You are here: HomeNews2016 03 07Article 421513

Nunoo-Mensah: Ghana's education system useless

Read Comments Comments (95)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

Author:-OFOSUAA.....

JJ Rawlings knows too well that he has unleashed a group of monsters and nation wreckers on Ghanaians bcos this current ndc is never what he dreamt of at all at all…..this ndc fears to use the very w ...

• Ama Pontua 8 years ago

Ofosuaa, well said. One ought to cry at what these NDC people have done.
    They just won't steal the money: they want to unleash tribal violence as well. Using acid on political opponents etc

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-Mahmoud.....
    Governance under the NDC government is all about 'opium of the people. They enjoy everything under the sun but ask us to wait for our basic needs in heaven. And as they ask us to tighten our belts for fu ...

• Jones 8 years ago

Rawlings is the one who destroyed Ghana. He ruled Ghana the longest and then formed a political party whose members don't have a clue about governance.

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

As for this one I am hundred percent with you. A graduate writes to you and you ask yourself, has this person really completed the University or College? Really we have to sit down and find a more viable approach to educatio ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

There is too much mushrooming of the educational system. People who know nothing about education forming their own universities... there is just too many of them.And pretty soon the equivalent of a university degree would be ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

The main reason for the poor standard of education is how our JHS and SHS were implemented. It was in a crazy rush and no educationist could speak against it. The government had gone for IMF loan and Ghana was requested to re ...

• Eye Yen Dargartefour 8 years ago

Frank thanks a lot for your assessment and analysis of this problem. Any adult who understands education is sad of how Ghana's standard of education has fallen from grace to grass. Gone were the good old days when one had to ...

• asem 8 years ago

Those who implemented these policies send their children out of the country to educate them. They know very well they are not doing the rest of the population any good.

• David Ansah 8 years ago

I did not know you are that stupid.Infact,you are a moron.Who made a dunce like you an examiner?

• Mensah 8 years ago

nothing under your skull, goat

• KING LOMOTEY 8 years ago

Since Nkrumah's administration Ghana has been saddled with piecemeal education, from cyto to chew & pour & forget, to fairly good, but devoid of critical thinking for the very few.

To make matters worse, our young ones hav ...

• Truth Hurts!! 8 years ago

When Kuffour gave the quota system for Asantes to enter the universities to pursue courses of excellence.They're born to be bloated in the head,thus educating them affect every part of the skeleton of education.

• Sam 8 years ago

Your comment is exactly what Gen. Nunoo is talking about. With such puerile knowledge and ingrained tribal sentiment and psychotic aberration, go and get some psychiatric treatment with the hope of acquiring some "KNOWLEDGE"

• Kojo Billy Duncan 8 years ago

Yes, the problem is the only literature that captures the brain of our people is religious stuff. They are not keen to discover the magic of mathematics, science, engineering and technology. They would rather seek development ...

Billy, the Developed Countries also teach fables and legends. They even teach Moral and Cultural values. Ask any educationist how much inputs the government put into the Sciences, particularly engineering and technology even ...

• Nana Kasapreko III 8 years ago

It is absolutely not true that the developed countries also teach fables and legends. I educated my children across several developed countries and nowhere were they required to submit to fables, legends hocus-pocus(religion ...

• David Ansah 8 years ago

Shame on you moron.You have been exposed.

• SAINT 8 years ago

GHANAIAN YOUTH HAVE BEEN INTO RELIGIOUS ZOMBIES READING ONLY THE BIBLE. THEY HATE ANALYTICAL SUBJECTS EG MATHS,SCIENCE. GOVT SHOULD OFFER SPECIAL INCENTIVES TO ENCOURAGE THEM DO MATHS, SCIENCE

• Charles Agbenu 8 years ago

Since 1979, u have been one of Rawlings evil cohorts who have visited foolishness and misery on the sverage Ghanaian. Are you now seeing the light?

Be bold and condemn your Master Paul Gyamfi

Thank you Charles, this man pops out to tell us things he and his cohorts have visited on Ghanaians and wants to blame us for that? By the way, who told him if you complete university you should be able to build a bicycle?

