You are here: HomeNews2016 01 07Article 405833

Guantanamo suspects no threat to Ghana – Gov’t

Read Comments Comments (125)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

EC DECISION IS NDC RESOLVE. WE CAN NEVER TRUST THAT ALATA IDIOT & NDC STOOGE!!!!
    TELL CHARLOTTE, THAT, WE NEED A NEW REGISTER!!!!
    I THINK THIS NIGERIAN EC HEAD IS STUBBORN THAN AFARI GYAN. WE NEED TO ROCK CHARLOTTE WITH A M ...

• VVIP 8 years ago

This people must bomb the houses and their family's of those who allowed them in Ghana

• daladam 8 years ago

FOR TERSON AGAINST GHANA BY AIDING AND ABBETING AND HARBURING CONVICTED MUSLIMS KILLERS FROM US JAILS HERE IN GHANA

• MENSA 8 years ago

NDC MUST BE VOTED OUT OF OFFICE AND FAT HANNA TETTH AND HER BOSS MAHAMA MUST GET ARRESTED FOR ALLOWING MUSLIM CONVICTED TERRORISTS TO GHANA WE HAD IT WITH IGNORANT MAHAMA AND HIS LOSERS MINISTER

• Tysor 8 years ago

MAHAMA HAS SACRIFICE THE NATION FOR DOLLARS IN A SUITCASE JUST TO GRANT THESE TWO DANGEROUS CONVICT TO THE COUNTRY. MAHAMA WHY? WHERE IS YOUR SENSE OF MATURITY IN WHAT YOU ARE DOING?

• TARANTULA 8 years ago

This is the limit. How much lower can we sink as a nation? Ghanaians cannot take anymore of this Mahama nonsense. Mahama is killing the spirit of Ghana and our enthusiasm for life.

How can this country ever recover from t ...

• Torgbigah 8 years ago

Why my ghana does crazy and things only animals will do? Why ghana a dumping ground? Where did they arrest them,? Why not free them there or China? Ghana wise up and stop stupidity.

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

From now on, when you are boarding an aicraft from KIA...pray hard.

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

What does this fool Kwakye know about "threat to Ghana". Why doesn't he volunteer to give them some rooms in his mansion he has built within a short time? You let them bamboozle you into taking terrorists and now tell the nat ...

• Susuka 8 years ago

Gye Nyame, I was hoping that with this opportunity, you might have something interesting to say about detention without trial and dictators as you would normally do if Kwame Nkrumah's name had been mentioned, but klanaaa! I a ...

• Ibrahim, Tamale 8 years ago

NDC wll use this as one of their achievements during their election campaign.

• kwasi 8 years ago

MAHAMA MUST BE ARRESTED FOR COMMITTING TREASON AGAINST GHANA PEOPLE . MAHAMA HAVE NO JUDICIAL AND OR LEGAL RIGHTS OR POWERS TO BRING TO GHANA CONVICTED TERRORIST FROM US JAILS AND PUT US ALL IN DANGER JUST FOR FEW DOLLARS

• Rev Edwin 8 years ago

This govt is the most foolish ever, they have just put Ghana in danger the group that this people belong to see 's any country that supports the US especially in such case an enermy of Allah and that must be punished.

• Koo Brofo 8 years ago

Look at this idiot he will always come to defend what he even has no idea. I thought the national security PR will come and assure Ghanaians because this is a serious matter for men and not for boys like this idiot to come an ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

National security PR didn't come out to assure Ghanaians, presumably, because they weren't involved in the negotiations. I've no doubt that key members of this thieving, incompetent Mahama govt have benefitted financially fro ...

• TD 8 years ago

Nkwasiasem! Nkwasiafoo like you making decisions for Ghanaian are dangerous

If the US is so sure they are not a security threat, then why the need to transfer them to Ghana?

Precisely because they're a threat that's why the US doesn't want them & neither do the wealthy Arab states like S Arabia which is waging a war in Yemen to "defeat terrorism". Only stupid Mahama wants them, fir a charge.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

SOON THEY WILL GET GHANAIAN WIVES AND THEY DON'T HAVE TO GO BACK.

• John M 8 years ago

Ghanaian wives is the next step.

JOHN MAHAMA MUST GIVE AN EXPLANATION TO GHANAIANS WHY HE HAD TO DO THIS! WHAT DO WE GET AS A NATION FROM THIS?

