Ghana’s 59th Indece Day not worth celebrating – NUGS

Read Comments Comments (145)

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Ewuntomah Braimah... This problem of fraud in NDC is a trade mark. it started when NDC prevented filling of nomination to compete with Mahama. It has reflected most of the primaries. and they call themselves Democrati ...

• EDDIE - TARKWA 9 years ago

Mahama was very cautious to do away with propaganda and achievements of his govt. I may say though shallow and beyond other expectations this delivery is the best so far as national interest is concern.

AUTHOR:-HON. DOE ADJAHO....
    “The terrorists are not very far from us; 27 people died at a Hotel in Burkina Faso. It has happened in Mali, Nigeria and Burkina Faso. We need to pray for this country. If there is any time we ...

• SPIDER 9 years ago

its cheap to talk "no sense than demonstrating it". why do we celebrate example, BIRTHDAYS, MOTHERS DAY, FATHERS DAY, FARMERS DAY, CHRISTMAS DAY , GOOD FRIDAYS , EASTER SUNDAY etc. are you saying because you are lack of some ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Donald Trump said that Africans need to be recolonized for another 100 years to enable them rule themselves like others do. After 59 years of independence, Ghanaians still have open pit latrines dotted all around their capita ...

• aikins 9 years ago

I wish mahama will tell Ghanaians how much money he spent on that useless day

• THE VOICE 9 years ago

as you are praying these worthless criminals are dealing BLACKPOWER to hang on power do we have lesser God hell no leaders are just wicked

• No Mercy 9 years ago

Prayers cannot Ghana

• BAMBAM 9 years ago

Sometimes it is good to shut up if you have nothing meaningful to say. Look at these wayward fools calling themselves NUGS

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Right,because of your interests we should not celebrate independence,what kind of foolishness is that,is that what they are learning in the school,do we have to wait up until everyone has a job before we celebrate independen ...

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 9 years ago

SO U CANT EVEN DRESS WELL ON GH INDPENENDCE..WEAR A SUIT AND TIE OR WEAR THE SAME DIRTY FUGU U ALWAYS BE WEARING? THIS GUY PAA..... UR DAYS A NUMBERED....NO CLASS

• Aj 9 years ago

Eddie.pls what's are we celebrating for.we should learn from Tanzanian president Mr John Magufuli.hmmmmm i rest my case?

• Mr ROMANO 9 years ago

ATHE LEAST HE SHOULD HAVE WORN A TIE WITH A NICER SUIT . AS FOR THIS ONE D33 IN NO USE KORAA MR PRESIDENT . THE TRUTH IS KENYAN POLITICIANS ARE THE BEST DRESSED POLITICIANS IN AFRICA HANDS DOWN ... NAH TRUE TALK .

• Alex holland 9 years ago

Search a map and drive to hell because we are not Tanzanians but Ghanaians, ask yourself what u have done 4 ur country in order to give stupid comment

• Kofi Dramatic 9 years ago

The soldiers look anemic

• Tolo 9 years ago

Bomb throwers. Kwasiafuo..! You don't understand the meaning of independence because from the first place some people didn't want us to have our independence. God will punish all of you. Fools..!!!

• B'Mark 9 years ago

You are really bastard and fool, you don't know what is going on outside your NDC. Fire burn you.

• My Opinon 9 years ago

You see how Mahama looks; and look at the Soldiers. They are looking weak and hungry. That's Mahama NDC for you!!

• Alex holland 9 years ago

Your father was the one looking weak n hungry whiles u here writing Nonsense

• Hooo 9 years ago

Another idiot, nonsense useless man.

• K. Dompreh 9 years ago

NUGS is wrong on their Independence Day Statement. We celebrate because of the liberation from our European colonizers - abrofo - abrofo mean gangsters, oppression, detraction, imperialism, killers with the bible in front but ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

What has been the contribution of NUGS, as an entity, towards making Ghana a better place. I understand their financial concern but to say the DAY is not worth celebrating is empty rhetoric and desire to score cheap points. N ...

