If the 'goro boys' team up with the officials then the boys are not to blame. SOMEBODY PLEASE SIT UP WHAT IS HAPPENING AT THE PASSPORT OFFICE IS JUST UNACEPTABLE
Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago
no vision, no plan and very corrupt
NOBODY 9 years ago
You can't blame Mahama for this mess. This has been going on since the days of President Kufuor, and even before the NPP assumed office. The thing to do is to keep loiters away from government ministries. No government since the various military regimes till the present has made a concerted effort to put in place a plan to will ensure no loitering on government properties. Perhaps too the government can have security agencies carry out sting operations against the crooks acting as middle men and get them prosecuted when caught breaking the law. This could act as a deterrent against other potential wrongdoers and possibly apprehending their enablers within the passport offices.
P. KISSI 9 years ago
Can't we keep politics out of issue like this. If the situation was like that in Kufuor's time why can't it change now.
Concerned Citizen 9 years ago
Sad to say, the only kind of discipline that works here is the kind where military personnel drag these boys to Gondar barracks, brutalize and torture them for a week. After that there is lasting peace and good behaviour.
yensiamoa 9 years ago
Under NDC everything is going 'nyamaa' for Ghana.
Truth 9 years ago
Shame on you. Be truthful. When Prez. Kuffour was in power, the same thing was going on.
This is how majority of us Ghanaians are.
We are corrupt.
Shame on you. Be truthful. When Prez. Kuffour was in power, the same thing was going on.
We are corrupt.
Raymond Agbeli 9 years ago
it's far worse under npp criminals.
Vinss 9 years ago
Ndc party is CURSED.Chairman Rawlings is not among.
Frank 9 years ago
Ghana for u
Ghana for u
very corrupt and incompetent
Tankari in ITALY 9 years ago
Oh. my. God. thank. you. I am. not. a. GHANAIAN. now. Iam. ITALYIAN. because. of. PIS. MAHAMA. and. his. co. LIMITED
spiritual 9 years ago
don't forget, no matter the decades a lizard stayed in water it can never become a crocodile.
Me 9 years ago
Why allow people to loiter around the passport office in the first place. If all non applicants are barred from coming to the passport office, then we will not any goro boys.
Kwame 9 years ago
It's just simple, NDC is skewing the passport forms for the foreigners to get Ghanaian passport for them to be elegible to register. NPP open your eyes because before the highest court of the land gave their vedict they the NDC already knew so they started these new criminal method.
Issifu yaaji 9 years ago
The entire passport office needs overhauling. I was frustrated to a point that I have to pay 600GH to renew my passport. Following due process does not work.
Isaac London 9 years ago
NDC has started issuing Ghanaian passport to foreign nationals also drivers license are also issued to them
Jetmoney 9 years ago
U need passport middle man.u need to clear ur goods middle man, u need licence middle man ...what at all are we supposed to do our self's...what kind of country is this ...everything is corrupted Gzzzzz
o vision
o vision
Ghanaman 9 years ago
My brother , just pay and get yr passport, if yu can .
all the officials no the problem there. They have share to take from the goro boys. But yu no something is not right in Ghana.
We we don't worship god,
We worship chu ... read full comment
all the officials no the problem there. They have share to take from the goro boys. But yu no something is not right in Ghana.
We we don't worship god,
We worship church.
A lot is not right my brother. The system is too dirty..very dirty..
Nii AKwei 9 years ago
Passport Office, including other Gov't institutions are all the same since Independence. He wants us to believe that developmental projects are what Ghanaians want.
SD 9 years ago
What prevents officialdom from visiting the place regularly, if possible, daily, to ascertain the situation? After a couple of visits and checking them they will begin to sit up
KOKU AMAGAFIO 9 years ago
Mr SD I suspect you to be living on the Planet of Mars.If you were in Ghana you would know all Ghanaians and the entire Officialdom you are talking about are COMPLETELY CORRUPT. There is no hope anywhere in Ghana !!
Raymond Agbeli 9 years ago
Move out of Accra! idiots,Accra is not the only place u can get your passports done.go to the regions!!.
Pat 9 years ago
Mahama's government has taken Ghana back to the 1970s before 4th June revolution. What a shame to NDC reversing JJ Rawlings efforts and all that he fought for.
Julius Aduuri 9 years ago
Did I hear the director denied goro boys liaising wid officers? Den he must sit up bcos dat is wat goes on there, some one will pay gh500 n get his passport in less than 3 weeks n its takes more than 5 months if u go through de normal process.
We are pleading to de officials to do whatever it takes to fast track passport acquisition in Ghana for us bcos it's so frustrating.
