You are here: HomeNews2016 03 04Article 420960

Ghana must scrap two term limits - K. B Asante

Read Comments Comments (145)

• ZOOBIE-ZOOBIE 8 years ago

not making sense in Africa

• OYOKOBA 8 years ago

This KB Asante has proven himself to be not in touch with reality. He is indeed a relic of the one-man party - forget about one-party state - which Nkrumah CPP and era was. What a bunkum thought. Old man please go to Zimbabwe ...

• Fiffi 8 years ago

He is right. We do not need American's type of Democracy, we are Africans, we have chiefs. It works very well in Africa. We can not be experimenting every four years. Look at the developments in middle east countries and look ...

has chieftancy made airplanes? computers? etc? KB Asante never makes sense.

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Nkrumah was a communist dictator and Mr. Ashanti is also a communist relic. The Whiteman left us with a parliamentary system in which the prime minister can go on ruling as long as he remains the leader of his party and the p ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Anybody who carefully studied our constitution would realize that it was made to sustain dictatorship, and that's why I call it Rawlings Green Book. From the horse's own month represented by Bagbin, the hands and legs of our ...

• Senior citizen - Germany 8 years ago

MR KB Asante should first talk about the reasons why Ghana acceted the American system of two terms for the presidency which is reasonable to curb the incidence of corruption,nepotism,Nyebroism,Partism etc which breed the cou ...

• Omanhene (U$A) 8 years ago

Mr. Asante, that's a very "OLD SCHOOL THINKING" in the 21st century. We don't need more monarchs in Ghana, because we already have the antiquated—but functional—chieftaincy mumbo jumbo there. Where the hell are you guys c ...

• omanhene 8 years ago

Stupid baffooon

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Nkrumah was a communist dictator and Mr. Ashanti is communist relic. The white man left us with a parliamentary system in which the prime minister can go on ruling as long as he remains the leader of his party and the party a ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Anybody who carefully studied our constitution would realize that it was made to sustain dictatorship, and that's why I call it Rawlings Green Book. From the horse's own month represented by Bagbin, the hands and legs of our ...

• William Sorkpor, USA 8 years ago

With all due respect, Mr. Asante must shut-up, and keep his anti-democratic ideas to himself.

Ghana will not pursue a Communist system of government that is disguised as a pseudo-democratic rule. Term-limit for the presid ...

• REVELATION + RATIONALITY = TRUTH 8 years ago

Your suggestion simply doesn't fit African Democracy/Politics. No disrespect but it appears you're either blind to African politics or you've got an ulterior motive for making such an unfortunate suggestion in a ''rig-rampant ...

• Chiga 8 years ago

he speaks in vacuum...he is not taking the real nature of politics in the continent into account.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-NOKWARE...
    You better come out now or never. 2016 is turning or boiling point in Ghana. You are the QUEEN BEE or the Queen mother. If you are not careful, you will ignite the burning bush.
    Have you heard of Justice ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

KB Asante should just keep quiet. Does he know how some African politicians are and can do if given the chance to rule more than two terms? They will be like Kwame Nkrumah and try to be president for life. Look at what Mugabe ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-dk...
    thieving and incompetent jdm and his ndc cohorts are looting from left, right and center with the hope to buy the conscience of vulnerable Ghanaians. I thank God that nobody can buy my conscience because I AM A ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Frank,the guy was Nkrumah's Secretary,the president for life so don't be surprise to hear him say such a crap,he is still thinking about his boss,the dictator who made himself a president for life.

• Yaovi 8 years ago

AN OLDMAN WHO DOESN'T MAKE SENSE IS CALLED OPANIN KWASEA IN AKAN.

• Repugnant 8 years ago

Shove it your grammar sucks. Don't be surprised to hear him say............

• Amegaxoxo 8 years ago

Old age and senility can cloud a person's thinking.This man relishes his days with the Fount of Honour,His Messianic Dedication and Show Boy.He wants his good old days back.

• Kofi Yamoah 8 years ago

His idea is debatable. The real problem is the branch government which fails to put executivein check. Members of parliament are alien in the house they represent. No single leader its the best because the world order

• New Sheriff in Town 8 years ago

"...what happens is that some people try to entrench themselves".
    So we should remove the term limit and watch some people entrench themselves?

