You are here: HomeNews2016 01 12Article 406953

‘It’s an error for Mahama to reward Koala driver’

Read Comments Comments (245)

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Remi 8 years ago

I agree with you Lawyer Asare 200%. The good gesture by the police to reward him with the car should've been enough.

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• Mr Shortman 8 years ago

Some people are fools so they dont know their riggts from wrongs therefore they feel everybody is as foolish as they are. Blay and Afoko .who is a bona fide member of npp?

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

MP KENNEDY AGYAPONG DESERVES A PRESIDENTIAL AWARD FOR CATCHING NDC THIEVES WAYOME & IBRAHIM MAHAMA AFTER THEY LOOTED $52 MILLION DOLLARS & GOVT TRACTORS/EQUIPMENTS RESPECTIVELY

Author:-BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, T ...

• DD-USA 8 years ago

Dr Truth, I strongly agree with you.

• Aduiieba Mohammed 8 years ago

what of AMIDU and others? j.j the chief of thieves is quite on them-right.and that incompetent Mahama has to carry out the others J.J without thinking thro'.In all this,it is the JUDGE who would handle the Robbers case has to ...

• Grace Agyepong 8 years ago

Thank you Mr. President for rewarding the taxi driver. At least we know that there are some good people out there. People would emulate this kind gesture. Look the man sacrifice with his life. Taxi driver you deserve the hou ...

• James 8 years ago

Please forget this

• Tatale 8 years ago

Some of these foreign based Ghanaians are just simply weird. They dont seem to know their left from their right. This man who calls himself a professor of sorts says there are prescribed methods for arresting murderers? What ...

• jumbo 8 years ago

NPP half-backed layers and their wild mouth politicians would defend even "Satan himself" all in the Name of freedom but when their own People are Held to the litmus test,they fail so misrebly.Enough of your hyprocracy.

Pr ...

• Agya Yaw 8 years ago

Kwasea. Has he paid the $6.5 his wife was paid for supplies for bui dam which she never honored? " Kara wo de3 so".

• Eric Owusu Afriyie 8 years ago

Mr.keny well done,try to advance the securities in the country tracking all the thief so that there wontbe any afraid to my consultants to put in money.please dont think of the hypocicyzie

• intelligent npp 8 years ago

u r right my bro

• Jake 8 years ago

Thankless hearts shall receive nothing. You guys are just jealous, the President has done the right thing. As God blesses him, God would continue disgracing the opposition NPP

Author:-OFOSUAA....
    HIGHEST TAXES, HIGHEST LOANS, HIGHEST REVENUES, INFLUX OF CRUDE OIL MONIES YET NDC HAS MANAGED TO DESTROY GHANA .....JESUS CHRIST THIS IS THE MOST USELESS GOVT EVER IN AFRICA AND THE WHOLE WORLD

• Stere 8 years ago

We see them all long time

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

I listened to the interview with the taxi driver on Joy tv news last night and was horrified by what he said. According him, he decided to kill the armed robbers with his taxi when he became aware of what they had done. If th ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

Kofi,

You and Prof. Asare do not have to comment on everything.

What law makes it a criminal act to intervene in a potential felony-murder?

Instead of viewing the law in abstract form, always put it in the context of ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

Dr SAS, happy 2016, though the year is now of age. I hope you are keeping well. You have been missing on Ghanaweb for some time, so welcome back. Perhaps, you have been very busy with work.

Yes, the circumstances are relev ...

To your question, the answer is yes.

A fleeing felon, if he poses a danger to life and limb, could be killed for free.

What is more, if while chasing him, another gets killed, he is the one liable for the murder, not th ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

First of all the professor is a lawyer but not a Law professor as this Radio station want us to believe.
    Even here in the US there are many police videos in which private people rammed their vehicles to fleeing criminals to ...

• Amanaman 8 years ago

If any of you happen to find yourself in the scene of armed robbery attack, you would appreciate the effort of this taxi drive. Armed robbers stop acting like humans when they are on a mission to rob. They kill at will. May b ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 8 years ago

Dear Sir,
    The Professor brought up a point in his argument which no one has attempted to address in the counter arguments. He said the government is rewarding the taxi driver because he witnessed what he considered a felony ...

The Taxi driver will still be a hero, although now a martyr. And the criminals will then be liable for the death of the taxi driver. This principle undergirds what is known in law as felony- murder.

A fleeing felon is resp ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 8 years ago

Thank you

• perii 8 years ago

YOU Are Right

• jumbo 8 years ago

Read the article carefully.According to the Piece,the arm Robbers were still firing even after been knocked down.That alone would have alerted the articulator Driver who the real culprit was in that Scenario.

• Nana Appiah 8 years ago

Situation, environment-Culture and people should be taken into account when talking Law, You people should not import your western Cultured Law into Ghana, You people would be stupid to assume Ghana is all of a sudden like UK ...

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

You are rather stupid to insult some one because they reson differewntly from you.