• Loway 9 years ago

When you leave school,you can make Ghana better

• George 9 years ago

What are you doing to make that change.just talk

• KWAME PECKHAM,ASHANTI AKYEM BUSTARD 9 years ago

GEORGE AND OLD SOLDIER, YOU THIS TWO ASHANTI/AKYEM GUYS THINKS GHANA IS FOR AKYEM . THE FAMILY OF THE EVIL JB DANQUAH WILL NEVER RULE GHANA

Author:-OFOSUAA.....

THIS BUFFOON ASIEDU NKETIA MADE SO MUCH NOISE ABOUT NDC ESTABLISHING A SCHOOL TO TRAIN NDC ADHERENTS TO CHAMPION THE COURSE OF NDC....THOSE WERE THE WOYOME, BETTYMOULD, BARTON ODRO , ATTA MILLS DUBIOUS ...

• Taniba 9 years ago

Vote Maama out in 2016.He is totally out of touch with Ghanaians.School children without tables and chairs.haba.

Author:-Frank Agyena-Karikari.....

Mahama, you cannot bridge that gap. Why? Because people like you who had wealthy families and are from the North(who had free education) always chose to stay at the South. Most Northners ...

• Socrates 9 years ago

Listen to those idiots. How many countries in Africa do you find the kind of peace Ghana is enjoying, and you sit on your ass and put our rubbish. You don't even deserve to call yourselves students, because you're not studyin ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

That's all are noted for.Raining insults and arguing blindly.
    The fragile peace in the country you talk about has nothing to do with ghana obtaining independence.
    It's because of the tolerant attitude of the akans who will ...

• USPr 9 years ago

Yaw, i guess u have to go back fifty years in order to appreciate what u have now. Though u are not blind, but when you close your eyes you won't see the beauty that the sun brings. Like many other countries, Ghana has its pr ...

• jabbi 9 years ago

well said my good friend

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

I love the way you put your point.

• Kwaku. 9 years ago

The question is what can Akans do?

• George Nutsugah 9 years ago

John Mahama has destroyed many things in Ghana. He used dumsor to kill many industries, he has removed teacher-trainee allowances, and is threatening to make tertiary students pay for electricity and water. Meanwhile, he and ...

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

NUGS, I have a simple question to ask your association.
    What has your association been doing for the past 10 years to help the progress of mother Ghana?

• fred 9 years ago

wow do you now pay tax to NUGS to manage Ghana. you critisize blindly. people are paid to do the job and they are the ones to be held accountable not students. come again plss

Ask again. When we were members of NUGS many of us engaged in voluntary work in several communities all over Ghana. This was alongside the activities of the International Voluntary Work Camps Association. Apart from instillin ...

• voltarian 9 years ago

nii nortey! if we were to hav being paying our taxes to NUGS, they would hav run afairs of Gh better than mahama. they will not b branding busses when our children are lying on the floor to learn. NUGS will hav done better th ...

• Osono 9 years ago

These guys need to study history. Those of us who grew up in the gold coast remember too well when there was no university around and there were no more than 20 secondary schools. Do the maths of percentage of people who wen ...

• damp 9 years ago

8 yrs of unemployment due to IMF directives. We are still slaves in disguise.

• Kugblenu Koku 9 years ago

We the people of Volta region feel so insulted beyond pardon for the way NDC government has treated us. We have been taken for granted and treated as servants without brains to think. How much votes do we give to NPP yet they ...

• Kusia 9 years ago

Don't celebrate it..we will celebrate well,well....your NPP monkeys have kept quite.. Their predecessors tried yo prevent this day happening ....but it happened...they celebrated 50th independence and used this opportunity lo ...

• Nii Fio Shammom 9 years ago

These kids need re-education.They should understand that Rome was not built in a day.Was Ghana @50 worth celebrating.How was it then and now.Let's see the statistics.

• ATO 9 years ago

ON ABIG DAY LIKE THIS, THE PRESIDENT COULDN'T WEAR A TIE?? ABAAA!!
    DRESSED LIKE GOING TO SEE HIS GIRL FIREND. SHAME ON YOU!!!!!