• sam 8 years ago

asante you talking nonsense o

• PEACE 8 years ago

PLEASE,LET SHOW SENSE OF RESPECT FOR THE ELDERLY AND PEOPLE'S OPINION

• DOOM-SAYER PROPHET 8 years ago

THIS NKRUMANISM TYPE OF COMMUNISM CANNOT GIVE WAY TO DEMOCRACY AND K.B SHOULDN'T BE GIVEN ANY PLATFORM ANYMORE TO DILUTE THE YOUTH MINDS.

• Life 8 years ago

For an experienced politician KB should know better. This will open the avenue for power drunk fools and leave no option than coups to change government. Do we really want that?

• bee lee 8 years ago

the elderly can not think anymore!

• EDI 8 years ago

HE JUST NEED TO RETIRE AND FORGET HIS NONSENSE

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

His brain is old. How could such person be a stateman? He has communists ideology which shouldn't be tolerated in this modern Ghana. No one person has the brain to rule Ghana. He can suggest that to his family but not to Ghan ...

• Munir Mohammed 8 years ago

Really? An Elder statesman making this proposal?I am very disappointed in KB.Please come again.

• ebenezer nii amu first-quao 8 years ago

...In a country that experienced eight changes of Government (constitutional and unconstitutional)over its 60-odd years of independence and several changes of constitution even before independence,not to mention standard-sett ...

• KYEBI ADVOCATE 8 years ago

Crazy statement out of mind talk, what make him said this stupid words like this

• GHANA 8 years ago

THIS ARE THE KIND OF PEOPLE WHO ARE TRYING TO BRING CONFUSION IN GHANA.WHY NOT TELL GOD TO LET YOU LIVE ON EARTH FOREVER THEN GHANAIAN LEADERS CAN STAY FOREVER. YOU LOOK OLD ENOUGH TO THINK BETTER THAN THIS MR.

• Chiga 8 years ago

There is nothing technically wrong with what Asante is asking for but he has not taken the nature of politics in Ghana and Africa into account. Removing term limit does not necessarily mean good leaders get to stay longer, bu ...

• ebenezer nii amu first-quao 8 years ago

...the Africa Reform Movement for inclusive governance in an Eco-Fed system that engages all parties proportionally on the basis of votes won, rather than the current winner-take-all system which marginalizes those unfortunat ...

• Asempaye 8 years ago

Sir, I beg to differ. Civilized democracies have a limit for a genuine reason. Without time limit African leaders will turn into dictators. We have withnessed too many examples to even consider such an idea. 8 years is a long ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

The man is entitled to his opinion,where was he when the 1992 Constitution was drafted?Thank you.

• GHA 8 years ago

GERMANS ARE DOING GOOD

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Yes but they think differently than Ghanaian leaders. How many German leaders are greedy thieves who steal from the state? Our leaders don't think about the country?

• FACTUAL 8 years ago

NOTE! THE GERMANS HAVE A CIVILIZED PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION SYSTEM; THE CURRENT CHANCELLOR & HER VICE ARE FROM MAIN OPPOSING PARTIES! THIS MEANS WAR IN PRIMITIVE AFRICAN POLITICS!

• T'pau 8 years ago

Yes, Germans are doing good because they've identified a system of governance that suits them and they do not follow other countries blindly. Have we in Ghana thought of what's good for us? We know most of our leaders are cor ...

• Pressman 8 years ago

This octogenarian and seemingly senile individual must give us a break! Show us the selfless and dedicated leader who was forced out of because of the term limit. We must thank the term limit for getting rid of individuals li ...

• Boss 8 years ago

The blessing hand of the Lord in Mugabe's life cannot be disputed. With all the stress and trauma he encountered in his lifetime for 30years in the hands of colonial masters while fighting freedom wars, sleeping in the bush u ...

• CATAPULT 8 years ago

Ghana actually needs midterm elections i.e. 2 years into the first term of 4 years or second term of 4 years, Ghana should have midterm elections.
    Were that to be the case, rottenness in the governance of this country, woul ...

