1. PRES MAHAMA WENT TO UK & SIGNED AN AGREEMENT WITH THE HOME SEC FOR DEPORTATION OF HARDWORKING GHANAIAN MIGRANTS IN EXCHANGE FOR MONEY. 2. PRESIDENT MAHAMA AGREED WITH A FOREIGN PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY TO BRING EBOLA TO GHANA AND TEST IT ON GHANAIANS IN EXCHANGE OF MONEY. 3. MAHAMA HAS INPORTED KNOWN HARDENED TERRORISTS FROM GUATANAMO BAY TO GHANA IN EXCHANGE OF MONEY. ALL THE ABOVE PUT GHANA UNDER ECONOMIC, HEALTH & SECURITY RISK
DR TRUTH 9 years ago
WE WERE ALL IN GHANA, WHEN A HARDWORKING GHANAIAN ABROAD WAS DEPORTED IN HELMET & CHAINS JUST FOR OVERSTAYING HIS VISA. HOW MUCH MORE THESE TERRORISTS
WISE-TALK,UK 9 years ago
new year gift to ghana women,new hot dicks from GITMO in ghana so ghana women are happy,MAHAMA please let them marry ghana women 4 women each.
agbovi 9 years ago
kumasi is the best place for them,so they can stay with they boss nana akufu bin ado the acid chp.
OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago
WHY DID MAHAMA REFUSE THE CHIMPAZEES IN 1998?
Author:-MR OBJECTIVE....
WHERE WERE YOU WHEN ONE NIGERIAN TERRORIST PASSED THROUH YOUR BIG-EYES AT KOTOKA AIRPORT,in attempt to bomb a foriegn plane;and only to be arrested inside the plane?WASN'T IT YOUR TIME WHEN drugs passed through the Airport and arrested at Heathrow Airport?THE ONLY SECURITY WORK YOU DID,WAS TO ARREST POLITICAL OPPONENTS.
NORTHERN GHANA 9 years ago
Dumsor Dumsor,collapse of NHIS,Free fall of the cedi coupled with corruption,daylight robbery,thievery
and looting of our scares resouces.. No wonder Prez Rawlings said, over 60 percent of robbers and thieves are in ur Gov. ... read full comment
Dumsor Dumsor,collapse of NHIS,Free fall of the cedi coupled with corruption,daylight robbery,thievery
and looting of our scares resouces.. No wonder Prez Rawlings said, over 60 percent of robbers and thieves are in ur Gov. With remaining 40 waiting on the sidelines for their turn to loot us. the beautiful country
which was handed over to u just 4yrs ago has been turned into a wilderness. Ghana has been sucked dry to the bone and riddled with unprecedented debts which will take generations to settle. Mr. Prez where is the Gh 200m Saada cash?where is
the over Gh800m Gyeeda money? where is the over Gh 200m Subah money?where is the 94m Euro CP money? where is the Gh52m Woyome
money? where is the 25m euro Waterville money? Ebeei mr Mahama adzen?? its crystal clear all this huge
huge monies have been paid to people for no work done..many people continue to live under severe hardships, misery and despondency
under ur administration... any Good leader who has the nation at heart would have resigned long ago and
apologize to the good people of Gh for ur monumental and
unprecedented failure... but u still want to continue? haven't u caused us enough damage?what else do u
want again?haven't u had enough? we can only leave u to God...but I tell u, Gh will rise again. it shall never be so dark. the sun will rise again. long live Gh...
AGBESI KWESI 9 years ago
It is always said that an average Arab is worse than an infidel. Arabs always look for soft spots to loot and cheat and they have found a perfect partner in the Mahama Looting Dynasty. Kwabena Donkor was only used as a tool to siphon money from Ghanaians to the Arabian shores and he is now regretting.
The average Arab is lazy and only takes delight in enjoying at the expense of other people’s blood and sweat. From time immemorial, Arabs have been passing their sons and daughters in the fire – human sacrifices – in other to acquire wealth. If they can do this to their own sons and daughters what do you think they will do to a mere black monkey. The Arab sees a black African as their God-ordained slave and so they have the divine right to exploit every black African; hence, the audacity of this stupid Sheik to tell Ghanaians that this stinking AMERI deal is clean.
Remember, Arabs were at the forefront of the infamous Trans-Sahara Slave Trade where they could carry 1000 African Slaves to the shores of the Mediterranean Sea and only 20 of them would arrive safely. In contemporary times, they sponsored the wicked regimes of Gen Idi Amin and Gen Sani Abacha. Now that oil prices are tumbling, the Arabian prince has found another partner in crime in Prez Mahama and his looting family and friends.
