Ghana’s military ranked 19th most powerful in Africa

Read Comments Comments (44)

• USMAN 8 years ago

Oyiwa

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

MAHAMA best among the rest, vote mahama for peace and development

• Efo 8 years ago

shame, turn away from fake chinese weapons. common kenya and Togo and dirty chad all pass ghana? what a fuck!!!!!!!!!!!!

• A B C 8 years ago

Ghana ranked 19th, very bad. Even Zimbabwe, Uganda and the Sudans passed Ghana

• Edgar 8 years ago

Our concern should be about our poor quality of life not a military. Education and decent housing for all should be our top priority and not military might or expensive funerals

• shamu 8 years ago

I only know Ghana army changed their military uniform, abandon their guns and get in to civilians. Tell me. Even they can not get 60th position in Africa if fairness are applied

• Douglas. Bristol-UK°` 8 years ago

they should have been ranked 54th

• edi 8 years ago

DO WE REALY HAVE AN ARMY? WHT ARMY DO WE HAVE WITH 1059 RUSSIAN WEPON AND RIFFLELES?WHAE WAS THE LAST TIME GHANA ARMY DID ANY TRAINING AND WHEN DID WE BUY NEW TANKS AND PLANS?WOW WHAT AJOKE GHANA ARMY.

• jerry 8 years ago

all the do is eat kenke all day long and harass poor folks in Ghana villages the never train or do anything productive shame on Ghana army

• ghanaman 8 years ago

Ghana's military is ranked 19th, next to South Sudan at 18th.

• kwame 8 years ago

Na s3 yawe.

• Ghana 8 years ago

Shame to Ghana, we shuld acquired Morden weapons. De worse is our police service dey use old weapons. And it can failed dem any tym. We tank God for his protection.

• Mohammed. Accra 8 years ago

But am not surprised bcos our military has not bin tested before, apart from military coup's we have had nd the peace keeping our military usually go. We have never experienced any war or a civil war, dat often shaped nd stre ...

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

19TH IN AFRICA, TOO BAD. AND SO WE ARE NOT STRONG AFTER ALL. PLACING 19TH IN AFRICA MEANS OUR MILITARY IS NOT FEARSOME BY ANY MEASURE.

YEARS AGO, WE HAD THE BEST JUST FOR THE PURPOSE OF STAGING MILITARY COUPS AND OUSTING L ...

• ETRE KOFI 8 years ago

Nonsense!

• Raymond Agbeli 8 years ago

The US can never face Russia one on one,they'd be beaten to pulp!. the US always hide behind NATO to make noise.They can never fight RUSSIA face to face and win.When u talk of military spending fine the Us is far ahead.but ac ...

• Umolu 8 years ago

We are talking about Africa, why bring in USA and Russia?

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

We may not have the best weaponry but there is no doubt that when it comes to Manpower, Strategy & Tactics, our soldiers are some of the best on the face of the earth.

Although we have not had any wars to fight, thankfully ...

• George 8 years ago

our soldiers are criminals and cowards all they do is harass villagers in poor communities all the stories about the soldiers being around the world is nonsense they are there in capacity of the U.N
    a job which required li ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

Son of a whore, it is your fucking prostitute mother who talks shit. Stupid fool who can't even write good english. Get lost!

• Daniel 8 years ago

U no exactly what u're saying not lik wat the others are saying. The problems is nt wit the men I mean the soldiers bt left with the big men to provide modern weapons and equipments

• Kwadwo, Atlanta Ga. 8 years ago

RAT-TAG ARMY BULLYING UNARMED PEOPLE, SHAME, SHAME, SHAME!!!

• Mary 8 years ago

our weapon is 1950 soviet era it is obsolete and it is worth less, our soldiers never train, all they do is spend tax payers money to sit in camps all day get fat and eat kenke
    or go to rural area to steal and abuse poor ...

• A????? T???? C?????? 8 years ago

V??? sad

• David Ofosu-Appiah 8 years ago

It should have been Egypt and Ethiopia,South Africa and Angola.For Ghana we are more peace-keeping and not too combat ready and war mongering.

• Odikro 8 years ago

Untested, warless and lawless military. What do they do other than making coups and beating up civilians - and now, the police. What is the measure of their strength?

• fresh 8 years ago

Yes Ghana army is 19th in Africa continent...its not the fault of the officers men and women in the army bt the so called government officials,no modern weapons or modern tanks,they always provide the army with Chinese equip ...

• Samuel 8 years ago

Infact they should rank them number one in Africa in terms of armed robbery

• Not among first 10? 8 years ago

I thought they were among the first 10.

• JM 8 years ago

Wrong racking Ghana should be the first or second position.

• Umolu 8 years ago

Ok,wrong ranking. Let us make you happy. Ghana military is number one in Africa. Congratulations.

• OWUO MENSAH 8 years ago

We are in serious trouble. The Ghana Army has the largest cook house. largest number of cooks and kitchen staff? God bless Ghana

• micky 8 years ago

Hmmmmm, have you people asked about what made them to higher rank?

• obi 8 years ago

the country's that ranked most powerful they fight every day so they ,so they have the need to rank that positions.but Ghana we also need to wakeup

• obi 8 years ago

is a sham to as with all this peace keeping we should be around 7th

• Bayawa 8 years ago

Ghana armed forces Yawa army. Even idi Ami Uganda pass us. Apuuuu

• Nayaki 8 years ago

Foolish man will say manpower this new world u talk of manpower when GPS systems are working.where will your men go when some one stay in his country and send bomb into your yard.

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

feeding the industries!

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

YES GHANA'S ARMY IS THE MOST DISCIPLINED ARMED FORCES IN AFRICA!!

• Ayi Koonaa 8 years ago

Peaceful countries ranks low in fire power and military armaments.Ghana does not need to fight its neighbors for any thing therefore does not need to arms we need a good internal police force than an expensive standing army. ...

• Umolu 8 years ago

You got it right. Nigeria was thinking just as you are now thinking -oh,we don't need to buy weapons; we are a peaceful country with peaceful neighbours and lo, enemies came from within -Boko Haram. Investment in the military ...

Stupid fools insulting soldiers!! What have they than....we should blame ourselves and the politicians for not buying Morden equipments for the military!! Saying we ain't at war....we are hypocrites wen we insult the military ...

• Nana Ajenas 8 years ago

Really bad. Mahama is indeed very stupid.he just talk. Talkative president. Oguan funu otoolege ofui mahama

• jo addis abeba 8 years ago

From ethiopian people point of view we were at war for thousands of years in 3000 year history almost all century's of war within and as far as the Greeks ( Trojan horse war) shocking isn't it Google it.so with these experien ...