You are here: HomeNews2016 05 19Article 440040

Ghana going coal is ‘madness’ - Tarzan

Read Comments Comments (59)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 8 years ago

DEAD GOAT MAHAMA IS ON HIS WAY OUT. EVERY GHANAIAN IS AWARE OF THIS. IF YOU SEE MAHAMA'S HEAD ON THE BUS, LET IT REMIND YOU OF HIS INEPTNESS. HOW COULD HE SPEND $1MILLION ON THAT FOOLISH DEED WHILST HOSPITALS LACK BEDS AND OU ...

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

Just as we senselessly went into purifying sea water for domestic use we should not dare into coal in deed it does not make sense.

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

mahama best among the rest, vote mahama for PEACE and DEVELOPMENT

• Apraku 8 years ago

This happens when useless politicians think that they can take Ghana for a ride.They started with Nuke programms and saw its devastating effects, instead of thinking of better remedy to solve the energy problems they've now r ...

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

Clap for your father. Mahama is so stupid I cannot clap for him.

• Hippocrates 8 years ago

Clap is a nasty venereal disease. I wouldn't wish it on anyone.

• Wisdom Klu 8 years ago

I love ur post

• j0eY l0nD0n 8 years ago

On the sea water project? Go to Israel and learn from the ants.

• WhiteAfricangal 8 years ago

Why would a country with river bodies and annual rainfalls like ghana chose a very expensive and ineffective method of producing water? Kwasia,Israel is situated 0n a desert and have liTtle choice.They're technologically far ...

• EFO KOKU 8 years ago

These people just create the project and then use the project to loot and share the money. Tarzan you see the kind of people you are supporting? They are up to no good. Serious thieves in government.

• Independent voter 8 years ago

Yo have a history major as president what do you expect.

• Ganiyu 8 years ago

What has a president's major got to do with his accomplishments? Clinton studied International Relations and Law yet gave technology, particularly the Internet, unfettered growth that we are all beneficiaries now. A good p ...

• KKO 8 years ago

The only logic in this stupid project is that the Chinese are so corrupt they will offer anything to any taker to export mass death into any country. And in this case they find Mahama a willing accomplice in their dirty schem ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

What is wrong with going coal? Go to the civilized Western world and see for yourself what they are doing with coal.

• sam Oduro 8 years ago

Yes western world are getting away from coal that is what is wrong with the idea building coal plant in Ghana

• tuy 8 years ago

The environmental issue is moot. The crux of Tarzan's argument is based on the fact that we don't have coal in Ghana to feed the plant. That is going to be a big problem. The reason why the environmental issue is moot is that ...

• Osei Boakye 8 years ago

Coal is fossil fuel, burning it spews greenhouse gases (GHGs) into the atmosphere, contributing to climate change, which is causing droughts, forest fires, rising sea levels, & severe weather in many parts of the world.

C ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

How many people in Ghana know about the causes and consequences of climate change?
    We face great danger from its repercussions.
    Especially from coastal erosion because of rising sea levels. Look at what is happening to Keta ...

• kwame Nkrumah 8 years ago

Kwame coal is mined underground. Ghana doesn't have goal mines. We have Gold mines.

• Sappey-Agboh, Lagbohkope 8 years ago

I honestly hope the nation Ghana and my party NDC are listening to other dissenting voices. Countries that still operate coal-fired plants are seating on massive coal reserves. Why we have to spend hard-earned and scarce fore ...

• Awuku Womafunu 8 years ago

Is the raw material here in
    Ghana or we are going to import? But, you know why VRA is going into this? They are doing this because (1) It is Other Peoples Money that must be used BY HEART.(2) Some people are more interested ...

U.S. still produce electricity from coal

• Paapidi 8 years ago

Because US has massive coal deposits. However, it is shying away from building new coal plants. Many old coal plants have gone belly up.

• David Osei 8 years ago

Kwame, and for how long?
    Do you know why Hillary Clinton lost the primaries in W. Virginia to Sanders?
    When she becomes President, coal will be history - that's how important coal is to America - a silent killer.
    Even with ...

• Asante,Yaw. 8 years ago

Only until 2020 . It is no longer profitable. Only profit counts in USA . Keep on asking your questions---, who will pay for the imported coal ? Europeans are still spending billions fighting the damages done to human ...

• John Dramani Mediocrity 8 years ago

Does our President even recall he is a co-chair? All he does is to attend these conferences in sunglasses to impress.

Everything happens for a reason...Ghanaians have learnt the hard way and soon, he'll be out and may not ...

• PAULO 8 years ago

If Mahama thinks the answer to dumsor is going coal, then Mahama is really out to no good. Is going coal to power Ghana really is part of the NDC better Ghana agenda? I now know for sure that we must change this incompetent N ...

• James 8 years ago

Ghanaians hast to stand up and say no, because our Future is very important. This lazy Ghanaians Student who is going to repared it when something bad happen.

• IS MAHAMA A FOOL OR WHAT? 8 years ago

Is Mahama a fool or what?

Does he reason at all?

Is he forward-looking?

Does he care?

What is the justification for coal, something that we have to import when we have so much natural gas right here in Ghana?

• Bobby 8 years ago

There is problem to be solved and that is his (the prez or NDC)thinking. Let us bring ours too. Together we build Ghana. Criticism is easy.Bring your ideas on board now.

• Joe 8 years ago

God bless you Tarzan.

• IS MAHAMA A FOOL OR WHAT? 8 years ago

I didn't know that my president is such a stupid fool. I mean a real Moose. For the time, am beginning to hate him, dislike is too mild.

