You are here: HomeNews2016 05 08Article 436880

E.L. is VGMA Artiste of the Year 2016

Read Comments Comments (114)

• eno 8 years ago

what is the difference between artiste of the year and best new artiste of the year??

• cashman 8 years ago

bogus awards , shatta was deliberately suspended to make way for EL' s victory because they know they can buly bisa k dei

• Kay 8 years ago

.....what 'ta' ?? does he need e awards?dnt bring that issue here.we need descent acts to pick awards.after he took e best act last yr where did he end??we need acts that can rep gh internationally.

• paulus 8 years ago

Kwasia, is it character awards or music award. We are looking for people who produce good songs which are known nationwide not people who have good characters. If that is the case den you give de awards to Pastors like Obin ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

disappointed tribalism awards, you can also call it Accra music awards, pls dont call it Ghana music awards

• Sunny 8 years ago

Yea, I agree its ACCRA Music Awards-- boola!!!

• Kay 8 years ago

hahahaaa!!!new artiste of e yr meaning discovery artiste...an artiste wif his/her own first song has it through e music industry.
    artiste of e yr is e overall winner .

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 8 years ago

This award has no honor and recognition in outside Ghana so what's the value.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

It is his strategy to associate with popular persons so his shame may be masked. He knows about his abysmal failure and so want to be close to people being discussed most so he could be a subject too.

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

Ignorant fool. Just do a little research and you will realise it's Akuffo Addo who is quick to send messages to people on social media and try to associate himself with them. Sarkodie, Reggie and Bolie etc. Keep your stupid p ...

• Kay 8 years ago

i think r2bees deserved e best group. considering their hits songs like makoma,lobi,gboza n e likes as compared to vvip 1 hit song skolom....hmmmmm!!!!!
    omar sterling was also denied e best rapper.his raps in nineteen ninet ...

• cashman 8 years ago

massa .what are u talking about
    ..all those songs omar did are refix .bob marley was done on saa okodie's beat and nineteen ninety was also modeled on DRAKE's beat.omar sterling cannot do original songs without sampling peo ...

• OverBitches 8 years ago

does that really matter

• OverBitches 8 years ago

Am highly disappointed in the awards given,Nothing for r2bees.i now see the light is wales reactions

• Rati day day 8 years ago

Tweaaaa useless awards

• cedicedi 8 years ago

the most boring awards show ever

• APA 8 years ago

If overall your album was adjudged the album of the year, and a song on that album wins the most popular song of the year...then why shouldn't you be crowned the artist of the year...VGMA is gradually loosing its credibility.

• Kkk 8 years ago

Ooooo say it again oo I feel bad for kdei

• Shogun 8 years ago

Well said. They just giving awards to accommodate all the artists, stupid award and board. Bisa had timeless album meaning 100 years from now people will still enjoy these songs, tell me what EL song will still be enjoyed 6 ...

• ewurama boakye gyan 8 years ago

Yes ooo my dear this is a total mess I'm soo disappointed

• samuel 8 years ago

naa true

• darill 8 years ago

jeeez!!!!! which kind of awards be this kraaaaa.

• kaakyireba 8 years ago

Accra music awards bogus, #Flowkingstone we still dey your back

• Bright 8 years ago

Flowkingstone is still the best rapper in Ghana to real rap lovers...

• Yaw T. 8 years ago

you know wah it is.......str8

• Olu 8 years ago

How can all these artist be getting awards whilst Shata walley gets none? Is the Ghana music awards bias or something or are people paying to get multiple awards?

• Peter's 8 years ago

Who is shatta walley

• kojo 8 years ago

Download kakai and hol it | shatta wale, mansa | bisa kdei, and any song of EL. Compare and you'll know who shatta is. SM4LYF

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

From what hole did you just come out?

• ORBOI NATTY 8 years ago

FULL U DONT KNOW DE COUNTRYBOSS(SHATTA WALE)

• thru 8 years ago

Pls check your spelling, it's FOOL and not FULL...
    Lol..

