You are here: HomeNews2016 01 20Article 409174

Photos: Workers march to protest harsh economic conditions

Read Comments Comments (65)

• FFF 8 years ago

THERE SNICKING INSIDE YOU

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-ADANKO....MAHAMA's PICTURE ON THE BUSES.....
    Don't go far to punish an innocent person. Mahama is the brain behind it.Asiedu Nketia brought the idea and supported byNDC national council. It is a way to get money for ...

• SETG 8 years ago

FORGET BOY

Author:-AGBESI KWESI....Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg

There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum ...

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

Today's price of a barrel of oil is $28. A GALLON of petrol is being sold for about 47 cents in Michigan, so why is the Ghana government gouging its people? The sad part is the revenue collected is used for bogus contracts th ...

Author:-Mahmoud...
    The president has been saying that he tried to introduce electronic payment and acquisition systems into the public sector {to reduce human contact with cash} in his effort to fighting corruption, but lame ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

The people of La Dadekotopon erred by sending a miscreant like Amasa Namoale, also known as BBC NEWS!!!!!! to represent them he parliament. I need not say much about this character, you can see it yourself by the kind of thin ...

• IN GOD WE TRUST 8 years ago

NPP is more capable of managing the affairs of the land of our birth more and far better than these thieves in the ndc parading as politicians and stealing and stealing and stealing eeiii! NDC took a Ghana that was in good sh ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

NPP goes nuts!!What an act of desperation to say that even this demonstration has been plotted by Mahama and government!!!! You Old Soldier have shown all in your comment a perfect example of NPP's shallow way of thinking!!

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE)...
    Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.

“Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”, Greenstreet sho ...

• SETG 8 years ago

WE DO NOT WANT POLTICAL GROUPS TO MATCH WITH US:

• combat 8 years ago

I believe this is a fashion show not demonstration. .... go to sudan and witness economic hardships. .... look at how bulky they are. .... hungry people aaaah sorry

Author:-OBAA YAA....
    Good deeds deserve a big push while incompetency deserves a change.
    Koku, why should the international community continue to waste their resources on sorry a** regime like one in power right now?
    Sim ...

• Frank 8 years ago

What kind of international community are you talking about??? Do you even read the news? Try to listen what happening all over the world due the prices for oil and other economical reasons, and you will instead of blaming Mah ...

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• george faraday in S. A 8 years ago

Fool go nd stay in ghana

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Stop this foolishness,they are not in Sudan,Ghana is not Sudan,when was the last time you went to Sudan to see the sufferings,are they buying gas over $4.00 a gallon in Sudan?

That Terkpeheconomic policy is not helping any ...

• Point Blanc 8 years ago

Very wicked and insensitive govt. A better Ghana indeed!!!

Author:-tontrobi....
    Indiscreet and insensitive statements like this by a person who has been appointed to head the EC by a govt whose stay in power was largely determined by either the dishonesty or incompetence of Afari-Gy ...

• NANA KASA 8 years ago

If NPP was stupid enough for NDC to take power from them after 8 years, we do not see any reason to get NPP back.

• John 777 8 years ago

This "wicked and insensitive government" for your information has started to implement Senior High School educational program, which will allow our kids to get free high school education. Though it was stated in 1992 Constitu ...

• Ganyo 8 years ago

Where are all the thousands of demonstrators. I can count more policemen than I can demonstrators.Why don`t you report objectively and concisely.

• USELES NDC PARTY 8 years ago

Even if it's only one it tells how u and your useless dead goat has made Ghana so hard

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

Go see your eye doctor boy. Your name is Ganyo so you know money is good but do you have it? Mind you the demonstration is all over the country so even if the average from each region is 200, we have 2,000 demonstrators on th ...

• ZINGARO 8 years ago

where are the thousand demonstrators

• Tawiah 8 years ago

Where are the thousands of workers in the photo? none , Zilch! LIES UPON LIES ONLY.

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 8 years ago

Keep quiet and suffer for endorsing a woyomized, dumsorized and guinea-fowlized government. On election day they will come and share 100 ceid so you can vote for them.

• ALUTA CONTINUA 8 years ago

WHY WAS KUTU MURDERED.

MAY HE REST IN PEACE

• Lies from Ghanaweb 8 years ago

Just a handful in Accra.
    Oh why these lies?
    Sad.

• Tuga 8 years ago

Foooools!!,read,the,article,well,the,story,says,1000s,of,workers,across,the,nations,mmoa

• Kayode 8 years ago

Across the nations??? Ok, then it sounds even more like joke and NPP's propaganda. So, you want to say that out of a few millions of workers (definitely we have that much, if all population of Ghana is almost 26 millions) onl ...

• Max 8 years ago

Hmm: those who are working are complaining how much more those who are not working?

• KP 8 years ago

The president said he is a dead goat and so he won't listen to you. Just keep quiet and wait for November 7 to come and you vote him out

• Obed 8 years ago

The only dead goat I can see is Nana Addo!! He has done or offer NOTHING, trying to make campaign out of Mahama's work!There is no chance people will vote for him!

