how will this impact the gh environment? invest in electricity n stop chopping the money
Apraku 9 years ago
Why would we invest in projects that those europeans are getting rid of because of their environment? How many cancer patients can Ghana care for coupled with other health problems coming alongside with this coal plants?
Inc ... read full comment
Why would we invest in projects that those europeans are getting rid of because of their environment? How many cancer patients can Ghana care for coupled with other health problems coming alongside with this coal plants?
Incubator Mahama can't just pen contracts without the approval of parliament.
insight to the bone 9 years ago
Any govt or system that refuses to acknowledge or respect the fact that Ghana belongs to the Akans is by the hand of God doomed to fail. This is evident from the bond of !
1844 and agreements of 1871 are they are the basis a ... read full comment
Any govt or system that refuses to acknowledge or respect the fact that Ghana belongs to the Akans is by the hand of God doomed to fail. This is evident from the bond of !
1844 and agreements of 1871 are they are the basis and our Magna carta. NDC has a foreign oppression govt in which the stakeholders or true intelligentsia of the Akans do not participate or are excluded but rather insulted , humiliated and wantonly abused. Like all oppressive govts when they see their days are number switch from their pro islamic affinities and all of a sudden remember the America are allies of brothers like we witnessed with Qaddafi, Saddam Hussein and the eastern European criminal regimes of Ceausescu in Romania. Today we have a govt in which the cardinal inner cabinet ministers such as interior , defense , finance are all non Akans . This ndc promotes the exultation of minorities and preys on the divide and rule tactics that lead only to the death of our economy. Its very interesting the posture of this ndc mafia, they know they have lost but still clutch to straws of false hope. The world confirms this bloated register , unheard of wanton looting , corruption and hegemony/tribalism of pepeni/ayigbe but they instead of resigning collectively choose to annoy us with more propaganda lies. They waste their money buying millions of bullets and arms but fail to realse even with 500 atomic bombs they will lose as war is about the awareness of the people and state of mind of the defending majority. We salute the chiefs , politicians , bishops who are not afraid to stand up for justice and respect to the market women who reject gifts of treachery. We have won , and the stakeholders of our friendly nations know the truth so we will not waste our time with fake diplomats or those who dont known what time it is. We show thanks to the British and Germans for confirming the bloated register and other atrocities of corruption we witness .
OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago
Author:-Joe.....
What do you expect from a nation which has a person like Akua Donkor as the adviser. Akua Donkor has openly said he advises Mahama and he listens. I am not sure which advisory role she is playing but any role in the absence of more intelligent, competent, learned, more qualified people to give this government an advice has led to the deteriorating condition in Ghana and the nation going backward since Mahama and NDC took over the reigns of government in Ghana. But time will tell.
Banahene 9 years ago
Hydro power has provided almost all our electricity for decades. Why can't the government harness the abundant wind at the coastal belt to provide electricity. Sun or solar energy our country has been blessed with. It's another great source of electricity.
Brian Williams 9 years ago
When countries are moving from dirty coal to clean renewable energy, this clueless president is bringing environmental suicide to Ghana. What in heaven's name is wrong with this IDIOT mahama.
Concern 9 years ago
Have we considered the cost of environmental damage coal fired plants will bring? I heard the other time that Asogli is also planning to build one at Prampram. We need clean energy in Ghana.
SAMY 9 years ago
This president does not know what to do. Let us vote him and his corruption machinery, NDC out of power. Even China, the most polluted nation on earth is getting rid of coal as a source of energy.
Little boy, John Mahama d ... read full comment
This president does not know what to do. Let us vote him and his corruption machinery, NDC out of power. Even China, the most polluted nation on earth is getting rid of coal as a source of energy.
Little boy, John Mahama does not know anything.How is this senseless boy going to make coal clean for Ghana. Let us tell this boy to go away and let those with brains to manage our country for us. Ghana does not need coal as a source of energy. Coal is not clean energy.