• Soomui 8 years ago

Mr Cambridge man, you mean you do not know why Dr SAS has been missing in action recently?

There are two possible reasons which I will share with you.

The first is that nobody has written anything about Kwame Nkrumah of ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 8 years ago

Kofi, you just repeated what Dr. SAS advised against. 'Do not look at the law in abstract' Assess what has happen and not the what if(s).

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

Are you related to any of the robbers?

• kululu 8 years ago

may be kofi, you should have added to your comments that the driver should have quietly pass by the incident and pretend to have noticed nothing. thanks to God, these armed robbers dont attack book-long people like you.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Kofi,

I wholesomely agree with you. Let the money be used to renovate and equip a school in his home town or suburb, with a plaque commemorating his "bravery" and "patriotism"; not his murderous intent. If he is not the t ...

• jumbo 8 years ago

Kofi do you agree with me that this guy could have been enlisted in a Police Service in an advance Country?The reason is simple.This guy has the zeal,sharp mind,good intuition and above all the Courage.

You and I would hav ...

• &&**WAR BEGINS 8 years ago

RUNNING YOUR CAR INTO SOME ANOTHER ROAD USER IS A CRIME.

very simplistic. Pure envy of the driver's fortunes. You forgot he risked being killed by the robbers for his actions. Ever heard of citizen's arrest? I guess that too should be illegal.

• KWAA 8 years ago

As much as the Cab Driver showed civil courage by thwarting this robbery,(he has been very selfless,our politicians can learn from him)thereby risking his own life,does he really deserved a house?What about Our gallant Polic ...

Author:-OBAA YAA....
    Good deeds deserve a big push while incompetency deserves a change.
    Koku, why should the international community continue to waste their resources on sorry a** regime like one in power right now?

• Arimiyau 8 years ago

My broda u ve gotten it wrong. A taxi driver is different is not a policeman but can assist in fightn crime. Why do u think de president shd reward de police instead. For ur info everyone has a profession n is paid to dat eff ...

• Ash 8 years ago

@Aromyau .. Well said
    Police are paid for their service

• Mandee.dav 8 years ago

Mr old soldier don't use ur political selfishness to divert stories.
    Comment on wats at hand

• Amanaman 8 years ago

By what this man have just said, it means when you chanced on armed robbery, Just get out and walk majestically according to law, and simply ask them @Oh my friends, what you are doing is not good. Stop it! Don't shoot her ag ...

Author:-ADANKO....MAHAMA's PICTURE ON THE BUSES.....
    Don't go far to punish an innocent person. Mahama is the brain behind it.Asiedu Nketia brought the idea and supported byNDC national council. It is a way to get money for ...

• Efo Kokuvi 8 years ago

This Asare guy should stay wherever he is and stop opening his smelly mouth. Next time he is in Ghana and he is shot by armed robbers whiles I am there, Ill ask him whether I should drive my car into them or watch them go

• ns3m foo ahi 8 years ago

thank you

Author:-Efo...
    My biggest fear in MAHAMA's reshuffling is the potential for more judgement debt payments. My fear is that the new ministers would end up cancelling contracts signed by their predecessors, leaving poor Ghana ...

• Mensah Pee 8 years ago

Voalaaaa. Good thinking

• CT boy 8 years ago

You don't understand what you are saying.
    Ghanaians need to grow and stop that village attitudes.

• Dom 8 years ago

Masa forget about that guy. He is only seeking cheap popularity

• Steve 8 years ago

Good

• DAGARA 8 years ago

I like ur comments. Everybody is now claiming his direct book law without wisdom. His logic cannot work here

• Paulp 8 years ago

Talk is cheap. If the President had not done anything, this same man would have condemned him.

• Karass 8 years ago

U are right my brother,it is is always like that.they dont see any thing good from the President

• Enough is Enough 8 years ago

Pulp, you are perfectly right for that useless man Asare will never ever see anything good done by the president John Dramani Manama Asare can go burn the sea

• Amidini 8 years ago

The taxi driver deserve award from the state but not a house

• Macho 8 years ago

Karat na ka bio. Say it again

• KWASHIE ADJAH 8 years ago

THIS IS A GOVERNMENT SINKING FAST UNDER THE WEIGHT OF ITS OWN CORRUPTION AND INCOMPETENCE, HENCE THE STRUGGLE BY JOHN MAHAMA TO FIND ANYTHING TO MAKE IT LOOK GOOD IN THE EYES OF THE LONGSUFFERING GHANAIAN VOTERS IN THIS ELECT ...

• Woooow 8 years ago

I would kindly like the so called professor to report one thing Mahama has done in Ghana? Shame unto you.

• Ebibiman 8 years ago

He deserves everything he's getting just play ur part.
    Just hunt for armed robbers u will get a house and a V8 as well.

• ns3m foo ahi 8 years ago

If you are a professor and cannot build a house why do you get jealous of the reward of a blessed taxi driver ?Won't you be corrupt if given public portfolio? Ghana is really breeding quack professors.