insight to the bone 9 years ago
Ghana belongs to the Akans and Africa to the Africans,not Arabs ,Lebanese , Islam or any other occupational retrogressive ,corrupt forces. JJ's fake revolution was nothing but a war against the Akans camouflaged by politics of propaganda rhetoric. When they realized that Kutu Acheampong and some of the Akan intelligentsia with the then stakeholders were considering the Secession or separation of the Ewes from the rest of us they decided to decapitate the threat as they would lose their breadbasket of Gold and cocoa. That is why all the generals and upper echelon of the army and security were murdered. They then needed purge the civil service of any threat so under the guise of an IMF program fired most and the rest were driven out by being falsely accused of being agents of the CIA , where in the world did the CIA in peace time employ over 100,000 civil servants? America very gladly accepted these highly trained people and kept quiet. Now these ayigbe are clutching to the last straws of power but we shall boot them out this year. This issue of these gitmo ex cons is deal between Nana ,Mahama and Obama so crying over spilt milk is pointless. America knows the lives of these aint worth shit here as just like these criminal idiots who come to Ghana because of gold end up dead weekly and so are no more even news so will these 2 be dealt with sooner or later and they can never be protected successfully by our national security. America has used this to teach us a lesson , if we allow a corrupt compromised president to sit there and we not act any power political , criminal or national will sooner or later be able to twist his arm to do something detrimental to the interests of the people. Since the bond of 1844 for only nation that has always been on our side through think and thin is the USA and as such are our brothers. We are to blame and we are lucky they sent us the 2 instead of some other insidious woe. Political parties should now weed out all corrupt elements and focus on those who are loyal to the needs and wants of our people. The reaction of the chief imam and his spokesman also confirms that Islam and Muslims have no loyalty to the interests of the majority or the people of Ghana so we need to do everything to separate ourselves or ban Islam. Why is it that common sense does not factor in the equation and they rejoice at the reception of these terrorists . Is it because they now have the direct links to start undermining even more the society? They add insult to injury and claim we are xenophobic but refuse to recognize the fact that we would react in the same way when the USA chooses to start exporting their other criminals like pedophiles , mafia cosa nostra or simple psychopath murderers. If we were calm in receiving their criminals then that would be cause for worry so they should all shut the fuck up.
The silence of Nana on the matter of these gitmo ex cons is a confirmation that both he and Mahama have capitulated in the face of a greater force and i suspect the super power USA. Like it or not America has waded into our conflict and you will now see a structural transition of power to the NPP . Notice all of a sudden the dumsor is no issue , corrupt ministers resigning over trivialities without a fight ,etc. NDC has denied us our cutlass revolution and opted 9 months before the election a peaceful transition of power, my advice to you folks is to forget about politics and concentrate on rebuilding our country , heal the wounds and create unity as there is nothing we can do in the face of this meddling superpower. ITS OVER. As usual most of you forumers here will attack me since shooting the messenger or PHD pull him down quick is our greatest sport but a few months from now you will see i am right. Dont waste your energies on politics rather focus on some kind of business that will benefit you as a favorable climate without corruption is about to start
OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago
Author:-AGBESI KWESI....Please read the following:
Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg
There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum ... read full comment
Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg
There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum held in Westminster, Central London after a heated exchange between Ghana’s President John Mahama and former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo degenerated into open insults.This was due to General Obasanjo openly accusing the Ghanaian president and his government of blackmailing and collecting bribes from Nigerian businessmen in Ghana, buying numerous properties in Nigeria and South Africa and financially contributing 12 million dollars to Goodluck Jonathan’s campaign last year. This infuriated President Mahama who lost his temper and pointing his finger, called General Obasanjo an ” idiot” and a “silly buffoon”.It took other ministers present as well as Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni to calm tempers and usher President Mahama to a nearby room. The forum, which takes place from 1st to 3rd December is attended by African Heads of States Ministers, Private equity firms and investors to discuss opportunities for investment and development in African Economies.
Concerned Citizen 9 years ago
This agreement means that the two are still detainees and cannot leave Ghana for two years. This is illegal. It means that Ghana is now an extension of Guantanamo. Ghana is keeping these two against their will. They should be allowed to leave the country if they want to.
Suley 9 years ago
Shameful Ghanains
PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago
FUCK YOU KWESI.YOUR OWN GHANAIAN'S CREATED CIVIL WARS AND PLUNDERED VILLAGES FOR THE ARABS TO COME IN.
insight to the bone 9 years ago
princewilly@ymail.com ,they didnt give you any of the money they stole and yet you still zealosly fight and insult people for them , you a real idiot. sorry ass sod who is blinded by hegemony/tribalism like you is all the proof we need to boot out your ndc
DR TRUTH 9 years ago
HANNAH TETTEH CLAIMS USA FAILED TO DISCLOSE THE TRUE RISK LEVEL OF THE TERRORISTS TO GHANA AS REVEALED ON WIKILEAKS. IN LAW NON DISCLOSURE OF FACTS WHICH CAN AFFECT DECISION MAKING IN CONTRACTS MAKES THE CONTRACT NULL & VOID. KWAKYE OFOSU & PRES MAHAMA SHOULD GO BACK TO SCHOOL LIKE ABLAKWA, FIFI KWETEY & OMANE BOAMAH
DR TRUTH 9 years ago
WE RECRUITED, EMPLOYED AND PAY THESE SECURITY OFFICIALS NOT BECAUSE WE ANTICIPATED IMPORTED TERRORIST WILLINGLY TO GHANA. BY DIVERTING THEM FROM THIER CORE DUTIES YOU HAVE DEPRIVED GHANA OF LESSER PERSONAL TO COMBAT ARM ROBBERY AND MONITOR GHANAIAN RESIDENTS TROUBLE MAKERS OR CRIMIÑALS. IT COMES AT A COST
OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago
Author:-tontrobi....
Indiscreet and insensitive statements like this by a person who has been appointed to head the EC by a govt whose stay in power was largely determined by either the dishonesty or incompetence of Afari-Gyan, now confirms to all of us that the woman is not impartial.
So far everything that has come out of her mouth over the past few days, shows that she has been put into that position to do a hatchet job for the NDC.
At the very least, even if she is not partisan, this woman is not mature enough to hold such a sensitive public position. She should know that the subject of Afari-Djan raise strong emotions in the public domain and for her to overlook those concerns and to go ahead and publicly praise him simply means that she is either looking for trouble or she is not sensible enough to know what she is doing or where she is at.
I do not hold any political sympathies for the NPP but looking at current developments, I have a deep worry about the future of the country.
