Ghana’s Parliament is ‘useless’ – law expert

Read Comments Comments (89)

• YB 9 years ago

Complete health living organization (NGO) preseant, Health screaming exercises for communities, Churches and individual at reduced rate.
    This program covers Liver functioning. Heart, Kidney, Pancreas, Lungs, Arteries, Veins, ...

• GHE 9 years ago

THE WILL GO AND SLEEP

• Nii Teiko 9 years ago

"We don't have a parliament; we have two branches of the executive, one for proposing laws and taxes and loans; the other for dutifully approving them,”. I wholely endorse this.

• Sako 9 years ago

Bam. You said it all.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Our parliament is really useless,it has been like that forever.
    Just imagine Minority always coming out to say government has misled them to approve loans and bills when they are supposed to read and debate before approving ...

• Jumbo 9 years ago

Corney,the parliament is not useless.The prof might have not use that unpalatable word.Poor reportage and senzationalism drove this journalist to use that word that is why he use invented commes.("useless")

In my humble es ...

• JOER 9 years ago

THE GO THERE TO SLEEP AND LATER STARTS TO BLAME THE GOVT

• Gaisey 9 years ago

They can't communicate That is why they don't argue

• Ghana First 9 years ago

Opposition MP's could indeed do better to make their presence felt.
    History tells us Hon Hawa Yakubu of blessed memory n independent candidate a loner in the midst NDC MP's was hailed the voice of the voiceless. Most of the ...

• AGYA 9 years ago

The minority leaders in parliament are total disgrace to NPP. Osei Kyei Mensah is so docile that the president and his majority just romp over them with ease. This guy even campaigned for the NDC majority leader in parliament ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

NDC MPs are shameless sycophants and opposition MPs are useless. "Democracy" in Ghana isn't serving the interests of the people. It's just an expensive excercise, serving the interests of a few. Revolution is needed.

• Donboli 9 years ago

MPs are self centred and power drank. People go to parliament with ideas, not these our go there to get ideas. Parliament is now like a school where people are taught only these they want you to know.
    It is always after bef ...

• Kwasi Barima 9 years ago

Governing Party MPs the majority parties always vote 100% in support of every NDC bill, and when the Parliamentary rules require a simple majority to pass laws what can the Minority party do to prevent the passage of bills th ...

• JOER 9 years ago

BLAME OPPOSITION MPs

• Gaisey 9 years ago

English speaking is the problem

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 9 years ago

Idoitic talk Prempeh belongs to the zoo

• Joe At3bone 9 years ago

Aboa

• Ena eda ho no 9 years ago

In a parliament where you can never point to a single member voting against his party's proposed bill whether bad, can you call this a parliament? Let the press publish the voting records of all our "dishonourable" MPs in par ...

• CIVIL UNREST NOW 9 years ago

GHANAIANS MUST STAND AT ONCE AND FIGHT THE DEMONIC NDC ONCE AND FOR ALL.FORGET ABOUT THE ELECTIONS BECAUSE EC CHAIRMAN KNOWS THE RESULTS ALREADY.THE ONLY WAY GHANA CAN DEVELOPE IS TO RISE UP AT ONCE AND KILL ALL THE NDC DEVIL ...

• GHE 9 years ago

ABOA

• Zee Poropo 9 years ago

In response to "civil unrest now", I understand your frustration but killing will not solve the problem. I really empathize with you but I do not agree we go the non-conventional way. Ghana has come a long way in terms of pea ...

• Steve Kay London 9 years ago

I wholly agree with you Zee Poropo,it is the ploy of this most corrupt and incompetent gov't to let Ghanaians go to war to cover up their thievery and wicked ways hence such utterances from Asiedu Nketia, koku Anyidoho,Fifi K ...

• Jumbo 9 years ago

You guys have spoken well particularly for Ghana to remain peaceful prio,during and after 07 November but I have serous problem with your inflated optimism about November polls.

How are you going to win election come Novem ...

