You are here: HomeNews2016 02 02Article 412342

'Gov’t borrowing because Ghanaians don’t pay taxes'

Read Comments Comments (140)

• Douglas. Bristol-UK°` 8 years ago

most Ghanaians especially the criminals leaving in Ashanti region who claim to be business men and women yet always refuse to pay their right taxes

• kwaku 8 years ago

Douglas as much as you hate the Ashanti please try and remember you said they are business men and women
    That means they import and you import youpay import duty and you can quarantine Kumari people do import and pay duties ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK°` 8 years ago

read my comment again.I said they " claim" to be business men and women.And more to the the point , the businesses ASHANTIS can only to is to sell local gin and do prostitution and robbery. your grammar is too poor and I you ...

• Yaya 8 years ago

Damn your hate for ashantis is just too much man. Everytime i see your name on the forum it is always about ashanti people. Let me tell you something ashantis dont need you people exempt when we need people to clean our toile ...

• K-Kumasi 8 years ago

I know this man very well. He is from Burkina Faso. All his investment are in Burkina, his family, his assets and everything. He is just fooling us.

• Solomon 8 years ago

GRA has always declared tax revenue more than their target and government praises them, where has Collins alway been?

• kiko 8 years ago

someone also told me he has being a minister in burkina faso.he is fake ghanaian

• kalou cash flow 8 years ago

I wonder whether you check the heading well, it said ghanaians not some particular section of people.

• mark 8 years ago

Douglas the foolish goat

• bbb 8 years ago

I thought u leaving in the UK will make u civiliz but I can see I pig is always a pig wash it clean and it will go to the dirty lake to feet.Kwasia kwa

• KB Canada 8 years ago

How many people are in Ghana has a good stable job,how many jobs do we have in Ghana no jobs how expect people to pay taxes without job?OMG

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Please tone it down. The insults is taking away from this important issue raised about non payment of taxes.

• kwaku 8 years ago

No insult mr professor .You see you keep say the things your are expert in doing for others how many times you have red arm robbery story on this platform and if is not a ewe or a person from Northern part
    Please call a spe ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

You are insulting Ashantis but the article did not talked about only Ashantis, is talking about the whole country. Also you are telling someone that his grammar is poor, but yours is not better either. This tribal bullshit ca ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

My ofoi brother no reply?
    By the way whateveryou say or I say l still love being Ghanaian there's no better place both of us will rather be than Ghana we only talk talk no war no tribe is better than other for that reason y ...

• Rich 8 years ago

"Most Ghanaians especially the criminals LEAVING in Ashanti region"

You smelly Trokosi incestuous daughter fucker, correct your grammar before you talk about anybody's grammar.

• EDEM 8 years ago

Ghanaians do pay taxes but that money ends up in waste baskets. Think of wasting millions to re-brand buses. Also think of the money they are paying to crooks like WAYOME and others. Yet they turn around and blame it on Ghana ...

• K K Sintim 8 years ago

It is the corruption, stealing and wastage, like bus branding that have to be stopped. Those CORRUPTION BUSSEs SAGA

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

KK Sintim, do you read or listen to the news at all, President Mahama is fighting corruption and take God we have been ranked 7th in fighting Corruption and these social canker is not only caused by the president or governmen ...

• EDEM 8 years ago

U are ignorant ADU. If someone steals cable wire meant for electrification, the person gets years in jail. Let theses politicians steal millions from the same electrification projects and they walk around freely. Why is it li ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

Do we make any profits out of our natural resources?

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

It is only part of it. Revenues from natural resources is not enough. Ghanaians must pay for the good stuff they are crying for. It is true, that corruption must be checked but no one gets free lunch anywhere in the Dev ...

• Ritewing 8 years ago

You are right because they have come to realize, their taxes are mismaged by thieves who have worked their way into government. No one in his or her right sense, will be happy to pay hard earned monies to a government who tea ...

• Ruddy 8 years ago

You're an imbecile, that's the sweetest word I could think of to describe you, now get lost!