• Patriot 9 years ago

Wear suit for what?You people better stop making silly and stupid comments.So Mahama wearing a native attire is unacceptable.That is why the whiteman will never respect us.We despise our own and love things foreign.

Well said.

• Ernest 9 years ago

Just read what he Ato wrote, Illiteracy is Desease indeed!

• angelica 9 years ago

he is proud to be a ghanian what of the vice was he not in kente.

• Too lazy 9 years ago

There is no jobs because you graduates are lazy and feeling too big in your shoes. After university education you all want jobs in the cities. Graduates don’t want to put what they have learnt into practice. Our educatio ...

• wisdom 9 years ago

I dare NUGS to register as a political party with the EC or shut up, we know they're doing the bid of some political party's. Like the young pig asking why the mum's mouth is big.

• Brako 9 years ago

When shall we learn

• FOURSTAR 9 years ago

Mahama said the same thing when he was a student. He is now celebrating. Every president, minister, MPs were once students.

• Patriot 9 years ago

Listen to those stupid students who have not tasted what real life outside the four walls of a University is.Ghana has nothing to show all because you did not live under colonization and do not know the level of the nation's ...

• nana 9 years ago

Look at these people too. How do you use the students levies? You are also contributing factor

• don 9 years ago

What should we do when we stop celebrating our independence day. Should we stop reminding ourselves of where we came from? Should we stop teaching our next generation our history? NUGS is saying we shouldn't celebrate someth ...

We have only one country. Perhaps, you prefer to celebrate the 4th of July, or Bastille Day, or some other? Is it a political agenda that is blinding you guys? So even the indigent poor can't celebrate their birthday just bec ...

• amoah w. 9 years ago

I am not cerebalting because I don't see anything worth to celebrate.

none of the leaders we have had since Nkrumah, except JJ has done nothing to improve the lives of the common man.

we still living in darkness and can ...

• Omanba 9 years ago

What did JJ do to improve the lives of Ghanaians?JJ's 20 years rule was a period of economic darkness and decay for Ghana.Ghana deteriorated more under his military cum civilian rule.

• amoah w. 9 years ago

when JJ came to power, ghana was on ground zero

if you werent old enough to know, ask a wise person to tell you

• omanba 9 years ago

Which ground zero?Rawlings brought Ghana to its knees.When he was leaving office the nation's economy was in tatters.Rawling's rule was a dark period in the history of Ghana.

• voltarian 9 years ago

amoah! u are more ignorant than the ppl u call ignorant. all Ghanaians agree then that we will go party constitutional rule. Dr Hilla Iiman was voted 4 to rule. After 23months jj arm rubbed the power we gave to Liman. 4 5yea ...

• Omanba 9 years ago

Whether you like Mahama or not he is your president now and for the next four years.NPP will never be in power in Ghana again.You will be in opposition forever and ever.Maybe the CIA will help you get power again through ter ...

• Samuel Odotei 9 years ago

Ghanaians should learn to disregard this information from a fake NUGS Press and Information Officer. Thomas Takyi-Bonsu who in this post portrays himself as a Press and Information Officer has no relationship with NUGS.

Th ...

• Dobgey 9 years ago

You are totally blind and useless poor man

• concerned ghanaian 9 years ago

Impatient an uncultured. You vomit lies and when other people say what they think of you, what do you do?
    INSULTS!!!!!

• Paulp 9 years ago

NUGS President, please clear the air and take action against anyone trying to misrepresent NUGS.

• SAY IT AS IT IS 9 years ago

It is a pity that people who are suppose to know much and be talking sense are those behaving as fools who sees everything in the nagative .
    Sorry to tell these our future leaders that with we have not fought for independen ...

• MUSAH SALAM 9 years ago

ONE NATION
    ONE PEOPLE
    59TH INDEPENDENCE DAY CELEBRATING
    WOULD GHANA FULFILL GENERATING VISION
    WOULD GHANA FULFILL THE RESOURCES FOR NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND EQUIPMENT EDUCATION

• Kwame Anshong 9 years ago

This message is not from NUGS, kindly ignore

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Rawling must be excludefrom representing himself at all Ghana independence celebrations. He is irrelevant. His presence reminds us of the scares of bloody multilations and innocents murders of which are but a haunting curse o ...

