUNKO 7 years ago

Amen, bro

• Ewugyadze desperate John Mahama 7 years ago

Fool .Are you sick in the head??What has this got to do with ur mumu President??This is about a dead person being honoured by an offspring not a DEAD GOAT BUSINESS!!!

• Jfk 7 years ago

Is Mahama indeed our best. Of so God safe Ghana

• NIMODO NJOFUNI 7 years ago

congrats. THERE'S MONEY IN THE HOUSE

• william 7 years ago

May mummy rest in peace despite the vanity of vanities casket!

• KOA 7 years ago

Shut up! do you know what vanity is?
    Is he not giving his own mother the last respect? After all what is he using all this money for. God bless you my dear Nick

• JB jabs 7 years ago

sorry do you know what she is experience now

• Papillon 7 years ago

Our mentality stinks infinitely.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Oh my God. $30,000 casket? That could have been used to establish a kind of fund in her name, That would have been more respectable. After 40 days let the family go and see how the casket looks like.

• KOA 7 years ago

And so what? Judas Iscariot and some of the disciples said the same thing. Fund for whom? Do you really know what this man has done for mankind, let alone honour his own mother?. The poor will always be with us. Leave Nick al ...

• PK 7 years ago

Perfect answer. Well done Nick. l
    eave those poor ppl alone. To be rich is a choice. They will understand vanity when they cannot pay hospital bills or school fees or house rent with their poverty . Thumbs up Nick . You have ...

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

People do t know what mother has done for him. Maybe father was not there, maybe she sold her last clothing to put in in academia, maybe a lot more we don't know. Look, the poor will always be with you.

• DR KUFFOUR 7 years ago

Mr Big Man, well done but this casket will not change a thing. May her soul rest in prefect peace. Ameeeen!

• Bretuoba KFB 7 years ago

Just a question.There is something the story left out.This casket when used resurrects the dead after three days.My investigations found out that 82% of the producing company's customers are blacks,yes,blacks.Now you there is ...

• I am not muslim but I don't worship t 7 years ago

and the money spent on a 14k gold casket I would have wanted put to much better use like a water source to a poor village or an investment in public toilets all that money & they are dead now what a waste

• Esi Atta 7 years ago

We haven't developed a culture of philanthropy but we have to spend our money somehow. So we have chosen funerals. The funeral industry has become extravagant andwe all know it. So why are people calling for thieves to steal ...

• Abongo Sisi of Akwatia zongo. 7 years ago

You these NDC foot soldiers & toilets. The guy has honored her mum, Period. A good government should provide infrastructure for its people but not to pocket tax payers money. Period!!!

• Nana Kwadwo, U.S.A 7 years ago

Does this casket belong to Michael Jackson as the headline says?

• KOA 7 years ago

The man has more to eat,more to donate and more to help humankind. He has not offended anybody neither is he in competition with anybody. If you need any help go to him and stop criticising what you do not understand. Leave h ...

• Kwame- 7 years ago

THIS IS ultra-MADNESS.

• Sylvester 7 years ago

Sorry,my brother.This woman will rise up from dead three days after burial,so what is our business?One of his workers need money to buy medicine for his wife,but...

• Owusu 7 years ago

Surely she will rise again when Jesus comes. The fact is , Nick has given the mother his last respect and what is your problem? Can he satisfy every worker? Sylvester, when God blesses you like Nick, satisfy every person and ...

That is not only madness but stupidity to the highest exponent. That is how the Black man thinks and blame the white man.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

KENNEDY ADJEPONG SLEEPS ON A GOLDEN BED,SO WHEN THE LORD CALLS HIM HOME,HE WILL SLEEP IN A DIAMOND CASKET.

That is another fool who thinks the little money he has got is everything. Bill gate and Oprah will not behave like he does.

• Truthful 7 years ago

You who is correct and sensible can't even afford that. In Ghana poor people think they are wiser than rich people. If you were that wise why aren't you rich? Poor people think they can better use money of rich men better tha ...

• Prosam 7 years ago

If it will help her to heaven then there is a sense in it.Mr Bigstuff.

• kofikofi 7 years ago

foolish display of illiterate business man. $30k could put poor youth in the village to work. Stupidity and village showmanship.

• Niibii 7 years ago

Please don't insult him he took a big risk to get his money and Ghana politicians are worshiping him,you see how we think in Ghana, so please blame our lunatics politicians

• Owusu 7 years ago

This is no stupidity, this is no foolishness. Why don't you leave this brilliant man alone!Do you know what Nick has done for the poor? Kofikofi, don't rather display your stack ignorance

• Fox 7 years ago

I hope criminals dig up the grave as soon as she is buried. Absolute stupidity of the highest. The government should have taxed the fools another hundred thousand dollars for this stupid import. Rich Westerners cremate their ...