• Egya Ata 8 years ago

What does the government do with our national income? Is it not loot and share projects that the government does with our income? Are the monies that go into loot and share not more that the taxes Ghanaians would pay? If you ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

The sad thing is English is not any of us language and twi can be written can your language be able to write please promote your own

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You are useless as your region no wonder your region don't contribute to Ghana nor pay their tax. You are jealousy of Ashanti's region because it is the best in Ghana, go fuck yourself.

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

the rest of us do pay taxes

• PAT 8 years ago

This minister must come and tax our noses according to the air we breath. On the numerous taxes that this incompetent Mahama Govt is imposing on Ghanaians without ending, couples with continuous devaluation our cherish ghanai ...

• PAT 8 years ago

This minister must come and tax our noses according to the air we breath. Upon the numerous taxes that this incompetent Mahama Govt is imposing on Ghanians without ending, couples with continuous devaluation our cherish Ghana ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

How many Ghanaians pay taxes? In developed Countries, you pay taxes even on "gifts".

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

PAT, your comment is welcomed by all but please refrain using insults when commenting. If you pay tax doesnt mean every individual yoy see along the way pay taxes. please he made that statement based on certain reasons, i gue ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

This is stupid and unreal to hear no citizen in any country pay tax is the government who collect them
    Government duty to found way to make sure the people pay taxes
    DUMP DUMP LEADERS

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Kwaku, you are right and very right. There is no mechanism to track those that evade taxes in Ghana. Here, there is something called social security number, the IRS have them and randomly track tax evaders by the Tax Iden ...

• 7B 8 years ago

Is even madness to pay tax under mahama governance because he will misuse it at brothels. Nonsense

• Qweku Menz 8 years ago

7B,why the vulgar language? Mr Collins Dauda is right.Ghanaians always run away from taxes but want to live a decent life.If you want to live a happy,stable and fulfilled life then honour your taxes but if you don't,they woul ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Do you have prove as to what you are saying that Mahama used the taxes anyhow. cant you see the schools, hospitals, universities and roads been constructed in Ghana. why are we acting as if we are hypocrites. please lets spea ...

• Jaani 8 years ago

Did Smattyrs pay any tax on the money they stole from the tax payer?

• dunaa 8 years ago

Ghanaians pay some of the highest taxes any where. Ghana has a VAT, which in my opinion, is a very regressive taxation structure. In addition, to meet conditions set down by our creditors, Ghana has been doubling and tripling ...

• First Lady 8 years ago

This government inherited a country that had very little debt and an economy that was growing at a an enviable rate. It was also poised to add oil exports to its traditional and existing non traditional exports. What happened ...

• Ametsitsi 8 years ago

Collins Dauda is partially saying the truth; the main point is govt is stealing the monies and also engaging in reckless and blind expenditure, period. But why should we be happy to pay taxes whilst we see openly stupid minis ...

• Nkrumah 8 years ago

if you stop stealing our money we will pay less tax….kwasia

• anna 8 years ago

very very low iq what a minister

• Chiga 8 years ago

...government is over borrowing because of political corruption and not non payment of taxes. Ministers and government appointees are hopping from radio station to another engaging in frivolities and allow monies to be stolen

• ck. man 8 years ago

How do you get the needed money for national development when you still as a nation collect road tolls,etc manually. Smart ones will print their own receipts and sell and put the money into their pocket. Our leaders themselve ...

• Awudu 8 years ago

Please,talk more sense to Ghanaians to honour their taxes if they want to happy in life.They ride in BIG CARS and big doing but escape State taxes.Amen

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Douglas,your tribalistic utterances and comments will never solve problems.It is time you preach Peace and unity.The Minister should find out why are people not paying Tax.The Government has Machinisms to collect Tax.Has the ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

I didn't know I had a twin on Ghanaweb, but, the comment is exactly as I would have stated.

• damp 8 years ago

U are a foolish man for saying this. What u deduct as tax is even higher than my social security.

