You are here: HomeNews2016 01 27Article 410918

GNFS wants Parliament to ban high-rise buildings

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Aikens Martenes 8 years ago

WHAT A LAZY FIRE OFFICER? THIS GUY SHOULD BE BOOTED OUT OF OFFICE , IDIOT

• Kugblenu Koku 8 years ago

It is an extreme insult for Mahama to think that the people of Volta region just need appointment of Prosper Bani and we will vote for him and NDC. Our eyes are now open and we refuse to be the world bank of NDC. Amenfi bye-e ...

• Efo 8 years ago

Sorry, the people of Volta will vote for Mahama no matter what.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-KWAA...
    We are not serious as a Nation.We can use about GHC 3,6 million to embosse the President's picture on a Bus,which will not serve any purpose,apart from the fact that he just want to be popular,(empty barrels ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Any govt or system that refuses to acknowledge or respect the fact that Ghana belongs to the Akans is by the hand of God doomed to fail. This is evident from the bond of !
    1844 and agreements of 1871 are they are the basis a ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

you again? Huh?

• OKOE 8 years ago

THIS PROPOSAL ARISES AS A RESULT OF POOR WATER PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION IN THE COUNTRY. INSTEAD OF BANNING HIGH RISES, THE COUNTRY MUST OVERHAUL THE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION OF WATER INFRASTRUCTURE I ...

• Ohene.. 8 years ago

Do our so called leaders think and reason to get solutions. Well he can take Ghana to the Stone Age

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-Joe.....
    What do you expect from a nation which has a person like Akua Donkor as the adviser. Akua Donkor has openly said he advises Mahama and he listens. I am not sure which advisory role she is playing but any rol ...

• Justice man 8 years ago

stupid fire officer ever seen in my life because we don't have hydraulics in country we shouldn't building high rise buildings, y don't you request from the government. u claim you are a doctor.. useless doctor Indeend all t ...

• FAIR MIND 8 years ago

Maybe he was misquoted, if not I cant imagine he said that. That's too myopic. We need to resort to high rise in some cases

• CORNEY 8 years ago

If he really said that then he does not deserve to be a chief fire officer,he should resign,nobody in his right mind will make such a dumb comment.

In the first place how many high rise buildings do we have in the country, ...

• ahmed 8 years ago

the guy is telling the truth but you guys don't seem to understand him.
    can you imagine fire outbreak at the last floor of trassaco tower, how can fire fighters get there. In any case is there a nearest fire station to the t ...

• Justice man 8 years ago

trassacco is only eleven floor, y couldn't he use his good office to request hydraulic from government. we are lacking behind in this country. go to Zambia on see ur self they are now far develop

• tontrobi 8 years ago

Justice man, consider the following comment and reflect more soberly on your viewpoints.

To begin with, high-rise buildings should not be taken as an exclusive sign of development. High-rise buildings may at a distance, da ...

• ALIMI YAO 8 years ago

Keep on sleeping, Stone Age Ahmed. The fire officer is telling what truth that people don't understand? Because of the possibility of choking to death, eating must be banned?

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Instead of asking for modern equipments and training your staff... you want a law to ban high rise building.... and you call yourself Fire officer... apio man
    Wonder how you got the job and position in the first place

• Kweku 8 years ago

Is this man serious at all,in this modern age for him to make such proposals,ooohh Ghana soo hydraulic platforms too we can't buy.

• me 8 years ago

GNFS, go get the right equipment. Tell NDC to collect Woyome's money to buy one for each district.

• Pikin 8 years ago

You are incompetent, are you saying you dont have trouble qhen. Fighting fire, instead of appealing for more modern equipment you want then to band a whole project. Shame on you

• Nii Ablorh 8 years ago

idiot indeed

• kwaku 8 years ago

how can this fire officer suggest such an insult as a solution to a simple problem. H e himself said that in developed countries they use hydraulic platforms that can reach 45 floors, so, the issue here should not be a ban on ...

• A.M. 8 years ago

Dr Gaisie, no wonder your institution is where they are. with this absolute mentality you would remain where you are forever

• ATM 8 years ago

Instead of devising ways to do your job you're asking to ban high rising building. That's absolutely lazy way of dealing with the problem. Think fast

• ghanani 8 years ago

Absolute rubbish!!!.Instead of calling for training and equipment to fight such fires he wants high rise buildings to be banned.Because of bad land management in the country a time is coming when high rise buildings will be n ...

• gyasi 8 years ago

The fire officer is stupid and shortsighted. Tell parliament to approve your budget for that hydraulic equipment.

• kofi 8 years ago

Ghana have to put people who knows their job, and understand their jobs into a place like these, not this man who does not know what it means to be fire chief, this is a childish comment from soo call chief

• Odoi 8 years ago

The man if he really said that, then, he is a typical village IDOOT. I don't know how and where he got that Dr. before his name. Problems are there to be solved and a socalled phd man can"t. Instead on his knees begging for b ...

• KKO 8 years ago

You are the real pathetic idiot. You probably do not even know that Ghana has earthquakes, that are followed by long periods of aftershocks (which is probably too much for your level.) The Fire Service has no ladder that can ...

• Soomui 8 years ago

Thank you KKO. Reading at the totally illiterate comments on this page frightens me to the uncomfortable realization that Ghana is full of NDC people - no education, no knowledge and no common-sense.