• Bobby 8 years ago

Kwasia man who told u we wnt vote for him

You re one of the folish guys in ghana go nd stay in ghana

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

Let's see about "he won't listen to you", I'm sure Mahama will react to the situation right! However with Mahama we, Ghanaian, have a freedom for peaceful demonstration like this one, NPP, if takes power, will turn Ghana to m ...

• nanagy 8 years ago

NDC jail list after 2016 elections, wayomi,Betty mould,albert mould,Barton oduro,Kwabena duffour,Sylvester mensah,dzifar ativor,Kwabena donkor,Rolland agambila and sada theives,suba theives,Ibrahim mahama,Ibrahim Selassie,ex ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

There is something called survey.

* A typical Ghanaian earns between GHS200 - GHS1000
    * He eats 3 times a day.
    * He takes car to work twice a day.
    * He pays rent every year or two or three
    * He pays school fees every s ...

Where did you take the statistic about salary?? Obviously it's not correct. Educated and qualified employees are getting more than that, so talking about salary in average is the same like talking about average rent or restau ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

i went to buy 30gh worth of prepaid yesterday. as a student i thought oh this will take me for some weeks. i later found on the receipt given that i have been deducted 3.88gh as service charge. i thought that was all only to ...

• CHORCKOR SCHOOL BOY 8 years ago

STOP THE NOISE MAKING . THIS HARDSHIP WILL RATHER PUSH THE INCOMPETENT NDC OUT OF POWER.

• adenkyekye 8 years ago

The workers are more than thousands because all workers did not go to work and these are part of the demonstrators. Not seeing them on the street does not mean that they are not part. Incompetent president
    Mahama.

• save ghana 8 years ago

we are paying for mahama's incompetence. we r paying huge taxes to feed mahama's numerous children. mahama thief man wont listen ooo . he is a decorated dead goat

• Mani Mmi N yuli 8 years ago

The demo is an opportunity for us to entertain, do keep fit to excersice our bodies. Some of us dont get that opportunity to excercise. However we thank almighty and the Govt for peace and freedom in the country. Next time w ...

• jeaux 8 years ago

why not Japan or USA but Sudan?
    do Ghanaians aspire to emigrate to Sudan or Japan or USA?

• Anokwa 3tw3 y3d3 papaapa 8 years ago

Mahama is a fool with no brain.Mahama is fucking the EC boss with his usual hot atopa (abedianko)which no woman can resist after hot rounds of sex.That plays a major part in that woman's stubborness because she doesnt want to ...

• Armstrong 8 years ago

A better Ghana now turning a bitter Ghana.Mr President please listen to the plight of Ghanaians and reduce the tariffs for us.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

The downfall of the Mahama government is what we are seeing now.

• 2pac Shakur 8 years ago

Please the workers need to norgocaite rather than demonstration

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

These type of demo , is nothing to the dead goat administration, it must follow with severe action , like 3 months sit down , including all transport companies, nurses, GNATS, GUTA and all filling stations in the country ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

Well, that is dermocracy ,to ask the demanding of their which is nessasary and they have to understand them their....the works.God bless oman ghana for the peaceful move.

• Bobby 8 years ago

Aaah NDC FO) koraa mo agyimi too much..gyimii paa ni

• David 8 years ago

fashion parade......flop demo.....people don't have time again......these civil servants or public sector workers are more corrupt than the politicians.....they steal every day unlike the politicians who come and go.smh

• MAHAMA B3 KO 8 years ago

This should not be a nine day wonder. It should get results. In Flint, MI, USA, the citizens are demanding the resignation of the Governor because whilst he was drinking uncontaminated water, the citizenry were drinking conta ...

• ghana people 8 years ago

ghana people to go on one month sit down continuous demonstration against mahama , he is a failure, from ghana people

Ghanaians are doing this for nothing they ll be very happy to vote for NDC again the best party in ghana

Ghanaian ll be happy to vote for NDC why demo now shame .there is no impeachment in our consistution for poor gorvernace

• Biggy 8 years ago

Workers, go, go, go! You are speaking for all of us, NPP NDC PPPPPPPPPPPPP. May the government listen to your cry.

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Like the biblical Rehoboam,this low iq pea brain prez is whipping long suffering Ghanaians with scorpions and shouting "yentie obiaa" because his heart has been hardened.....and his demise is imminent

• prince 8 years ago

Ooh God have opong Ghana your nation

• Martin 8 years ago

Perhaps if these workers spent that much time and energy on their jobs as they do demonstrating, the country will be very productive and not be in its current predicament. Why don't these workers go on strike to demand wage i ...

• Martin 8 years ago

The slogans on the placards carried by the demonstrators, speak to a political than a labor protest. The invisible hand behind this so-called labor protest is none other than the NPP. It is a shame that these gullible worker ...

• mahamudu Ali 8 years ago

Kofi Asamoa, you were disappointing us. You were in bed with mahama and you were going to go into history as the worse tuc boss ghana has ever had

• GHANA FIRST 8 years ago

It is workers who cause economic hardship, not government. If you don't produce and sell how do you get the cash to pay workers? You do not produce for the government to get the money to pay your salaries for you to better yo ...