• Asempaye 8 years ago

You are so right!

• Jonny Risky Puncho 8 years ago

The two term is fine, in Africa the leaders become corrupt and will enrich themselves that it will be hard to vote them out. They will rig elections and will stay in power until they die.

• Nimo 8 years ago

I like one term. The 2nd term has been always bad. Rawlings 2 nd ter had inflation and the ministers became unbearable and rude. That was the corruption time. Inflation was worse in Kuffours 2nd term. To me this is Mahamas 2n ...

• Apuu 8 years ago

Senior man, i beg to defer with you on this one please.
    Have you think about the possibility of having a cheap and no vision one like mahama hanging around our neck for unforeseeable years. Ghana will then be at war.
    Just l ...

• kwasi 8 years ago

I dont agree at all.

• Mensah 8 years ago

Ghana got rid off authoritarian rule and a life President when your master was overthrown, so get with it. Ghana is not going back to a one man rule nonsense

• WONDER 8 years ago

This runs contrary to Best Practices and Good Governance as being propounded by ECOWAS and championed by UN and AU. The reason being that many of the conflicts in Africa are caused by 'sit-tight' presidents who would use incu ...

• Apuskele 8 years ago

What do you expect from KB? Have forgotten he is a 'verandah boy'? He is still living in the psyche of nkrumah is our messiah, nkrumah does no wrong, nkrumah never dies. He belongs to the 60s where africain leaders ruled l ...

• Goatbaby 8 years ago

These were the people who were advising Nkrumah. A crocodile can not change it's scales

• KK 8 years ago

COMPLETELY NON-NONSENSICAL AND IDIOTIC

• Adamu 8 years ago

K.B Asante is politically polluted only with Communism. The equation of democracy looks and sounds like thunder storm to him. You can not teach an old dog a new trick! The problematic political issues is, Ghana/Africa were un ...

• AO JABS 8 years ago

THIS CAN ONLY HAPPEN IF WE HAVE A CREDIBLE INDEPENDENT EC.A BAD GOVT IN POWER CAN ALWAYS MANIPULATE THE EC TO BE IN POWER FOR LIFE.EXAMPLE OUR TODAYS EC. SO LETS FORGET IT. WHEN YOUR TWO TERMS IS OVER WHETHER RAIN OR SHINE YO ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

Ghana does not want a Mugabe. Who wants a multi-term in a country when a ruling government also acts as the Electoral Commission. Go sit somewhere and enjoy your retirement.

• ADJAOTTOR JAMES 8 years ago

Look is time we think positively;what K,B is saying is sensible .don't just comment think before.

• Michael 8 years ago

He is totally right, all those abusing him are just being emotional.

• Obroni 8 years ago

PLS ARE YOU DEMENTING, we don't need more potential dictators in Africa

• KOGYAM58 8 years ago

WHY DIDN'T YOU SAY THIS WHEN NPP WAS IN POWER?

• Cry, my belovd country. 8 years ago

I think this elderly stateman has a point. Just think about it: there is no term limit to the Prime Minister of Britain, once you win your parliamentary election and your party is the majority you can be Prime minister foreve ...

• Kwaku Dua 8 years ago

When we are talking about politics in Ghana, Mr. K.B. Asante should keep mute. His political ideas are no more useful. We do not want you to bring confusion and anarchy to Ghana. We are very satisfied with the present system ...

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

TWO TERMS IS OKAY EVEN IF NOT TOO MUCH. AFRICAN POLITICS SHOULD NOT ENTERTAIN EXTENDED TERMS FOR PRESIDENTS. THAT IS WHAT BREEDS INTO ENTRENCHMENT AND ULTIMATE DICTATORSHIP. IMAGINE WHAT IS HAPPENING IN PLACES LIKE UGANDA, ZI ...

• Kwesi ab 8 years ago

Forget about the crap. I don't understand why old people from Africa get weak in mind when the grow old?

• VAN DE HAYES 8 years ago

Elderly senior citizen, thank you very much for your suggestion but it will not work in Ghana. Our lack of progress as a country is that goernments intentionally fail to continue developments initiated by previous government ...