ZoRRo 9 years ago
Where did we get these stupid, uneducated people from, to form this clueless crappy government ?
read i 2 dye 9 years ago
ANY DEAL CAN BE UNDONE...they can be returned but maama has to pay back all the monies he took from obama. Apart from DON QUIXOTE who else was involved or consulted on this deal....both foreign and interior ministers are tired of taking the rap for DUM DUM...hannah tetteh should name the security advisors on this deal....100
OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago
Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33)....
I AM APPEALING TO THE PEACE COUNCIL , CHRISTIAN COUNCIL, MUSLIM COUNCIL AND THE SO CALLED COUNCIL OF STATE TO CONSIDER THIS SIMPLE SCENARIO AND MAKE A JUDGEMENT!! --- IMAGINE WE ARE IN A 100 METRE RACE CONTEST AND WE HAVE FOUND A CONTESTANT WITH A STEP OFF THE STARTING LINE, TRYING TO CHEAT( BLOATED REGISTER, FOREIGN NAMES, MINORS ETC. ETC.) HE ADMITS THIS. WHAT THEN IS THE PROBLEM, IF HE IS TO BRING HIS FOOT BACK ( CHANGING THAT REGISTER) FOR ALL OF US TO START AFRESH FROM SAME STARTING LINE (NEW REGISTER)????????? WILL THIS BRING CHAOS?????? THIS IS JUST COMMON SENSE!!!!!!
NDC RIGGING MACHINERY IS THAT BLOATED/FRAUDULENT REGISTER, I AM NOT A PROPHET BUT WITH THE POSTURE OF NDC AS FAR AS THE ARGUMENTS ON THE REGISTER ARE CONCERNED, IF NPP WILL NOT RISE UP AND FIGHT FOR A NEW REGISTER THEY WILL LOSE. LET US RISE UP AND FIGHT AND ALSO REMEMBER, GHANA HAS NO COURT(COURTESY, ANAS).
EC DECISION IS NDC RESOLVE. WE CAN NEVER TRUST THAT ALATA IDIOT & NDC STOOGE!!!!
TELL CHARLOTTE, THAT, WE NEED A NEW REGISTER!!!!
I THINK THIS NIGERIAN EC HEAD IS STUBBORN THAN AFARI GYAN. WE NEED TO ROCK CHARLOTTE WITH A MASSIVE DEMO!!! GHANAIANS MUST NOT BE WIMPS, OUR NATIONAL ANTHEM ENTREATS US TO RESIST OUR OPPRESORS. LET US RISE UP AND ROCK THIS STUBBORN ALATANI GIRL WITH SUSTAINED MASSIVE DEMOS TO BRING HER BACK TO HER SENSES!!!
APONKYE 9 years ago
Nana suffered stunting in childhood so he has low IQ. Evidence for this:
1) Nana was sacked from Oxford University for poor performance;
2) he then went to Legon where he got Third Class Lower degree.
3) he could not perfo ... read full comment
3) he could not perform as Attorney-General and Kufuor had to sack him.
read i 2 dye 9 years ago
very very low IQ as evidenced by "cell phones are the cause of doomsor;6 wives 18 kids..no self control
1.product of mankalanta.
2.tamale secondary history teacher.
3.communist school of russia.
-------------------------- ... read full comment
very very low IQ as evidenced by "cell phones are the cause of doomsor;6 wives 18 kids..no self control
1.product of mankalanta.
------------------------------------
3a. run for re-election un-opposed
3b. make decisions for 25 million people without consultation.
3c. stuck (gh monies) a million dollars in jj's throat.
3d. uses gh monies like its his...4x4 to chiefs/imams;house for brave taxi driver.
4.fucks with transgenders like mosquito.
5.low self esteem; pictures of himself on bus;pictures of his wife on chocolate; pictures of his DICK on wassup..STOP FUCKING WITH THIS RETARD....100
OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago
Author:-OFOSUAA...
Unemplyment Is Caused By Sada Thievery....Dumsor Is Caused By Lack Of Money Due To Rlg/Zoomlion Thievery.......Failed NHIS Is Due To 2012 Overexpenditure To The Tune Of 8.7 Bn Ghc Thievery To Win Elections..............Collapsing School Feeding And Failure Of Govt To Pay Contractors Are Due To Thievery Thro Failed Stx Deal.......Gyeeda, Subah, Azuntaba Etc Have All Been Used To Drain Ghana Big Time Yet Ndc Is Still Expecting A One Touch Win In The Next Elections.......Tofiakwah........Mounting National Indebtedness Of Ghana Is Due To Create Loot Share And Weep.....Mounting National Debt Is Due Thievery Thro Fake Jdgt Debts And Contract Sole Sourcing Where The Overpayment Is Later Shared By Ndc And Cronies......Ide Biiii Kekekekeeee
nhyira 9 years ago
No wonder you are aponkye.foool
Yaw Yeboah 9 years ago
Dr Truth, I fully agree with your view.
As far as I am concerned these 2 suspected terrorists are undesirable aliens that need to be deported. If no other country can be found for them NASA can send them up to Space for all I care. Just let them leave Ghana.
JOHN 9 years ago
WHY CANT THEY BE RETURNED?. SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BOKINA FASO.THE TWO WILL NOT DO IT BUT ALQAIDA GROUPS WILL SO ANGRY WITH GHANA FOR ACCEPTING THEM AND CAN BOMB US
PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago
A man walked into a curio shop and began to browse. He was attracted to a brass rat on a shelf behind the counter. He asked the shopkeeper for a price, and was told to make an offer. Presently they agreed on a price, and the brass rat changed hands. The shopkeeper warned the customer as he took the money, "This sale is final. If you leave the shop with the brass rat, I won't take it back under any circumstances." The customer agreed and left with the rat. As he walked home, he noticed that a live rat came scurrying out of an alley and began to follow him. Soon there were more, all following him and milling bout his feet. The man began to run, but the rats kept up, and more joined the procession. After a few minutes, thousands of rats were chasing after the man. The man ran frantically for the river, and threw the brass rat into the water. The live rats followed the brass rat, and soon all had drowned. The man returned to the curio shop, and on seeing him enter, the shopkeeper shouted, "I told you, the sale was final! You cannot return the brass rat!" The customer replied, "That's no problem. I just wondered if you had a brass lawyer in stock."