• Makthum 8 years ago

This so called professor is a goat paa,I hv never seen a human character like him.

• bs 8 years ago

You are very very stopped

• NOTHERN GHANA 8 years ago

How can u renovate arrival hall of
    KIA at a cost of almost $150m and
    Kenya can build 3 Airport to
    international standard at abt $97m.
    The VIP luxurious buses imported
    and cleared in Ghana, registered
    except insurance co ...

• JEK Jus 8 years ago

Is he a proper professor? is that how professors talk? how many Ghanaian report of a thief, arrest,information to help the police? u see but u no see. u so called professor JM well done, the idea is for others to emulate bcos ...

• maame 8 years ago

what this professor is saying is that if somebody risk his life to defend a good course is wrong. Helping in arresting criminals is a crime. You stay outside and condone to crime, God is watching.

• ScHoly 8 years ago

Maame maybe you did not read the prof. well. His problem is not with helping arrest the criminals but the mood of conduct, which was running the car through them. This is not military era oo and don't forget democracy is expe ...

• E. K 8 years ago

And what if the robbers run away

• Law enforcement Officer 8 years ago

I find it ridiculous for people like Prof Asare to say that the prez has erred in rewarding the taxi driver asking if it is part of our laws to do that? and that to him, the driver had caused an accident and should be held a ...

• stupid country called Ghana 8 years ago

in fact u are a big fool.as a matter of fact u are a cow a very big one for that matter.may God open ur doors unto robbers and may u never have one to help u so that democracy will save ur life . nonsense

• Malam Sangororama 8 years ago

People are so clever and smart. I have never heard something like this before. A very good point sir.

• Yaw Mensah 8 years ago

These are the moments whne people tend to hate legal minds and sometimes call then booklong. Even though his reasoning is sound in terms of practicality, it falls short. Regardsless of the laws, there were enough grounds to j ...

• Kwasi Amoah 8 years ago

This lawyer just wants to create attention otherwise he is a big foolllll, idiotic and an imbecile

• adamu 8 years ago

THIS IS A USELESS LAWYER.

• MAJOR 8 years ago

NEXT TIME IT WILL BE HIS RELATIVE AND HE SHOULD ALSO COME OUT AND TALK ABOUT HUMAN RIGHT. NONSENSE PROFESSOR.

• Kofi justice 8 years ago

this n.p.p man hmmm always talking negative about the president, hopeless man

• Paa 8 years ago

Sensible piece. I think the reward should have been kept secret.

I am personally fearful of an attack on the driver by other robbers.

• mahama is my dad 8 years ago

they are armed robbers not suspected armed robbers lawyer they driver saw them feli feli

• GREED 8 years ago

Even develop Country with much resources would not reward a hero a house

• MAJOR 8 years ago

WAIT AND SEE IF YOUR RELATIVE FALL A VICTIM DEN COME OUT AND CRITICIZE MAHAMA

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

In this case the reward must be meaningful, a house is really meaningful. Remember that the driver risked his life to safe the day. The guys were armed and ready to kill anyone that stood in their way. Actually they mus ...

• Pencil 8 years ago

The soldier who chanced upon the incident and help the taxi driver in disarming the alleged robbers, has he also be rewarded ?

• Mensah Pee 8 years ago

Get a brain. The soldier is in the security service, his duty is to provide security and be paid for it. That was why he openly carried a firearm. The driver on the other hand is nothing but an untrained volunteer under the c ...

• Concern 8 years ago

That is an important question?

• Ansah uk 8 years ago

This professor is a big fool I rest my case.

• KONKONSA 8 years ago

You have made no case to rest it. Just talking nonsense. It's a pity we have lots of Ghanaians like you. No reasoned arguments. Just insults based on emotions.

• SD 8 years ago

It is good to reward the driver and the soldier but i think a house is too much. But no reward at all? No prof

• John 8 years ago

Your criminal law is not solid. You need to educate yourself better.Read more.

• kenewo. 8 years ago

foolish fool greedy.so don't you have a good heartfor this driver's bravery.

• Akoto 8 years ago

What is wrong with some of these human right activist? These people were seen under the glee eyes of people and you saying they are suspects. Common, when they visit you in your house just tell the POLICE they are suspects.

• OSEI 8 years ago

We break the lower law to uphold the higher law. When someone is in the act of shooting, and killing people to pave a way to escape, or to scare people from coming closer to stop him, it is always better by all possible means ...

• Jake 8 years ago

So what is your point? Why try to politicise the issue of reward. I wish it was your sister who got murdered in the hold up. Think good, for others, appreciate goodness, rather than your nefarious criticism.

• Kwabena Danso,Gbawe-Accra 8 years ago

I don't know if this world has common laws but i know of a case in Austria where a civilian was able to disarm a robber and the civilian was fined for wrongly possessing a weapon whilst the robber had jail sentence.

• ScHoly 8 years ago

Wonderful. That is the law for you.