• Sheikh Yussif Tangah 8 years ago

Now JDM administrstion is continuasely borrowing and whom are they expecting to pay up for the loan. JJ Rawlings and Kufuor administrstion, where were they getting money for the numerous developmental projects they carried ou ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Sheikh, NDC is not holding Ghanaian or begging anybody to pay tax. it is the responsibility of Ghanaian to pay their tax if they want to see change in Ghana. so Mr Sheikh, lets do the right thing at the right now and it will ...

• Jojo 8 years ago

Absurd!

• Asempanaye 8 years ago

Dauda you are stupid.

• Qweku Menz 8 years ago

Hey Asempanaye.Please be mindful with your utteraneces.I agree perfectly with what the minister said.It is very much true.If we(citizens) pay our taxes,they would stop borrowing but if we don't they will continue to borrow.

• agyeman 8 years ago

What kind of appointee is this? All these people are ministers. Block head. Where were you when revenue targets are just marginally. Mr. Minister! Your president, you and other appointees are just incompetent, wasteful, lack ...

• Qwaku Menz 8 years ago

Agyeman,why the indecent language? The Minister has spoken the truth.The real fact!Kindly pay your taxes so that they can use it to develop the nation.Thank you!

• tan90sin90cos90. 8 years ago

People invade taxes bcos of your poor tax system. Put in place a good tax mechanism in order not people to invade tax.

• QED 8 years ago

A THIEF DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO MAKE MONEY. ONLY BY STEALING. HENCE NDC CAN NOT COLLECT TAXES. THEY KNOW HOW TO STEAL only. Nana Addo will do it for all to see openly and 'clap for joy'.
    MAKE NO MISTAKE ABOUT IT!!! NDC PARTY I ...

• EFO EMMA 8 years ago

If you don't put good systems in place and the right men to collect, how can Ghanaians pay tax. All monies collected will be pocketted.

When citizens pay tax its just like a man with a farm and crop on it which he can harvest to feed his family and himself. A man who has no property or sold all his property like Ghana will have to borrow to exist. The state d ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

A lot of businesses have stopped operating because no electricity.

• CONCERN 8 years ago

This is totally false. Would the media ask Dauda if Ghanaians were paying enough taxes during Rawlings and Kuffuor regime? This is because the borrowing under Mahama is more than Rawlings and Kuffuor combine. Ghana is borrowi ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Someone should tell Collins Dauda he is barking up the wrong tree. No, we will not let anyone control the FM Radio Stations, or any other Media, in dissemination of information to the People.

If Collins want to correct a ...

• Nanak 8 years ago

How is Government going to pay back the loans

• KOO 8 years ago

Collins Dauda is not being fair in his analysis.Truly taxes are seen all over as the best source of revenue for development for governments but it must not cripple the finances of individuals and businesses.Collins Dauda pret ...

• KOFI KOFI 8 years ago

it's the main work of a government to collect taxes, inability to do so, is incometence

• kalou cash flow 8 years ago

Why won't a minister say this, you are receiving the biggest salaries in the country with restrictions from light bill, water bill, travelling allowances and all manner of privileges. And tell me how much do you contribute t ...

• eD 8 years ago

OUR BILLIONS HAVE GONE - INTO THE POCKETS OF MAHAMA, HIS FAMILY, HIS FRIENDS AND NDC APPARATCHIKS IN GOVERNMENT. JUST LOOK AT THEIR POSITIONS ON THE FORBES RICH LIST OF GHANA BELOW.

WHICH PRESIDENT IN THE DEVELOPED ADVANCE ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Tell Mahama to pay tax. In the advance nations where we love to go and borrow money, their leaders pay tax unlike Ghana where the constitution has given tax exemption to the president despite the fact that he receives salary. ...

• Qweku Menz 8 years ago

Mr minister you have said it all.Truth hurts.Ghanaians always want to live a perfect life.They ride in BIG cars and live in classy mansions but escape their taxes.

• NII 8 years ago

YOU CANNOT PAY TAXES WHEN YOU DO NOT HAVE INCOME. WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO CREATE JOBS IN YOUR COUNTRY? YOU CAN USE THE NATION'S RESOURCES TO DEVELOP THE COUNTRY. STOP STEALING FROM GHANA AND STOP BORROWING FROM ABROAD.