• ORBOI NATTY 8 years ago

SHATTA WALE FOREVER IN NA MI LIFE(MI DE LOYAL FUN AM OKt)SM 4LYF

Yes I think they payed to get multiple awards ..and that obour of a person he has done nothing good as the musica president but just taking bribes he did the same thing for edem last year shame on him

• Diego. 8 years ago

Stupid awards.

• Ghananyi 8 years ago

Won't waste my time on that shit

• Ashoq 8 years ago

EL don't deserve artist the year award at all..
    Eeeeee!!! Ghana Corruption go everywhere

• Queen 8 years ago

Chatter has cheated Bisa K'dei. EL does not deserve the artist of the year. What criteria do VGMA use at all? Upon all the insinuations and attack from other artists about how Chatter house has been cheating them seem true to ...

• Kkk 8 years ago

I agree. Even the minister was surprised when she saw it was EL

• not needed 8 years ago

Eii innocent bisa kdei too then steal ham

• Ernest Ganu 8 years ago

This very surprising

• paulus 8 years ago

Big up Reggie for knowing de truth, No one can hide Shatta Wale now. He has proven you all wrong with all these hate yet de guy is making it big. Promote your boys still Shatta dey strong. SM4LYF.

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

EL won only three personal awards including the artist of the year which he does not deserve, and Bisa K.dei won four personal because EL's best producer and video awards does not belong to him but is for the producer of the ...

• Big mos 8 years ago

Vgma why dat?????

• Blink! 8 years ago

MY kids don't know who EL is but they know Bisa and Shatta and dance to their songs. Who is EL? i am still wondering.....is this award meant for people into club songs or what?....hmmmm chatter house....someone help me.

• Alberto 8 years ago

I have not heard any song of EL but I know at least two popular songs of Bisa. This is complete robbery.

• BLAKABWOY 8 years ago

ALWAYZ D KOKO TO MA GOD!!! ALL THINGZ IS BY D GRACE.WE GIVE TANZ TO GOD ALMIGHTY FOR EVERYTHING!! (E.....L)

• Togbui Delavi 8 years ago

As for this one de3, VGMA , you have disappointed me. How EL beat Kdei in this category. I understand Shatta Wale now. This is shameful.

• Big mos 8 years ago

VGMA WHY DAT?????? CUZ THE ONE YOU CROWM THE ARTIST OF THE YEAR DO NOT DESERVE IT AT ALL ..... NOT AT ALLLLLLLLL

• Godwin Napoleon 8 years ago

EL no deserve de at all

• rooney 8 years ago

popular song of the year but not artist of the year hmm

• chairman 8 years ago

Frankly I couldn't sleep how can denies pay de the best rapper in Ghana .

• quansy 8 years ago

If u cldnt sleep then u must be hallucinating if u think pay day is de best rapper in ghana.try n get some sleep.

• Hakers De Zamani 8 years ago

Congrats to my sarkodie fans zone..? sark

• lily 8 years ago

Eeeei Ghana!!! bias everywhere I think bisa Kdei deserves the overall best

• Francis Quaicoo Drake 8 years ago

Tbh: VGMA sucks tho

• Haruna 8 years ago

Shameless vgma ahh apuu was even boring pay and get

• Bbb 8 years ago

It's all turned into politics now,

• Osono 8 years ago

Bisa Kdei was by far the best in everything for the year under review. Best song of the year-brother brother.

• Taliban 8 years ago

For me, artise of de yr category was a flop. EL never deserved to be nominated in that category. It was a sold out award to EL. Now i side with SHATTA!

• Baba 8 years ago

What are you guys talking about? EL really deserved the award of the night.

• quansy 8 years ago

Hi El is that u...

• shelly (Washington DC) 8 years ago

Hi there, greetings to you all .
    I love Ghanaweb, I followed it always cause of Shatter Wale. I saw his show in the State and I was really shocked.
    But surprisingly to see he an got nothing on awards day. I think his style ...