• intelligent npp 8 years ago

yesoo my brother a word to the wise is enough

This is like someone who brings a TB patient to your house to stay with you and says "don't worry, it's perfectly safe". Meanwhile he has many empty guest rooms in his big house while you have to let him share a room with one ...

• Attu zongo 8 years ago

Oh ho, this corrupt and incompetent government have really proven that the meat is finished and left with the bones that's why they have sold our sovereignty for money bcos of elections by accepting terrorist into ghana just ...

• Syd 8 years ago

Only in Africa Ghana that this shits will happened, these criminals have a country why can they take them to their country if they are no threat as the government is saying to Ghanaians. They are bad people and should not all ...

• salamatu 8 years ago

what a bunch of fools running this country. these are the people that brought down the twin towers and ghana feels the can contain them? we just handed over our country to alqaeda and ISIS. Oh mahama,,,, where is your mind?

This is one act of Mahama that even his NDC supporters are not defending. Nobody has anything good to say about this thing! There is absolutely no good explanation!

• ATENGA. 8 years ago

WHY THE GOVERNMENT DIDN'T CONSULT THE GOOD CITIZENS OF GHANA FOR THEIR OPINION ON THIS MATTER BEFORE IT BROUGHT THEM?.INFACT MAHAMAH IS VERY CORRUPT TO THE BONE.MAHAMAH SHOULD TELL US HOW MUCH DID HE TAKE FROM THE US GOVERNME ...

• DIRTY WORK 8 years ago

MAHAMA DON´T RESPECT GHANAIANS, HOW CAN HE INVITE TERRORIST IN GHANA WITHOUT ASKING GHANAIANS?

• Margie 8 years ago

And how did you come to the conclusion that they're not a threat? Didn't some of the freed Gitmo prisoners went back to their former ways? I guess America forgot to tell you this and you dumb assess failed to do your homework ...

The US might have threatened to freeze Mahama's stolen wealth hidden in foreign banks if he didn't agree to the arrangement.

• Eii Ghana 8 years ago

The funniest comment so far!!!!!! Hahaaaaa....but it may be true too else why would he accept to bring these alleged terrorists?

• Joseph 8 years ago

Pls (minister)explain the Ghanians why Europe is not taking them.There, security is 10 times better organized than yours!

• Esy 8 years ago

Do you know that Europe is overflowing with refugees from Syria and Iraq. Even Ghanaians are sneaking in claiming to be refugees.

• Pimpinese 8 years ago

Regardless of what you say, Government, You must listen to the voices of the People that overwhelmingly have risen to decry your intent. Other people's garbage doesn't belong in Ghana!
    Just as well, the Syrians and Yemenis b ...

• Mike 8 years ago

ARE YOU SURE? have you visited accra and the beaches ? GARABAGE DES BELONG TO GHANA. EVERYTHING IS GARbage

• Pimpinese 8 years ago

It's self disrespecting to strew garbage where you live at, but it is demeaning and self-negating if you pile on someone else's garbage on top of yours. That's what we're talking about.
    We have our own problems and we don't ...

• USA 8 years ago

Let them move in with the Obama family in the White House !

• PAMUDI 8 years ago

The ex-Gitmo prisoners pose no threat to Ghana's security, says the Government.
    If there was anything between the ears of the leaders of the NDC, they would have realised that it isn't the refugees themselves who could pose ...

• Yusif 8 years ago

Highlights of the NDC's Green Book of Failed Promises.
    1. I will build ten (10) Colleges of Education by the end of my first term in office as president- FAILED.
    2. I will build 200 Community Senior High Schools within 4 ye ...

• Koncerned Sitizen 8 years ago

The two are not the threat. The real threats are organizations such as Al Qaeda nad ISIS that they may have links with. security is never a straight line so please get it right. Why did no Arab country including Iran take the ...

Oh okay! That's very informative. I guess in the same vein, it's not Al Qaeda and ISIS that are a threat, it's rather the bullets, bombs and planes that they use that are actually the threat. I now get it, thanks!