TL 9 years ago
The two heinous criminals endanger our youth and want our great westernised African nation to fail and desolve.
Sam 9 years ago
Kwadwo Kwakye is another foolish stooge of the NDC government. If the two ex Gitmo detainees cannot be returned it will be suitable to retain them in his house.President Mahama does not take wise people in his government who may offer him good advice.The NDC people will be shown where they belong to when they misuse the power given to them. The President must consider the interest of the masses and put aside his egoistic tendencies. He must be aware that he was voted to serve the nation but not the nation serve him.He must also know there is no bird died on top of a tree without its feathers falling on the ground.He will one day climb down from the ladder.President Mahama came to serve and not to be served
National Agenda 9 years ago
Mahama and Hannah were only interested in the monies for up keep of the two inmates. How much did the US government gave out to Ghana? Mahama and Hannah Tetteh must answer. Who is keeping the monies for their up keep in Ghana for the two years? Mahama & Hannah must answer!!!!
Kpenyigba Kwesi 9 years ago
Hon Minister of communication has said a lot but said nothing that will clear our minds. Why should Ghana host these 2 men?
Ghanaian, NY 9 years ago
Government has not adequately given the people of Ghana convincing reasons to support why they signed the deal to bring the two suspected Yemenis to Ghana. The US 911 ordeal which took about 2000 lives on the spot is not an event that anyone who, directly or indirectly, was caught as one of the perpetrators is dealt with kindly. The hard core ones and those that enough evidence was found against have been tried and jailed. But there are many remaining others who the US Government is not making efforts to try them in court for fear that, rule of law, as it is, may set them free for lack of sufficient evidence. They will go back home to join any groups in environments that would make it difficult for US to monitor them.
911 happened under Republican President's watch. They were so hurt that they would not succumb to International Human Right Pressure group to free the detainees who US has insufficient evidence to prosecute.
Obama started the crusade to shut down the detainee camp but there have been pressure from Republicans backed by evidence that a couple of the suspects President Bush released when leaving office went back home to be hardened terrorists. On that note if Obama should let any of the suspects go, it should be a place that the entity could still be under surveillance and monitor.
The 2 Yemenis Brought to Ghana are, therefore, tasting freedom as compared to the GITMO camp, but they are under comprehensive monitoring and surveillance. America would not just dump them on any nation and walk away. America will enhance the host nation's security systems, technology, apparatuses and set a platform to enable intelligent information gathering data sharing. What a benefit.
Hanna Tetteh seems like amateur politician with no sense of diplomacy in the way she answered questions and handled the issues. "Gitmo ex-detainees cannot be returned" statement with unconvincing reasons is unfortunate on the part of Kwakye Owysy,
Obroni 9 years ago
I always hear everybody saying alleged and not guilty until proven guilty. This Guantanamo Prisoners have spend 14 years in jail just by accusations so were technicly on remand and have never been to trail. So since NPP lawyers know that in that case they are not guilty why all the hassle? Or is that the raeson lawyer Akufo Addo never talks on the subject?
Sam 9 years ago
President Mahama answers to questions clearly demonstrates his senseless and immaturity. "I am like a dead goat", Y3n fii obiara", mede sika k)k)) y3 coal tar Kumasifo ani ns)"listen to his recent responses to the two ex Gitmo detainees controversies.Is he the young President Ghanaians are looking for then Ghana has a long way to go.It is better to choose a 90 year old man to rule Ghana than to choose the so called youth ruin our country. Now look at the economic situation in Ghana because the affairs of the country are in the hands of inexperienced so called youth who even go to the length of insulting their elders.These young guys straight away from schools clinging to such high governmental positions are the cause of the downfall of Ghana. The President bad intentions of employing inexperienced youth in order to pave way for him to rob the nation is another contributory factor of the economic hardship in Ghana.
Nana 9 years ago
You stinking Totobi! Can you shut your mouth? You are full of liars and anything from your mouth stinks
Bill Amewode 9 years ago
Why is Rawlings quiet on this???????
Jericho 9 years ago
I always cry , politics has really superseded our God given wisdom and knowledge. This thing pleases but isn't important..
Son of Ghana 9 years ago
You and ndc have brought terror to Ghana and you just sit there and talk like fools. You do not love your people. You are just create loot and share. You probably have a mansion in florida ready to run when the bombs start going off. Check Burkina Faso out.
Son of Ghana 9 years ago
Kwakye o. You want us to die so that nana addo cannot jail you for you for create loot and share.