• Nadine 8 years ago

he desrves it

• Willy 8 years ago

All this be fake. NDC movement.
    Why DJ AZIGIZA, no get nothing.(m3 do wo Abena) hahaha.
    What about KK KABOBO
    what about LORD KENYA
    what about OMANHENE POZOO.

All this useles money you guys throw out. Make you go use h ...

• ARLEX 8 years ago

Unfortunately, Bisa K'dei has never learnt how to speak in public. Bisa K'dei moment before the announcement of the artist of the year goofed by arrogating to himself being part of history of pioneers of Ghanaian highlife. Th ...

• Kkk 8 years ago

Stop this nonsense. The guy came back to apologize, who doesn't make mistakes.

• Rita 8 years ago

Its true and better not to blow ones own horn but i will blow it for him bisa is a legend in the making with the way he makes timeless songs

• quansy 8 years ago

That's true.He just misconstrued his sentence. He should have said in future he will be recognized as one of de pioneers of Ghanaian highlife.

• nanagy 8 years ago

The minister who announced the artist of the year said she is surprised by the winner el .Because how can the only 100% voting popular song of the year winer and the album of the year winer not win the artist of the year? is ...

• obis 8 years ago

afta EL claim de 5th award, he said he ll be back meaning dere was something behind his award OR

• kojo 8 years ago

Besides, camera was on him most of the time. Your guess is as good as mine

• obis 8 years ago

VGMA, EL AND OBOUR NO WAT S GOING ON, BCUS S IMPOSSIBLE FOR EL TO CLAIMED 6 AWARD.

• Ohene ba kojo Rockstone 8 years ago

ohhh poor Bisa kdei.....sowiii.....l was expecting you to win the artist of the year but it didn't work that way...but in my heart o know is you...shad out to yo BISA ....EL though did well, he shouldn't have been given the a ...

• wisezany from osu accra 8 years ago

everybody deserve wat is been given 2 him .give a break 4 who is shatta. I wish shatta is been band from gh music industry.justice award given.

• commander 8 years ago

guyz. dis one de3333, EL does not deserve the artist of the yr award and even nomination in dat category koraaa. but hey,we dey GH. anyfin is possible.

• Felix 8 years ago

How can one win the hiplife artiste of the year, most popular song of the year as well as album of the year and still be denied the artiste of the year

• manuel ackon 8 years ago

Gys,gys,gys,stop wat u seing hre ,we are not attacking anyone,I tink bisa kdei dserv it,but wen u listening to e.l sogs dat win artise of de year, minaa bo po, jx danload dat song n see,doe de song didn't hit public figure bu ...

• kiki 8 years ago

I like u el

• fresh 8 years ago

Pay as u get vgma award...now the whole country has seen ur bias in that useless awards organization.....shatta was right for telling u guys to do the right thing....Shad out To Kdei u are still the artist of the yr.

• Zino 8 years ago

lets put the year under review n see the producer of the year, Kin Dee n E l who really deserved the award?

• Zino 8 years ago

I am in Sunyani n that "me na bo po" song by EL is not hit here. I don't know if they only base on ppl in Accra.

• kojo 8 years ago

I dey Gá, yesterday was the first I heard that song.

• OSEI 8 years ago

I am proud of you Elorm Adabla popularly called EL.

• Nana 8 years ago

Learn To Award The Right Artist. el "artist of the year" WE ARE REALLY FUNNY. VGMA Please sit up and stop mocking your brand And For That Matter Ghana. Bisa, it's obvious so don't worry.

• Paa Kwaw 8 years ago

Im still not happy about all this because why shatta wale wasnt nominated.......

El doesn't deserve those awards he took especially video and artist of the year I'm abig fan but for this he doesn't deserve it vgma was a cheat I swear I didn't enjoy it at all I respect shatta wale for insulting the officia ...

• kojo 8 years ago

Change of name, its now CHEATER HOUSE!