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Why are some Ghanaian very much angry that two hard core criminals at Guantanamo being transfer to Ghana ? This should not be a surprise to Ghanaians as they are fond of always bragging that Ghana is the first of everything i ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Hey Guys, Ghana accepting the two hard core criminals from U.S Government should not be a surprise to them . Ghanaians are fond of boasting that they are the first in everything in West Africa. Besides, as receiving bribes is ...

• MO NUE 8 years ago

EVERYTHING FROM THE WESTERN WORLD IS GOOD ACCORDING TO AFRICAN UNDERSTANDING RIGHT? GHANA IS HEADING FOR TROUBLE IF WE ARE GOING TO KEEP THESE DANGEROUS MEN IN OUR PRISONS.

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Politicians will sell Ghana for a pittance. Where on earth were these suspects tried and cleared of any wrongdoings. Wait until they start their own terrorist cell in Ghana. That has been the history of released Guantanamo de ...

• Eii Ghana 8 years ago

ISiS leader was once in Guatanom bay!!! Released in 2009 some say he was released in 2004....yoooo GH paa nie!!!

• T-CARL 8 years ago

Why didn't the United State give them asylum if they are not a threat. And why dictate to us?? Enti Ghana paaa nie...awwww

• USA 8 years ago

Ask Obama he is the one forcing the release of all terrorists from Guantanamo Bay. He doesn't even acknowledge Islamic terror.
    Complain to the US Embassy and request to know how much Ghana was paid to take the terrorists,

• kwami 8 years ago

MAHAMA MUST BE ARRESTED FOR TRESON AGAINST GHANA PEOPLE FOR BRINGING HERE CNVICTED TERROSRIST FROM U.S JAILS TO PEACEFULL GHANA J.J ONLY YOU GOT THE BALLS IN GHANA TO ARREST MAHAMA PLEASE WAKE UP WE ARE GETTING MAD NOW

• Timtim 8 years ago

Which of ndc assurance has been met not even the ones from your mahama...masa go bed

• King Bascious 8 years ago

Our country is gradually becoming a safe haven for criminals. A suspected murderer (not a Ghanaian) who has murdered his partner and their two kids is on the run from South London; and according to the BBC, the murderer is hi ...

• George 8 years ago

Yea i read this yesterday on BBC Radio 4 and the police are investigating this. See Ghana has and is changing so bad that any nonsense is accommodated. We need throw away this politics approach to issues and sit up now!!!

• lion 8 years ago

These idiots don't know what you're talking about they have no clue what you're doing and this is very dangerous for the country.Our country is in danger if this deal goes through and why the government doing this

• USMAN 8 years ago

If you want to know the harm that Fat Stinky and Piggy Molato called Hannah Tetteh is going to cause Ghana then read the story of Hassan Ghul.

Allegedly an al-Qaeda agent, Hassan Ghul born Mustafa Hajji Muhammad Khan,[1] ...

• kwami 8 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS FAT MINISTER HAVE NO JUDICIAL POWER TO BRING CONVICTED TERRORISTS TO PEACFULL GHANA .THE PEOPLE NOW DEMAND THAT MAHAMA AND HANNA TETTH THE IGNORATE DUMMEYS ,BE ARRESTED AND CHARGE WITH TREASON AGAINST GHANA ...

• tony 8 years ago

What is Ghana expecting from someone who can not even make a decision for himself when his bicycle is on a free fall.

Yet Ghanaians think he is the best to be elected for President of Ghana.

The west think ebola could n ...

• Yakubu 8 years ago

How much money does US has paid john mahama for such people from Guantanamo pls let mahama come out n explain to ghanaians

• Wow 8 years ago

This is not wise

• kwasi 8 years ago

AND IS BRINGING US CONVICTED RADICAL MUSLIM TERRORISTS FROM US JAILS TO GHANA WITH OUT HIM HAVING THE JUDICIAL POWER TO DO SUCH A THING
    MAHAMA SHOULD BE CHARGED WITH TREASON AND FACE COURT IMMD

• KWADWO 8 years ago

a donkor and banda chief advisers to mahama meer has kicked against the idea but asked Hannah to speed up the process and bring this unwanted gauntanamo ex convicts to Ghana. unprecedented incompetency hallmark of ndc useless ...

• kafui US 8 years ago

U are very very stupid guy. I wish I had ur Facebook page. What u think is all about the money USA is given ur NDC government. What do you know about this terrorist people. Stupid forks god will punished u all.