Last warrior 9 years ago
Ghanaians women must stay far away from these guys or they would make children which would give them stay after the2 years that's my concern
blackbarnes 9 years ago
ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
COURSES INCLUDE: ... read full comment
ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
COURSES INCLUDE:MASTER'S IN BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION,MASTERS DEGREE IN MARKETING AND COMMUNICATION,INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT,POLITICAL MARKETING,MASTERS DEGREE IN ARTS AND CULTURE MANAGEMENT,MASTERS IN E-HEALTH MANAGEMENT !!!Whatsapp number 0033760279067(its not a scam)
Yakubu Andani 9 years ago
We the Zongo boys will track them and kill them anytime we see them. We are prepared to kill them and be killed by Mahama and his people so that Ghanaians would be safe
zaro G 9 years ago
if do not take them back,and explain that because you people are not learned and did ot know the constitution off hand, you made a mistake,.massa, they can and will go back, I urge all Ghanaians to make here very hostile for them , they will beg us to send them back.
zaro G 9 years ago
NDC will sell Ghana oneday, I ll change my nationality very soon.People lets join and vote them out ,
AGBESI KWESI 9 years ago
“O you who have believed, do not ask about things which, if they are shown to you, will distress you….A people asked such before you; then they became thereby disbelievers.” (Qur’an 5:101-102)
Such a passage hardly ... read full comment
“O you who have believed, do not ask about things which, if they are shown to you, will distress you….A people asked such before you; then they became thereby disbelievers.” (Qur’an 5:101-102)
Such a passage hardly inculcates a spirit of free inquiry and intellectual curiosity. And this is the wave of the future: since the Western government and media elites are now dedicated to avoiding offending Muslims at all costs, and even asking theological questions can offend Muslims, we all just must accept the dictates of our new overlords without question. Wan Sulaiman Wan Ismail should have known better.
“For seeking answers on Islam, Muslim gets charged with blasphemy,” by Zurairi Ar, Malay Mail Online, May 29, 2015:
KUALA LUMPUR, May 29 — “I bear witness that there is no god but Allah,” is the first part of the shahadah, a declaration of faith for Muslims, which has its origins in a verse in the Quran.
“I bear witness that Muhammad is the messenger of God,” is the second part, but unlike the first, it does not appear in any of the holy scriptures.
So, where did it come from?
This was the question on the mind of Wan Sulaiman Wan Ismail, 53, when he sought clarification in 2013 from religious teachers on the origin of a practice considered as one of the key pillars of Islam.
The former businessman from Perak said he raised that question to several religious teachers, including scholars in the Ipoh mufti office, the Perak religious authorities and even state mosque imams. Many of these clerics, he said, were familiar with him as he met with them regularly for the past 15 years.
None, however, were able to answer him, so Wan Sulaiman stopped asking a year later.
But for seeking answers, Wan Sulaiman earned the attention of the Perak Islamic Religious Department (JAIP). He was summoned several times in 2014 by the authority, whose officers he claimed tried to dissuade him from posing his questions and to convince him to abandon several Quranic practices he has adopted.
The matter came to a head on January 21 this year when state religious enforcers raided his home in Ipoh and confiscated his handwritten personal notes, in addition to screening his personal computer and mobile phone.
On the same day, Wan Sulaiman was charged in the Ipoh Shariah High Court under Section 15 of the Perak Shariah Criminal Enactment 1992, with “mocking, ridiculing or insulting Quranic or hadith texts”.
According to a copy of his charge sheet sighted by Malay Mail Online, the Perak religious enforcers claimed that Wan Sulaiman possessed notes, some of which were hung on his wall, that allegedly “ridicule” the hadith — the collections of Prophet Muhammad’s sayings and deeds.
Wan Sulaiman, however, insisted that the notes were meant only for his personal use.
The prosecution also accused him of disputing authentic hadith for failing to interpret the Quran, and of rejecting the shahadah as taught by Muhammad by allegedly only accepting the first part.
He was also accused of translating the terms “fajar prayers” and “wusto prayers” by “using his own intellect without referring to the Prophet’s hadith”.
His case was set to be heard on May 21, but it was postponed to July 2. If guilty, Wan Sulaiman can be fined not more than RM5,000, jailed not more than three years, or both….
AGBESI KWESI 9 years ago
Opposition by some army chiefs to the bringing in of Gitmo Ex-detainees caused them to be sacked by Mahama. The only one among them who supported Mahama was retained and was able to secure his job since he is diabetic and needed money badly to buy daily doses of insulin.
Poison 9 years ago
Goebbel Kwakye Ofosu, you see how stupid the govt you always defend is? How can you sign a one-way contract like that? Stop defending this moribund govt.
NANA 9 years ago
SO THERE WAS AN AGREEMENT SIGNED!
GHANAIANS MUST KNOW THE DETAILS.
ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago
OUAGADOUGOU, Burkina Faso — Gunmen from Al Qaeda stormed a luxury hotel frequented by foreigners in Burkina Faso’s capital on Friday night, seizing hostages and killing others while fighting with dozens of security forces who began a counterattack hours later. It was Al Qaeda’s first major attack in this landlocked sub-Saharan country, a former French colony.
The attack, claimed by the Al Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb affiliate along with an allied militant group, was at least the fourth time in recent days that armed militants had ambushed unprotected civilians in cities around the world, hitting sites in Turkey, Egypt, Indonesia and Iraq with deadly assaults that underscored the vulnerabilities of soft targets that are difficult to defend.
Continue reading the main story
RELATED COVERAGE
Live Updates: Attack at Hotel in Burkina Faso's Capital
Many in Jakarta Seem to Shrug Off Terrorist AttackJAN. 15, 2016
Gains Against ISIS Bring More Deaths Elsewhere in IraqJAN. 15, 2016
Turkey Strikes Islamic State Targets in Retaliation for Istanbul BombingJAN. 14, 2016
Shabab Say They Overran African Union Base in Somalia, Killing DozensJAN. 15, 2016
News agencies quoted Burkina Faso’s interior minister, Simon Compaore, as saying Saturday morning that security forces had regained control of the Splendid Hotel in the capital, Ouagadougou, after killing at least three assailants and freeing 126 people. The death toll remained unclear, but hospital officials in Ouagadougou (pronounced waga-DOO-goo) had said that at least 20 people were dead.
