You are here: HomeNews2016 01 21Article 409601

Ga chiefs console Sylvester Mensah with GHC10k

Read Comments Comments (98)

• zigmi 8 years ago

Ghana is a failed state.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

What a bunch of foolish chiefs we have in Ghana? The other time it were others who supported Wayome as one of them in his loot. Can we remain tribal and support criminal activities because the accused is from our tribe?

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

IF THE GA CHIEFS CAN SELL ONE PLOT TO KWAMENA,KODJO,YAW,ABUDU,HEZBOLLAH,BOKO HARAM,HASSAN,KAMEL,HOSE,SMITH HOW CAN YOU TRUST THEM.

• Kumawu 8 years ago

Frank Agyena-Karikari.Take the plot to kumasi. Bush people

So you also support this nonsense. If Asante chiefs gather to support criminal activities that affect the whole country, I will speak against it and call them fools. Love Ghana first.

AN ASHANTI CHIEF IS SMARTER THAN A GA CHIEF BECAUSE HE WILL NOT RENT HIS OWN ROOM AND SLEEP ON THE VERANDA OR STREETS.
    NOW THAT THE GOVERNMENT HAVE ASPHALTS THE ROADS IN JAMES TOWN,THEY WILL BE SLEEPING ON THE STREETS AT NI ...

• J0eY LoNdoN 8 years ago

Firstly there are no jobs on ashanti streets.

• KOO DWOMO 8 years ago

Ashantis of Ghana, until recently did not want gov't jobs. Ashantis began looking for government jobs, when they found out that the nation's coffers were being looted by Ewes, Gas and Northerners, "The Mahamas". Ashantis will ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Yes, all you do is shine shoes, of even Kabre Togolese. Go to Lome or Aflao boder and see them line up like bees. Go to many parts of Accra and see the number of Ashanti boys and men sleeping at storefronts. Idiot! Does every ...

• FrOsei 8 years ago

MENSAH'S WIFE IS VERY VERY RICH. THEY HAVE A BIG SCHOOL. ALL OF THESE MOVES ARE JUST TRICKS. JUST POLITICAL PRESSURE.

• Susuka 8 years ago

Joe Turkey your logic suggests that not only are you a Ga but you are an NDC sympathizer - in short you do not make any sense at all.

It is true that Ashanti boys - mostly uneducated ones, shine shoes for a living. They un ...

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

WELL THE ACTION OF THE CHIEFS ARE NAUSEATING; HOWEVER, THE EWE CHIEFS ARE FAR WORSE.

WHEN THE POLICE CHASED A GA MAN IN TESHIE ABBOME AND HIS FEET GOT CAUGHT IN A WET CEMENT,THEY CALLED HIM A HARDENED CRIMINAL.

That is why you also pay for such plots with fake Cedis. Hahahaha.

• AB 8 years ago

suck ur mother foolish ashante man who will not stay in the jungle,u should tank god he created the heart of a ga man...we now accommodate u and ur stinking self..anyway stop putting ur mouth where ur uncircumcised dick shoul ...

• Private Mensah 8 years ago

look guys there's no smoke without fire stop insulting the chiefs u live on their lands who is more a thief than Mahama

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Hmm, this is the sad reality in Ghana.
    In Nigeria a very rich, big, affluent and well-known Alhaji reported his own, SON and to the FBI in USA to place an eye on his son because he suspected him. Indeed he tried to bomb an ...

• ATM 8 years ago

Ghana in a failed state because of Ghanaians. If Ghanaians are good people the country will be heaven to live in.

• skalanbone 8 years ago

Allow the court to deal with the case.

• Close Observer 8 years ago

My brother, it is obvious that these people are foolish. How can we root out corruption if people we know and our relatives should not be held accountable for wrong doings? THEY ARE PROMOTING LAWLESSNESS. ENCOURAGING STEALING ...

ur town is a desert u come to accra for ur civilisation yet we r foolish? u have chiefs too but look at ur under develop lands now who is foolish?