• jew guy 8 years ago

That old man is near his grave, so he does not reason. There are no term limits for parties, there are only term limits for presidents. A good president should be able to have his party reelected. He per se dies not need to ...

• Say Alla Dey 8 years ago

Orga KB, do you want us to go Ugandan or Mugabe way where leaders of those countries do not want to leave power? Oh no.

• Kweku Donsuro 8 years ago

We will not be following international standards of best practice if we change the law for a long time presidency. The best thing to do is to make each term five years and maintain the two terms. The French countries which ha ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

I would not encourage Mugabe's Policy of remaining in Power for life, unless we return to Kingdoms. I would prefer 8 years one term presidency. What advice did Hon K B Asante gave to his BOSS when he was proposing LIFE presid ...

• Amega 8 years ago

Dear KB am afraid you want to introduce Mugabeism into Ghana politics. Are you happy with what is going on in Zimbabwe?

• *** 8 years ago

NO WAAAYYYYY, RAWLINGS HAD 20 YEARS, NOW IMAGINE JIHADI JOHN AS PRESIDENT FOR 12 YEARS. CHAII GID FORBID, DUMSOR AND REBRANDING THE TROTROS WITH HIS PICTURES

• Koi 8 years ago

GYEEDA NE SADA MU EYEDE. WO WO AKONFEM NA SE OGWANE A, WO BO AFU, WO HIA KANEA, WOTRI AFU, ZAPHANAT PANEA

• Nana Asenso 8 years ago

We need build strong institutions not presidents

• AKI 8 years ago

Hon. K .B . Asante, I disagree.

The Asian tigers had 25 to 30 years rule of presidents for life and military juntas. It is a fact that the economies of those countries grew faster than those of countries with a limited term of government. Those governments ...

• fresh 8 years ago

He wished President kuffour should have continue ruling. Watch his statement critically. Discern very well.lol

• Adomakoh Froboo 8 years ago

This man is mad, absolutely mad. How do u determine a capable /non capable leader?

• Close Observer 8 years ago

Somebody must tell this old man to focus on his retirement and stop suggesting things that would not help us.

• seeclear 8 years ago

U got it all wrong, Ghana problem has nothing to do with the term of a President. Top down development approach is the Ghana problem. Give the power to the people at local government area. Let Ghanaians elect their local auth ...

• Kirk Douglas (Alabama) 8 years ago

Woww this man wants dictatorship in Ghana again.

• peter Akasake 8 years ago

he has spoken his mind and its final to him but let's not forget to realise the fact that, he says In his opinion. let's see it as if he was not an extraordinary person or even once a diplomat and also remember sometimes, old ...

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

opanin bua.This animal helped kwame nkrumah to attain life time president, with unlimited power.Kwasea.Head to ur grave and leave us alone

• Choiisce 8 years ago

I totally disagree with the elderly statesman. What we need is actually one term of 6 years. However good the person is, they must go. Ghana's population is over 25 million and I guess we can get at least 100 people who can g ...

• Niigbese 8 years ago

Disappointed. The mentality of the blackman cannot be equated to the whiteman. Hiati is now running a one four year term presidency bcus the blackman cannot be trusted with power for a longer time.

• Bravo USA 8 years ago

The only problem with this suggestion is that we vote for reasons other than what KB is saying. What tribes support a a particular candidate is more important than what he has achieved. Just look at what the Akans are doing ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

No way

• Eola Mahama 8 years ago

This man is going mad now.It will not happen.

• rosheena hardy..Chicago. 8 years ago

What is this "motherfucker " talking about...Africa is not a monarchical continent..k b. Asante onu lo......
    No disrespect....just a word of caution...

• John 8 years ago

Unlimited tenures will breed dictatorship

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Nana K.B, you don't make any good point here. Sorry.

• FUFUO DADESEN 8 years ago

Don't scrap..make it five-year term...JUST SAYING!!

• OKOE 8 years ago

I RESPECT MR. ASANTES OPINION ON POLITICAL AND OTHER RELEVANT MATTERS AFFECTING GHANA BUT BEG TO DIFFER ON THIS ONE. IT WORKS BOTH WAYS. HOW ABOUT IF THE PRESIDENT IS INEFFECTIVE., IT WOULD MEAN HE WOULD BE CONTESTING BECAUSE ...

