You are here: HomeNews2016 01 15Article 407782

Ex-Gitmo Two: Ghana to cover part of cost – US reveals

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Joan Opoku 8 years ago

and so what

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER,,,, 8 years ago

THAN THIS TWO GUYS,,WE HAVE ARMED ROBBERS, LOOTING POLITICIANS AND RAPIST JUST TO MENTION, THAT WE SHOULD BE WORRIED ABOUT,,LET'S TEACH THIS TWO GUYS HOW TO LOVE AND SHOW THEM THE VALUE OF LIFE.I PROMISE,THEY'LL GO HOME WITH ...

• Kwankwa 8 years ago

Pastor, I think the US can teach them better life qualities than what Ghana could teach them. The question is why should these Arabian ex convicts be sent to Ghana, non-Arabian country when there are several good Arabian coun ...

• OYOKOBA 8 years ago

Folks,

We are witnessing a national embarrassment. In John Mahama we find an individual whose natural bend is always to shade the truth or sex up lies. John Mahama is just disgraceful, the diplomatic community must be laugh ...

• WISE-TALK,UK 8 years ago

ghana women are more dangerous that this 2 innocents men from GITMO,oya!! ghana women una turn now,thats una new year cake.

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

1. BOMBINGS IN TURKEY, INDONESIA ETC THE LAST FEW DAYS. ASK URSELF WHY THESE ARE HAPPENING. GH WILL BE NEXT. Mahama inviting Guantanamo prison abodamfuo to gh in return for imf loan reductions. MUSLIMS ARE VERY WICKED. ASK AN ...

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

This morning, American Embassy Officials came out to correct false information they claim they have given out there but in trying to protect Ofosu Kwakye, they have even worsen their case by making all their harmless claims a ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-APONKYE....
    What business do have getting involved in Guantanamo detainees? As if that was not bad enough, we are opening our doors to Syraian refugees! And Kwakte is saying he was on top of things?

Let's not i ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Ghana belongs to the Akans and Africa to the Africans,not Arabs ,Lebanese , Islam or any other occupational retrogressive ,corrupt forces. JJ's fake revolution was nothing but a war against the Akans camouflaged by politics o ...

• daladam 8 years ago

THIS IS THE GREAT DEAL MAHAMA AND DUMMEY HANNA TETTH DID FOR GHANA WE TAKE IN KILLERS AND WE PAY FOR IT
    IF THAT IS NOT BOTRAYING GHANA AND TREASON IDONT KNOW WHAT IS

• JEFF ANKOMA 8 years ago

“It was a direct request from the US to my government. We have been allies to the US for a year, it didn’t start today…

Ah ! I thought Ghana was non-aligned.Since when did Ghana become an ally with the WEST ? I would ...

WHY DID MAHAMA REFUSE THE CHIMPAZEES IN 1998?
    Author:-MR OBJECTIVE....
    WHERE WERE YOU WHEN ONE NIGERIAN TERRORIST PASSED THROUH YOUR BIG-EYES AT KOTOKA AIRPORT,in attempt to bomb a foriegn plane;and only to be arrested in ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 8 years ago

FOR ALL YOU KNOW, JOHN MAHAMA HAS ALSO BEEN PROMISED THE GITMO DETAINEES, FOUR GHANA WOMEN EACH TO MARRY, TO MAKE THEIR STAY PERMANENT.

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER,,,, 8 years ago

BUT WHAT WE ABOUT IT,,CAN WE SEND THEM BACK,,,LET'S CREATE SOMETHING GOOD OUT THIS BAD MOVE BY OUR GOVERNMENT.

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33)....
    I AM APPEALING TO THE PEACE COUNCIL , CHRISTIAN COUNCIL, MUSLIM COUNCIL AND THE SO CALLED COUNCIL OF STATE TO CONSIDER THIS SIMPLE SCENARIO AND MAKE A JUDGEMENT!! --- IMAGINE WE ARE ...

• asana 8 years ago

US IS FULL OF MESS, THAT IS WHY THESE GUYS WERE WRONGLY ARRESTED. GHANA CAN DO HUMANITARIAN FAR BETTER THAN US. GHANA DO NOT GO FOR SUSPECTS JUST LIKE THAT.

• kwame USA 8 years ago

We have also many hungry people to cater for.If you are talking from that compassion then they should release Ataa Ayi and co to show our compassion to our own people first.These are are hardened terrorists you no that.Same 2 ...