• KONKONSA 8 years ago

My guy most Ghanaians have very low minds and lack the capacity to analyse. This is the bane of our development. They are very emotional in their response to any encounter and generally unexposed. It is the reason we have ou ...

• Oroko 8 years ago

The guys are robbers for God's sake. There is a policy of shoot to kill. What about that?. Foolish opportunist like you will come out and spew your garbage without thinking. The driver did well and so must be rewarded.

• GREED 8 years ago

What go mean by shoot to Kill

• KONKONSA 8 years ago

Wait till I shoot to kill you in front of my house and claim to police you were attacking me.!!!! This is what intelligent people call a slippery slope into chaos and vigilantism. Of course idiots of your kind are yet to appr ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

The president should let the taxi driver go and collect our GH51.2million from Alfred Woyome.

• BB Brown 8 years ago

This man is thinks he is engaging law students in a legal recourse.Give this as thesis to your law students but we are dealing with realities of the case.We are dealing with real time scenery here.Don't come and divert our at ...

• Nana Kofi 8 years ago

I pray that those you are against the reward, the same thing should happen to you or your family

• nana 8 years ago

Thank you my bro , he is just foolish

• Atongo 8 years ago

The good professor got it wrong. the driver has the power of citizens arrest and has the power to exert minimum force to apprehend a person who has committed an offence in his presence. it is evident from the story that, the ...

• Asempanaye 8 years ago

I agree into to with Prof. What the driver did is exactly what angry mob do when they get a suspected thief - instant justice. Yet the Police who are trying to honor the driver because JJ says he must be honored have c always ...

• Asiedu Nketia 8 years ago

Eiiiish! Hahahahaha!! Brofu nie!!! What did you say? "I agree into to with Prof". Hahahaha!!! You made my day.

• Papa 8 years ago

Attention seeker!

• anonymous 8 years ago

Stupid prof
    Wat will u have done if it was your daughter they shot. Kosia

• ZEUS 8 years ago

Once its someone else, idiots like you don't want us to show gratefulness. Let 1% happen to you or your kind and you cry for recognition. Maybe this joker was part of the robbery syndicate.

• JOHN 8 years ago

AND THEY ALL SUPPORT NPP

• Ayensu 8 years ago

Booklong Prof with no efia nyansa in his coconut! Such levels desperate absurdity

• issaka balobbo, beaverton,On/labone o 8 years ago

In America Mr lawyer why does police cruisers have brush guards? Are you stupid baffoon too..what's wrong with this 2 ×4 lawyer. Don't yo realize there was no way to have connected the robbery with the involvement of the sto ...

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

That is why you are based in where you are! You cannot successfully practice here in Ghana with such idiocy!

• ScHoly 8 years ago

Very well said. I have even asked myself that wgat if the driver did that to rather tob the robbers. I think there should have been some thorough investigations before the reward.

• Sanjay 8 years ago

I pray armrobbers shld kill this bufooon so called lawyer's daughter n he ll see how it feels

• toff 8 years ago

One day it wil b u dey face wit gun, idiotic prof...

• ghanaman 8 years ago

All too often, we talk without first thinking over whether we have relevant and/or adequate information on the issue at hand. Prof. Azar boasts enviable academic qualifications, training and skills relating to law and ethics. ...

• ghanaman 8 years ago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBdfcR-8hEY

• Amanaman 8 years ago

Ghanaman indeed. That is what we do in Ghana. Kokotii for nothing positive. Glorifying humans, they have achieve this, or that. They are this and that! So the akese sem, the "too know"continues. I want you and the so called l ...

• nana 8 years ago

this lawyer banza again????

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Have you heard another robbery where EPA boss in Tema was killed. No one commented. The 'see wrong people' are quiet. i presume they like it. When a selfless person incapacitate an armed robber to be arrested, they claimed it ...

• Concern 8 years ago

what did he give to the armed men? ,what has the state been given to the police also ? What the lawyer is saying must be considered. The effects of this reward will come one day. He deserves to be rewarded but not a house . W ...

• Alhassan Iddridu 8 years ago

No wander you are not in Ghana.If you care for mother Ghana come home for us to develop it together.

• ScHoly 8 years ago

What prof is saying is right. This is only one of the expensive prices of democracy that instant justice is wrong and that armed robbers also have right to fair hearing. We can't eat our cake and have it so if we think we can ...

• Godfred Yaaka 8 years ago

there is a thin line between certificate sense and common sense, and this Professor is flirting with it

• KOFI BABONE 8 years ago

PROF, THE TAXI DRIVER USED HIS RIGHT AS A CITIZEN TO PREVENT A CRIME USING MINIMUM FORCE. IS THAT NOT ALLOWED? I THINK KNOWING TOO MUCH LAW MAKES ONE STUPID IF HE DOES NOT APPLY COMMON SENSE.

• Kofi Asor 8 years ago

It did happen in the US that thugs wanting her money beat an elderly lady of 80 to death while others looked on. They were waiting for the police and the Law. Keep that kind of attitude in the Us and not in Ghana.

