You are here: HomeNews2016 02 02Article 412384

Drivers declare nationwide strike

Read Comments Comments (58)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.

“Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”, 

In the full glare of the President, Vice Preside ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Ghana is just sick. How does insurance companies and the MoF increase insurance premium by 300%? Does that make sense? Drivers will certainly transfer the cost to the poor Ghanaian.Can this be the reason why some owners don't ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Transport owners should simply form their own insurance company,I support that,the strike should not be one day affair,some of us are sick and tired of these increases every single day in a poor country like Ghana where many ...

• Abdul 8 years ago

Wow, that's all I can say. Insurance companies and ministry of finance? How does this work. Mother Ghana has gone nuts.

• kofi doh 8 years ago

If drivers are willing to pay 250% why should we cry for them. It makes no sense.

• Edem 8 years ago

Car owners, both private and commercial are only making money for these insurance companies. 500% hicks is just too much. They don't even pay the third party claims neither do they repair damaged road infrastructure. Now is t ...

• mensa 8 years ago

AS THANK YOU 4 THEM ELECTING HIM

• kwami 8 years ago

WHY SHOULD WE VOTE FOR HIM SO HE CAN RAISE COST OF EVERYTHING AGAIN?

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

These lawless buffoons are finally caving in. Half of all the public transports on Accra roads must be banished, another quarter need to be re-certified.

I think smart-government has figured out ways to fight back. Make th ...

• Jingo Man 8 years ago

Let's have our own insurance company so that we can reap our profits for ourselves. These useless insurance companies collect huge premiums but feel reluctant to pay us insurance due with stupid technicalities.

• WILD FIRE 8 years ago

TO ACCEPT AN INCREASE OF 250% IS PURE MADNESS. YOUR LEADERS HAVE ASKED YOU TO ACCEPT THAT. IT IS BELIEVED THAT ALL YOUR LEADERS HAVE ALLEGIANCE TO THE POWERS THAT BE AND CONTINUE TO USE YOU FOR THEIR POLITICAL AND FINANCIAL G ...

• Sam 8 years ago

Indeed the insurance premium is just way way too high. No right thinking person will agree to this. The drivers should just think of forming an insurance company to cater for their needs.

• Jac 8 years ago

It was only the concern drivers union who did the press conference. So Ghana web why did you add the other union. Ghanaweb?

• Edem 8 years ago

Will the other drivers not benefit if they succeeded in forcing the authorities to reduce the premium. How can they increase the premium by 500% at once. This can't happen anywhere.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Other drivers too are involved,even if they are not the issue concern them too,nobody in his right mind will support such a ridiculous increment,very stupid thing to do.

• AYEGBE 8 years ago

MAHAMAH WILL DEAL WITH FOOLISH GHANAIANS. SHUT THE FUCK UP. YOU VOTED FOR MAHAMAH HE IS DOING THE RIGHT THING TO YOU MORONS. HE WILL STILL YOUR TAX MONEY AND YOUR MINERAL RESOURCES MONEY AND YOUR OIL MONEY. THAT IS WHAT YOU ...

• DESMOND ARHIN 8 years ago

It is unfortunate that there is a lot of ignorance in our country.This stretches from intellectuals through journalists to artisans.
    First off, there has been no increase of 300% in insurance premiums.Insurance premiums for ...

• The General 8 years ago

thanks for clearing the air

• Meeen 8 years ago

U write your own thing and you turn around with a different name to praise it..the problem of the drivers is they hardly benefit from the huge amount paid and as such why the increase..u need to understand them

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

They can all go to hell! When they hit you, they tell you "Oh Massa Sorry" 300 times, and expect you to forgive and forget. Useless monkeys behind wheels.

So can we private citizens start our own insurance companies? They ...

• Freeman Uba 8 years ago

Ayegbe I thought Akufool Addo was the one voted for. I am confused. Then why were we being deceived and subjected to the long trial at the Supreme Court? Why do Ghanaians lie so much without ?

• adanko 8 years ago

INDEED NOBODY, EXCEPT NDC THIEVES, ARE FEELING THE BETTER GHANA

• joe padi 8 years ago

even savings account now dere r tax on it. wat type of punishment koraa dis

• Martin 8 years ago

The question that needs to be asked is whether or not any passenger in an accident ever been compensated by the insurance companies of these drivers?

• Abdulai Muhammed 8 years ago

The question is when is the union's insurance coming on? It is long overdue.

• Brown 8 years ago

is even long overdue for the gprtu to set its own insurance company to oversee the affairs of drivers because is becoming too much.

• Benson 8 years ago

Good idea. You have all the support of true Ghanaians. Let the silly idiots continue to support this visionless dead goat and NDC government.