• Owusu 7 years ago

I beg to defer. Africans are not fools. They are the handiwork of the Lord. Dare insult Africans once more and the wrath of God will be visited on you. Nick has honoured the mother in a befitting manner and that does not make ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 7 years ago

WONI SIKA WO SE ADURO NYE

• gh 7 years ago

they have to guard the grave 24/7

• Kejetia Nkomo 7 years ago

Only in the black race. Whites don't do that. The black race is doomed. I regret being one

• Truthful 7 years ago

@ Kejetia Nkomo. Stupid man go and breach. Inferiority complex is your bane. Why do you always compare our conduct to the white man? No wonder you are still thinking the way they have succeeded in brainwashed you. Fooools!

• Mansa 7 years ago

Mum says thanks but will be happy if you can use $30,000 to buy stuff for Korle-Bu, Ridge hospital etc. People are dying so please help

• TRUMP, THE WINDBAG-MONEYBAG 7 years ago

I pray and hope that after the burial, the grave looters will go and dig this fucking thing out of the earth, and smelt is for all the fucking gold that it is worth for.

• Frenchman 7 years ago

Rubbish,rubbish and rubbish. Megalomania hmm!

• spiritual 7 years ago

This is the useless expenditure ever, wise up man.

• Akpanja 7 years ago

Heaven gate, no gold plated coffin.

• Abraham 7 years ago

Is this man richer than Hon .Kennedy or because he talks like he is rich than everyone in Ghana.hmmm people they Ghana .that's good.I like rich men like this.quite but rich

• Niibii 7 years ago

They are all in the same business but kennedy talk too much in Ghana money have no scent ,money is money

That is his money. He can do whatever he wants with it. What is $30.000? Some people can't afford to drink just one beer. Some can afford 1, others 2, 3 and so forth. That is why you use your brain to work hard and save. He ...

• PA 7 years ago

That's all we know. Hailing the dead and spending all our fortunes on the dead. Vanity upon vanity

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

A new pastor in a small Midwestern town spent the first four days making personal visits to each of the members, inviting them to come to his first service.

The following Sunday, the church was all but empty. Accordingly, ...

• marcol 7 years ago

MADNESS, MADNESS , TOTAL MADNESS . UPON ALL THIS IF THE PERSON DOESNT KNOW AND RECEIVED CHRIST , HER SOUL WILL BE IN HELL AS MICHAEL JACKSON.

• Jah Bless 7 years ago

This money could have been used to help treat HIV patients in the Nkoranza area. HIV is all over that area .

• citizen observer 7 years ago

i was about to scold him for wasting all that money but then again as a mother i think i understand.what can a son do for his mother? after all you guys do for girls who catch your fancy ....she must have been a good mummy. ...

• citizen observer 7 years ago

please guys dont insult him its an emotional decision.....

• Owusu 7 years ago

Citizen, I see you are one of the wisest among Africans. About 75% are full of insult for this very brilliant man for what offense, my God!Do you know how dear the mother was for Him?

• Kingsley Owusu Ampaw 7 years ago

Do not envy or jealous. Have you forgotten how Joseph of arimathia honoured Jesus' body.If you have not got the means, better shut up and pray.Do you know the extent to which this rich man has helped soo many people by employ ...

• PK 7 years ago

Right answers. Thank you.

• toti 7 years ago

Stupid unless business man, help the poor.

• COD 7 years ago

Nick is advised to establish a school, hospital, cottage, etc., in his mother`s memory. He shd not be wasteful like that.

• naa 7 years ago

Money Swine!!!

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

30,000 US Dollars going into the ground? Oh, poor people and may the Lord have Mercy on us all.

• Koo Nimo 7 years ago

This is an opulence. How much duties were paid for the import of such casket to Ghana. This is another behaviour which encourages grave looters and armed robberies.

• GYAMFI 7 years ago

STUPIDITY OF HIGHEST ORDER. ONLY IN GHANA. CUSTOMS SHOULD COLLECT US$100,000 AS DUTY. REASON AFRICANS ARE BACKWARD AND POOR.

• ABONSAM FIREMAN,LEICESTER CITY,UK 7 years ago

JESUS!!!THIS IS DIABOLIC...SATANIC EXTRAVAGANCE.AND U WANT US TO CLAP AND DANCE?

• Anas is unstoppable 7 years ago

While others are struggling to make ends meet

• ras Adams Rsa 7 years ago

Have he finished feeding the poor at Nkronza and it numerous villagies. That is why a choose to be a muslim bcs islam doesn teach even 1Gh cedis casket.

• kk 7 years ago

O! I know the beginning of this guy. His mum deserve whatever the son could afford. I shared the same bed with this guy here in Accra. When we all arrived Fr ba n looking for a lose place to travel to. Very humble n very wise ...

• zzzz 7 years ago

This guy has not even said he wants presidency....PAA KWASI NDOOM WITH HIS THIN INVESTMENTS is asking for hahahahahah....

• Jfk 7 years ago

Is this your best? Really Mahama?

• Mark coffie 7 years ago

Mmmm This is no news , with all the hustle going in GH casket is our news? This just shows how we as a nation think, we going no where

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

you think he will bury the mum in a public or open cemetery for grave looters to have a field day.