• Biggy 9 years ago

You don't get it. You and I cannot vote NDC out of government. They have three huge constituencies that will always make them win....Togo, Burkina Fasso and Ivory Coast. That is why Asiedu Nketia will ensure that Voters regis ...

• Jumbo 9 years ago

".THE ONLY WAY GHANA CAN DEVELOPE IS TO RISE UP AT ONCE AND KILL ALL THE NDC DEVILS."

You are useless coward to have said the above. Out of pure envy,your forbears use the same evil tactics to painfully stop Dr kwame Nkrum ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Go to Change.Org and sign the petition so Ghana can get a fair share of oil resources worth billions of dollars.

Sign the petition:

Go to: www.change.org/p/ghana-fair-trade-oil-share-psa-campaign-ftos-gh-psa.

Thanks ...

• Asempa 9 years ago

What is the point to get more revenue for it to go straight into the pockets of president and his cohorts? Its a noble but a meaningless course to fight for currently. Our main problem is our broken government not some share ...

• NANA FOR VICTORY 2016 9 years ago

Our President
    Who art the friend of conduits
    And dance with zeal to the tune of music
    yen tie obiaa is thy stuff
    We apologise a lot for the offence we made
    For voting to make you the leader
    Thru the sympathy we showed t ...

• NANA FOR VICTORY 2016 9 years ago

Our President
    Who art the friend of conduits
    And dance with zeal to the tune of music
    yen tie obiaa is thy favourite
    We apologise a lot for the offence we made
    For voting to make you the leader
    Thru the sympathy we show ...

• blackbarnes 9 years ago

ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
    COURSES INCLUDE: ...

• Kporfor Wilson yao 9 years ago

It's getting clear that, the Three organs of Govt has now restricted only two. thus, the Executive and Judicial organs of Govt. No single majority MPs in Legislative organ of Govt is fighting for the interest of the ordinary ...

• aikins 9 years ago

Just as our government with its cabinet.

• VVIP 9 years ago

NDC SHAMEFUL, EVEN THE ACHEAMPONG REGIME WAS 100% BETTER THAN THIS DEAD GOAT PARTY.

• Adusei 9 years ago

Ndc
    Stand for notorius demonic criminals

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

Ghana Reinsurance Company Limited (Ghana Re) was originally established as a unit of SIC in 1972 as the Ghana Reinsurance Organization. Gained autonomy in 1984 and was incorporated as a Limited Liability Company on June 16, 1 ...

• GoodMan 9 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU PROF. I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS THAT OUR PARLIAMENT HAS NOT PERFORMED TO MY EXPECTATION FOR THE PAST YEARS.WE SPEND MUCH ON THEM BUT RECEIVE VERY LITTLE FROM THEM

• Sako 9 years ago

Himmm. I don't blame them. I blame we the citizens. Is not their fault. They see us as fools that is why they are treating us like that. But let us wait and see the future.

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Our useless parliament got where they are by the persistent indoctrination of the voting public to accept the notion that the classroom educated an credentialed folks have wisdom; you and I know is a faulty equivalence. It is ...

• oboy kofi 9 years ago

We are more than prepared to kill all the ndc minister coming this election if they try their dubious way of rigging the election we are warning that coup started by an akans so we are waiting

• Mr, Gboglor Soong 9 years ago

l think the parliament should take this man on by saying their useless, how can so called learned man uses this kind of languages to parliament? If he knows better, l think he should review his words to parliament,who is he? ...

• Biggy 9 years ago

Mr Gboglor or whatever you call yourself. You don't understand English that is why you call the learned man a fool for saying parliament is USELESS. I apologize in advance to readers for the vulgar language I am going to use. ...

• Kweku Donsuro 9 years ago

Poverty, greed, lack of patriotism and selfishness permeates this crooked government. Let us give them the boot, the sack, and show them the door. They have confirmed they are greedy bastards!

• Tobi 9 years ago

In fact I ve realised that only fools r elected into the parliament.