• KWADWO DIASEMPA 8 years ago

Private Mensah, don't deceive yourself here. Accra is developed with resources from other parts of the country, by virtue of the fact that it is the national capital. If it were not so, imagine how Accra would be like! How mu ...

but we more developed than ur desert lands - remember ur roots and accra does for u run by these same chiefs

• Susuka 8 years ago

Private Mensah, there are no desert lands anywhere in Ghana. Or perhaps do you want to say deserted lands?

Whatever the case, all the space within Republic of Ghana, can be reasonably accessed by any Ghanaian who wishes to ...

Sylvesters case is political read between the lines. u ignorant folks

• TUC UK 8 years ago

The chiefs manipulating create loot and share

• Susuka 8 years ago

I know for a fact that Ga Chiefs whose specialty is in selling land to multiple buyers, are always broke to the extent that govt always has to provide them with money to buy common cloth to attend public functions.

I am th ...

• ALI 8 years ago

THIS MAN IS A THIEF. AND THE CHIEFS ARE DOING THIS? I BELIEVE THIS IS SYLVESTER'S OWN MONEY.

Please be patient and learn the chiefs know more than u think don't be hasty- Who is a bigger thief than mahama

• ISSA ABONGO 8 years ago

THE CHIEFS ARE PAYING BACK SOME OF THE STOLEN MONEY SLY MENSAH GAVE TO THEM A WHILE AGO. IT IS PAYBACK TIME. NDC MUST BE VOTED OUT ELSE GHANA IS DOOMED. IF JOHN MAHAMA IS NOT VOTED OUT POWER.

• Joe 8 years ago

Abongo, nobody can rob your back but they can rub your back.

• Cowboy 8 years ago

That is exactly what I said before coming to read the interesting comment section of this news story. In as much as I personally want to respect chiefs in Ghana, I will refrain from insults and focus on the person who has rat ...

• Ali Mahama 8 years ago

Why is this man not on interdiction as the other Suspects but cooling off rather at the Flagstaff House? Create ,Loot and Share syndrome.

• Sam 8 years ago

Is it not therefore strange when he accuses the people at Flagstaff House to be the reason for his troubles?

• KRAB 8 years ago

This is shameful on the part of our chiefs. Let the law take its course.

• Dawa 8 years ago

Some thieves in Mahama's government are more equal than others. Some steal and are told to pay back a small percentage, others are reassigned to the presidency and others have their accounts frozen. Mahama should tell us how ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Couldnt agree more - let the law take its course. These are the kinds of attitudes & values that have spread under Mahama.

in time the truth will be on roof tops this thing is political he was working at the president office what does he know and who is afraid? patients folks

• Kumawu 8 years ago

Frank Agyena-Karikari.Take the plot to kumasi.

Sorry, I am not from Kumasi. If such nonsense that you support happens in Kumasi, I shall be on it. No person or party feeds me.

THE GA CHIEFS SHOULD USE THE MONEY TO HELP THE GAS IN ACCRA WHO RENT THEIR ROOMS AND SLEEP ON THE STREETS.

ur tribal sentiments is retrogressing this guy is an insider what does he know and who wants to cripple him? be wise and ve patient

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

This makes no sense, aren't our chiefs supposed to help uphold he rule of law. They sell the same land to different people so they think its ok to steal

• Ali 8 years ago

Did Ghanaians not read what the Volta chiefs did when WAYOME was also arrested? They came in their numbers to MAHAMA's office to order his release from custody. Ghana is slowly becoming a failed state under MAHAMA and his NDC

• OD -- E15 London 8 years ago

Chiefs are the second most corrupt group of people (apart from Mahama &his cohorts ) in Ghana. Some hopeless Ga chiefs visiting a fraudster, no wonder they sold their lands & now doing lalasulala ---- idiots

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Oh Ga people!

• Sasta 8 years ago

Is Sylvester Mensah the same man who has two kids with Ex President Rawlings' daughter?. I'm just confused and need clarification.

• sir 8 years ago

no. that one is habert mensah

• Sasta 8 years ago

Oh, ok. Thank you, Sir

• nokofiou 8 years ago

Are the chiefs condoning crime. What nonsense is this. Eh Ghana

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

What about Woyome

• K. Ahiatroga K. 8 years ago

And some journalists were tipping a character like this as veep for prez Mahama in the wake of the demise of ex-prez Mills?