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Stupid woman with a stinking pussy.

• Foolish maham 8 years ago

Why on earth should Ghana pay for US mess?
    Mahama is a fool

• Kweku Nyametsease Williams, Californi 8 years ago

One Word- INSANITY

• chief 8 years ago

this is an open secret Mahama has failed and as a floating voter who voted for him in 2012,i have changed my mind.

• Canada 8 years ago

Why don't you keep them in your room

• 21st century 8 years ago

maybe he's got a room
    how about you ?
    you share a room with your 5 siblings
    they're not coming to your village

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

I was sitting at a stop light this morning. The lady in front of me was going through papers on the seat of her car, and when the light changed to green she did not obey its command. You know, a green light is a commandment - ...

• lordavot 8 years ago

Does out President think we are that stupid or ignorant which one to be lying to us about not taking money from the US government to accept these criminals? Why? why can't they go back to their country of origin but Ghana of ...

• Eddie 8 years ago

Ghanaians has to come down this is not about Christians or Muslims is about human feeling to give someone home is a big blessing what is the meaning of Akwaba big sign at your Kotoka International Airport

• Kwabena Hannover 8 years ago

After being an incompetent and likely to lose the election. The NDC and Mahama are trying to play the Religious and Tribal Card hence the importation of these two men.
    They surely knew it will bring divisions among the major ...

• Musah 8 years ago

Do not be stupid.Why should the govt.spend on these gentlemen whiles many families are unable to feed themselves....Infact Ghana to been rule by DOG

• Africanus 8 years ago

If Americans thought keeping the two will bring blessings they wouldn't have sent them to Ghana. Mahama is simply a fool. He does not know what he is doing.

• Odifour Asare 8 years ago

It's a ghanaian culture to take care of visitors. They would soon leave. Feed a stranger and God will bless your land.

• Africa 8 years ago

Ghana us a poor country and many development's are needed which requires money, many families are struggling due to unemployment but our government has many to spend on foreigners? We are all to be blame for many reasons, sh ...

• Hatia Uk 8 years ago

Well said and Allah will bless u

• kwasilo 8 years ago

Strangers but not terrorist and murderers who kills without mercy. These mutherfuckerz needs to go to their country

• slimmart1 8 years ago

They aren't visitors. They are terrorists!!! Stop mentioning God coz these people murder in the name of God/Allah. Their own country and neighbors don't want them. What don't you understand?

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

They say charity begins at home. What have we done as a nation to take care of our own children who sleep on the streets? If you are a Christian, the Bible says if you dont take care of your own, you are worse than an unbelie ...

• kkbk 8 years ago

wat den hapns to N.A.M

• Esi 8 years ago

What nonsense is this? Is Ghana a first world country with the infrastructure and ability to maintain the costs of having these terrorists live among our people? Even the U.S had them held in an area away from the country its ...

• Kweku Nyametsease Williams, Californi 8 years ago

When a dog bites a dog, there is no blood. They were quarantined by the Americans, Mr. President send them to the north where their likes live.(Aboa)

• Crackadoodledooooo 8 years ago

I am confused. These two persons are no risk yet the USA will not allow them to remain in the USA. These two persons are no risk yet their countries of origin will not allow them to be returned there. Ghana being more superio ...

• A proud Northerner 8 years ago

well said.

• A proud Northerner 8 years ago

I am equally confused.

• mr amin. 8 years ago

Vote the ndc out nov 7 n save Ghana.

• truth 8 years ago

So after independence still? Guys stop matching ever 6th March. Is useless expectically in 100 degrees temperature.

• Canada 8 years ago

Good Man U are right

• Ike London 8 years ago

Ndc and lies. Vote against them.

• Kbena 8 years ago

After being an incompetent and likely to lose the election. The NDC and Mahama are trying to play the Religious and Tribal Card hence the importation of these two men.
    They surely knew it will bring divisions among the major ...

• Nana 8 years ago

This is garbage! There is something wrong here someone is not telling the truth here!

• Kweks 8 years ago

Pres JM please keep on with your good work. We support your decision. If terrorists want to attack Ghanaians there are so many willing Ghanaians to use not these ones who are being strictly monitored. If US is paying for hous ...

• Crackadoodledooooo 8 years ago

You are right after all AGOA used to stand for Africa Growth and Opportunities Act but now it if Africa Guantanamo Opportunities Act.