• Amidini 9 years ago

Prof, tell them the truth. It is a matter of fighting corruption than increasing taxes. Mr prez think of the poor people in Ghana. Your ministers, public officials and the rich do not feel the increment but the average person

• DDT 9 years ago

You increase light bills when the people are not enjoying light, you increase fuel prices when the price is falling at world market. Is there any sensible person to advise my dear president? . You can continue to build sch ...

• DDT 9 years ago

NPP parliamentarians will agree with NDC and later come out on media to be making noise just to score a political point. No wonder the president said they are sleeping.

• Sarbah 9 years ago

Because they are not in power, everything and everybody in Ghana is useless. How was everything and everybody in Ghana when NPP was in power? Akwasi Prempeh, when did Parliament become useless?

• Yo Yo 9 years ago

they became useless the day they started conspiring with the Executive to dupe the citizenry,utilities skyrocketing and drowning the people with petroleum prices when it's historically low on the world market $30....for your ...

• John Lewis 9 years ago

I AM AT A LOSS. IS IT THE PARLIAMENT OR THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (LEGISTRATURE) WJICH IS USELESS. IS PARLIAMENT NOT MAFE UP OF THE PTESIDENCY, THE EXECUTIVE AND THE LEGISTRATURE? ARE ALL THREE INSTITUTIONS WHICH MAKE UP THE PAR ...

• Ganiyu 9 years ago

Go back to wherever you went to school and demand a refund for your school fees.
    And, give youself some dirty slaps for being too lazy to read about the gevernmental structure of your country.

• Biggy 9 years ago

Mr John Lewis, I am sorry to disappoint you. Whether they are 3 or 30, per their actions and inactions they are USELESS.

• Richard 9 years ago

They just go to paliament and sing chorus....yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyeeeee.
    This is a shame that our ligislators are not seeking are welfare and well being as ordinary people.
    MP buy fuel and also feel the pain we are feeling non ...

• kofi Kofi 9 years ago

Now that we know.

• kutsii 9 years ago

This law expert is very stupid and foolish. Since 1992, Ghana's Parliament has been full of idiots, but it took a law expert more than two decades to know this I can respect only about 30 sensible MPs, the useless 245 MPs a ...

• John 9 years ago

What can they do with the majority in paliament approving everything hook , line and stinker ?blame the majority in paliament and our flowed constitution.

• OME 9 years ago

you have made my day. Ghana indeed doesn't have a parliament. I really love this professor and we need more of such people.

• Mess 9 years ago

You are right I support you hundred percent

• Responsible Ghanaian 9 years ago

A professor must talk like a professor and not like undergraduate student. How can a well-learned law professor describe a reputable institution like our national assembly as useless. May God help his students!

• Dela Dee 9 years ago

I can't agree with you better,they're more than useless

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

That is our mother Ghana better agenda hmmmm.

• unclefi 9 years ago

Thank God somebody else said it and not me

• Kwame 9 years ago

I always wonder why many Ghanaians are not outraged at Parliment and other Gov. officials. It seems there are no checks and balances on the Executive branch of Gov. All the corruptions reveal so far Parliment has done nothing ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

What can you ever expect from a group of people, most of who can not even write their names, can not read and understand the bills they vote on, let alone making rational policies.

• Martin 9 years ago

In most banana republics, including Ghana, parliament is there to rubber stamp what the executive branch asks for. What I find surprising is that Prempeh has now realized that parliament is a do-nothing institution.The parlia ...

• Sekwa 9 years ago

When crude oil prices are going down on the world market, expump prices in ghana is going up. Waoooow, what will happen when the cude oil prices start going up? Ghana is useless

• Point 9 years ago

Toilet paper is far better than our present day parliament.And our constitution is bogus.We elect people who can't debate public policy into parliament and all they do is to rubber stamp bills Mps stand in Parliament and keep ...