• think little 8 years ago

Can someone tell the Minster that he is not being truthful to Ghanaians ...you Mismanage the taxes we pay and come out to tell us this story .......GOD HAVE MERCY ON US and Bless Ghana always

• pages 8 years ago

a fools talk, even d school child who buys common toffee pays tax,

• odwanfunu 8 years ago

Why shd we pay taxes for NDC n Mahama to steal

• Qwaku Menz 8 years ago

Odwanfunu,i guess truth hurt.if you aren't going to honour your taxes then you will continue to suffer.Kindly pay so you enjoy a happy life.

• Yaw 8 years ago

Listen to another ill thought of statement from the ever loose talkers.
    Always blaming everyone else except themselves.
    How can Ghanaians refuse to pay tax if the system is being operated effectively?
    Taxes are taken from ...

• bbb 8 years ago

A pig is always a pig Douglas u leaving in the UK do sent make u any better i thought u were civiliz but as i can see a pig is always a pig wash it and it will still go to the korle lagoon

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

Where does Mahama get all these useless ministers from? They have no sense of responsibility. They constantly assign flimsy excuses to their failures. If it's true that Ghanaian's are not paying taxes, what has the NDC govern ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

We have always had enough; things are getting worse because politicians pocket half of the monies paid in taxes. How come they have more than enough but the rest of Ghanaians do not even have one square meal a day? How is Joh ...

• Jtettey 8 years ago

THIS IS NATURAL FACT. Tell them, educate them more

• Ac 8 years ago

Ghanaians don't pay taxes because there is no tax system!

• JH. New York 8 years ago

What the Minister said is not the Truth
    There's a Tax System before he was Born.

• AG 8 years ago

No Sir, the taxes are misapplied, no strategy to target and collect taxes. Taxes are in the accounts of Corrupt officials. what about the tax waivers? you blame Ghanaians?? Oh be fare to Ghanaians

• nii nii niiiii 8 years ago

I am tired writing.you mess the economy,then you blame it on non tax payments.Where were these politicians educated?,surely not the West.useless,excuses all the time.

• kofisei 8 years ago

Ghanaians should learn to pay taxes to the govt & stop paying huge sums of money to the pastors, making them rich, yet don't pay their share of taxes to the govt. Our major problem in ghana today is on tax paying for the govt ...

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

It is the DUTY of govts to devise means and ways to let the citizenry pay a FAIR share of development costs!
    On the OTHER HAND, the govt must RENDER ACCOUNT to the people as to HOW their money is spent !!
    It is NOT a one wa ...

• KANA WU? 8 years ago

Alhaji Collins Dauda thinks all of a sudden Ghanaians decided to not pay taxes to the NDC and for that they have borrowed a whopping two hundred billion Cedis. The blame of Mahama's incompetency and corruption is rather too m ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Mahama is not corrupt just like the way we are as citizen. we all are corrupt and need to change from the attitude. Alhaji based on his observation has noticed that ghanaians dont pay their taxes which lead the government bor ...

• sid 8 years ago

Government abuse it's revenue the re-branding Sada gyeeda wayome etc

• Kwaku Ntow 8 years ago

Minister have you paid your property tax?

• Capability Joe 8 years ago

Its the basic function of any government to put tax collecting structures in place for both formal and informal sectors. How can you target the informal sector when we dont have street names and house numbers to contact peopl ...

• Da Coasta 8 years ago

start with taxing sex workers

It looks like countries borrow because from other countries and banks because their presidents steal the money. If some people claim that the president is stealing money it means that whoever will become the president of Ghan ...

• Kay 8 years ago

I just dont understand this government. They seem not to be thinking at all. All Ghanaians must be psychologically examined before any election.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

TO WHOM MUCH IS GIVEN,MUCH IS REQUIRED OF.NOTHING FOR NOTHING ,LEAVES NOTHING,YOU HAVE TO GET SOMETHING TO GET SOMETHING.
    ITS THE DOCTRINE OF PROSPERITY.
    CAST YOUR CHICKEN IN THE CROCODILE POND IN PAGA AND SEE IF IT SHALL R ...