• TL 8 years ago

We will show these two lads much love as we work to keep them healthy so they can complain and hire lawyers to rob the state with expensive hearings and demands. They hate Mother Ghana.

• kwame USA 8 years ago

You motherfucker hungry man.Read international news .2 ex Gitmo guys were arrested in Belgium yesterday. You illiterate assholes you just open the web and start throwing your brainless trash.

• Jaani 8 years ago

This goes to show the kind of people governing our country.Liars and Looters!!!

• Sam 8 years ago

Akwaaba does not mean Ghana should be a den of criminals where all global criminals be entertained. If Ghana is carrying a burden of python on her head is it not more cumbersome to use a black cobra as a headgear.If the crimi ...

• Agyei- Sunyani. 8 years ago

The two ex-Guantanamo Bay inmates in Ghana may pose a greater risk to the country ONLY when we turn them away now. Why? Because they may feel derided, rejected and humiliated and may want to take a bitter revenge on us. As at ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

Ei Felix Ofosu Kwakye the liar.

• AGBOTA KORKU 8 years ago

LOOK AT THIS,GHANA NURSING IS SUFFERING,BUS BRANDING,LOW WAGES,YOUTH UNEMPLOYMENT,AND MORE AND YOU PAYING FOR GITMO JUST BECAUSE OF POLITICAL GAINS FROM THE NORTHERNERS.HMMM WE LEAVE TO SEE

• oman ba 8 years ago

We don't want them period. Stop talking rubbish and take them USA.

• christian 8 years ago

This is not good from the government side a country like ghana with class 1 security dont need these guys,Why america did not send them to europe where they have better security?

• Kowkum 8 years ago

Why do you think the white man is stupid to do something for Africa without getting any benefits?

• Aduomi 8 years ago

Cam some one tell me the reason why the U.S is not keeping them in their country but ghana

• spaceman 8 years ago

fool fool fool
    keep quiet and stop talking nonsense
    dont talk at all because u speaks nonsense

• Alex 8 years ago

Mahama use money to change our peace,Ghana should very very careful you take decision by you own, because how we our things we are going to Surfer.

• long John 8 years ago

luk at all this buu shit oh Ghana God help us all

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 8 years ago

These two ex-gitmo detainess are welcomed as our guests, but to say that we have a shared resposibility for their feeding and other incidentals as being alluded by the US officials in Accra,show that Mahama's NDC govt will do ...

• Abdulai Prince 8 years ago

U S never done something without profit but as our president is behind them no fzs . Mahama love Ghana and he will not let's down.

• Omanba 8 years ago

This is unacceptable, how many ex-convites in this country have been helped by the governments of this nation before? People are suffering in this country and some idiotic waist of our resources by the government. Mahama must ...

• Pure water seller 8 years ago

Are these their current faces or they have shaved clean?

• Pito Brewer 8 years ago

If they are shaved clean, they could walk around without notice. But if they are to appear at Accra Mall looking like this, hmmmm... kaa kaa motobi, both children and adults will show clean heels including myself.

• Nana B 8 years ago

Lols

• Yaw 8 years ago

Not only should this lunatic toxic and serial liar Ofosu Kwakye be forced to resign whatever position he holds in this limping and disgraceful government but be banned from holding any public office in this country forever du ...

• Jah Jah 8 years ago

The Government of Ghana received no money to house two suspected terrorists who were arrested and detained for approximately 14 years and to add insult to injury this Same government now must pay part of the maintaince cost t ...

• David 8 years ago

The salaries of security personnel and cleaners are all contributions!

• Ablavi 8 years ago

Hmmmmm mahama, no aim, no vision

• Jonah 8 years ago

it is so unfortunate for president to do this without Ghanaians notice. and he is talking of compassion. why didn't we show such compassion to
    Ghanaian presioness? .

• issah elias 8 years ago

JM no what he is doing, if only u tink u are not going to Vote 4 him Bcos of dis, i tink i will do so. My brother or Sister u and i no that de dis Good people were Fighting 4 de Weston World, De US tot they are de Better peop ...

• Koku 8 years ago

Issah Elieas, your english stinks seriously better get some education instead... these illiterates are some of the reasons Ghana is retrogressing

• Alexander Kwabena opoku 8 years ago

ghanaian are too coward more than 27 million people is fear this two unarmed persons

• slimmart1 8 years ago

Yes, moron... The same way the USA with population of over 350 million fears the two. Why do you think the USA isn't keeping them there? Do we have better security than the USA? Maybe, you can't think through big issues. That ...