Scifo 9 years ago
I think this is not about who is or was in power. This very shameful and very disappointed. And sometimes I feel ashame to called myself as a Ghanaian because can't go on in any country. So is our so called degree holders can't see this basic things going on. My passport is there as at now and I don't have any hope to go for it because I have been there many times and the same story. Anyone who will get chance to get out this country shouldn't come back because just acquire passport has been a problem then there is no hope in this country
Father 9 years ago
Those goro boys have to be stop without going to the passport premises. I have evidence of those goro boys who deal with officials inside the passport office.
peeeeee 9 years ago
My girl got der to queue at 4am and the police took money to bump her up the line and even gave her a number,otherwise she wouldn't have made it to the front
Ed, Accra 9 years ago
The director of passport is public servant and is aware of what going on, corruption with the system not only politicians. The director is part of the scheme so how can he supervise the staff under his/her authority for the wrongdoing?
Bill 9 years ago
This is illegal business and it's quite easy to find them. So what is the BNI doing?
MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago
Where is our main man Anas?
Kofi 9 years ago
Nothing seems to work well in Ghana. I cry for my former country.
Odikro 9 years ago
The president himself is corrupt; what do you expect others to do? Ghana has now become lawless.
# VOTE MAHAMA OUT ! 9 years ago
If Ghanaians do not Vote Mahama Out , -By the Time MAHAMA finish the destruction of Ghana,Ghanaians will sleep using stones as pillows.!
D K. Berchie Amankwah. 9 years ago
The system is corrupt so are the official's at the passports office,why the bribery at the passports office today in ghana is too rampant to extent that no body can bring it to a stop. Crazy system Crazy governance.
Amidini 9 years ago
The director of GAR passport knows something about the deal his guys are doing. He has his serve from the guys and the goro boys. The director should be transferred immediately for his incompetence and irresponsible
P. KISSI 9 years ago
How developed do we say we are as a country if today with all the technological advancement passport application cannot be done on line. It will only take an applicant to go and make payment for the forms at a bank. The applicant is then given a code to enable him download the form , fill and submit on line. He is then given a date to present the originals of supporting document and to take picture and thumb print. He is then given a date for collection.
The date for submission will be according to the date of submission and the capacity of the office. That is if in a day the office can process 50 applications, may be 45 persons can be scheduled daily, the 5 being for emergencies. That way there will be order and transparency. We should learn to reduce human contacts which breeds all the corrupt practices which prevents our institutions to perform.
Arusha 9 years ago
The presence of "goro" boys in 2016 at the passport office indicates corruption at the highest. The government must sit up. Where is the BNI.
P. KISSI 9 years ago
If opportunities are created for them to operate why not. They need to survive. If proper measures are put in place to prevent them, they will not be there. If human contacts in the process is reduced they will have no business being there. The officials must be blamed for all that happens there.
Zigi 9 years ago
Goroboys frustrating passport applicants.I
baba kamarud;d!#!?;;c cod' 9 years ago
Can I suggest that we go online and pick up appointment number date and time for submission of application ,when properly organised the Giro boys will have to find another job.
Adomakoh Froboo 9 years ago
Progressive S Africa. U can apply for ID n passport through ur bank. And presto, u get them within 6 days! Why can we learn from successful countries? Owing a passport is a right, not privilege
MENSAH FRED 9 years ago
I have heard many people saying the 419 Mahama's government cannot be blamed. It's absurd and despicable. Ghana has now turned to a lawless state now. Director of passport is a political appointment, so let the government do something about it.
Noname 9 years ago
That is very true. The PAC Accra center is just full of corrupt officials. Had to go to Ho to submit my form.
Diana usa 9 years ago
Very sad situation
Talk Free UK 9 years ago
Send out your boys the UK to our passport is obtained, that will eliminate this "goro boys" You only need to. submit it post office and the right fees go back home wait for delivery
You can't blame Mahama for this mess. This has been going on since the days of President Kufuor, and even before the NPP assumed office. The thing to do is to keep loiters away from government ministries. No government since ...
We are corrupt.
Ghana for u
It's just simple, NDC is skewing the passport forms for the foreigners to get Ghanaian passport for them to be elegible to register. NPP open your eyes because before the highest court of the land gave their vedict they the N ...
o vision
We we don't worship god,
We worship chu ...
Did I hear the director denied goro boys liaising wid officers? Den he must sit up bcos dat is wat goes on there, some one will pay gh500 n get his passport in less than 3 weeks n its takes more than 5 months if u go through ...
I think this is not about who is or was in power. This very shameful and very disappointed. And sometimes I feel ashame to called myself as a Ghanaian because can't go on in any country. So is our so called degree holders can ...
The director of passport is public servant and is aware of what going on, corruption with the system not only politicians. The director is part of the scheme so how can he supervise the staff under his/her authority for the w ...
How developed do we say we are as a country if today with all the technological advancement passport application cannot be done on line. It will only take an applicant to go and make payment for the forms at a bank. The appli ...
If opportunities are created for them to operate why not. They need to survive. If proper measures are put in place to prevent them, they will not be there. If human contacts in the process is reduced they will have no busine ...
I have heard many people saying the 419 Mahama's government cannot be blamed. It's absurd and despicable. Ghana has now turned to a lawless state now. Director of passport is a political appointment, so let the government do ...
Very sad situation