You are here: HomeNews2016 03 07Article 421487

59th Independence, a sad parade of imports – Nunoo-Mensah

Read Comments Comments (53)

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Mr Nunoo-Mensah,you have been part of the govt who sold all the factories in this country to foreigners and now you are crying.I wish I could whip you 36 hot lashes,what a shame?Thank you.

• aikins 8 years ago

Corrupt ndc must be blamed for the nonsense.

• Adama iddrisu 8 years ago

but he is saying the truth ,if he was part of does it mean he can not speak his mind ,in fact it is a disgrace to all Ghanaians

• Jones 8 years ago

unbelievable

• NICELY 8 years ago

So what are you going to do about that sir,

• Say Alla Dey 8 years ago

It`s a big shame, then why do we celebrate at all, our hospitals don`t have beds, there are no drugs in our hospitals.This is not the vision of Ghana our ancestors had hoped for. Do you know the reason, BAD LEADERSHIP.

• Dr 8 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT SIR.BUT BEING IN GOVERNMENT,WHAT ARE YOU TELLING THE PRESIDENT ??? PLEASE HELP THE KIDS OF GHANA TO LIVE OOOO

• Awurade kasa 8 years ago

Dr, the old soldier cannot, I mean cannot do anything about it. Let me give you the names of President Mahama.....
    A) President Dead Goat.
    B) President Me Ntie Obiara.
    C) President when you see a Cow say it's a Goat and Go ...

• Timtimtim 8 years ago

It's a sad situation. What is the essence of INDEPENDENCE if we can't even produce chickens in Ghana. Ghana has failed and we should go back and beg the White man to come and rule Ghana. We are incapable of ruling ourselves. ...

• Djabatey 8 years ago

For once I agree with the old soldier. I wish Nkrumah is around to see how the black man/woman is managing or mismanaging his/her own affairs. Let us wake-up from our slumber. If a soldier can fix his car the engineer should ...

• kontoa 8 years ago

The General has hit the nail right on its head. And in a humble and noble tone that sounds like soft rain to the soil. It sinks.

• DZEN YE KOKLOO 8 years ago

EVIDENCE BASED EVIDENCE AND CRIES FROM A DIE HARD NDC MAN. VERY HYPOCRITICAL AND CONSISTENTLY INCONSISTENT. SWINGING FROM SUPPORT FOR RAWLINGS (PNDC) TO NPP TO NDC AND NOW PREPARING THE GROUNDS TO SWING AGAIN. NA LIE OLD SOLD ...

• Dan 8 years ago

When he was in the military there were factories but he ordered uniforms from outside why is he wearing Coat instead of. Local made dress

• True Talk 8 years ago

What hypocricy, he has been part of a PNDC / NDC government all these years. He and his people are to blame. Time for change is NOW!!!

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Is Nunoo-Mensah coming from Jupiter?Was he not in PNDC when they started selling all the factories Nkrumah left behind?NPP also came and continue selling every state enterprise,saying the govt has no business in doing busines ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

How old are u? It was the Busia government which flooded the Ghanaian market with imported goods. Go and ask ur grandfather about the remote causes of our national decline before u ignorantly spew nonsense on this platform. O ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

If Busia did that and had been overthrown since 1972 by Acheampong, what have we been doing all this while? Is 44 years not enough time to correct that wrong, or our hands are tied? We are not doing the right thing, let's thi ...

• alex 8 years ago

I agree with general, Ghana must wake up we are sleeping.

• Togbe 8 years ago

well and truely said

• anna 8 years ago

our leaders are very wicked from ancient days our leaders dont think of the generation to come its a big shame ur part of pndc ndc for 27yrs now ur talking better keep quiet

• Dr Kwame Tamakloe 8 years ago

General Nunoo Mensah has failed to live with the realities of the global economy. I am not surprised because as an architect of import controls and price controls in the military era he will find it difficult to understand th ...

• Afari 8 years ago

Not too long ago when the so called "babies with sharp teeth" we're at it, instead of all Ghanaians calling them to order some only strengthened their deeds. Today what are we experiencing? Every Tom, Dick & Harry gets up and ...

• samson 8 years ago

THAT IS THE TRUTH, BUT IT HURTS. VERY SAD INDEED.

• capt ninepence 8 years ago

General you quite well know the problems of ghana. You know the true genesis of ghana's problems. Just be bold and let the current ghanaian generations to know the true state of ghana before and pro the bloodiest coup d'etat ...

• kwasimahunu 8 years ago

You are not the only one sad me too.The saddest part of all is the nation is led by The Founder's dream of proud of Young Pineeor.