• MENSAH FRED 9 years ago

call or whatsap 0249620218
    Hi I am Mensah Fred, I deal with lotto numbers, My numbers are deal game which comes from A TRUSTED SOURCE everyday. The maximum WINS we experience a week is Three(3) and minimum is Two(2).
    Inter ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 9 years ago

Just look back! The colonials ruled us for so many years
    Before independence how many schools did we have? How many hospitals did we have? How many modern roads existed before independence? Compare it to the situation now an ...

• safair 9 years ago

Ato, did you see the dressing of Akuffo Addo on independence day?is that what you wanted the President to look like? l pity you.

• OB 9 years ago

Did we not learn anything from Tanzania? Sad, Sad, Sad.

• Not a leader 9 years ago

Came to steal

• He is too corrupt 9 years ago

Not a leader Ghana need

• Ed 9 years ago

Ghana should learn from Tanzania. All this celebration are nonsense especially when most citizens are struggling.

• OMN 9 years ago

Only people like sefa kae will vote for nana. Nana can't put his own house in order. You dare not criticise nana addo. Why were Kwabena Agyapong, Crabbe et all (2015) sacked by Nana Addo? It is a big shame on our main opposit ...

• Ernest 9 years ago

Maybe Ghana needs to have castles and skyscrapers floating in the sky, taxis flying, humans become supermen and governments discover the planet of our deceased loved ones; until then we need not commemorate the independence d ...

• Ida 9 years ago

Childish talk by the student

Association.

• Asem beba dabi 9 years ago

useless NUGS executives. What have done to promote teaching and learning in the country? You need to be apolitical.

• foster 9 years ago

thank you very much mr takyi bonsu you spork well what are day celebrating for schoool ander trees or what

• Ernest 9 years ago

Foster, use your air data to read a little on the English language otherwise write in any other language.

• IB 9 years ago

It's a shame to have leaders celebrating over lack of visionary leaders. Its like a pensioneer going on pension without a house to live in and yet celebrate.

• Prof 9 years ago

Is a sad day in Ghana? I can't believe nugs is saying this no wonder we have a lot of unemployed graduates look at where we started from and where we are today go and look at the emergency center at kath and the Ghanaian surg ...

• Yaa Asabea 9 years ago

Nugs leasership seems to be made up of some miseducated young people who would discount the value of Ghana's independence in favor of their selfish interests. What contributions have these young people made towards rescuing ...

• I told you so 9 years ago

Stupid talk. We never asked for independence because we lacked peace. We requested self governance because we wanted to lead our own development and that has not happened. So do not link peace to independence. Ghana has alway ...

• Truth 9 years ago

We heard all these before from past student leaders. What did they do when given the chance in government? Nothing. So NUGS should spare us!

• Sampson 9 years ago

Suspend celebrating independence and use the money to build more school classrooms, hospital wards and provide more employment opportunities for the youth. What did Ghana achieve from celebrating Ghana @ 50, for example ? A t ...

• jam 9 years ago

Fred, don't mind that idiot fool called Nortey, he doesn't know what he's talking about. He speaks from his anus like Mahama. foolishly fools and thieves

• king SA 9 years ago

Tanzania's president has canciled their independent celebration in oda to use de money for devpmt.. Y cant we do de same? IMF money hmmmm

• Kwaku. 9 years ago

Takyi Bonsu, Mahama was ruling Ghana for 59years idiot

• Vak Luze 9 years ago

Always doing politics with everythimg, criminals.

• tiger 9 years ago

These thugs must be crazy.They benefit from the nation called Ghana.how dare them spew out such nonsense

• Eddie Kofi 9 years ago

Bomb Throwers or whatever be your name,ask yourself,if Ghana happen to a man who is going on retirement next year with this situation,. A country with oil,petrol,gold diamond,cocoa, timber and etc,yet, still relied on foreign ...