• Freeman Uba 8 years ago

By the way is the insurance company controlled by Ministry of finance? Why and how? Is govt a shareholder in all insurance companies? Only in Ghana!

• Matty 8 years ago

I will be happy to help you set up this venture.

• NANA KOFI 8 years ago

Odwan funu president ben koraa nie ?

• KWAME 8 years ago

SINCE INDEPENDENCE WE'VE BEEN COMPLAINING SAAAAA!!.EVEN KUFFUOR AND ATTA MILLS ERA. IT'S BEST IF OUR COLONIAL MASTERS ARE STILL RULING US... Y3 KA SA SAAA WITH NO SOLUTION. OUR GUTTERS ARE CHOCKING,WE JUST KEEP KA SA SAAAA, W ...

• PAT 8 years ago

Oh president Mahama, what is happening? and every thing has become so expensive that ordinary Ghanaian cannot longer bear it again. Why can't you regulate some of this things so the ordinary Ghanians can be a little comfortab ...

• EDEM 8 years ago

Only in Ghana will this nonsense ever happen. Why did we even vote for a leader. Now it's like living in a jungle. The strongest survive. Only politicians are feeling the better Ghana agenda. Down with MAHAMA, down with NDC

• WANZAM 8 years ago

This is a good idea.

• Kojo Fred 8 years ago

You Ghanaians allow fulanis to render havoc to your citizenry.

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Creating their own Insurance company is better. But more importantly, the Government ought to allow more private entities to open their Insurance companies as well. When there is more competition at the Market, the Premiums ...

• raaa 8 years ago

everything jam up in this country, bad governance from mahama

• killer, paul ahadzie 8 years ago

for what? what type of strike did they declare for the drivers ooh ok nationwide strike my greetings to kuffour.

• killer, paul ahadzie 8 years ago

president mahama win the vote start paying the workers if only you the president want to win the election.

• Ode asempa kakraba 8 years ago

The ideology of socialism of which the NDC claim is what they believe in is total fabrication...NDC why! why!! why!!! ,what have ghanaians done for melting the punishment to us

• dessy 8 years ago

govt dispatches public buses all cites

• Kas 8 years ago

Which public buses re u talking about? Metro mass, forget wai.
    It has collapsed mpo, go to Tamale n see for yourself,almost all their buses re parked,even dey don't get buses for intercity running n u re talking of intracit ...

• cuuh!. 8 years ago

This is what u shld 've done long ago. Begin to do your own things as planned. No good roads no toll. Fight for your rights. Curse be upon our leaders.

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

make sure you vote these criminals the off spring of young pioneer kwame nkrumah left us.As a Ghanaian if NDC is making ur life better vote for them if ur life is on the Rock wait November just show ur thumb

• Joe 8 years ago

300% increase why, are you out of your senses

• kiko 8 years ago

1000 percent ,Mahama well done

• AK47 MACHINE GUN 8 years ago

WHAT PERCENT FOR A DEAD GOAT,OVER MY FOOT.. HE IS TELLING YOU HE IS A DEAD GOAT,AND YOU GOING TO WASTE YOUR VOTE FOR HIM.THEN WO YE GYMI FUO PAAAA

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

The people suffer and agonise daily.....and there is unending wailing and gnashing of teeth !

• galluk 8 years ago

It will be in the union's interest to start an insurance company. This will turn fortunes given their numerical strength.

• PAPSON 8 years ago

Get your own insurance firm as quickly as you can and I believe this will make a great deference. I wish you the best of luck.

• AMIN FROM TAMALE 8 years ago

MR MAHAMMA WE THE DRAVERS IN TAMALE WE ARE NOT FILLING WHAT U ARE DPING , IAM A MEMBER OF N D C IN TAMALE NORTH .WE LET ABUBAKIA SUMANI OFF FROM M P

• kwaku 8 years ago

Apuu. Drivers too? Docters were on strike, people were dying left n right but we didn't care. Go ahead with your strike. Ghanaians Will walk to everywhere they want to go. As for my people in the north, they can ride on thie ...

• Asuty 8 years ago

Ghana is sick under this THIEF called Mahama.

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

having your own insurance , is the best option to run away from the greedy bastards killer motor insurance.
    we are ready to buy shares

• Abena 8 years ago

Ghanaian drivers should be serious on this issue and embark on the strike. The country is really sick with the useless government of the ndc. The insurance companies should be ashamed of the 300% increase. What benefit does v ...

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Why not immediately but have to wait till 8th? We are with you in this......and make it a long continuous strike to teach the greedy buffoons a lesson and then form your own insurance company if they refuse to budge

• qwaku gee 8 years ago

Does the insurance works in Ghana where is the money going into the pockets of the criminals dats bull shit

• makamaka 8 years ago

mahama! mahama!! driver's in Ghana dey suffer paa so do something before you go