• KUSASI 8 years ago

GHANAIANS MUST FORGET ABOUT WICKED, COMMUNIST AND UNDEMOCRATIC K.B.ASANTE.
    HE ALWAYS TALKS BACKWARDS. OH GHANA HOW COME ALL ELDER STATESMEN HAVE BECOME DISHONEST AND STOMACH POLITICIANS? DO GHANAIANS REMEMBER THAT DURING THE ...

• kakabo 8 years ago

This tribalist old man is now loosing his marbles.

• kakabo 8 years ago

He was among those who pushed into the ears of Nkrumah to change the constitution into a one party state with a life president . OPANIN KWASIA.

• Kofi - USA 8 years ago

Another ignorant statesman speaking and not making sense. Your need a psychiatrist because I think you have Dementia. Your ideas are past its time.

• CONCERN 8 years ago

I would like to know if K.B. Asante is smatter than the western world? The reason why long time presidency is not good for leaders and rulers is that when one stays longer in an office, he/she becomes dictatorship.

• THE SAME PARTY SHOULD RATHER REMAIN 8 years ago

UNCLE K.B, YOU KNOW EVERY PARTY HAS ITS MANIFESTO WITHIN WHICH THET GOVERN A COUNTRY. SO WHEN A GOOD PRESIDENT IS LEAVING A PARTY AND THEN THE PEOPLE MUST VOTE THE SAME PARTY INTO POWER SO THAT ITS POLICIES WILL CONTINUE.

• Nana 8 years ago

If Kwame Nkrumah is your mentor what do you expect. Tweaa,,!!!

• MAWUNYO 8 years ago

In fact the old man is pointing out his view like any other person in Ghana,however,he is entitled to his opinion.Why the insult?

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

I strongly object to that idea. African governments are dictatorial in nature. After a maximum of 8 years, they should get out of the way for us to try another person. If that person isn't good, we kick him or her out after 4 ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Hello Mr Asante, the two term limit is alright. Look at where Prez Mahama has taken Ghana into.

• E. T. Mensah 8 years ago

These are the same clowns who urged Nkrumah on to declare himself life president and eventually destroyed Ghana.
    Back off, your ideas are old buddy.

• Mohammed Abdulai 8 years ago

We cannot allow people to stay in power as long as they want.Anybody that is given this kind opportunity always turn into dictators.Very bad idea sir.

• GHANANI 8 years ago

I totally agree with Mr K.B.Asante.The electorate must decide how long a president must rule the country.Political power resides with the people.

• Prof. Issifu, UK 8 years ago

This man is absolutely sick. Take him off the stage.

• John Donkoh 8 years ago

I totally disagree with Hon. K. B. Asante. If a leaders is good and has served his two terms, it should be possible to have groomed somebody like him to continue with his good leadership. The problem with Africans is that lea ...

• samdoug 8 years ago

Whyare we Africans power-drunk? New leaders come with new ideas.
    Why is the US the most powerful State? They have presidential term Limits like ours and since their Union they abide by it.Let us Keep the presidential term Li ...

• Patriot 8 years ago

What bullshit is tht

• Ike 8 years ago

That is great Idea, I support and know this is what the country needs. Some countries are practicing this system of governance like Australia and it's excellent. Thank you

• Ampaa 8 years ago

All these folks has messed Ghana up with UNREALISTIC cheap talk. The know SOON will be called to HEAVENLY rest.

• Akwasi Frimpong 8 years ago

Why not call for a total abolishing of multi party system ? I guess you are trying to say we should have a Ghana agenda where regardless of who wins a Presidential elections, he or she has to execute and contin ...

• FuSeini 8 years ago

Nooooo

You have to understand this. being President means you are there to do a jab with a mandate for your people and nation,

if you are a crap leader, you cant maintain good projects. If you don't maintain good proje ...

• FuSeini 8 years ago

Yes MAn.
    KB is Spot on.
    This challenges leaders to deliver. If you ',, then get lost.