• Ejay (ex officio GARSRC) 9 years ago

first and foremost, Thomas Tekyi is not an executive if NUGs as he was suspended byva unanimous majority vote at the 1st CC meeting of NUGs for peddling false information with NUGs letter heads and being a member of some NPP ...

• Mr Nobody 9 years ago

Samtyms i wonda y graduates still wait upon d govt to provide dem wf jobs wen dey shld b creatyn jobs demselves wf their acquired knwldge.

• Abdul Aziz 9 years ago

Another NPP youth group they don't see any thing good if NPP is not in power

• Abu Sadik 9 years ago

Ghana will remain bless forever

• The Future Force 9 years ago

If this idiot nugs guy has no sense in his head, he should go back to class one. Does he know what is called independence? Foolish idiot! Your forefathers were part of those who helped the CIA to overthrow Kwame Nkrumah. If ...

• Abu Sadik 9 years ago

What else

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Independence is not about putting up castles,tarring the streets with gold and silver.It's about building self confidence,respect and foundation for the future.You don't wait to be rich to celebrate your birthday,do you?NUGS ...

• Kugri. 9 years ago

Why can't we for once be original? Because somebody has banned indece celebration in his country, gh must also stop celebrating? You are a student and can't think outside the box how do you expect to get employment? There ar ...

• Ra 9 years ago

Ndc keep on insulting cus we ghanaieans av short mamories.if u can live go Togo if u can buy partro pack ur car and walk, ghanaieas re waching.

• Bally 9 years ago

Small boy being used by politicians

• Mion Dagbanbia 9 years ago

Come on NUGS Secretary, what makes you a student to that highest level? Which country did you school? Did you school before this country gained indepence? We must celebrte the independence because Ghana continues to educate p ...

• olu 9 years ago

Does NUGS know our educational history?. Have they taken the time to know where we came from?. I am so so disappointed in these boys and girls. Is this actually coming from NUGS?. Is so so pedestrian to say the least. Ah NUGS ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

NUGS can return to slavery and colonialism if they so wish.What a bunch of useless chaps?Be Happy My People.You don't have to be rich to celebrate your birthday.God Bless Ghana.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

If Ghana’s 59th Indece Day was not celebrated, this same NUGS would turn around and blame the government for not honoring tradition. Some may even say Ghana is broke thence no independence celebration. In fact, every blesse ...

• nko 9 years ago

Where from these crop of student from?. Is this shallow release coming from NUGS?. I am afraid this country has no future if NUGS can make such an elementary press release. God save this country.

• Robert 9 years ago

God bless our home land Ghana. Many years in returns.pray that by 2024 i will stand to address the nation as president John Dramani Mahama is doing today.

• Justin 9 years ago

What's the meaning of independence when the western countries are still carrying away all our natural resources. Still using us even more than the slaves to do the mining for them in our own lands.hmmm posterity will ask us

• volta boy 9 years ago

foolish mahama . U dnt give ur vice chanse . Moroon ndc members

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Ghana is truly a joke of a country.Spending millions to celebrate what?Impoverishment of her citizens?Why must Monday be declared a holiday?We shd never have demanded independence from the British bcos we are incapable of man ...

• Chameleon Man 9 years ago

We should rejoice in the independence of our great nation.. Thank You Dr. K. Nkrumah..

How I wish he could see starving children right now.. he will turn in his grave..

59 years..

We are the most experienced Afric ...

• NEE 9 years ago

count yourself lucky not to have been thrown into jail.You were not born at the time of independence and not in a position to evaluate the progress chalked over the years. What do you know about running a country fool? I bett ...

• CDD 9 years ago

Hey u these students, stop playing politics and blame game , what hv u done to help Ghana?, keep quite and dnt just sit on the fence

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

The whiteman will respect us when our leaders stop the looting and manage the economy well to ensure growth and employment...not wearing batakari at state functions.Mahama wears batakari these days to cover his overbloated po ...