• Nana Kasapreko III 8 years ago

Mr Agbenu, now that the man is showing that he is not a complete buffoon but that he also has visible strains of good sense, let us embrace his ideas.

I mean I am 100% in support of what he is saying here on this subject. ...

• Constable Joy 8 years ago

EDUCATION SYSTEM NOT ONLY USELESS BUT THE GRATS ARE AIMLESS

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

Are you a product of this broken educational system ? That bogus JSS system is what caused all these problems.

By the way what is " grats " ? You wrote it. There is no such word in the English language

• Minua 8 years ago

Oh!!. Where from this ma? I thought he was dead. Long live Brigadia.

• Akosua atta 8 years ago

Minua this is what we r talking about , ready to insult people. The man is totally right, these young generation can not do anything only quick money greedy n lazy

• NO COMMENTS 8 years ago

Ewes and the northerners are claiming that they are more educated and can speak better english than any tribe in ghana. May I ask them what have any of them create or bring on board apart from buga buga someones language (eng ...

• YOU SAID WHAT? 8 years ago

NO COMMENTS, YOU ARE AN IGNORANT TRIBALISTIC PERSON WHO DOES NOTHING BUT STIR EVIL SENTIMENTS.

AND THEN YOU WONDER WHY OUR COUNTRY IS SO BACKWARD, GROW UP!!

• inercycl 8 years ago

So let's go back to the basics.Give mission schools back to their rightful owners, the Catholics, the Methodist, the Anglican Ahmadiyas, and all religious groups under a single GES syllabus. Then we will be back to the good o ...

• yaw 8 years ago

yes duration of sss became a problem.from 4 years to 3 years why

Add to it that the students have no books, labs, workshops and sometimes even chalk and furniture. I blame PNDC for the fallen standard of Ghana's education. They should have listened to the educationists and started the educ ...

• ELI 8 years ago

The man is just right .

• EMMANUEL AGBESI 8 years ago

The situation in Ghana was generated by military drop-outs. What have they brought to the party???? Ghana Army destroyed the beauty of Ghana. God punish them for ever.

• Kofi Ameko 8 years ago

The man spoke the truth.

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

To be able to build or invent something is done through research which is suppose to be led by the government and private institutions alike. What kind of research do we undertake in Ghana? The Ghana military can lead this fi ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

After 26 plus years of P/NDC implementing your selfish social agenda to undermine education in Ghana, whiles your moron children educate in western culture. It has now come to your consciences how fucked up you guys have mess ...

• POLO 8 years ago

Dead on Right -Ghana's Education is Useless! The quality is pathetic!

• daladam 8 years ago

WE REMMBER HOW YOU TLK TO GHANA PEOPLE LIKE SHIT SO GET LOST MAN

• Bobo Dialoso 8 years ago

The government needs incorporate practical educational lessons into the curriculum. Students should learn to make their own school furniture, paint campuses and even cook meals for themselves. We need to incorporate a stude ...

• YOU SAID WHAT? 8 years ago

THEY ALLOW PEOPLE TO OPEN "UNIVERSITIES" AND COLLEGES WITHOUT ANY ACCREDITATION..GHANA IS LOST. NO RULE OR LAW IS EFFECTIVELY APPLIED.

• Adroba 8 years ago

Please let's make technical and vocational education free and increase fees for the useless subjects

• imani 8 years ago

Thank you Brig. Nunoo.
    I was a former student of University of Science and Technology in the 80’s. I studied Graphic Design and most of our contribution to society is shown in the advertising sector. I also recognized the ...

• KKO 8 years ago

And what exactly did you do with your high faluting military training? Weren't you saluting a Flt Lieutenant as a Brigadier, just for your stomach?

How about your political prostitution, jumping into any party that seems t ...

• TWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEAAAKAI 8 years ago

you helped jj rawlings to make ghana education useless. you are the problem and useless soldier

• Yawdonkor 8 years ago

When you have book writers, the examination board and educational authorities who see the poor standards as opportunity to exploit parents, this is what you have. We have books writers focussing on writing books for just exam ...