Continue reading the main story
ALGERIA
MALI
NIGER
Bamako
Ouagadougou
BURKINA FASO
IVORY
COAST
NIGERIA
GHANA
CAMEROON
400 MILES
By The New York Times
Witnesses said the attack began when gunmen set off at least one explosion outside the hotel, leaving cars ablaze, and then moved inside and began taking hostages. Hours later in a statement released online, Al Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb said its fighters inside the hotel had killed 30 people, calling their operation “revenge against France and the disbelieving West,” according to a translation by the SITE Intelligence Group, which monitors jihadist media. It was impossible to immediately verify the death toll claim.
France, which maintains a military garrison in Burkina Faso, scrambled to respond to the siege, sending 30 of its soldiers to assist at least 40 from Burkina Faso’s military who massed outside the hotel. Witnesses reported that the forces began a counterassault to retake the hotel early Saturday. One witness, Olympia de Maismont, said that “several hostages had been freed” and that intermittent gunfire could be heard. Later, Rémis Dandjinou, Burkina Faso’s minister of communication, said that 63 people had been freed, 33 of whom had been wounded.
A Defense Department official in Washington said the French had requested surveillance and reconnaissance help from the American military, which has 75 personnel in Burkina Faso, mostly involved in training and advising as well as maintaining a drone base. The official, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, said one American military member was “providing advice and assistance” to French forces outside the hotel. No other American military personnel were believed to be directly involved.
Salif Ouedraogo, 28, an agent at the country’s international airport, who lives in an apartment above a nearby restaurant, said he saw the attack begin around 8 p.m. “I heard the first gunshots and so I went to the balcony,” he said. “I saw people who were shooting, and so I quickly got down and put myself on my stomach on the floor.”
“They set off an explosion and they opened fire on the people,” he added. “Then they began taking hostages.”
This is the second major attack on a hotel by Al Qaeda’s regional affiliate, known by the acronym AQIM, and another group led by the international terrorist Mokhtar Belmokhtar in less than two months. In November, the same jihadist organizations claimed responsibility for the attack on the Radisson Blu Hotel in Bamako, Mali’s capital.
Witnesses said members of the security forces arrived en masse later, prompting a gun battle. Witnesses said that three bodies could be seen in the Cafe Cappuccino, connected to the hotel. Some of the wounded were evacuated to Yalgado Ouédraogo hospita.
Photo
French officers tended to the wounded after militants attacked a hotel in Burkina Faso’s capital on Friday. Credit Nabila El Hadad/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images
Tahirou Barry, the culture minister, said in a telephone interview that the security forces had surrounded the hotel, and that witnesses said that four to six attackers were inside with hostages.
“There is a perimeter of at least 500 meters around it; no one can approach,” he said. “They are trying to help the hostages.”
“Once in a while we can hear shooting,” Mr. Barry added. “For the moment, we have no more details on the identity of the shooters, except for the fact that one witness affirmed that one of the assailants proclaimed the name of God — the name of Allah.”
An African airline safety group was holding a meeting at the hotel, and members of the organization, the Agency for Aerial Navigation Safety in Africa and Madagascar, were in the hotel when the attack began, said Moumouni Barro, a delegate to the meeting.
The nation’s security ministry declared an extended curfew for the night, and a nearby theater was evacuated in the middle of a performance, officials said.
The culture minister said that he could not confirm whether American or French forces were helping with the operation at the hotel, but he added, “It’s clear that we could not do this without our friends from abroad.”
The attack marked an expansion for Al Qaeda’s regional affiliate, which is mostly focused in Mali and Algeria and had staged only minor attacks along Burkina Faso’s border until now.
Photo
A Burkina Faso soldier near the Splendid Hotel, where an attack was continuing in Ouagadougou on Friday. Credit Ahmed Ouoba/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images
In a speech in December, an AQIM official addressed Muslims in the nation of Burkina Faso, calling upon them to participate in jihad. And on Friday, the group announced that it conducted the strike in cooperation with the group led by Mr. Belmokhtar, according to the SITE Intelligence Group, which monitors jihadist communications.
Andrew Lebovich, a specialist on political and security issues in the region, said the attack in Burkina Faso showed an evolution in the group’s tactical ability. In the hotel attack in Mali, he said, the attack was carried out only with automatic weapons and grenades. But initial reports said the attackers in Ouagadougou were more sophisticated.
“Their approach is somewhat evolving. If initial reports prove to be true, the Burkina attack involved at least two car bombs,” he said. “It shows a more sophisticated operational plan involving more serious weaponry.”
For years, Burkina Faso had seemed largely immune to the jihadist violence that plagued two of its neighbors, Mali and Niger. That changed in April last year, when a group that later pledged allegiance to the Islamic State burst into a manganese mine in the remote countryside and abducted a Romanian employee. A month later, an Islamic State affiliate based in the Sahara issued a statement saying it was holding the hostage and warning the Romanian government that it would be accountable if it failed to meet demands for his release.
In November, security forces in Burkina Faso arrested 13 people and seized bomb-making materials in the safe house the group was using in the western part of the country, near the border with Mali. Officials said the suspects were planning a “large-scale attack.”
Earlier on Friday, armed men attacked a police command post in the northern village of Tin Abao, killing an officer and a civilian and wounding two policemen, officials said. It was unclear whether the attacks were linked.
The violence struck after months of political turmoil in Burkina Faso.
The presidential vote in November was the country’s first competitive election in decades. About three million people cast ballots, many of them celebrating as they crowded into polling stations to choose Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, a former prime minister, as their leader.
Thibault Bluy reported from Ouagadougou, Dionne Searcey from Dakar, Senegal, and Rukmini Callimachi from New York. Hervé Taoko contributed reporting from Ouagadougou, Helene Cooper from Washington, and Rick Gladstone from New York.