• Kofi Asor 8 years ago

When armed robber disrespect my rights and kill me, they rather have rights. Thanks to the bookish knowledge that leaves the law of the jungle to reign

• Kelvin 8 years ago

Homeless professor he don't have
    House so jelouse worrid him

• corruption in Ghana 8 years ago

This is an academic exercise is not practicable

• Ghanaian, NY 8 years ago

Mr Stephen Kwaku Asare could not articulate his expressions to make sense. I don't think he understands the word vigilantism.

If the driver's aim was to drive his taxi car around looking for robbers who are escaping from c ...

• Mbarak 8 years ago

This, man is a foolish man.even though I don't agree with mahama policy. The taxi driver deserve more than these.

• Maame Afia 8 years ago

Mbarak you could have made your contribution without insult. let us be civilised we are in a democracy.

I guess this is the first insult you have seen amongst the comments here. You did not see the insults heaped on the President of Ghana.

• NANA YAW NEW YORK 8 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU

• Kelvin 8 years ago

Why fool professor like this man
    From ghana ...ghana professor a smart ..I don't know that we have fool
    Professor among them

• Dominic owusmu Ansah 8 years ago

Please stop someone put his life on arm robbers by using his car to and the president has rewarding him and you are against.

• NANA YAW NEW YORK 8 years ago

LET'S ALL STOP PARTY POLITICS AND SHOWER PRAISES ON THIS TAXI DRIVER. HE HONESTLY DESERVED EVERYTHING.

• Kpoo KeKe Raw M. 8 years ago

Shut up ???? Kwaku.

• BEN 8 years ago

COME BACK HOME AND FACE THE ROBBERS HERE

• ODD 8 years ago

since I need a house,I ve to monitor wayome n run him down with ma car.

Yes! when you manage to buy a car. Envy.

• Kanewu 8 years ago

Where at all people get their education??? Look at this bush,useless and nonsense man.Even the Reward should be more than that ,What about the innocent lady who got shot by the robbers ??? Nonsenseman

• ROOT MAN. 8 years ago

This man deserves it, it a nice decision on the president to reward him. How many "political police men " can battle robbers. jealousy!

• dunaa 8 years ago

I agree with this "legal scholar" in principle. But I disagree with him in practical terms. In principle because what the cabbie did was vigilantism. However the "learned scholar" does not live in Ghana and he has little idea ...

• Sheriff 8 years ago

Apparently, there are two sides to the story:1. The taxi driver, his action, foiled a robbery, and 2. The taxi driver, by his action, rammed two motorists into a gutter. People are rewarding him for thwarting a crime. If you ...

• Chief 8 years ago

Accessing all opinions given,for and against the evidence or the statement of the legal prof carefully, it puts me into a cross road between two schools of opinions between reality and logic.
    As to say, they all carry wei ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

these kind of people are greedy to the extend that if some one do him good, he pays back bad, with these kind of people how can Africa develop or move forward with greedy bastards like this practitioner, fucking guy shut up, ...

• samson 8 years ago

THAT IS WHY THE LAW IS AN ASS!!!!!!

• kwame Apoah 8 years ago

We leave in a country where neighbours lock their doors when they hear u are under Attack. A man puts his life under risk and an American professor says is too much. Sometimes I think people critize for the Sake of it. Of. Al ...

• Charles 8 years ago

Government's handling of this issue is just a diversion from the real issues involved. I won't justify criminality but Today Ghana has high youth unemployment, young women "kayayei" are exploited abroad for prostitution, youn ...

• Simply George. 8 years ago

Kweku Asare can hide in America and talk nonsense but I wish to see him here in Ghana and falling victim to these daredevils who will rape his wife and sodomise he himself. Imagine six to seven armed robbers who are on drugs ...

• shoro 8 years ago

foolish prof u don't have words,u are more than beast hide yourself

• Kobby Listowell 8 years ago

I was all along thinking lawyers are next to King Solomon.But this lawyer has proven me wrong. This lawyer would have been interested in accepting yams and akomfem if he were to be in Ghana.

• Chief 8 years ago

Accessing all opinions given,for and against the evidence or the statement of the legal prof carefully, it puts me into a cross road between two schools of opinions, between reality and logic.
    As to say, they all carry we ...

• Habib 8 years ago

Come clean, so called Law Prof.

• DDT 8 years ago

Don't sit in USA and write nonsense about Ghana. If true u are living in US, u should have seen police run their cars on to a suspected criminals when chasing them.

• afua 8 years ago

I PRAY MR LAWYER THAT, NEXT TIME THE ROBBERS SHOULD RATHER ATTACK YOU, AND ALSO HOPE NO ONE WILL RECUSE YOU, BY INJURING THE ROBBERS

• Asabea UK 8 years ago

Prof!! Have you been robbed before?l guess not.Some of us our lucky to be leaving abroad.You wouldn't wish your enemy the trauma you go through after armed robbers have visited your house.My family in Ghana have been burgled ...