• apuuuu 9 years ago

the 59th independent celebration is not worth it only few ndc party people enjoying and the rest is not and i hope this will be the last celebration for dead goat President Mahama infact we need change there are so much was ...

• LetsBeTolerant 9 years ago

foolish NUGS were are the and when we're they born, nonsense

• Alex 9 years ago

How could the president dressed semi formal to do inspection on Independence Day? Wearing a suit without a tie? We don't even do that on formal business sittings. Who dresses this guy? Terrible terrible terrible

• JM 9 years ago

NUGS members should ask themselves what each of them have done to their mother nation since they were born in Ghana or as a Ghanaian then you can complain. ??Lets stop the blame game to build Ghana.

• Apau 9 years ago

Nkrumah did not set up UST to be used as a political platform by the likes of Amoako Baah. What the hell is he doing there? political science should not even be taught or have a faculty at UST. What is the purpose of Wireko-B ...

• his N 9 years ago

This NUGS should go to other countries and see what happens there then they can come and educate there colleagues.it not easy any where.Ghana we are blessed

• Filings 9 years ago

You need to accord our leaders esp. presidents with utmost respect. The press release is guided by nothing but political motivation. president Mahama should not be blamed for what you see today except that you have personal a ...

• SHARP BRAIN(0553428504) 9 years ago

I am astound nd vry sad how we want to turn truth to lies.If dix continue we will suffer.The truth must be told.our leaders had failed.Ghana at 59 yet still we have students studying under trees while we squandered billions o ...

• Mark Lyion 9 years ago

The spirit of oneness must always be encourage, irrespective what political affiliation we belong, we are one people. https://goo.gl/WBLUJg

• Nash 9 years ago

https://goo.gl/WBLUJg

• save ghana 9 years ago

after all we have some courageous persons in Ghana. not kwasi rat who has sworn to make the poor remain poor.meat is down to the bone. not knowing you were the thief stealing de meat. we shall vote u out. incompetence and thi ...

• One Ghana For Change 9 years ago

True NUGS could not have said it any better . AT 59 people are still struggling to eat a decent three square meal a day .Unemployment and worsening economic hardship .God save this country

• Afua 9 years ago

Well said,God bless you.

• GO PUT THINKING CAP ON... 9 years ago

nonsense, of a NUGS something something!!! what are the achievements of NUGS after all these years? Don't you continue wasting students money on useless court cases? What policy measures have you provided for govt on educatio ...

• Lucy L 9 years ago

Agreed, one would think the country would value the future generations and the lack of free and competent education is a result of greed and corruption.

• Ekow Samuel. 9 years ago

We wish the next year we pray that the devolopment will devolop wass works for the youth and the our adult in oman ghana, God bless you oman ghana!.

• weysman 9 years ago

Myopic write up. It is sad and am not surprised that as students you dont know the efficacy of independece. Stop throwing dust into peoples eyes.

• Kofi Totobi Kwakye 9 years ago

Why has NUGS been silent for so long? Around the world students have played a leading role in the fight against corruption, mismanagement, inefficiencies and other ills in their respective countries. It is your future so you ...

• 2020 9 years ago

hey fool this is your last march go back to bole and eat dawadawa

• Kujoe, 9 years ago

Truly, I have been saying it. Let us cancel this stupid thing and emulate Tanzania's example.

• Opoku Richard 9 years ago

Am Sad to be a Ghanaian.Hmmm No vision for Our future.

• Sampson 9 years ago

Ghana is not truly an independent country, therefore, it is unnecessary to celebrate independence. Ghana is still being controlled and dictated to by outside forces. The president goes begging for money and handouts each time ...

• komfo 9 years ago

Independence was just a substitution of the white man with local thieves.

• Prince 9 years ago

NUGS, should be very careful with their arrogance they are exhibiting, this self seeking butch of useless people should give us a break. We celebrate our birthday, yet we haven't achieve everything in life.

• unemployed graduate TEACHER 9 years ago

graduate unemployment everywhere!!! Oooh ghana

• BANSI 9 years ago

NUGS