• CA 8 years ago

You are borrowing because your people don't want to pay taxes right? How are you going to pay those you borrowing from?
    You all need to think before making any statement so you can justify your statement.
    You don't have the ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

A GOVERNMENT CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT TAX CHEATS? gHANA GOVBERNMENT CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT PEOPLE NOT PAYING TAXES? PLEASE THINK TWICE BEFORE OPENING YOUR MOUTH TO SAY EMBARRASSING THINGS ABOUT YOUR GOVERNMENT. YOUR GOVERNM ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

the most serious thing you greedy bastards in government had forgotting is that -commercial and individual taxations are to be paid from your net profit gain at the end of the year.
    we are in a country where there is no job ...

• Ghana man with crazy igeas 8 years ago

Why should we pay taxes when some idiots who claim to be our leaders sit in Accra, and chop our monies fuuyan fuuyann like they're sucking on waapi?

• EDEM 8 years ago

Ghanaians do pay taxes but the taxes end up in wrong hands. Government is misusing our little income in things that don't benefit the nation. Think of the bus re-branding, paying money to people like WAYOME and others who don ...

• shakamora 8 years ago

Dauda think as an educated humanbeing dont fool around

• shakamora 8 years ago

Dauda think as an educated humanbeing dont fool around

• shakamora 8 years ago

Even you as a minister not paid tax so stop talking rubbish when u arrived at toil bridge not paid becos u r minister fools die at anytime

• Truth 8 years ago

People try to dodge payment of taxes.refer to Neymar's case in Spain. It is up to a government to put into place the modalities and logistics to ensure that taxes are paid and collected. Eg affordable taxes, effient tax colle ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Thd nation cant developed if we dont work hand in hand with the government. It is our responsibility to taxes for the growth of the country. Ghana is my beloved country and as Dr Nkrumah said forward ever backwards never. ...

• Kolo 8 years ago

We do not appeal to people to pay taxes but we enforce people to pay taxes. You misappropriate our taxes by fraudulently giving to your cronies to paint Mahama's head on buses.

• NII ARMAH 8 years ago

BITTER TRUTH. COMPARE NORWAY

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

This stupid Minister of local government and rural development just get up, speaks without thinking. What projective ideas have they done with tax payers money? Paying judgment debt, rebranding bus, buying V8 cars, misuse of ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Ji

• Agyaaku 8 years ago

Who is this Douglas? If he is a human being then I can only describe him as a nonentity. How on earth does a normal being always insult a particular tribe any time he has the opportunity to comment on an issue? Learn to be wi ...

• Nana Kwasi Yeboah 8 years ago

As the parable the Minister quoted says; you grow the little you are giving, get more profit and account for it at the end of your tenure. you don't spend all the money and lead the country into huge debt. Thank you Minister ...

• GOD WILL MAKE A WAY.AMEN 8 years ago

foolish talk indeed - who is to collect the taxes

• Dan 8 years ago

Mr minister i think you are wrong
    have you look back at the waste that happen in 2012 election

We are not foils okay

• Ebola Mahama 8 years ago

So is any sensible person left in this cabal of thieves?

• Dickson 8 years ago

Guys do you regard it sensitive and necessary patriotic to volunteer and dip into ur pocket and walk to tax office and willingly pay your tax when some greedy bastards are pocketing the money? Come on!!!

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

I am begging to wonder if all the fools are coming from the north... how can you say such as thing and be in position... Ask those whole stole the SADA money to pay tax... Kwasia Kwa

• somewherein.USA 8 years ago

you are a very big fool.