• Koo Sigi. 8 years ago

What is this fool talking about. What are you talking about? What type of lawyer are you? We all know knocking down someone with your car is crime but papa lawyer you should also take into consideration when and why he did th ...

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

What a hell that foolish lawyer based in the US talking about. Who will like to knock down innocent people and will then expect a reward of this nature from the state and from indviduals?

Again, the lawyer is a real vil ...

• Shut up!! 8 years ago

I wonder how such person can be a professor. No wonder they say academic knowledge is nothing if you don't know how to socialize with people. I am wondering what this so called professor will have said if were to be Nana was ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Just go away with your too known!

• Babalawo 8 years ago

This lawyer guy don't know what he is talking about, even the USA would have rewarded this brave taxi driver. Prove your knowledge in the classroom and stop issuing stupid statements

• Basuglo David Tumu 8 years ago

Can we please tackle issues as the come and forget about politics

Massa don't bring your confusing legality into this matter. if you really love Ghana. come down with your unnecessary legalities

• SMART 8 years ago

Everything in Ghana is reduced to politics by NPP. To the extent that even when someone who has committed crime and is seen escaping is pursued and arrested, some NPP people still will find fault with it simply because the Pr ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Yes, but the same applies also to the NDC does it not?

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

Your president have imported 2 hardened criminals into the country and dont see anything wrong with it but you are talking insulting a political party because in your wardped mind the professor is a member of that party kuras ...

• Asemani Buoteri 8 years ago

we shld not center everything on law law we all know law protects us but there must be exceptions. the driver's action is of more good than bad. u base in US where security is tight u don't know how ple are suffering in de ha ...

• i am jack 8 years ago

This man is a nut and must try to use his common sense...there is always a limit to technicalities....

• ioeieoi 8 years ago

Ebei!

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Vigilantism may only rise if our Security Agencies and the Judicial System, of which Lawyer Asare is part, remain fraught with corruption and ineptitude.

On that note, let me wish the Lawyer 'Da Yie', too.

When the sy ...

• Busy 8 years ago

May be the prof. Asare is an armed robber and feared been knocked down by a taxi driver

• Paa 8 years ago

Stupid lawyer. we should support mahama for that.

• serum PSA 8 years ago

oh kwaku Azar you missed the point are we for the law or the law for us ? shame unto you .

• MZ 8 years ago

Confused professor should spare us with his confused mentality. Hmmm, whatever the president does some people will still fault him even if it is obviously right.

• wiseman 8 years ago

New way to get a house in Ghana,stop a armed robber with your car gov gives you a car.shoot a armed robber to death gov gives you a car. what kind of nonsense is this? How many houses does gov have to give a way each time som ...

• Aziz 8 years ago

Please Lets not waste our time on this incompetent president.

Remember that elections are won at the polls and as we talk plenty here NDC are on the grounds in villages lieing and confusing this folks.

Imagine telling t ...

• Keith 8 years ago

Why do Ghanaians living in the western world always think western ways are better for us if it was your relative who was shot will you applaud the driver for hitting the robbers with his car I don't think so thus please stop ...

• Kwapps 8 years ago

Who foots the bill for this house? Certainly not from the president's pocket! This again is how the taxpayer's money is used wantonly without accountability to anyone. Would president Obama have done the same? No. Would prime ...

• Nana Hakim 8 years ago

Hello Mr. & Mrs. Ghana,

Here we go again! Another NPP mouthpiece in USA churning out such ridiculous advise. I shudder to wonder how many criminals he has defended when the police rammed their cruisers into their runaway v ...

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Only your imagination is required.

• chale from Rmeich Lebanon 8 years ago

I pray dat those who are condeming the prez for his reward be killed by armed robbers to night. .......AMEN

• f...u 8 years ago

Foolish lawyer ....f.....k u

• Chief 8 years ago

Bcos of the demand for lands and other family properties, every family want to get a lawyer. Let tell u, if u don't have home sense book knowledge is as waste as a cottage illiterate

• Carol 8 years ago

I agree with you we do not want any vigilante justice, it is a slippery slope indeed. All said and done was it not good PR to bury the bad news, guantanomo brouhaha,electric gas hikes, etc with some good news of the heroic d ...

• Slim lee 8 years ago

Is error In u.s.a not in Ghana

• Prosper 8 years ago

As far as it is confirmed they were criminals then 100% the president is right...no error...If they were not confirmed criminals then that's a point to say so...

• AJ 8 years ago

What sort of a backyard professor is this? Would have said it is a criminal offence if the police had ran into the motor bike? Those criminals shot and nearly killed an innocent person and you're here spewing rubbish.

• johndo cassana 8 years ago

You are a fool. You asare who calls himself a lawyer. Wicked as you are. Come and practice arm robbery in Ghana and see the cars that will knock you down. F O O L.

• Samuel Asante 8 years ago

President mahama has to be commended for promising the taxi driver a car.This lawyer would have stood by or runaway when the robbers started shooting. If someone has been brave in such a situation he deserves what they have p ...