Little boy, is John Mahama. He does not know what to do. All what he does is talk, talk and talk his empty talking. Stop talking, we are fed with your no-action talking.
Sethoo 9 years ago
This is the behaviour of a do nothing Govt,today hydro tomorrow thermal & Solar now its Coal Power what about our Nuclear Power which we started some 1000 years ago?
hey hey 9 years ago
Mr President you forgot? You promised solar not coal
sam Y... 9 years ago
you and I know the people who sabotaged Dr. Kwame Nkrumah regarding nuclear power generation. ... They were in power previously and have done little to improve our energy needs... infact they only added 150 mws of power to the national grip.. at least mahama has added more than 1000mws to the national grid including 22mws of power from solar energy p.v cells....
The Man South Africa 9 years ago
Those calling for environmental protect ion are they very ones who call Ghana a nation of dumsor. They should ask all the developed countries where their bulk electricity is coming from. The coal power for Ghana is far overdue. President Mahama hasten this project. We need it badly
Adote 9 years ago
What is wrong with advocating for Solar Energy? The Sun is free once the solar farms have been built, instead of paying for coal from South Africa continuously to pollute Ghana.
PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago
COAL CREATES CANCER AND BLACK LUNG DISEASE.
William Joseph 9 years ago
The cost of energy per kilowatt hour is hugely different, and why coal is a sensible choice:
Nuclear: US$.0125
Coal: $.05
Natural Gas: $.08
Coal with CCS: $.12
Waste-to-Energy: $.15
Solar and PV: $.35
Wind: $.75
C ... read full comment
The cost of energy per kilowatt hour is hugely different, and why coal is a sensible choice:
Coal is guaranteed. One can predict within a margin of error of .01% the amount of energy produced based on the amount of coal going in. Wind, solar are variable, and require expensive redundancy in the network. Ghana is starving for power: coal is logical, affordable and safe.
Yaw 9 years ago
What do you guys mean ...what is Ghana's carbon footprint like. Members of all these quack think tanks and ngo's should go find some more productive thing to do to contribute to our GDP than disturb us with these nonsense. Look at them now wanting to preach to us. Do you know how many industrial countries still coal. Go tell them to stop first, you broke man you cant handle your dumsor, and you want to push back against coal. You guys are unproductive - go farm sugar cane or cassava so we can feel your usefulness
BLACKBARNES 9 years ago
ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
COURSES INCLUDE: ... read full comment
ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
COURSES INCLUDE:MASTER'S IN BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION,MASTERS DEGREE IN MARKETING AND COMMUNICATION,INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT,POLITICAL MARKETING,MASTERS DEGREE IN ARTS AND CULTURE MANAGEMENT,MASTERS IN E-HEALTH MANAGEMENT !!!Whatsapp number 0033760279067(its not a scam)
Kwame 9 years ago
Clean coal turbines are now in operation in many parts of the world. The amount of firewood that Ghanaians burn everyday is more than the fumes that a coal electricity generator will emit in a whole year. Why are these people not advocating for turning human waste that is dumped into the sea into biogas for domestic and industrial use.
TM's 9 years ago
Looking for new avenue to steal. A man who smell corruption . He new very he can't do it yet for his convenient sake he will pursue it. Long live ghana .
CudjoBello 9 years ago
Has anyone in this mushroom and pedestrian attention seeking group heard of clean coal technology? Educate yourselves before posting such rubbish. Ghana has passed this level of cheap propaganda. Go and research and come again with a better Anansi story.
KWESI 9 years ago
THANK YOU MAN! IGNIRANCE IS JUST DESTROYING OUR PEOPLE. HAVE THEY HEARD ABOUT THE TECHNOLOGY OF CARBON CAPTURE
Kwame 9 years ago
CudjoBello I did research before I came on the web. I have the literature right here in front of me. You can go on the web and make your own research. Do not be lazy.