• Abu Sule Dumi 8 years ago

It is painful to help the U.S in the two Ex-Gotimo detainees,have u ever ask yourself how or who funded the construction of N1 road.Think deep n stop the noise.

• NOTHERN GHANA 8 years ago

Dumsor Dumsor,collapse of NHIS,Free fall of the cedi coupled with corruption,daylight robbery,thievery
    and looting of our scares resouces.. No wonder Prez Rawlings said, over 60 percent of robbers and thieves are in ur Gov. ...

• ABDUL MAJEED 8 years ago

PLEASE LETS FOCUS ON CAMPAIGNING AND GETTING TO THE GLASS ROOT, NO MORE COMMENTS ON GITMO.GITMO IS FOR DIVISION AMONG RELIGIONS SO WE SHOULD STOP FROM TODAY COMMENTING ON GITMO

• kwasilo 8 years ago

Campaigning bro????? Nah Gitmo far outweigh anything. We can't afford to walk around in fear of getting bombed by these people whose aims are to kill none muslims and muslims who do not entertain their agenda. This is a natio ...

• esenam 8 years ago

i think mahama n co want us to die rty look if anything happen ,maham n de ministers they will travel n leave us in de country to suffer and back to dis issue wat impact will dis people bring to our country n y did ghana ...

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

Opposition by some army chiefs to the bringing in of Gitmo Ex-detainees caused them to be sacked by Mahama. The only one among them who supported Mahama was retained and was able to secure his job since he is diabetic and nee ...

• Shaft 8 years ago

Ghana can't cover even the footwear these guy will wear much more any cost. Ghana can't afford to sort out the lights.cant pay staff, can't manage the school feeding program, can't enrol student nurses, student teachers just ...

• charles k nyarko aburam 8 years ago

we are being ruled by a group of liers

• Freddie 8 years ago

JM, tell us why ghana is covering part of the cost ?

• Arturo Vidal 8 years ago

Bt i really dnt see y some of our pupil surport dis act.bt is really funny,any tin dat happen in dis country we are all inside and God will let dose who surport it will suffer more.d is no sense of dis.

• Arturo Vidal 8 years ago

D question is y ghana?our leaders are sooo wicked,day dnt tink abt us only der selfish interest.day will die first if day want us to die or sale dis peaceful country 4 money.

• star 8 years ago

Mr President please since you have the best security in the country, I beg you oooooo. Why do you not keep them in your house so that Ghanaians can sleep peacefully.

• KWASHIE ADJAH 8 years ago

FOR ALL YOU KNOW, JOHN MAHAMA HAS ALSO PROMISED THE GITMO DETAINEES, FOUR GHANA WOMEN EACH TO MARRY, TO MAKE THEIR STAY PERMANENT.

• Kwaku-playza 8 years ago

Ghana paaaa'why?word has came to the end, this two peoples can bring controversy to hole word.you lesbelt

• james asamiah 8 years ago

Nonsense paa this ah Mahama

• wiias 8 years ago

K-ILL D-EM

• JIM MURRAY, TEXAS USA 8 years ago

If you make mistake of rejecting them, we will punish everybody in Ghana. Period.We have spoken.

• diako 8 years ago

Why should Ghana spend tax payers money on individuals who main aim is to destroy fellow human being.A group of people who always drink, eat, sleep, walk and dress evil

• Whatever 8 years ago

I'm happy that the Ghana Government is showing responsibility in helping close down Guantanamo Bay

• NOBODY 8 years ago

The Ghanaian public and Parliament should demand an immediate rescinding of the worthless agreement between the Ghana government and the USA, an agreement that has made Ghana a dumping ground for America's unwanted detaineees ...

• Nana 8 years ago

There is no one on earth as stupid as our own foolish and incompetent and useless mahama who reveals nothing but weak and wicked mind of african presidents. Stupod fool, mahama

• Collins Anim 8 years ago

stupid country that cant even produce electricity arguing over this? we are a very stupid people. we be shut up before we our annoy the usa, our biggest donor. until we can get on our own feet, we must learn to shut up and be ...

• you 8 years ago

thus GH for u

• A G lor 8 years ago

mahama is distroyer satan downfaller of nation Ghana to accept these wicked people . see what is going on in some countries like libya syria and the others Ghanaians vote mahama out