• Victory 8 years ago

This award was to be given to stonebowy What hit EL got koo koo or all black this gh award is not fair also r2bees was to win an award this award is business

• Nana Akua 8 years ago

Why EL, oh oh oh. Hmmmmmmmm . Am even sort of words and disappointed . Only God knows where our country is heading too.

• guti 8 years ago

Better stop this awarrds bcos it bullshits and you guys are blind, u better visit the eye specialist

• Bright 8 years ago

Flowkingstone is the best rapper in Ghana. Flowking....non stop...

• Evidence 8 years ago

Intact, I think Kay is abnormal to say that.what do know about music,U can't compare sarkode's hand to mouth to Omar sterlings bob madly.Sark hand to mouth is a song of advise for youth for dem to know how to live their lives ...

• TB PUNAMANI 8 years ago

truly el doesn't deserved de award

• no noise 8 years ago

U too shut up kweku trouble or who ever U call your self.why do U like insult like dat,are U a woman?dey insulting sark ,roggie and bolie.stupid guy. Shut up your stinky mouth

• ghelzdom 8 years ago

el deserve the award
    waiiiiiii

• kay 8 years ago

Boola Awards

Shatta Wale still the best dancehall-- these nigerians awarding Ghanaians

• Sunny 8 years ago

Sarkodie the best rapper?
    Eiii Sorry ooo Its Vodafon Accra Music Awards

• Nanasei 8 years ago

It should have been Bisa Kedi. This guy is a gem and should have taken it easily. All the same, I know He is okay because he doesn't need this to show he is exceptional. "Bisa Kedi, me tu ts3 mawu"

• Haruna 8 years ago

Will always insult them

• nattybongo 8 years ago

This award was so boring than everything on this earth and l think vgma cannot be trusted you give us koko wid no 'brodo' how can it be lucky for you and l wish shattah was part like wr go see say you go get wat and eat of th ...

• nattybongo 8 years ago

Nonfa awrds el u deserve this award koroaa fake award show

• musah 8 years ago

i think EL shd av won 'best rapper' considering d 'BAR 2 album' n hip hop song shd av been given to 'nineteen ninety-omar sterling'

• ismael 8 years ago

Whether Award or no Award Shatta wale is the bigest among all because the rest are just money lovers and cannot speak out the truth like Shatta does. No one in dis world will recognize them for this shameless and corrupt awar ...

• Flowking stone deserve award 8 years ago

I think flowking must atleast win one,oh too bad,what has he done to chatter house,bisa no worries u still da best,so fire burn dem wasnt a good rap song.eiiiii cheater house n suprises

• kojo 8 years ago

And the best rapper is FLOW-KIIINNG STONE! PERIOD

• nick 8 years ago

Is a shame corruption everywhere. Bisa has been cheated

• None 8 years ago

one thing you guys are forgetting is that the awards are based on votes. So stop the complaining. It's just a matter of the rich and those with numerous friends winning the awards

• Ebenezer kwakye agyeman 8 years ago

if its vote then sark would win artist of the year,it is corruption, Flowking Stone don't worry,ur tym will come,maybe it wouldn't be GH, bisa kul down,guru next time,

• Sinbad Gh 8 years ago

I SEE U BABY

STILL NKZ FOR LIFE..... NKZ FANS DE3 WE KNOW GO COMBAT FOR AWARD OOO BUT STILL WE GO IT...BIG SHOUT OUT TO ALL HOSA 2013 STUDENT FROM UR GUY RANDY

• Arrested 8 years ago

If a primary six pupil is given the opportunity to name or organize an event,B.kdei,stone bwoy, shatta, kinata,atom,guru,r2b etc. are the musicians he'll bring on board and not EL or whatever his name is

• godsway 8 years ago

How can this thing go

• Rita 8 years ago

Oooh bisa k dei when will u be given what is due u.....artiste of the year

• Rita 8 years ago

Ooooh bisa k dei when will u be given what is due u.....artiste of the year

• John 8 years ago

EL produced his song so that award is his. He also got a plaque for the video along with his director so yh he does have 5 personal awards