You are here: HomeNews2016 04 26Article 433763

61% of teachers in tertiary institutions unqualified - Survey

Read Comments Comments (18)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

the whole system is rotten

• Nana Kwaku 8 years ago

Truly our educational system is in a mess degrees,MBA etc are sold like roasted groundnut & corn.The whole mess started from the introduction the JSS & SSS concept plus the proliferation of private universities.

• kofi adu 8 years ago

these teachers again? do they go to training for the quest of riches,knowledge or deceit?.

• solo 8 years ago

The research on teachers qualification is a wake up call for these of intellectuals to do the right thing

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 8 years ago

Please do not blame the teachers, the training
    that the teachers receive is inadequate/archaic. Churches are smothering and confusing the education system, the children are doing very poorly in Maths and science, but scorin ...

• Amenyaglo 8 years ago

I wonder what meaningful technical and vocational training that can be given to these distance education trainees. Will they be able to do any meaningful practical hands-on activities? Distance education should not be for tec ...

• Jamie 8 years ago

Masa they can. It all comes down to design. But in Ghana no, because things are done irrationally no respect for experience, no respect for knowledge, everything is about chop make I chop too. And don't blame anyone because w ...

• young man Guru 8 years ago

May I know from the Technocrat; regular students and distant students, who perform well

• Rasta 8 years ago

The system reminds me of how painfully it's to loose Kwame Nkrumah,,,,.we're cursed !

• DAN 8 years ago

Please the news heading is misleading,the impression is been created as if the universities/polytechnics were part of the survey,I will support any government that will send Ghana,s education back to the old system ie form on ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

61% of current teachers do not meet the requirements to teach in tertiary institutions (your words). Yet, you are working with College of Education to upgrade it's status to tertiary level. Who, then are going to do the teach ...

• Alhassan Mohammed 8 years ago

Distance edn the bane of pupils/students poor performance. Half or less baked. The earlier it is discarded the better for pupils performance.

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

There are MORE Drs and Profs in Ghana THAN Students! No doubt, 61% may even NOT be true. The number is probably much higher...90% !!!!!!!!!

• Jojo 8 years ago

OPAYIN, WHY DONT YOU DISMISS THESE PEOPLE AND PROSECUTE THEM AT THE LAW COURTS FOR CHEATING FOR A LVING.

NINITY PERCENT OF THESE CRIMINALS, CROOKS AND ROGUES ALL GAINED EMPLOYMENT AT THE TERTIARY INSTITUTIONS BECAUSE,THE ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

TRY TO PUT ALL THESE ACADEMIC GOWNS AWAY-THEY HAVE ONLY UNDERDEVELOPED THE NATION.

GOWNSM, HOODS AND TITLES IN THE MIDST OF POVEERTY.

KEEP ON DESTROYING THE NATION OF OUR BIRTH.

• Kofi, The US 8 years ago

Amoah Baah is one of the unqualified self acclaimed lecturers

• Kyei Baffour, Agogo 8 years ago

So when their products can't find placement in the job market they blame everybody but themselves

• Dan 8 years ago

Phooooobia