• Ahiable 8 years ago

Sylvester Mensah is a dangerous charater. He paid journalist to bring out the story that he will partner Mahama after President Mills' demise. He is not popular in the party as he wants people to believe. He used used NHIS li ...

• nii 8 years ago

Stop the nonsense, has he been charged with any offence? You should know this is political if you can do a little analysis

• Jon Allitei 8 years ago

The same way as some Volta chiefs followed Chief Fraudster Woyome to court is similar to what some of the Ga chiefs are doing; fanning antiquated Tribalism and supporting alleged Criminals stealing from the State.

• perii 8 years ago

Was it not chiefs of the past who sold their fellow citizens into slavery was is not Chiefs who allowed Chinese men to do Galamsey to spoil the farms of their subjects? pollute their rivers etc. What has the Ga Chiefs done to ...

• Asem 8 years ago

Somebodydy tell me what exactly this means.....

• ktz 8 years ago

Oh Ghana? Ghana is doomed. So are these chief saying that Sylvester Mensah did the right thing by stealing government? What kind of leaders do Ghana has? Is it stupidity or illiteracy or madness are these chiefs showing Ghana ...

• Kofigo Jnr. 8 years ago

This is what the Volta chiefs did when Woyome was arrested claiming he was an illustrious son of the land.

• Angelo 8 years ago

What nonsense is this, After all Sylvester Mensah has accumulated if he cannot live on any investments with the ill-gotten wealth then he is a fool. He presided over an institution that owes health facilities 9 months payment ...

• Ritewing 8 years ago

Sylvester Mensah's mother is a Ga, his father, an Ewe. Therefore the fellow who the supposed Ga Chiefs are falling over to please, is not a full-blooded Ga. By the way, why should a public officer, who has been invited by th ...

• Joshua 8 years ago

Support your own, ga chiefs. When he & his colleagues introduced capitation into ash reg, causing a health delivery mess, ash chiefs got mute. Yes. mute to date.

• OKESSE 8 years ago

The Ga chiefs are thieves. And they will not help the poor in their mist. They should be investigated. Misuse of stool land money.

• Joe 8 years ago

Our gullible Chiefs will support their corrupt and thieving won and turn round to claim others are corrupt.

• Controversial Adelaide guy 8 years ago

This is a perfect example of our primitive leadership thinking, they should be arrested as well for influencing stealing from the nation, period

• Obuama 8 years ago

This is outrageous. Why can't we allow our laws and institutions to work? I'm really ashamed at the action of these chiefs

• Kay 8 years ago

I'm even surprised

• Kwame Peter 8 years ago

This is sad. It feeds corruption and the theory of untouchables. Who protects and care for the poor woman or man on the street. This man was supposed to take care of that poor person's well being. So sad that our custodians o ...

• Bingo 8 years ago

No Ghana is a failed nation because of poor leadership irrespective which party. We mustget selfless leaders . All our iimmediate past leaders were corrupt ( including "holy "J J remember what her wife grabbed with both hands ...

• joe navajo 8 years ago

Always playing politics with everything. A competent court has frozen his bank accounts. Courts do not let people starve when they freeze your accounts. Maybe these chiefs were getting some of the alleged stolen monies.

• Wajak 8 years ago

Those money should have been given to the poor in Ga traditional area. This man has more than enough. Thanks

• ahmed 8 years ago

stupid chiefs. These are the very people mahama has been buying cars for, do they even deserve cars at all.

• Nii Kpakpa 8 years ago

Sylvester Mensah is Ewe, not Ga. The fact that he was born and raised in Accra does not make him a Ga.

• James Mann 8 years ago

If chiefs can do and say this because the person is an indigene, can corruption be fought?

• DDT 8 years ago

How can we fight corruption if this hypocrites called chiefs continue to interfere with our laws. The chiefs have benefited from the corrupt monies he stold.

• Dr Who 8 years ago

The chiefs know very well that Mahama will buy them cars prior to the election so they don't mind spending on such useless ventures.