• jato bibio 8 years ago

HOW WAS GRC ABLE TO EXCEED ITS REVENUE TARGETS IF gHANAIN DID NOT PAY THEIR TAXES

• BNQ? 8 years ago

Mind your language, we are Ghanaians and not Burkinabes

Thanks

• Asem se be 8 years ago

If I live Ghana I ll never pay tax for ministers to steal. Douglas I m ashamed of your ignorance and stupidity. I wonder how a low life like you sleep at night. If we are ll like you Ghana ll be ten countries not regions. ...

• Kumi 8 years ago

What is this Maroon saying?
    In fact we have too many empty heads in high places. How come GRA, AMA, TMA etc. are paying their staff bonuses for exceeding 2015 targets and this "minister" is speaking such nonesense?
    IT IS T ...

• Straight talk 8 years ago

I don't blame uou

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

why do we have to borrow when we spend much money on political campaigns and elections and oficials living more than large.
    were do we get the money from?

The Truth must prevail.It's not the Truth that Ghanaians do not pay Taxes.That a lie of the Century by Collins Dauda.Internal Revenue Service(IRS)now Ghana Revenue Authority(GRA)Collects Income Taxes on behalf of the Gov't.It ...

Correction:
    ...these Categories of Businesses paid
    Specified Amount required by....

Contd: Importors and Exporter go through the a Procedures as the Building & Road Contractors(you Show Prove of Tax payment) before one could Clear the Procurement from the Port,in addition to Payment of Customs and Excise Dut ...

Import and Exporters Businesses go through a procedure as the Building...
    (2)..to Claim overpayments,with Children,School Fees of Children or Dependants,Marriage Allowance,but you must have prove/Receipts,to Cover where Rece ...

Import and Exporters Businesses go through a procedure as the Building...
    (2)..to Claim overpayments,with Children,School Fees of Children or Dependants,Marriage Allowance,but you must have prove/Receipts,to Cover where Rece ...

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

How much is stolen from the import taxes that you charge at the harbor or other ports of entry? You charge on average $6000.00 per vehicle. What do you do with the money? Idiot.

• kiko 8 years ago

we pay more taxes and you and your gang of thieves will share among yourselves.your greedy bastard called NDC

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

OPAYIM MINISTER,

IT IS NOT THE QUESTION THAT, THE NATIONS BORROWS BECAUSE GHANAIANS DO NOT PAY TAXES,

ALTHIUGH FAILURE OF GHANAIANS TO PAY TAXES IS PART OF THE PROBLEMS FACING THE NATION, YOUR GOVERNMEMNT SHOULD HAVE LO ...

• SMARTTYBRANDING-GATE 8 years ago

Ghanaians don't pay taxes so where did John Dramani Mahama and Dzifa Ativor find money to give to Selassie Ibrahim the wife of Ibrahim Adams who was once jailed for causing financial loss to the state?
    Those monies doled out ...

• TEE 8 years ago

ALL THE STATE COFFERS TO DUBAI AND TURKEY

• TEE 8 years ago

MONEY AND YOU AND YOUR IDIOT BROTHER IBRAHIM TO THIEF MY MONEY, MAHAMA IS A THIEF HAHAHAHAHHA

• Navoro 8 years ago

if I have my way ,l will not pay tax because these monies end up in politicians pockets.there is no Ghanaian who don't pay tax for we all buy things in market. if our politicians should manage the little we have wisely then ...

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

Stupid minister. Why do developed countries jail tax defaulters? We can do the same by widening the tax net and putting the money to good use instead of all the extravagance and corruption going on in the stupid NDC ...

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago 8 years ago

You know this,Governments depend on taxes so why is it that you guys -the president,vice ministers and MPs do not pay income taxes.Only a Rawlings style revolution can save ghana.

• Meshack 8 years ago

The NDC is a party of idiots, by idiots and for idiots...a bunch of brainless nincompoops.

• makamaka 8 years ago

what did they used our taxes for? and still they want us to pay more. we are tied in this wicked country. why Ghana. boyz abre papaapa and we want the government and the ministers to pay tax to

• KOBINA KOBINA 8 years ago

What a foolish comment,this man has no sense at all, he and his so called party are destroying the country and guess what they will pay for it no matter what, if you have people governing you with such mentality then the coun ...