You are here: HomeNews2016 04 05Article 428342

Industries not interested in book-long graduates - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (59)

• Seth 8 years ago

Which job has dead goat created since coming to office? Only stealing and stealing with the stealing brigades

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

GHANA'S MEDIA, CORRUPT & STUPID!! TYPICAL EXAMPLE IS OKAY & NEAT FM. I DOFF MY HAT FOR NPP BOYCOTTING THESE CORRUPT STATIONS!!!----------LOOK AT THE WAY MAHAMA WAS INTERVIEWED IN GERMANY. THE QUESTIONS WERE UP TO THE POINT AN ...

• Abdulrahman Ibrahim 8 years ago

Please you lie am telling you. All those interventions you mentioned is in right direction. Lies lies lies will never win you power

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

HOW MANY TECHNICAL UNIVERSITIES DO YOU HAVE IN CANADA AND AMERICA? ARENT THEY AWARE OF YOUR SO CALLED ASSERTION THAT INDUSTRIES NOT INTERESTED IN BOOKLONG GRADS?

• KB,LONDON 8 years ago

What nonsense is this president saying? Ghana is sick!

• YAO 8 years ago

Mahama has in no way stolen Ghana's monies, he has invested a bulk of monies and grants into developmental projects. the new 3 tier interchange being constructed to replace the kwame nkrumah circle interchange in the centre o ...

• John,Tema 8 years ago

Is that all I thought he has sent some Ghanaians unto the moon with some of the loans he has taken on our behalf?

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

CREATE JOBS FOR PPL TO WORK N STOP CONVERTING POLYS INTO TECH UNIVERSITIES. THIS FOOL PUT COLOGNE ON COW SHIT N SAYS...DONT IT SMELL GOOD?...

• EDWARD 8 years ago

IF YOU SAID INDUSTRIES ARE NO MORE INTERESTED IN BOOK - LONG, THEN WHY ARE YOU ALSO GOING ROUND OPENING MORE UNIVERSITIES. IS BETTER YOU OPEN CARPINTRY SHOPS, FITTING SHOPS, BRICKS MAKING SHOPS.

• Kumchacha 8 years ago

The Universities are opened for specialties...the one at Ho is for health and allied sciences....the one in Sunyani for Mineral and Natural resources.

• damp 8 years ago

U, what skills do u have and what have u used those skills for? Sweet talks but incompetent in capital letters
    Bammm

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

Mr talkertive, we did not elect you to explain problems but to find solutions. Ah. What have you done to promote industrial development? Is it the artificial power presence or the folding of businesses? We are tired of your b ...

• YAO 8 years ago

Mahama is a competent and trustworthy leader. he has shown that he is able to deliver on his promises and this makes him a man of integrity. he promised to fix the long standing power outage crisis that plagued the country an ...

• v.bowe 8 years ago

I feel bitter when the people we have entrusted this nation to, so find solutions to the problems we are faced with rather turn around to lament with us. MR PRESIDENT,what things have you put in pace among your so called many ...

• Reuben 8 years ago

I think the industries must also help in training the students to suit their demands

• Kar 8 years ago

I totally agree with you sir. We admire PhD but very little to show for them. Gh needs creative thinkers not grammar-speaking populace. Good day!

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

There is no English word like booklong. The correct word is booklore but was corrupted by our old folks who instead of booklore repeated what sounded close to it.

One would expect that the president and those who write hi ...

• Kay 8 years ago

Thanks Nana Ansah for this education. Honestly I never knew and I know a lot of people can learn a lot from this.

• Briamah seidu USA 8 years ago

Talk is cheap.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

If govt reduces oil products,cost of generating electricity will go down thus reduction in electricity charges.Transportation cost will also come down and jobs will be created for the people.Thank you.

• ghanaman 8 years ago

... but remember to also walk the walk.

I don't know but there had been no positive change in Ghana since he came to scene. The rest can be anybody's guess

• AHMED 8 years ago

And what is you and your government doing to make sure students graduate with some practical skills that are desirable by industry. Talk is cheap.

• Kofi Amegbetor 8 years ago

Mr president, you have spoken the truth.Book .

• agyeman 8 years ago

SAD OUR PRESIDENT IS WRONG AGAIN. THAT UNFORTUNATELY IS WHAT HE HAS IN HIS GOVERNMENT. DOCTOR THIS DOCTOR, PROF THIS PROF. BUT THEY HAVE ALL JUST SUCCEEDED IN GROUNDING THIS COUNTRY. THAT IS WHY MAHAMA AND WIFE ALSO WENT FOR ...

• Kofi Amegbetor 8 years ago

No industry is interested in objective test book long grammar graduate.They always deceive themselves that they are the best.

• OMAÑNI 8 years ago

Ghana build technical schools around the country since 1960s ,Ghana had quality engineers so what this useless President thinks ,even Acheampong time investors were interested to settle in Ghana but today where are they? te ...

• Zachariah Twumasi. Manchester 8 years ago

You are turning the polytechnics and vocational schools into universities! This tells me this ndc people has no vision for Ghana. Mr President pls sit down and think, make it easier for them to get jobs than what you are sayi ...

• Anwona Kanjaga 8 years ago

it looks like the President says this today and that tomorrow. If what he is postulating is factual then there is no need converting the polytechnics into technical universities because by the conversion by and large they are ...