• MAWULI 8 years ago

some africans including Ga chiefs are so hipocrates. we are in Ghana when young and able bodied youth are lynched for stealing some few coins. Sylvester Mensah and his caliber in gov are siphoning huge sums of money and tran ...

we know why he is in trouble nothing to do with stealing money u ignorant folks

• Concern Citizen 8 years ago

This is a good gesture by the G Chiefs. Solidarity is not a crime. Sylvester is not a fraudster he will soon be cleared

• Sam K 8 years ago

During Sylvester Mensah's time, the Chief Executive and 2 out of 3 Deputy CEOs were Gas. This is how Sylvester Mensah, a Ga ran the place. It is therefore not surprising that the top management on the list who are interdicted ...

• Jerome reindorf opon 8 years ago

I am very said for Ghana, so diz nt hav any money, a rich man like diz. Hmmmmm. They should give de money to de orphans in Greater Accra always de rich man's r enjoying n de poor iz gettin poor.

• PEPENI 8 years ago

THIS IS REALLY UNFORTUNATE. THERE IS NO SMOKE A FIRE, IT IS JUST POSSIBLE THAT THIE MENSAH GUY IS GUILTY. WHY DON'T THEY LET THE LAW TAKE IT'S CAUSE. THIS IS WHY THE CORRUPTION IS ENDEMIC IN GHANA. SOMEONE STEALS AND ALL HIS ...

• osei Kofi 8 years ago

What a shock! They froze his account to investigate whatever information they have. We all know the rot and over invoicing that has overshadowed the operation of the NIA. How the fuck do these stupid chief get up and pay this ...

• TYPICAL GA MAN 8 years ago

SHAME ON SO CALLED GA CHIEFS, THE MAN IS NOT GA

• OD 8 years ago

Oh Ghana. The most useless country and biggest banana republic ever created. Shame unto ga chiefs. Ewes should also cry for Dzifa Ativor. Shama on you all!!!!!!

• Koo Pia 8 years ago

What nonsense by these chiefs

• Africa 8 years ago

this is absurd n unthinkable fr the chiefs to hv done wat they did.this can only happened in ghana n no other place.

Foolish Ga Chiefs. Instead of developing Chorkor, Osu, La, etc. out stench and filth, look at what they think its best to do. Nincompoops. If he is being investigated for crime, you are here to support his crime. A big disgra ...

• Stepof, Bronx NY 8 years ago

Do these so called chiefs think? I think these stupid people should be arrested because they are encouraging corruption. I don't blame them because that's the system we are in now in Ghana

• Yussif 8 years ago

So this Chiefs re saying this guy is above the law?did he share his butty with them?the investigation should be extended to this individuals because the welfare of majority of Ghanaians under the NHIA is bigger than Sylvester ...

• Paul 8 years ago

I would have clapped for you if i saw you face to face. The once a terror at NHIA is now a humble pie every one is taking a bite. My wife left the job of you. Now here you are. The snakes you brought home as pets is now full ...

• Akanwi Christopher 8 years ago

is stupidity for any nincompoop to insult NDC n de Ga Chiefs.

• kemevor 8 years ago

Don't blame them, we blacks are over dependent. For that reason, any one who steals and tip others becomes very popular among us and receives our support when the law catch up with them.

• HMMM the crusader. 8 years ago

ARE YOU SUPPRISED?THATS WHY GHANA GOES this way you find it MABAN NA ABA PLUS PARTY COLOURS MAY THE ALMIGHTY SAVE GHANA amen.

• Sir Lalas 8 years ago

At least I am now confident that my nation is not full of fools who support wrong doing. Every man must be responsible for the role he plays. Our courts were not set up as white elephants. If he is not guilty as charged the g ...

• nii 8 years ago

Read between the lines my brother, this is political

• John De-Clerk 8 years ago

Ghana is a complete failed state. The Ga Chiefs have set a very dangerous precedent in the history of chieftancy in this country. Its a shame on the institution itself that chiefs would seek to undermine the state and the con ...

• obi 8 years ago

ga chiefs well done but may we know what u did now do u think u want corruption to stop it means there is something under b4 u giving that 1ok or they send u the chiefs