• Philip Londont 8 years ago

Thank you very much for telling the truth. But who cause all these problems? Mahama is part of the problem but the remote cause of it is your own Boss JJ Rawlings. Now he has got away with murder and above all, he still has t ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

Almost 10 million dollars or more is buried in Ghana every month through the consumption of frozen chicken at funerals, weddings etc. It is sad that we can grow maize and millet in Ghana and have some fish from the sea, but ...

• Abrukusu 8 years ago

Oga,did you just say we import Tilapia (my favourite fish) fed with human excreta from China?????Just say no please.Eeiiiii Ewurade hu yen mo bo.

• JM 8 years ago

DADY THIS ONE I NEVER SUPPORT YOU. LET SAY SOMTHING GOOD POSITIVE ABOUT OUR COUNTRY.

• Vigilante 8 years ago

If you know the history of other countries and what they have achieved . Ghana has done virtually nothing . It's the sub continent . A failure to progress in everything . It's pathetic

• ZOMAYI 8 years ago

GREATAND ESTEEMED BRIGADIER, WHAT ON EARTH HAVE YOU ESTABLISHED IN GHANA? YOU GO ABOUT CRITICIZING OTHERS FOR BEING UNABLE TO DO STUFF. WHAT HAVE YOU ACHIEVED? WHAT HAVE YOU MADE? WHAT FACTORIES HAVE YOU ESTABLISHED? WHAT PRO ...

• lion 8 years ago

This govt should do something about importation, There are no jobs for the youth and yet this administration don't have the sense to create jobs for them. Everything is imported from outside, what are we doing to ourselves. ...

• King Paul 8 years ago

It's up to you and your so call president Mahama. You 'll be judged according to your works. Give us break, Nunoo Mensah

• LION HEART 8 years ago

Basically,our leaders lack Political Will to do what is right for the nation and her people.

There is so much bullying in the Political world from the powers thaT be thaT it takes intelligent and bold leadership to navigat ...

• Obiba Broke 8 years ago

Ghana at the age of 59 years in western standard would be called a homeless person taking her debts to the west into consideration

• Navorongo man 8 years ago

Yes he has been part of the government but this is an executive government so what else can he do but to keep voicing out his mind. Our education system really needs a check up because it's only in Ghana that I see from four ...

• sulo 8 years ago

For the first time this man is telling the true but he shd be brave enough to tell it to the face of Mahatma or is it he has already got what he wants from the government? A government which is full of lies, taking Ghanaians ...

• jato bibio 8 years ago

LET YOUR GOV'T PROVIDE AN ENABLING ENVIRONMENT AND CAPITAL AND SEE WHAT GHANAIANS CAN DO. NOT GUINEA FOWL PROJECTS

• witch hunter 8 years ago

Brigadier, so simple are the answers to the numerous questions1.ghanaians are lazy,2 . ghanaians are all buying and selling, 3 . ghanaians all abled young men and women are all flocked into our cities doing practically nothin ...

• Lucky-ny 8 years ago

Mr Brigadier know all, give us a break. enough of your lectures. Get a life.

• HARDER@'89... 8 years ago

Sad indeed it is for all the observations u've made about the state of our nation and more sad it is which is why it is a huge misnomer and a joke to keep referring to the 6th march day celebration as ''independence" day inst ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

OPAYIN NUNOO-MENSAH.

WERE YOU NOT AWARE OF GHANA'S CONTINUED UNDERDEVELOPMENT SINCE THE OVERTHROW OF KWAME NKRUMAH BY ARMED CRIMINALS IN MILITARY UNIFORMS IN 1966 WHEN YOU WERE AN OFFICER AT THE GHANA ARMED FORCES AND OF L ...

• bennett 8 years ago

nothing to celebrate except life.......we live on other people;s toils....shame on us.

• Vigilante 8 years ago

What he said is True
    Every body wants a big air conditioned 4WD to cruise within the filthy streets of the capital .
    Detach yourself from reality of the mess we are in .

• Edem Lolonyo 8 years ago

If the kitchen is too hot for you leave. ' Osefoufoo'

• Marfo 8 years ago

Blame the development partners. Weak leadership. Budget supporters.

• kwaku 8 years ago

Massa stop complaining. If the kitchen is now too hot for u get out.

• Adama iddrisu 8 years ago

thank you well talk ,I appreciate u a lot

• Arthur-Mills 8 years ago

We imported Uhuru Kenyatta too!!

• KK 8 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU AN 100% SIR

• Hansam 8 years ago

That is the real problem with Africans.
    They achieve good education just for the show.No creative ideas and no application of the knowledge acquired.

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

Yes, the truth and reality on the ground is what has been made clearer by our loving smart and wise military man who never supports one side foolishly. Ghana needs a man like Nunoo Mensah to help shape the minds of the citize ...

• mr agyemang 8 years ago

we keep borrowing all the time, we are mostly how to run our economy, even we are given the itself, we are told who to give it too particularly for the project. always running out for donations yet we even celebrate more than ...