• igp 8 years ago

Respect the term limits, oldman. This is the only way to forestall dictatorship and absolute power. Even Communstt China now observes two five year term for the president. How can we allow the loot going on under one preside ...

• bb 8 years ago

zz

• Colin 8 years ago

sleep on.
    that bla zeh attitude will stay with you until someone calls you a degenerate.

• Efo 8 years ago

This is obviously below the belt punch, K.B. Have you forgotten the winner takes all syndrome that is a characteristic of our do called democracy? Not to talk about the abuse of incumbency during our elections. How could we b ...

• Edward 8 years ago

What the man is saying is perfect,he said if the electorate think the leader is GOOD the constitution should allow him to run again,why does this make sense?if something is good why change it?????

• Edward 8 years ago

The people wanted Kigame to be president because the country has flourished under his rule so why change him??

• I told you so 8 years ago

Even the current four years per term is too long for non-producing Presidents. We have to reduce it.

• Alfa 8 years ago

This does not make sense at all. We shall end up creating more Mugabes and Musevenis.

• JM 8 years ago

NPP want to chop some ohh. NPP desperate to come to power ohh.NPP losers.

• coolmann 8 years ago

you have a point there

• Cephas K. Atror 8 years ago

I think the old man is speaking wisdom. Let all of us take a second look at what he is saying rather than condemning it. Thank u.

• Yao 8 years ago

O had a lot of respect for KB but insane thinking hás alerted me of his lost relevance. It always starts this way and gains grounds with demagogues. This diplomat has been paid tô Begin the destruction of Ghana. All well m ...

• NYAKROM 8 years ago

It's not suprise that ghanaians dont understand what is democracy.Democracy is the choice of the people not constitution.Every semat persone will tell you limitation of mandat is anti democracy which was a dictact of some law ...

• Adune 8 years ago

Why should this once great man of our dear country advocates for this dangerous path for Ghana?
    I don't blame him because of his age and the political device he is rooted into. His boss the late Kwame Nkrumah had wanted to b ...

• Futurama. 8 years ago

Idiot. We don't want Mugabes on Ghana.

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

Insulting intelligence of Ghanaian that Ghanaians have short term memories

• Mr Bond 8 years ago

Why not you scrap it yourself Mr K.B.Asanti and what is prevent you from doing that?

• Owusu 8 years ago

USELESS OLD MAN, THEN CALL FOR PRESIDENT FOR LIVE.SO MUGABE IS RIGHT.

• salifu fusseini, London 8 years ago

Who is he trying to please?

• Bobby, Adenta. 8 years ago

Old man, you are trying to bring Kwame Nkruma ideology again. One man show.

• Kuffour 8 years ago

K b asante is idiot and stupid fool

• Kuffour Osei austria 8 years ago

K b asante is a stupid fool and idiot and a useless man

• raster 8 years ago

k.b.asante a modern day DICTATOR for ghana nkrumah incarnate you will burn in hell

• Charles 8 years ago

Why not a parliamentary democracy with proper checks and balances?

• Collins Anim 8 years ago

stupid old man!! never makes any sense. panin kwasia!!

• KWABENA KASAPREKO 8 years ago

THE ISSUE IS THAT, WE TEND TO ALWAYS IMITATE THE WEST. WE GHANAIANS DON'T THINK FOR OURSELVES. WE ALWAYS JUMP TO THE CONCLUSION THAT WHATEVER COMES FROM THE WEST IS BEST. WE SHOULD REFLECT ON WHAT MR. ASANTE IS PUTTING ACROSS ...

• MENSAH FRED 8 years ago

call or whatsap 0249620218
    Hi I am Mensah Fred, I deal with lotto numbers, My numbers are deal game which comes from A TRUSTED SOURCE everyday. The maximum WINS we experience a week is Three(3) and minimum is Two(2).
    Inter ...

• Sulley, Tamale 8 years ago

Sorry sir, just hope you put this the Constitutional Review Commission ( or is it rather committee?).

• Nana Malik 8 years ago

People whats undemocratic about what the old man said?The parliamentary system in the U.K. allows the prime minister to be there as long as his or her party maintains its majority.Is that undemocratic too?Open your mind,peopl ...