• Charles 8 years ago

Why not rather ask parliament to procure better fire fighting equipment

• Potag member 8 years ago

If your atfit don't have the necessary logistics to fight fire on high rise building do not pressed for a legislation to stop the building of such facilities okay

• HeyLook! 8 years ago

Please Mr Potag, if you are a college graduate then then please write good English for our young ones to learn from this platform . The Daily Grafic helped me as a small growing up.

• sss 8 years ago

FIREMAN, what you need are tools for the challenge ahead. Upgrade your equipment and training to meet those demands-- and stop living in the stone age era

• Newsite Bansah 8 years ago

The concern raised by the fire chief is legitimate but his solution is very backward. Tall buildings are needed for proper land use so we can't ban them.

Instead maybe we should impose a special levy on such properties to ...

• First Lady 8 years ago

This is a country that will spend 1.5 million cedis on condoms to be freely distributed, than buy fire fighting equipment.

• yaw sam 8 years ago

banning high rise buildings is not the answer the government should rather equip GNFS with modern equipment and stop stealing our money that all

• KWABENA wang ching # SINGAPORE # 8 years ago

THIS GAISIE (GYASI in Ashanti language) HAS PROVE HOW SHALLOW MINDED "SOME OF THE FANTES" ARE. Dated back in 1998-2000 he was REGIONAL COMMANDER AT CHIRIAPATERE lake road in KUMASI. He is complaining of we should BAN this b ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

I,am exonerated!.It's not the person with the highest Academic Degree who can deliver,as most Ghanaian think.And I have said,Degrees without
    the application of Common Sense approach to resolve issues could be dangerous to ...

That is not to say Education in not necessary.Education is needed,very
    important.I mean Society expected the
    person with Education to know better, for better Solutions to a Sustainable Economy to the aspirations of mankin ...

• Soomui 8 years ago

The very fact that you need to append New York to your name suggests that you are plagued with an inferiority complex and you have not reached the age of enlightenment. You have in short, not yet managed to liberate yourself ...

Contributors on this forum use all sort of identifications to themselves.For eg
    Soomui-what is the meaning of that!
    So,if I Subjoin my name with New York
    is that a conclusive prove of someone
    who feel inferior! Why are ...

• Soomui 8 years ago

Mr New Yorker, you dont half know what you are talking about. Your cheap adolescent insults suggest that you are either less than 15 years old or you are mentally retarded.

For the records, I did not insult you. I only des ...

Contributors on this forum use all sort of identifications to themselves.For eg
    Soomui-what is the meaning of that!
    So,if I Subjoin my name with New York
    is that a conclusive prove of someone
    who feel inferior! Why are ...

• abongo 8 years ago

Mr whoever you're be glad you have a job . I don't know which of the the planet you are from. If you've never been outside Ghana before which I doubt what do you see . go to Nigeria, south Africa, Egypt Senegal to name a few ...

• Abena 8 years ago

Please fire services face the challenge squarely.
    Get the needed logistics for mother ghana.

• Yirenkyi 8 years ago

Sad, for me the call is a clear expression of frustration or poor leadership. As the fire boss he must come up with clear and implementable management approach to fires of that nature.

• Kafui 8 years ago

Manama and NDC think of us, Voltarians as stupid and so they can a;always do whatever they want because we will still vote for them. This is going to change and I call on all the sons and daughters of the Volta Region to rise ...

• Kwaku, USA 8 years ago

This guy is an officer, how can a country grow? It's all stupid thinkers that we've leading different sectors in the country right now. How can you even think this way because you are lazy and can't do your job well? I would ...

• Richie Kojo N Roberts (Maryland-USA) 8 years ago

The issue should not be focused on how tall a building is but how well the government is willing to protect and safe guard the citizen in the country. I will also suggest that GNFS should appeal to the industrial countries, E ...

• Kofi - USA 8 years ago

Please come again. Banning of high-rise buildings is backward thinking. They save space and that is what we need to be doing in Ghana. Parliament should not listen to this guy. He does not know what he is talking about and s ...

• Sir. T. 8 years ago

Why are you the chief fire officer, this is an opportunity for you to get mordern equipments for our beloved GNFS.Thank You.

• DON NEXT 8 years ago

I want to believe this report is not true otherwise this fire chief is the most laziest n dumb ever on this planet.with a doctorate degree in shocked to the bone.

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

All the millions being stolen by corrupt politicians and their cronies can provide these basic requirements for the fire service. Ghana is not a poor country. We have lazy, greedy and pathetic leaders.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 8 years ago

It is true GNFS does not have a single hydraulic platform to help them. But I think high-rise buildings could be approved if only designed, constructed and maintained by very competent white companies like Trasacco.

• Eviana 8 years ago

I rather thought you'd demand for better equipment that make fire fighting easier but not such a pathetic excuse. Ghana needs leaders with idea and knowledge on the emerging new world. If you cannot cope,however, just stand d ...

• DANNY. 8 years ago

WHY CANT U PROPOSE TO THE GOVT TO BUY THE REQUIRED EQUIPMENTS .GHANA CANT AFFORD TO TO REMAIN BACKWARD.MENN U GAT TO WISE UP.

• Kwesi Koomson 8 years ago

Please Sir, you are attacking this the wrong way.Times are changing and going taller and higher seem to be the way of development. I think what we as a nation should be doing is to equip the fire service with machine of that ...

• pikay 8 years ago

No wonder this country is not developing look at this man ,we are comparing ourselves to America and Europe but here we are now hmmm God have mercy .

• pkirks 8 years ago

Seriously, I was even expecting you to say all high rise buildings should be well equipped with fire extinguishers and ask the government to aid in buying for high rise building equipment. Just to say this means you are such ...