Ohene 9 years ago
Ever since Donald Trump called for a ban of Muslims entering into the USA there have been countless of them being denied entry. Not all Muslims are terrorists. Americans do serious business with Muslims all over the world.
... read full comment
Ever since Donald Trump called for a ban of Muslims entering into the USA there have been countless of them being denied entry. Not all Muslims are terrorists. Americans do serious business with Muslims all over the world.
Why did they force Gitmos on Ghana? If they wouldn't admit even clean Muslims into America? John Mahama should be punished for his insubordination to the ethics of being a prez of Ghana.
MR Wu tang 9 years ago
GHANAIANS SHOULD NOT PLAY POLICTICS WITH GITMO DETTAINESS AT ALL I HAVE READ THRU THE WHOLE GHANAWEB THIS MORNING BUT NO POLICTIAN OR MEDIA FOLKS HAVE MENTION WHAT HAS HAPPEN IN BORKINA FASO BY THESE RADICAL EXTREMIST CALLED AQAIDA IN THE MARGREB OR WHATEVER THEY CALL THEMSELVES ALL WE NEED AS A COUNTRY IS TO KEEP AN OPEN EYE ON THESE TWO GUYS FOR THEM NOT TO INTERGRATE MUCH DEEP INTO OUR SOCIETY TO BRAINWASH SOME OF OUR MUSILEM BROTHER AND SISTER TO BE RADICALISED. FINALLY WE SHOULD NOT TURN THIS TO BE CHRISTIANS AGAIST MUSLEMS BCOS WE HAVE COEXISTED FOR GENERATIONS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS.THE ZONGO AREAS ARE MIXED FOR BOTH RELEGIONS WE INTER MARRY EACH OTHER SO LET THERE BE PEACE THANK EVERONE!
ZoRRo 9 years ago
The only reason why the terrorists cannot be returned is that the president Mahama has already spent the dollars given to him, so he has no money to make the refund. In America you can always return something when you don't like it.
GREED 9 years ago
See what is Happening in Burkina Faso
All you had to say was no ! 9 years ago
You no your leaders don't really listen to what you want especially when monies involved now your worried about american tourist who pose no threat after your leader willingly accepted without your consent/blessings prove your distrust for americans get your honest good & kind hardworking ghanians out of not only america but all westernized europeans countries prove you are ready to forsake their MONEY that they swear you will sell your mammas soul lusting over !
shakamoray33 9 years ago
Ooh small boy he doesnt know anything
Asempanaye 9 years ago
You ar d a fool . Took Belle
All you had to say was no ! 9 years ago
And further more you acting like you the obly country on the african continen thats taking releases from this cuban based prison many have are & will continue taking all accept for your susposed new found serpents in action for friends...amerikkkkkkkkkkkkk
Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago
Even treaties can be abrogated.
Mahama and his no-nothing political nymphs must go!!.
Kwaku Acpoli 9 years ago
Will Ghana not face any costs, however insignificant? "Talk-talk no good ooooo." Keep the secret security before the bottle is finally broken.
Akwasi Nyame Adom 9 years ago
You're going to face the music of justice sooner than later. They lack respect because they are all evil and criminal crooks.
KPOVI 9 years ago
NONSENSE FOOLS OFOSU KWAKYE,REMEMBER WHAT JUST HAPPEN IN BOKINA FASO.
barimah sei ,USA. 9 years ago
No sense.
No sense.
barimah sei ,USA. 9 years ago
Think twice!
Joe Turkey 9 years ago
Stupid idiots. Just wait until you see them sneaked out just the way they were sneaked in.
K.K. 9 years ago
So many people are making too many unwittingly mistakes - ambassadors, ministers, electoral commissioners, politicians and a whole lot. Signs that the world is coming to an end.
Whatever 9 years ago
NPP have no conscience in them. Ghana has long tradition of helping nations and would help individuals. This is the heart of Ghana
Point 9 years ago
So Ghana just signed a humanitarian agreement with the US.And the agreement says the two have to stay in Ghana for two years and can't be sent back. You tie our hands for two years on humanitarian grounds without you giving us some money. Please tell us how much the US gave you as chop chop money.
Pee 9 years ago
This don't sound right: kids idea Ghana next to what's happening at Nigeria north. Any moment terrorism sign in Ghana now, who will be blame and NDC will not have any answer.
obiba 9 years ago
No Problem after 2016 election all ghanaians are going to a big action against the two stupid guys or Mahama is going to die for them. stupid Mahama and all his family are Idiot.
DEPORT THEM AND STOP THE FOOLISH TALK
1. PRES MAHAMA WENT TO UK & SIGNED AN AGREEMENT WITH THE HOME SEC FOR DEPORTATION OF HARDWORKING GHANAIAN MIGRANTS IN EXCHANGE FOR MONEY. 2. PRESIDENT MAHAMA AGREED WITH A FOREIGN PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY TO BRING EBOLA TO GHAN ...
WHERE WERE YOU WHEN ONE NIGERIAN TERRORIST PASSED THROUH YOUR BIG-EYES AT KOTOKA AIRPORT,in attempt to bomb a foriegn plane;and only to be arrested in ...
and looting of our scares resouces.. No wonder Prez Rawlings said, over 60 percent of robbers and thieves are in ur Gov. ...
It is always said that an average Arab is worse than an infidel. Arabs always look for soft spots to loot and cheat and they have found a perfect partner in the Mahama Looting Dynasty. Kwabena Donkor was only used as a tool t ...