I perform in my aspect of human endeavour better than others because I am book long. Mr. President the private sector is not creation jobs since there are jobs in everywhere in the world for historians and arts graduates to d ...

• Ayivor 8 years ago

whish industries? Idiot calling himself a president

• Odikro 8 years ago

This is a stupid statement. Ghanaians are not interested in illiterate, corrupt politicians either.

• YAO 8 years ago

ODIKRO the only corrupt politicians in Ghana today emerge from the NPP. Aside that, they are noted for their ruthless cocaine deals.
    Former deputy finance minister under the NPP, Dr Gheysika Agambilla described the NPP's ap ...

• xxx 8 years ago

In Ghana because of tribalism and herd mentality anyone can become a President because of NDC Mafia. The so-called book-long graduates are the very ones who provide good and informed services when they gain the necessary expe ...

• YAO 8 years ago

Mahama become President because we the good people of this country trusted in him, that is his integrity and his honour to lead the country to the promised Land and he has not failed us yet. the construction of the Dodowa hos ...

• Why 8 years ago

Book-long has always been a derogatory discription of the educated by the uneducated. Unfortunate description and choice of words by the president

• Ben 8 years ago

If what the President is saying is true then why the change to universities????

• adanko 8 years ago

WHY DID YOU SEND YOUR CHILDREN OUTSIDE? LET THEM GET THE PRACTICAL EDUCATION IN GHANA LIKE ALL OTHERS. WHAT DO YOU MEAN BY BOOKLONG? ONE STILL NEEDS BASIC BOOKLONG TO UNDERSTAND PRACTICAL ISSUES OTHERWISE WHY PASS MATHS AND ...

• Becoming PRESIDENT ? 8 years ago

Peepeeni Abooaaahhh

• Speak from his Anus 8 years ago

Nobody respect this Peepeeni President

• hunter 8 years ago

Is true.

• Samir 8 years ago

I do not root for any party or any individual but let us be real he right on this one we continue to complain about graduate unemployment forever but the truth of the matter is that the days of just book long is his gone fore ...

• cod 8 years ago

ooh yeah, he must be right but what has he done as the sitting president, if he is complaining then who will the industries complain to

• Louis 8 years ago

I agree with Mr. Mahama on this one. We have to seriously change the way we do things.

• kofi 8 years ago

Who told this idiot that industries don’t need the booklong people. Who is going to do the research and development. It goes to show that the idea of job creation for this idiot is zoom lion. Even at that level they need to ...

• Ritewing 8 years ago

This is not an inspiring speech of a President in 2016 Ghana. General Kutu Acheampong used similar style. He did so to denigrate the highly educated of the society. I sincerely believe, this speech is below you. Please do not ...

• yaw 8 years ago

inflation, taxes,electricity high tariff putting industries off .how can they create employment when ur doing this against them

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

GREAT WORDS MR PRESIDENT.

ONE WONDERS, WHY THE EDUCATED SHOULD CONTINUE ROI BLAME THE GOVERNMEMT FOR EVERYTHING IN THE COUNTRY.
    WITH THE MANY RELIGIOUS LEADERS AND CHRISTIANS IN THE COUNTRY, ARE THEY NOT AWARE OF WHAT IS ...

• Jojo 8 years ago

HONOURABLE PRSIDENT.

PLEASE, NEVER AND NEVER BE CONVINCED TO TURN ANY VOCATIONAL AND POLYTECHNICAL IN´STITUTIONS TO UNIVERSITIES IN THE COUNTRY.

IT IS AT THESE INSTITUTIONS THAT HAVE BECOME THE ECONOMIC BACKBONE OF E ...

• apuuuu 8 years ago

President Mahama if you don't have nothing to talk about please don't even open your mouth just shut up apuuuu

• simple truth 8 years ago

GHANA INDUSTRY IS NOT INTRESTED IN A GHANAIAN PRESIDENT LIKE MAHAMA BECAUSE HE IS VERY. VERY INCOMPETENT?BUT ONLY GOOD AT STEALING GHANA MONEY.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

The president miss the point. Industriy gets what your educational system produces. If industry has problem with book-long people, they should hire kayayie and shoshies to do the jobs for them.

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 8 years ago

what do you mean by booklong, SEMI LITERATE MAHAMA

• JEFFERY 8 years ago

Your vehicle/equipment is never safe in the hands of anybody; Your Drivers/handlers are always on the lookout for themselves and will use them for their selfish gains at the least opportunity. Below are but a few of the probl ...

• JM 8 years ago

There are more skillful jobs outside. Most Ghanaians student want to be working in office.

• razak seini 8 years ago

Na true oh Mr president. Real and practical skills are now ruling

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

John Mahama is a curse on Ghana. All he knows is corruption, stealing, lying, incompetence, extramarital sex, mismanagement, misappropriation of funds etc etc. As for telling lies, John Mahama and Felix Ofosu Kwakye are the l ...

• Adu 8 years ago

Why does this president talk like an illiterate?

• Baba Tokuma 8 years ago

If industries don't want book long graduates then convert the existing varsities into tech universities.... What are you talking abt... Does it mean those not attending technical universities are of no use to d dev of this co ...