I support the Law expert.... Our Parliament is full of speechless guys!!!
    The Ghana Modern Refugees
    I propose the following residential accommodations.
    Hosting the Guantanamo Asylum Seekers in Ghana
    1. The Two guys shoul ...

• kwarteng 9 years ago

IT IS VERY TRUE, MAJORITY OF PARLIAMENTARIAN ARE USELESS. NEVER, NEVER CONTRIBUTE ON THE FLOOR, ONLY LOOK AT HANDS UP PEOPLE AND THEY LOOK AT HANDS RAISED AND THEY RAISE THEIR HANDS. IF YOU ASK THEM THEIR VIEWS THEY CANNOT EV ...

• PIOTO 9 years ago

They are a waste of space.

• omono 9 years ago

oh! so honourable Avedzi is the chairman of finance committee of parliament? oh, then this is not not not. he should come again bcos am disappointed.

• Hans Antwi 9 years ago

it's appalling

• uncle Sam 9 years ago

Prof well said our MPs are a useless bunch.. Either they are absent from Parliament or go there without any argument. they and not the Executive are incompetent. Most are in galamsey and in corruption & if there should be vio ...

• Freddie 9 years ago

You are also a useless Ghanaian why can't you also stand for election in the house to make things right rather than seatting on the fence.

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 9 years ago

THIS NDC GOVERNMENT AND ITS MP´S ARE NOT FOR THE INTEREST OF THE PEOPLE OF GHANA,
    RATHER FOR THEIR INTEREST,LET KICK THEM OUT HOLD THEM ACCOUNTABLE:

• paa kofi 9 years ago

It saddens my heart see the country destroyed by fools. Honestly there are many hungry fools so keep voting for such fools. In any intelligent civil country this so called mp will just resigned. But what will he eat if he res ...

• Big Mama 9 years ago

The right on point. Baaam

• Kofi Asante 9 years ago

Prof u are 100% right n I suggest a nationwide demonsration to stop such increament on fuel.what kind of a cruel leader and isensitive parliament we have in Ghana.

• ato kwamina 9 years ago

Yes they are!!!

• JANTER 9 years ago

TUC ARE PLANNING TO GO ON. DEMONSTRATION FOR SALARIES INCREASES INSTEAD OF AGAINST FUEL PRICES AND ELECTRICITY TARIFFS INCREASES.

INTERESTING TUC FOOLS!

INDEED IN GHANA IT'S EVERY ONE FOR HIMSELF GOD FOR US ALL.

EVEN ...

• OKESSE 9 years ago

Who pays the parliamentarians ? Is it their party or Ghanaians ? If Ghanaians pay them, why do they do the bidding of their party instead of Ghana . We need radical amendment or change of our constitution, to make our law mak ...

• OKESSE 9 years ago

No!! The first tried to persuade the govt to reduce the Tarrifs but to no avail, hence tis course of ation

• Zebote 9 years ago

Honestly speaking , they are a bunch of clueless wonderers. They don't know how to represent the people that put them there. So blame the electorates cuz they will vote for them again.

• Yussif 9 years ago

The 1992 parliament where u had 198 members is far better than the current majority in Parliament,ndc ll soon sell the air that we all breath to ghanaians.The ndc in opposition can promise a dead man to regain live but put th ...

• Dzodze 9 years ago

Am surprised to hear Klutse Avedzi speaks as if he is feeding us all in this country.

• paa solo 9 years ago

Is through we don't have parliament, all of them there are for their interest, especially the NDC MPs,

• Alhaji 9 years ago

You are correct sir.

• Atimatin 9 years ago

Sorry to say, Mahama is a very foolish President with no sense. look at all the ndc crew, they are mere thieves with no good intentions for this country.God punish those who are stealing our monies to enrich themselves.

• kofi Prince 9 years ago

100% useless,wasting national resources!!!!!

• Sk 9 years ago

We are not there yet, for an MP to vote against the decision of its own governing party. Thumb up for Honourable P C Appiah Ofori.