Ghana belongs to the Akans and Africa to the Africans,not Arabs ,Lebanese , Islam or any other occupational retrogressive ,corrupt forces. JJ's fake revolution was nothing but a war against the Akans camouflaged by politics o ...
There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum ...
This agreement means that the two are still detainees and cannot leave Ghana for two years. This is illegal. It means that Ghana is now an extension of Guantanamo. Ghana is keeping these two against their will. They should be ...
Shameful Ghanains
princewilly@ymail.com ,they didnt give you any of the money they stole and yet you still zealosly fight and insult people for them , you a real idiot. sorry ass sod who is blinded by hegemony/tribalism like you is all the pro ...
HANNAH TETTEH CLAIMS USA FAILED TO DISCLOSE THE TRUE RISK LEVEL OF THE TERRORISTS TO GHANA AS REVEALED ON WIKILEAKS. IN LAW NON DISCLOSURE OF FACTS WHICH CAN AFFECT DECISION MAKING IN CONTRACTS MAKES THE CONTRACT NULL & VOID. ...
WE RECRUITED, EMPLOYED AND PAY THESE SECURITY OFFICIALS NOT BECAUSE WE ANTICIPATED IMPORTED TERRORIST WILLINGLY TO GHANA. BY DIVERTING THEM FROM THIER CORE DUTIES YOU HAVE DEPRIVED GHANA OF LESSER PERSONAL TO COMBAT ARM ROBBE ...
Indiscreet and insensitive statements like this by a person who has been appointed to head the EC by a govt whose stay in power was largely determined by either the dishonesty or incompetence of Afari-Gy ...
ANY DEAL CAN BE UNDONE...they can be returned but maama has to pay back all the monies he took from obama. Apart from DON QUIXOTE who else was involved or consulted on this deal....both foreign and interior ministers are tire ...
I AM APPEALING TO THE PEACE COUNCIL , CHRISTIAN COUNCIL, MUSLIM COUNCIL AND THE SO CALLED COUNCIL OF STATE TO CONSIDER THIS SIMPLE SCENARIO AND MAKE A JUDGEMENT!! --- IMAGINE WE ARE ...
3) he could not perfo ...
1.product of mankalanta.
Unemplyment Is Caused By Sada Thievery....Dumsor Is Caused By Lack Of Money Due To Rlg/Zoomlion Thievery.......Failed NHIS Is Due To 2012 Overexpenditure To The Tune Of 8.7 Bn Ghc Thievery To Win Elections ...
As far as I am concerned these 2 suspected terrorists are undesirable aliens that need to be deported. If no other country can be found for them NASA can send them up to Space for all ...
A man walked into a curio shop and began to browse. He was attracted to a brass rat on a shelf behind the counter. He asked the shopkeeper for a price, and was told to make an offer. Presently they agreed on a price, and the ...
Kwadwo Kwakye is another foolish stooge of the NDC government. If the two ex Gitmo detainees cannot be returned it will be suitable to retain them in his house.President Mahama does not take wise people in his government who ...
Mahama and Hannah were only interested in the monies for up keep of the two inmates. How much did the US government gave out to Ghana? Mahama and Hannah Tetteh must answer. Who is keeping the monies for their up keep in Ghana ...
Government has not adequately given the people of Ghana convincing reasons to support why they signed the deal to bring the two suspected Yemenis to Ghana. The US 911 ordeal which took about 2000 lives on the spot is not an e ...
I always hear everybody saying alleged and not guilty until proven guilty. This Guantanamo Prisoners have spend 14 years in jail just by accusations so were technicly on remand and have never been to trail. So since NPP lawye ...
President Mahama answers to questions clearly demonstrates his senseless and immaturity. "I am like a dead goat", Y3n fii obiara", mede sika k)k)) y3 coal tar Kumasifo ani ns)"listen to his recent responses to the two ex Gitm ...
You and ndc have brought terror to Ghana and you just sit there and talk like fools. You do not love your people. You are just create loot and share. You probably have a mansion in florida ready to run when the bombs start go ...
COURSES INCLUDE: ...
if do not take them back,and explain that because you people are not learned and did ot know the constitution off hand, you made a mistake,.massa, they can and will go back, I urge all Ghanaians to make here very hostile for ...
Such a passage hardly ...
Opposition by some army chiefs to the bringing in of Gitmo Ex-detainees caused them to be sacked by Mahama. The only one among them who supported Mahama was retained and was able to secure his job since he is diabetic and nee ...
OUAGADOUGOU, Burkina Faso — Gunmen from Al Qaeda stormed a luxury hotel frequented by foreigners in Burkina Faso’s capital on Friday night, seizing hostages and killing others while fighting with dozens of security forces ...
GHANAIANS SHOULD NOT PLAY POLICTICS WITH GITMO DETTAINESS AT ALL I HAVE READ THRU THE WHOLE GHANAWEB THIS MORNING BUT NO POLICTIAN OR MEDIA FOLKS HAVE MENTION WHAT HAS HAPPEN IN BORKINA FASO BY THESE RADICAL EXTREMIST CALLED ...
The only reason why the terrorists cannot be returned is that the president Mahama has already spent the dollars given to him, so he has no money to make the refund. In America you can always return something when you don't l ...
You no your leaders don't really listen to what you want especially when monies involved now your worried about american tourist who pose no threat after your leader willingly accepted without your consent/blessings prove you ...
And further more you acting like you the obly country on the african continen thats taking releases from this cuban based prison many have are & will continue taking all accept for your susposed new found serpents in action f ...
No sense.
Think twice!
So Ghana just signed a humanitarian agreement with the US.And the agreement says the two have to stay in Ghana for two years and can't be sent back. You tie our hands for two years on humanitarian grounds without you giving ...