Mr. Green 9 years ago
The fact is Ghana is poor country with growth population. We all want safe Ghana but solar is expensive for a country like Ghana to afford. Moreover, solar is still not advance enough to help us for longer period. The worse of all is most of our educated once like talking talking but they contribute nothing to the challenges faces our nation. When we build coal plants and manage develop,like the west, we will change to clearn energy!
GALI 9 years ago
Mr. Green are you a Ghanaian? I dont think you are because we GHANAIANS know that our country is not POOR but the LEADERS that we have are the ones who are making us and the country POORER.
Rude bwoy 9 years ago
We need renewable energy.
No to coal.
No to nuclear energy
No more polution
Yes to Green energy
Coal is outdated technology
No more polution please
Energy by any means noooooo.
No to coal.
No to nuclear energy
No more polution
Yes to Green energy
No more polution please
Adote 9 years ago
It is really a DISGRACE!! The Leaders of Ghana have not realized that we are in the 21st Century, they are going back to the 1700's to build a coal-fired power plant; so some government officials would get some bribes from foreign investors; instead of moving into the 21st Century and carpeting the Northern and Upper Regions with Solar Farms to produce clean energy. This so-called Democracy Ghanaians are allowing the NDC and NPP to fool the citizens with is really dangerous, polluting Ghana with coal-fired power plant shows how corrupt these two parties have become.
Ghana needs a BENEVOLENT DICTATOR who loves Ghana and will do the right by the citizens, who will build Solar Farms instead of coal-fired plants. Ghanaians should wake up and stop insulting each other because of the different languages they speak and band together to fight the corrupt NDC and NPP politicians who are bent on enriching themselves at the expense of the health of the citizens, sitting in Parliament and doing nothing to stop this madness of coal-fired power plant in the 21st Century. WHAT A PITY!!!
Kwame Gyekye 9 years ago
I don't think president Mahama understands the meaning of clean energy and green economy.
Tawiah 9 years ago
Mr. President please recind that coal power decision now, because it wouldn't be sustainable at all. When we do that we are leaving our energy sector to open abuse and profiteering and that can mean economic collapse over time.
Lets Share 9 years ago
We better invest in Solar Energy rather than Coalwhich is exustable.We will not pay a cent for the sun.Maybe some Big People want to get their 10% from the deal
Georgee 9 years ago
Let us not stray into the use of coal. It will turn round to be expensive in terms of pollution and disposal of its waste product. Where are we going to dump the waste?
Actually, the waste by product of burning coal is Coal Fly Ash. It isn't just 'dumped' somewhere. It is used in the creation of building materials from gypsum-based drywall, cement blocks, road embankment gravel and other construction items. It has a value of $1-$15/tonnes depending on its composition. Since Ghana imports most of these materials right now, the fly ash products would be an environmentally and financially sound replacement for expensive imported goods.
I suggest reading about it at the website of the American Coal Ash Association.
Minua 9 years ago
OOO, no, no,no. This is 12 century idea, please. Just forget it.
Nokwarehene 9 years ago
Why coal when everybody is converting to green energy? Have heard anything about "Global Warming?" Green energy stupid!
LAK, Tema 9 years ago
While it may be true that advances have been made in the elimination of harmful flue gases from coal-fired power plants, such plants are generally being phased out in the energy mix of most developing and advanced nations - for economic and environmental reasons. In its place, most leaders are opting for ‘clean and sustainable energy' solutions – Ref. The COP 21, Nov. – Dec. 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Paris. The way forward for Ghana in resolving our energy challenges is to focus on solar, wind, and other renewable energy systems.
Way back on 25 November 1964, during the inauguration of the Ghana Atomic Energy Commission, Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah proposed studies on the use of solar energy as part of our energy mix in Ghana. He noted then, that, we in Africa have no lack of sunlight, and that the development of solar energy should be one of our main scientific preoccupations.