• johndo cassana 8 years ago

I say again that this Asare lawyer is a fool and he will remain like that forever. Look gutter lawyer you child will be shot one of these days then you go to court and defend the assailant. Your parents were fools that you in ...

• Nana Agyekum 8 years ago

Some of these Lawyers talk too much.

• Corporalfrenzy 8 years ago

If Gh were to hv @ least 5 drivers as e taxi driver,like this country Will improve.The Prez had done a great job.
    The driver can not relax & c to wt dis robbers are doing to others .

So Prof ,I 100% DO NOT AGREE WITH ...

if the police will apply the laws there willbe defrencies. i know is not easy the pay are not good walking in the sun with small money end of the mounth is not cool,but we need to try our best i the need to task all the rich ...

• Kwasi Boateng 8 years ago

Such is the reason Ghana's economic state is in an abyss. Unwise decisions coupled with corrupt practices.

• Tilapia 8 years ago

Am sorry to tell you this with due respect,how I wish it was you .like will be waiting to see the comment u will pass.i don't even understand some of you professors of GH u only pass comment but u don't bring solutions to the ...

• Asante 8 years ago

i think this lawyer can also be wn armed robber.because without the intervention of the taxi driver they will have gone.i pray God should let armed robbers attack him one day so he can also feel it.

• Sledge Hammer 8 years ago

PROFESSOR U STUPID AND SWINE.THE MALIAN WHO SAVE THE LIVES OF FRENCH CITIZENS IN 2015 TERRORISTS ATTACK WAS AWARDED OUTRIGHT FRENCH NATIONALITY.LOOK THIS MAN HAS BEEN IN FRANCE FOR YEARS WITHOUT PAPERS,NO PROPER ACCOMMODATION ...

• sinclear 8 years ago

Did this lawyer even read the full story? They were on the ground but still shooting! The driver should've run them over.... Jealousy, acid soldiers

• NANA USA 8 years ago

You are just kokonte lawyer and a fool indeed. It was good for the armed robber to shoot the girl and not good for the driver to slam them.

• nero 8 years ago

wat abt if the robbers were terrorist will it still be a crime to slum the taxi into them in oder to catch them?

• Come Again Prof 8 years ago

Though ethics is no law,can this professor weigh the options very well again before concluding on the acceptability of the cabbies action?

I am utterly disappointed in this so-called law professor's comments.

In the cri ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Mr,Dr, Prof Lawyer.Your comment is unnecessary and uncalled for.If the Taxi Driver died,this same lawyer would have argued; "I put it to you that, the Driver should have considered the risk of his life and therefore,erred an ...

• mnikell@yahoo.com 8 years ago

Ghanaians criticise everything even TT he GOD they worship.that's why we cannot even manufacture blade.

• Anthony 8 years ago

Stupid lawyer, comparing US to Ghana. In US, military people have all the means to chase and arrest these offenders. President Mahama should be applauded.

• DE (GREAT) 8 years ago

Use your law there and allow us also manage here

• fii 8 years ago

I think this asare guy wants cheap popularity. Even in America where he's based, if a suspected criminal is bolting in a car and the police are after him, don't they Av the right to run their police cars into the suspects car ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Why do some our learned men and women continuously disgraced and disappoint us. What kind of hogwash analysis is this? Law and so what?? This NPP prof is brainless. They always think they know, hmmmm!!1

U DON"T SEE NOW.

• KOFI BADU 8 years ago

KEEP QUIET LAWYER ASARE.FOILING A TERRORIST ATTACK IN AN AIRPLANE AND BEATING UP THE PERSON IS A CRIME IN THE STATES?THEY SHUD HAVE BEEN KILLED INSTANTLY

• KOFI BADU 8 years ago

THIS COMMON TAXI DRIVER SACRIFISED HIS LIFE TO SAVE THE WOMAN SHOT AND OWNER OF THE MONEY FROM BEING RUINED IN LIFE YET HE TRIES TO DISCOURAGE PEOPLE FROM BEING TAPPED ON THE SHOULDERS FOR GOOD THINGS DONE?
    HE IS NATIONAL HE ...

• Concern Citizen 8 years ago

Please, this is not suspect, they were court in the act shooting, but I think promising him a house is so much, another car could be alright

• ghana man 8 years ago

mr lawyer i dont agree with u, the drive did it to save a situation, police have rite to shoot to safe guard public interest, so my lawyer go and read ur law books again, from ghana man, the drive deserve to be honored, all ...

• Didier bob 8 years ago

Professor I guess you never get a gun pointed to you .And I want to know what will be your reaction at that right moment not knowing if the shootter will pull on the trigger of not .Its take 45 seconds ; to think ...

• Sule 8 years ago

But lawyer according to the criminal code, it is also an offence if you witness murder/attempted murder without doing anything to stop it. Tell me am wrong....The man actually saved the girl so he cant be accused.

