You are here: HomeNews2016 04 29Article 434792

It’ll take Ghana 500 years to stop open defecation - Unicef

Read Comments Comments (32)

• EZEKIEL 7 years ago

WHY can't we tackle the BASIC REQUIREMENTS FIRST.....W E F T ....Water, Electricity....Food and Toilet.....in our endeavour to develop ???

• TELL THE TRUTH 7 years ago

STOP MAKING IT A GHANAIAN PROBLEM.THIS TYPE OF FILTHY BEHAVIOR OCCURS ALMOST EXCLUSIVELY IN ACCRA.NOT VOLTA,CENTRAL,ASHANTI,NORTHERN OR EASTERN REGIONS.ONLY IN ACCRA.AND THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR A VERY LONG TIME,EVEN GA PEO ...

• Symon Schumacher 7 years ago

This is a very dishonest and malicious comment by an ignorant person I could have ignored the comment but sometimes this is the only thing that makes me sad

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

This is especially prevallent in the coastal areas but Accra is worse followed by Cape Coast. In Cape Coast years back Rawlings had the nerve to indirectly insult them. When he saw how people had defecated openly at the beach ...

• unniiceff 7 years ago

They should have provided a few photographs of some of the bombs at the beach... Ghanaians, filty people. Not an insult to point to the truth. Then complaining why tourists dont come...its not government, it is attitude and e ...

• unniiceff 7 years ago

Try a thousand years lol

• Mr. Green 7 years ago

May be we will never stop open defecation since nobody is there to stop the people and they it will never stop by itself.

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 7 years ago

SOME TIMES YOU SET YOUR EYES ON SOME "DUMPS" AND YOU ASK YOURSELF WHETHER IT'S A MAN OR A WOMAN'S DUMP,,JUST TOO MUCH LIKE ELEPHANT'S POOP,,

• Plaintruth 7 years ago

If the habit of defecating in public places does not stop immediately, no tourist will come to Ghana in the future. The practice is alarming and disgraceful to Ghanaians. The problem does not stem only from people's attitude, ...

• Ka na Wu 7 years ago

Ghana stinks to the high heavens

• GhanaBi 7 years ago

UNICEF DOES NOT DECIDE FOR GHANA.

• Sumaila Atolai. 7 years ago

Where are those deciding for Ghana? We still take money from UNICEF so they have the right to criticize our filthy habits .

Do we have a law in Ghana that makes it an offense?,do we also have a law that makes it an offense to build a house with no toilet. We need to make sure toilet facilities are at homes, work places, markets,beaches, churches, ...

• ????? ????? 7 years ago

And the ndc make propander with prez.kuffour using hipc money for toilet building,..everything peopagander,the world knows better...

• ghanaba 7 years ago

This is an INSULT to ALL Ghanaian politician after our first Republic.

• Yaw Seth 7 years ago

Nobody with the head properly banced on his or her shoulders will squat in the open to defeacate while other people look at him/her if he/she has access to a decent place of convenience. Government is not doing anything about ...

• Abigi 7 years ago

All we know to do is talk loud, lie about everything, but stink and filthy. Arrive in Ghana and you are first greeted by the mosquitoes on the tarmac. Get to immigration the heat and the stench. By thr time you get to customs ...

• ko 7 years ago

This is a BIG problem in Ghana. However for the UNICEF rep to spew this 500 years garbage is simply not acceptable. This is an insult, and not meant in anyway to address the issue ...gross disrespect for the country. He shoul ...

• Abigi 7 years ago

Blaming someone instead of looking at your stinking self. Ok killed people for having more toilets in their homes. Mahama is accusing Kuffuor for building public places of convenience. You idiot is blaming UNICEF and calling ...

Respect yourself and people will respect you.PERIOD!

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY. 7 years ago

Enact laws and enforce them to have toilets in new and old housing. These should be WC with tanks. Architects should have these in their plans and District assemblies should make sure this is done before approval is given for ...

• DI ASEM PA. 7 years ago

I thought, the most educated people in Ghana are the Gan's and the Fanties. Gan's are the most deities people in Ghana. Come on, all Ghanaians should have their own private toilets in their homes. Expecially, the house owner ...

Instead of building stadiums, that's what is needed to improve the living conditions and prevent preventable diseases.Build more toilets and improve basic sanitation.but it's also TRUE! Ghanaians are very DIRTY!!!

• Loway 7 years ago

Big trouble

• Kobinadu 7 years ago

WHAT UTTER NONSENSE!

• collins anim 7 years ago

backward country! very uncivlized!!! with a very idiotic president and cabinet!kwasiafo!!

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

UNICEF YOU SHOULD HAVE PREDICTED THE NEXT TAUSAND YEARS.

WITH ALL THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL DIFFICULTIES AND CHALLENGES FACING THE COUNTRY,CRUDE POLITICS HAS BECOME THE ONLY PREOOCUPATION IN THE COUNTRY:

AN ACCCESS TO MAN ...

• SAMMY 7 years ago

VERY SHAMEFUL! TALK TO THE COASTAL BELT

• Alex 7 years ago

Come to Central region and see if people eases themselves on the beach.That is an Accra thing.Talk properly.

• Kwaku A. Danso 7 years ago

This shows how useless and hopeless our government leadership has been in the last few decades in creating and endrocing SANITATION LAWS and ENFORCING THEM!

• Symon Schumacher 7 years ago

The wrong approach is being adopted the UNICEF country director is very diplomatic because 500years is too short if we continue building public toilets when may be unaffordable to the people