Today, our current Government lacks the boldness to initiate a policy decision to remove all levies and other import duties on solar, wind and other alternative energy systems, including complementary equipment such as batteries, controllers and inverters. Such a policy would aid the citizenry to fend for themselves by producing their own power on their rooftops. This may even turn out to be a huge plus for the authorities - as pressure would then ease on the Government over the ongoing Dumsor and utility price issues.
I bet that if a positive decision is made on removing the killer import levies, many Ghanaians, and certainly most in the diaspora would rush to send down systems to incorporate in their homes, or help their relatives to acquire the alternative energy systems. Solar, wind and other alternative small-scale power systems would then mushroom on our rooftops like we now find mobile phones everywhere in Ghana, and we would rid ourselves of the Dumsor headache. ECG would then be free to cater mainly to heavy industries and other SME establishments. Let's put pressure on government to remove all import levies on solar, wind and supplementary equipment!!! Or, maybe, another Government in waiting, such as the CPP could jump in to re-champion such policy alternatives for resolving our energy problems?
Nancy Forson 9 years ago
Thumps up to the Presidency for the relentless efforts to end the dumsor situation.
Invest into the energy, of which the current is an addition goes a long way to tell how committed you are to seeing the erratic power situ ... read full comment
Thumps up to the Presidency for the relentless efforts to end the dumsor situation.
Invest into the energy, of which the current is an addition goes a long way to tell how committed you are to seeing the erratic power situation come to an end.
We believe and trust you to end it out-rightly soon!
God bless Ghana.
Uncle Pee 9 years ago
Mahama is only good at the unnecessary things that has no relevance to Ghana - Ebola, and now what?
KUSASI 9 years ago
Eiiiii GHANA PAA NIE!!!! ONLY CERTAIN PEOPLE ARE GIVEN PROJECTS. EVERYTHING IS FOR THEM AND ONLY THEM. FOOD IS EATEN IN THEIR HOUSE ONLY BUT THE OTHER GHANAIANS DON'T DESERVE TO EAT. THIS PROJECT WAS PLANNED ABOUT FOUR YEARS AGO AND PARCELED FOR TOGBE. NLO TENDER, NO TRANSPARENCY AND CLOUDED IN SHADY ARRANGEMENTS. SAME LIKE THE WATER SALINATION PLANT IN TESHIE.
GOD IS NOT ASLEEP AND HE IS ALWAYS WATCHING THE GREED,WICKEDNESS AND TRICKS. GOD WILL COME AGAIN.
Ghana needs energy. How silly to suggest otherwise. Coal is, and will remain, for decades to come, the most reliable and efficient source of power. Despite what Western liberals from Seattle and London may claim - and their deluded local ilk - the choice of energy source for coal-based industrial-scale power is the right choice. Its energy will stabilize the grid and replace far more polluting energy sources. Individual gasoline generators are all over Ghana and they are hugely wasteful and polluting. You don't find many generators in America because people don't need them because the power grid is reliable.
Secondly, reliable electric displaces traditional charcoals and biomass burning, both very polluting.
If these youth leagues and anti coal environmentalists were serious people (I dare suggest that they are not), they should welcome the idea that morning rice in villages all across Ghana were now made in Chinese rice cookers powered by coal-generated electricity. What freedom for women and young girls across the land! The pace of petty deforestation would slow significantly.
To be anti-coal is to be anti-women, anti-poor, anti-development and little more than a useful fool for Western environmental fantasies.
Goatbaby 9 years ago
William Joseph just postulate your ideas and stop insulting. Have you chanced upon any report that compares coal plants with Gas plants? We need to base your arguments on facts and stop the NDC way of doing things
Coal is being replaced by natural gas in parts of the world where gas is abundant and cheap: parts of America, Canada, the Russian Federation. It is not so in Ghana. The West African pipeline flows on a Tuesday, and is empty on Thursday. Try to invest in a business with such inconsistent inputs. The choice of gas as an energy choice necessitates hugely expensive infrastructure, and is why Ghana's gas from Jubilee and elsewhere flows to Nigeria first, then back to us via the pipeline.