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

Most of the contributors of this site have very short memories like Mahma said, 'Ghanaians have short memories' Nunoo Mensah's ndc destroyed our hitherto worldwide accepted educational system so he should answer with his Rawl ...

• Kwei Nmetey 8 years ago

Fair enough Kwadwo. Assuming that you are right and that he and his compatriots visited this rot on Ghana by their impetuous military adventures; is it not better to wake up from that darkness than never? Remember, the probl ...

• ASAP 8 years ago

Its just one of the many things that your Rawlings destroyed in his clueless "revolution". Education, the Military, Political System, Banking System, Public Morality, Cultural Values such as reverence for elders, etc -- he de ...

• Osu Klottey 8 years ago

Nobody should mind Nunoo Mensah,he was directly involved in the imposition of this rubbish style of education on Ghanaians,so what is his course now,bring back the old system,class1-10 elementary,Form 1-5 Secondary,Lower and ...

• kwabena 8 years ago

I urge Ghanaians to vote for this educated and multi skilled individual to transform our workforce and students into people who can truly develop our nation.

• tweaa 8 years ago

WHEN OTHER HEADS OF STATES ARE THINKING DEEPLY AND SERIOUSLY ABOUT THE ECONOMIES OF THEIR COUNTRIES, SOME PRRSIDENT WE HAVE IN GHANA IS GOING ROUND AND BOASTING.

• samuel villa 8 years ago

Very honorable retired brigadier, any time I hear your take on issues of National interest, I say why are some of not in government.You are always right but who will take it? .Simply this why our beloved country continues to ...

• maame afriyie 8 years ago

I agree in totality. we need to sit up as a country. am not sure a 20 years old Ghanaian can compete a 12 years old from china. lets be creative and stop the theories..

• Nsafoah 8 years ago

Brigadier Sir, who told you that an infantry soldier cannot be productive to society? He can strip, assemble, aim, hold and fire a G3 rifle. That's productivity

You contributed to it under PNDC and NDC.

• Akosua 8 years ago

HIS TEETH.SOMEONE WHO LEFT THE SHORES OF GHANA WITH TEACHER CERTIFICATE A IS A REGISTERED NURSE. ANOTHER WITH GCE PASS IS A DOCTORED IN PHARMACY.

• DDT 8 years ago

Wise talk. Jah bless nunoo.

• Dr Kwame Tamakloe 8 years ago

I did comment earlier on the General's comment on Ghana as an importing country and its educational system. What I want to add is that the General should be extremely careful in assessing our educational system. What studies ...

• Apau 8 years ago

Nonsense! Dr Wireko-Brobbey holds Ph.D in solar science.What he he done with it in Ghana other than manning Nkrumah"s 1966 Akosombo Dan?

• Heavens 8 years ago

Massa you again!!!!! Can't you be silence and work. Remember your small school you made public announcement about. U know what I like you but be quiet abit and work

Why change the old educational system were inherited from the british? The JSS SSS system introduced by the PNDC has destroyed the system. There were deficiences in the sytem but look I have lived in Europe for more than 25 y ...

• BRIGHT 8 years ago

THE NDC GOVERNMENTS STARTING FROM RAWLINGS DESTROYED OUR ONCE RESPECTED EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM.
    IN VIEW OF THIS, YOU ARE TECHNICALLY ONE OF THE GUYS WHO DESTROYED IT

• kofi 8 years ago

God bless you Mr. Nunooo-Mensah

• philipo Dahotmoney-Tema 8 years ago

Massa,we have individual difference so u have to think twice b4 posting such a tin here

• Ankobra 8 years ago

Gone were the days when even Lodina an elementary brute attended GIMPA and then came out with Doctor. Look at that Doctor Lodina and what thesis and project work she swam on to be giving such a badge. Many mushroom doctorate ...

• Newsite bansah 8 years ago

It is very refreshing to hear these sentiments from Brigadier General Nunoo-Mensah (rtd). Our school system has deteriorated considerably. The problems extend beyond the students to poorly trained/qualified teachers, terri ...

• HONESTLY 8 years ago

YOU WERE PART OF THE DESTRUCTIVE SYSTEM.