• kwame 8 years ago

Mr.Brobby you are right.thank you.

Coal is considered as non clean source of energy in the western world.Research has also found black lung disease for those who stay around such coal power plant. Tarzan's concern should be taken seriously. In fact the people ...

• Papa 8 years ago

Thank you Dr. Nduom for raising this into the public realm. This is what we expect of responsible leaders and thanks to Tarzan for weighing in on this.

• DANIEL SIAW 8 years ago

Its insane and plane stupidity for Ghana to be thinking about coal as an alternative source of energy. Yes we do have problems as a nation but to consider coal as an alternate to solve our energy crisis is not only stupid on ...

• yaw kwarteng 8 years ago

Germany is going solar despite cold weather why can we fellow their example since we have abundant of solar energy in Ghana

• Abdul Azziz -Tamale 8 years ago

utter nonsense, that a country blessed so much with gas deposits goes to import coal from RSA to power a coal plant. Politics aside, whoever thinks like this is either a fool or hell corrupt reckless, anyway JZ and JM are fri ...

• Ernest Peter Ofori 8 years ago

I agree with Doc. This is strange and beats simple logic. With our basic problem being the fuel for our plants, I am a lost when we think of investing in a plant that would be fueled from an external source, who is doing the ...

• Kwabena Erzoah 8 years ago

Dear Readers,
    Considering the long term, I agree with Dr Brobbey (Tarzan). Coal is fossil fuel and once upon the time a resource for energy and still is. The talk now is renewable energy which Nuclear energy seems to partial ...

• Bobby 8 years ago

Kobina nuclear is the cleanest of energy. Why we are not seriously considering it amazes me. Our first president Dr Kwame Nkrumah thought of it more than 50 years ago. Ask Dr Wereko Brobbey why he is not advocating nuclear. I ...

• Feerty 8 years ago

In governments eyes - free money (although loans involved) plus lots of nice bribes to get licence etc plus government through its friends will create a crazy contract to pay crazy prices for power never mention environmental ...

• sugri 8 years ago

Well said Dr Tarzan. But lets not read politics into this. This is an expert advice well intended for our nation.

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

This government is the most useless and backward thinking ever! Coal in Ghana when other countries are running away from it?

• TENGEH MAWUENYEGA MAWUMENYO BUBUNE 8 years ago

Politicians don't care about the people who vote for them so they take actions that affect them always. Mr John, please don't be John and listen to common sense kk coal will not help Ghana, we don't need we prefer to be in da ...

• BRIGHT 8 years ago

THANKS A LOT, DR. CHARLES WIREKO BROBBY FOR OPPOSING THIS OUT-MODED FORM OF PRODUCING ELECTRICITY. LET US ALL SUPPORT "TARZAN" AND PUT THE MAHAMA GOVERNMENT ON HIS RIGHT TOES. FIGHT THE GOOD FIGHT WITH ALL YOUR MIGHT. BRAVO , ...

• lawfellas 8 years ago

The problem in Ghana is that we don't listen to good advice. I hope somebody listens to Tarzan. This guy gives good advice but he is often ignored for political reasons. WAKE UP GHANA COAL IS BAD FOR OUR ENERGY MIX.

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Ghana buying filty coal from china whilst ghana has enough sunshine to vo solar for freee. Also ghana has enough gas at present to use gas as a sustaineable soyrce of electricity in adfition to somar and electril ill to house ...

• Bobby 8 years ago

If Ghana has enough gas why are we experiencing dumsor 2 because Nigerian gas workers are on strike?
    Is our gas enough to power our thermal plants (Takoradi/Tema)?
    Why is nuclear power not on the table?

• Nature 8 years ago

Tarzan you're right 100%. I some time wander how the so call educated people think. Posterity will judge us all.

• SERUM PSA 8 years ago

so what is the sense in what wants to do this country? the only way to stop this is voting them out full stop!!!!

• JM 8 years ago

Coal is cheaper than diesel fuel .

• Asante,Yaw. 8 years ago

Do you have money to buy and import coal? Coal is only cheap in countries with large deposits

• KOFI ELLISON 8 years ago

Kudos to Anokyeba Wireko Brobbey.

I have called the whole Coal Plant project, the fleecing of Ghana aided and abetted by the Chief of Ho who owns Asogli Power with some Chinese.

The Chinese government has stopped new c ...

• Phil 8 years ago

Spend the money on SOLAR

• Nii from Mamprobi 8 years ago

OOOOOOOh Ghana Paaaaaaaa y Government full of Idiots!!!!!!! Coal in Africa how??? Im so disappointed in NDC no wonder Rawlings and co bailed out.

as we speak Morocco is building giant Solar plant go check on CNN. Ghana wak ...

• Dumsor is back. 8 years ago

There aian't a thing called CLEAN COAL TECNOLOGY. Ghana is dirty, polluted and stinky enough without dirty coal. Diesel, plastic and noise pollution are already making life in Ghana uncomfortable so it is ridiculous that the ...

• Sammy 8 years ago

Tarzan is a combustion Engineer. I do not know any of his likes in
    Ghana. The proponents of this stupid idea of coal fired power plant should visit Salsburg in South Africa - the city where coal is mined and refined into pe ...

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

dt's pathetic to hear that the NDC gov't would opt to use coal, the world's #1 killer of the Earth's ozone, as their proposed source of generating energy for Ghana. This tells a whole lot about NDC's incompetency! It's clear ...