Coal-fired generation balances the mix, and diversifies the grid. It is needed.
The infrastructure for gas will take years to produce - 10 or more. It should be pursued. However, in the real world of here and now, Ghana is a bad investment area because the electricity is spotty. In 2016, we need affordable energy now, and this will be going by 2018. Gas is a dream option at present, though we ought to be moving in the direction over time.
Kojo Esuon 9 years ago
In this day and age when carbon emissions are a critical global issue, how do we even dream of coal-fired power generation? This explains why Prez Maham has been invited to co-chair the SDG with Norway. Why can't we see beyond our noses.
Adongo Tongo 9 years ago
Does the government see the impact of coal on the environment? Look at the smog problem in China. Everybody wears mask, high incidence of respiratory ailments! Are we that stupid? The president, the minister, and parliament that approved this should be prosecuted for high treason.
yaw 9 years ago
this article is borne out of mischief. it is much ado about nothing.
Goatbaby 9 years ago
Backward ideas. Now Gas/Thermal production is much cost effective than coal. Environmental wise how can a country like Ghana be talking about coal power plant. Abaaba seh
Ogua boy 9 years ago
This is a confused Government, leading a confused and corrupt country. Buying dirty fuel (coal) from RSA when you have massive natural gas deposits in both Ghana and Nigeria. Where are the educated and learned people of Ghana. Sorry to say they have failed us
Plasma Kote 9 years ago
JUST A STORY, try and do something better with the TIME !!!!!!!!
By Ghana Youth Environmental Movement (GYEM) gyemgh@gmail.com------????????????????
NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 9 years ago
What is wrong with you people? Everyone is moving from coal to solar and wind but it is rather time for my people to retrogress into the past.
What is wrong with you people? Are you stupid? I don't get it.
What is wrong with you people? Everyone is moving from coal to solar and wind but it is rather time for my people to retrogress into the past.
sam Y... 9 years ago
Mahama has done well in power generation
you and I know the people who sabotaged Dr. Kwame Nkrumah regarding nuclear power generation. ... They were in power previously and have done little to improve our energy needs... infact they only added 150 mws of power to the national grip.. at least mahama has added more than 1000mws to the national grid including 22mws of power from solar energy p.v cells...
Engineer Mike 9 years ago
As a power engineer I see this as not being the best idea due to 3 reasons. 1) supercritical coal fired plants are a sharp edge technology where european and american suppliers have huge problems due to high temperatures and pressures and necessity of materials that have not been fully under control in this industry. 2) the risk of thinking of such a large project in cooperation with Chinese, where Europeans and Americans have problems on commissioned plants. 3) logistics of such huge amount of coal from South Africa. What happens, when shortage of available coal.
I do believe that in case Ghana does not want to be reliable only on gas and hydro, it should focus on biomass, waste to energy or concentrated solar. But primary it should not focus on Chinese technology which is 30% cheaper but never fulfills the guaranteed figures. At the end of the day after reviewing the maintenance costs and the shortfall in performance during the lifetime of the plant, you will see that the European or American supplier would be of much higher benefit than the lower investment cost of Chinese. This is going to be another waste of money of the people of Ghana.
Has 9 years ago
World is stopping vial but Ghana died s deal with China at least that is the pension sorted for president Mahama
Inc ...
1844 and agreements of 1871 are they are the basis a ...
What do you expect from a nation which has a person like Akua Donkor as the adviser. Akua Donkor has openly said he advises Mahama and he listens. I am not sure which advisory role she is playing but any rol ...
Hydro power has provided almost all our electricity for decades. Why can't the government harness the abundant wind at the coastal belt to provide electricity. Sun or solar energy our country has been blessed with. It's anoth ...