NO WONDER THE LEADERS SENT THEIR KIDS TO BE EDUCATED ABROAD WITH STOLE OR TAX PAYERS MONEYS.

UK FEES PER ANNUM = £15000.00 or 60000 CEDIS.

STRANGE STRANG STRANGE

• Boss 8 years ago

Useless talk. We do have doctors, nurses, pharmacists who are working in various health facilities and applying their knowledge. We do have lawyers working in our law courts. We do have finance, business and policy experts wo ...

• Taniba 8 years ago

Well said,old soldier good on you,I hope those idiots in charge will take notice.

• kwam 8 years ago

The old soldier is right, we produce nothing in Ghana, even toilet rolls are imported, this shows how useless our education system has become . Ghana is just a failed state.

• chris-elymas 8 years ago

Would fully baked, cultured, trained, educated and disciplined people be so quick to attack and insult on every topic without decorous? Know that you are the ambassador of your family. If your delight is to spew insult on peo ...

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

THAT MAN KNOWS EVERYTHING IN THIS WORLD. BUT WAIT, HE WAS AN PNDC APLANKE DURING THE TIME OF RAWLINGS. MAYBE MAHAMA WOULD GIVE HIM ANOTHER APPOINTMENT.

• Snazzy 8 years ago

I share the same thoughts with you

• Empty bottle makes the most noice 8 years ago

These r the people many platforms should be given to not these brainless politicians who will criticise to suit them selfish interest, good advice though.

• solomon 8 years ago

this guy must keep mute untill he enters his grave , what has he done or is he doing? a lot of us are strugling even go into craft work their wickedp policies are killing us, he should go to hell with his military ideas

• Yentumi Mensah 8 years ago

He has said it right. The politicians should stop stealing the money and begin to invest into the future generation. Thank you.

• Addai Sarfo Yeboah - Canada 8 years ago

I thought you said if the kitchen is too hot people can look elsewhere? Stupid Nunoo Mensah

• Daniel Danquah Damptey 8 years ago

I wholeheartedly agree with the Retired General. What have we achieved with all the degree we are peddling around? Nothing! We have to study how the Japanese with no natural resources were able to make their islands one of th ...

• Beninmie Yakubu 8 years ago

Thank U

• Beninmie Yakubu 8 years ago

On the Pont.

• THE CRUSADER 8 years ago

Now you are talking as an experience professional soldier.Thank you for that an if only they will listen to this interligence call away from propaganda and insults. God helps Ghana.

• Ansah Yaw Peter 8 years ago

well said

• Nana 8 years ago

Hahaha look at that, it's indeed true but Ghana is not ready for quality education. You build just the infrastructure without the necessary materials not even chairs, do you stand to learn? where an SSCE police man earns more ...

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

MEMBER OF JJ GANSTER TRABUNAL WHO MURDERED GHANAIANS MAY GOD PUNISH YOU VERY WELL.

• JM 8 years ago

OUR LEADERS CAN TALK AND BLAMED EVERTHING.ALL IS MAHAMA.

• Odikro 8 years ago

The Ghanaian educational system is as useless as the Ghana army. Who is Nunoo Mensah? Was he not the one who was running away and calling on his fellow officers to give up and surrender to junior officers led by Jerry Rawling ...

• shakamora 8 years ago

Ofui

• HAWA YAKUBU 8 years ago

Mr. its a world wide problem not only in Ghana.Home made politicians don't want hear any been to. How long have you been on the forefront on Ghana affairs. Yes!!from army to politics and you have now seen the truth of the poo ...

• Ayim 8 years ago

Truth hurts, this is a serious issue.

• kkjhhu 8 years ago

Jjj8aIihiyuiijiijjjyqkjiiua

• kkjhhu 8 years ago

Ouuusyuaiiuqiqk

• Anthony Opoku 8 years ago

I 100% site with Mr. Mensah

• Baron 8 years ago

Don't just talk about it, use your little coins you got from government as a soldier to site such practical school in your own small way by God's Grace we will get there, but if we all only concern about our selves and turn t ...

• owsu Yaw 8 years ago

what he is saying is true

• Sly 8 years ago

The Continent have over 52 universities combined and nothing done. Compared to MIT.