• NoaG 7 years ago

This people are only wasting money. Some people are looking for gari to eat and they are doing that thing.Yehowa

• gyidie 7 years ago

Monstrosity attracted at the port!
    Perhaps the young tycoon, can build a permanent masoleum to cap off this 'madness'!

• Kingsley 7 years ago

We respect the sending home of the rich and powerful but they don't resurrect whether buried in expensive or low priced caskets. The Moslems have the same for all. Gold or wawa you 're not coming back

MY AUNTIE IS NANA ACHIAA. SHE GOT ALL THAT A MOTHER SHOULD HAVE EVEN AT HER DEATH.
    TO BRETUOBA'S COMMENT. AFRICANS HONOUR OUR DEAD BECAUSE WE BRLIEVE THEY LIVE ON AND MUST BE RESPECTED WITH AWE. DID YOU KNOW ABOUT DR BUSIA' ...

• Awaala 7 years ago

This is no News

• Gad 7 years ago

Excuse me, isn't there any straight thinking person in your family? How can you throw such amount of money into the gutters! Is time African's learn to create wealth than spend unnecessarily. Wake up mother Africa.

• bismark asante 7 years ago

the man is very rich. upon all this what is important most is where the soul is going

• Efya 7 years ago

Nobody knows de tins his mum has to go tru bf brgin him up to be a successful businessman. Maebe to him, his moda deserves even more dan dat casket. Ghanaians, we onli knw Hw to talk n critise odas, wat a country

• Tankari in ITALY 7 years ago

Oh. My. God. 30.000 u s d. is money. I bag. you.

• slime-t 7 years ago

DAMN WASTE OF MONEY!! YOU JUST DON'T GET IT

• hmmmm 7 years ago

it would be stolen within 24hours

• adjei samuel 7 years ago

but where is jacksons body

• FUFUO DADESEN 7 years ago

READ THE ARTICLE AGAIN

• De Element 7 years ago

that is complete nonsense, how many people could have been helped with this kind of money,the whiteman has indeed brainwashed you bitches!!!

• Eddy 7 years ago

Am shock of you Nick, you have suffered a lot in Spain, and at long last you made it ..
    You can't spend such amount of money on coffin ... Well we Madrid guys are wishing you all the best.. RIP to ur mum.
    But change ur sty ...

• Fools 7 years ago

madness. African is full poverty, now see this type of nonsense. Religion is contributing factor to this form madness. idiot

• creep out 7 years ago

Creepy

• creep out 7 years ago

Let the man rest

• Wazup 7 years ago

Is this news?who gives a fuck about a coffin and what has Michael Jackson got to fo with it

• Emma 7 years ago

Love MJ forever

• PUREWATER 7 years ago

ooooh maame Achiaa, even with this but you cannot take it to heaven. RIP

• still rastafari 7 years ago

its his choice,but i want God's wisdom

• Randy Penndy 7 years ago

Jesus Christ!!!!! He has all the money to spend on his mothers corpse when some poverty stricken towns need potarble drinking water,toilet facilities,schools etc.Does any of u know of a family member who is poor?God help us a ...

• Nuru 7 years ago

waste of money on oneday job whiles the beggars are dying of abject hunger.

• Kwame Mensah 7 years ago

For all you know he has been spending a lot of other people. My grandfather ordered his Bronze Casket from the UK also gold plaited in 1967. What about that? It is because at that time communication was bad that was why it w ...

• Stone 7 years ago

This is a complete madness. Where is the soul going? God helps us.

• Ben sikakrom 7 years ago

If thieves can break graves for just a copper ring what would they do to $30,000 gold casket?

• Eno 7 years ago

Exactly

• James 7 years ago

Not necessary

• mr death 7 years ago

He could have embalmed the mother and kept the body in the house forever and ever.Will the mother know that she is lying in a gold-plated coffin.A cadavre lying in a gold-plated coffin? Amazing!!!!.Anyway he can afford it.

• Ben sikakrom 7 years ago

If thieves can break graves for just a cloth what would they do to $30,000 gold casket?

• nii nakai Nettey......Chicago 7 years ago

Article stated casket cost $ 30,000 dollars...but after reading all the various comments...I never saw anyone asking if really that casket is worth 30,000dollars as been claimed.
    Ghanaians can brag and inflate prices to crea ...

• Ken 7 years ago

I don't get it so if you are rich you can't enjoy your wealth because there are poor people around? Besides poverty is not lack of money but what u have that someone doesn't have. Bro dont listen to Ghanaians u are not Govern ...

• AGYEMAN MANU 7 years ago

But is KENNEDY AGYEPONG listerning?

• CHANGE IS COMING 7 years ago

All Vanity

• Chief 7 years ago

What is $30, 000 that you should make noise about. Can't you see the businesses the man owns.

I can easily afford it.

• Victoria 7 years ago

He is giving his last respect to his mother. I have seen nothing wrong with this. if not because of her he will not exit