• Ghana Boy 8 years ago

I wish this prof were residing in Ghana to taste what robbers do to innocent Ghanaians. If such a dedication should not be rewarded then I think he is rather calling for the thieves to be rewarded. God save us.

• nana okai ababio enoch-liberia 8 years ago

What is error about this,if the taxi driver were to be your son how will u feel,the guy should been reward more than this mr greed man,u are a loser because u make others look bad.go to hell.thanks mr president

• Kojo mawuyegah 8 years ago

What is the reward of the soldier who also risked his life to join the action?

• Grace Agyepong 8 years ago

Thank you Mr. President for rewarding this taxi driver. We now know that there are some good people out there who would come to our aid in times like what the Koala lady went through. God had let the man had favour in the sig ...

• KWADWO TWUM BARIMA, BANTAMA KUMSI 8 years ago

Your are the type of lawyers when appointed as judges would take bribe and discharge thief's, criminal like you if you are a man come down stay and do politics. Naniama

• Max 8 years ago

Stop your US bullshit professor. We are talking about Ghana ok. US laws may not permit that but there are a lot of instances ordinary citizens helped the police by hitting a criminal with an object in my state Virginia to he ...

• Michael 8 years ago

You guys must stop that jealousy. If you were the driver would you have laid down your life for someone.If Prez Mahama has chose to award the guy with a house let it be so.

• Ebo Crentsil 8 years ago

Prof I do not agree with you. Note that the Taxi driver was not armed to return fire. What he did to confront those armed robbers was sudden but effective.

• amoah w. 8 years ago

Good old lord
    Azarman in person.

• easy 8 years ago

Very soon arms robbers will visit you

• Coco 8 years ago

Luck comes in misterious ways it. Is his time to own a new. Car and a house

• Dantaata 8 years ago

Sorry you don't know your law very well. This is common sense. The rubber was caught in the act and when he was being pursued he had the same gun he used for the rubbery and continue to use to in attempt to murder his pursuer ...

• Onipaba Kojo 8 years ago

lAW PROFESSOR, LAW PROFESSOR OF WHICH COLLEGE. BROTHER LAW PROFESSOR, YOU HAVE TO DEFINE A WORD WITHIN THE CONTEXT IT APPEARS.YOUR BOOK LONG IS OF NO SUBSTANCE. HOW MANY CASES HAVE YOU WON IN AMERICAN COURT. PLEASE SHUT UP. T ...

why there is no security in koala super market or what.i have all your needs koala.i will be in ghana end or the beginig of febuary 2016 with the samples. koala

i dont no much about the drivers,what i read was a sales girl was shut there is no gard to send money to bank no brinks.there shouldbe a solution

• Allan 8 years ago

U c, naturally the human mind is selfish, very self. Now let's look at the 3 characters here. The lady who was shot, the driver n robbers. So Mr. Lawyer, if the lady were your Sister would you have been happy the driver slamm ...

• Chuks, Tudu 8 years ago

Education has turned the brain of this professor upside down. Or is it the case of jealousy? May be he also deserve some house from the president for making this "da yie" statement

• MASYRR 8 years ago

ASARE,YOU BEEN STUPID FROM DAY ONE WE MET IN SCHOOL.

• Sansan 8 years ago

Prof i think the Law books should be rewriting to suit such incidents as the robbery case at cantoments. Stupid man, this is Africa and for that matter that ur soft touch on line Law course u in America can not be applied in ...

• clement obour danquah 8 years ago

Eii what polities is this? Opposition seems to take every good thing as negative !! Eii can we move forward as a nation? This is bad Mr scholar!!!

• OBOATANTO 8 years ago

GO AWAY. THE MAN LAY HIS LIFE TO THWART THE EFFORT OF THE CRIMINALS. WHAT WOULD HAVE SAID IF THEY HAD KILLED THE LADY CARRYING THE MONEY TO THE BANK? SOME HAVE KNOWLEDGE BUT DEFINITELY LACK WISDOM AND THIS LWA MAN IS JUST ONE ...

• JUSTICE FOR KUTU 8 years ago

MAY HE REST IN PEACE.

I AGREE PROF.
    THE TAXI DRIVER RISKED HIS LIFE. HE HELPED ENFORCE THE ARREST OF THO THIEVES. (A BIT LIKE STAGING A COUP DE TAT AND ENRICHING YOURSELF). Inurance should take over and pay compensation ...

• yesoooo 8 years ago

mr fake prof,r u friends of de robbers, why cant u praise de taxi man forde work well done, n u r dere making noise. fake gana prof. noncese

• witch hunter 8 years ago

Professor kwaku Asare please come home and help build the country

• IDDISAH TAHIRU 8 years ago

what an empty argument by a legal practitioner so disappointed in your statement

• Akwasi 8 years ago

You are stupid proff. Lawyer. What do you want the driver to do in the first place to stop the armed robers on motor bike running away.? You want him to stop his and look for a telephone and call the police ? Who knows how fa ...

• Accra Colts Graduate 8 years ago

Proff Asare what is wrong with this kind gesture from the President?