Little boy, John Mahama d ...
you and I know the people who sabotaged Dr. Kwame Nkrumah regarding nuclear power generation. ... They were in power previously and have done little to improve our energy needs... infact they only added 150 mws of power to th ...
Those calling for environmental protect ion are they very ones who call Ghana a nation of dumsor. They should ask all the developed countries where their bulk electricity is coming from. The coal power for Ghana is far overdu ...
C ...
What do you guys mean ...what is Ghana's carbon footprint like. Members of all these quack think tanks and ngo's should go find some more productive thing to do to contribute to our GDP than disturb us with these nonsense. Lo ...
COURSES INCLUDE: ...
Clean coal turbines are now in operation in many parts of the world. The amount of firewood that Ghanaians burn everyday is more than the fumes that a coal electricity generator will emit in a whole year. Why are these people ...
Has anyone in this mushroom and pedestrian attention seeking group heard of clean coal technology? Educate yourselves before posting such rubbish. Ghana has passed this level of cheap propaganda. Go and research and come agai ...
The fact is Ghana is poor country with growth population. We all want safe Ghana but solar is expensive for a country like Ghana to afford. Moreover, solar is still not advance enough to help us for longer period. The worse o ...
No to coal.
No to nuclear energy
No more polution
Yes to Green energy
No more polution please
It is really a DISGRACE!! The Leaders of Ghana have not realized that we are in the 21st Century, they are going back to the 1700's to build a coal-fired power plant; so some government officials would get some bribes from fo ...
Mr. President please recind that coal power decision now, because it wouldn't be sustainable at all. When we do that we are leaving our energy sector to open abuse and profiteering and that can mean economic collapse over tim ...
Actually, the waste by product of burning coal is Coal Fly Ash. It isn't just 'dumped' somewhere. It is used in the creation of building materials from gypsum-based drywall, cement blocks, road embankment gravel and other con ...
While it may be true that advances have been made in the elimination of harmful flue gases from coal-fired power plants, such plants are generally being phased out in the energy mix of most developing and advanced nations - ...
Invest into the energy, of which the current is an addition goes a long way to tell how committed you are to seeing the erratic power situ ...
Eiiiii GHANA PAA NIE!!!! ONLY CERTAIN PEOPLE ARE GIVEN PROJECTS. EVERYTHING IS FOR THEM AND ONLY THEM. FOOD IS EATEN IN THEIR HOUSE ONLY BUT THE OTHER GHANAIANS DON'T DESERVE TO EAT. THIS PROJECT WAS PLANNED ABOUT FOUR YEARS ...
Ghana needs energy. How silly to suggest otherwise. Coal is, and will remain, for decades to come, the most reliable and efficient source of power. Despite what Western liberals from Seattle and London may claim - and their d ...
Coal is being replaced by natural gas in parts of the world where gas is abundant and cheap: parts of America, Canada, the Russian Federation. It is not so in Ghana. The West African pipeline flows on a Tuesday, and is empty ...
In this day and age when carbon emissions are a critical global issue, how do we even dream of coal-fired power generation? This explains why Prez Maham has been invited to co-chair the SDG with Norway. Why can't we see beyon ...
Does the government see the impact of coal on the environment? Look at the smog problem in China. Everybody wears mask, high incidence of respiratory ailments! Are we that stupid? The president, the minister, and parliament t ...
This is a confused Government, leading a confused and corrupt country. Buying dirty fuel (coal) from RSA when you have massive natural gas deposits in both Ghana and Nigeria. Where are the educated and learned people of Ghana ...
you and I know the people who sabotaged Dr. Kwame Nkrumah regarding nuclear power generation. ... They were in power previously and have done little to improve our energy needs... inf ...
As a power engineer I see this as not being the best idea due to 3 reasons. 1) supercritical coal fired plants are a sharp edge technology where european and american suppliers have huge problems due to high temperatures and ...
can't we see the SUNNNNNNNN? are we blind?