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Would that foolish Kid,Ofosu Kwakye or whatever he calls himself,Shut the fuck up!.Nkwaseafour gov't.

• KWADWO 8 years ago

mahama is noted for harbouring wrong doers at the presidency. yes add this ex convicts to your lot. STUPID at its highest.

• Francis, Mensahkrom, Obuasi. 8 years ago

God forbid! Should there be any threat or calamity, where are you the minister or government officials? It's we the ordinary citizens who're going to feel the pinch. Its better they return to their place of origin.

• USMAN 8 years ago

Ibrahim al Qosi, an ex-Guantanamo detainee, now serves as a leader and spokesman for al Qaeda in Yemen.
    Al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP) released a new video featuring a former Guantanamo detainee, Ibrahim Qosi, who ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

EBAA LAW CONSULT
    ORCA DECO (TOKU HOUSE) BUILDING
    1ST FLOOR
    ACCRA.
    GHANA.

TEL: 0545758633

TO: H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA DR.JOHN DRAMANI MA ...

• blaze 8 years ago

Are u kidding me ...in the whole world ghana is the country they bring this people....this is insane you think Ghana has the security experts to keep the citizenry safe.. this is so stupid I can't believe it.. are we that stu ...

• Mike 8 years ago

some of these people were wrongfully convicted. Many of the prisoners were arrested just because they happened to be Arabs and there was a war going on. A lot of research shows that a lot of them were innocent so I think we s ...

• TAP 8 years ago

Good comment. Some of the GITMO detainees were picked up by bounty hunters looking to pick up large rewards offered after that fool OBL created mayhem in the US.
    Some were handed over by Afghans as "punishment" in land dispu ...

I don't respond to fickle or moronic minded as yours, but let me educate you.It's not a question of Ghanaians want help but don't want to extend help to others.Ghanaians would be happy to accept anyone with open arms; but no ...

• Mike 8 years ago

if YOU Cannot have a sensible debate without insults, don't respond. Do you think you are the only intelligent person out there and that our foreign minister did not question the supposedly accused prisoner. Like I already st ...

• Mojingles 8 years ago

JH, park your stuff and catch a flight back to Accra. An ignorant idiot like you should not be living in a progressive city like New York. What evidence do you have to show that the former detainees are criminals? After ten y ...

• Mojingles 8 years ago

Mike say it all over again...these bunch of ignoramuses calling themselves enlightened Ghanaians make me want to throw up....as you rightly pointed out, most of those detained after the fall of the TALIBAN, were Arabs who had ...

• George Asare 8 years ago

let all sensible citizens of Ghana ask our selfs this simple question;America and Ghana where is bigger?
    And U.S government is telling us that these suspect or convicts are NOT a treat to Ghana so why not send them to their ...

Would that foolish Kid,Ofosu Kwakye or whatever he calls himself,Shut the fuck up!.Nkwaseafour gov't.What authority has the leadership to accept these terrorists and hard core political Criminals into the Country without the ...

• Tweaa 8 years ago

Hey Mike, did you bother to read the profile of the two detainee before commenting? There's nothing innocent about them & its a known fact that most of the free gitmo prisoners rejoin their terrorist groups.

• Mike 8 years ago

Did you also read the part that said that it cannot be independently confirmed. We are all concerned citizens, but you have to understand what is going on and not spread panic and fear across the nation.

• Susuka 8 years ago

What a damned fool. The strange thing about you Mike is that, you can also read and write.

• MAHHANNA TETEH 8 years ago

THIS IS THE GENESIS OF GHANA VERSION OF BOKO HARAM

• Tweaa 8 years ago

Ok, so why Ghana and not their home countries or an Arab nation if they can't confirm their guilt or innocence? Why bring them here if there are chances they might be terrorist?

• JOE 8 years ago

They are specifically being brought in to execute the Ghana version of boko haram. The guantanamo thing is just a psy-op. They have probably recruited enough people already and now bringing in the leaders to execute their pla ...

• Cephas Mawule Love 8 years ago

Mahama is bringing terrorist into our be loving country oh my God. What has done to us. Now the terror sympathizers will sure attack us.

• Adobea 8 years ago

Mahama and his young ministers lack foresight , they don't think ahead or plan ahead , how on earth could prez Mahama accept these criminals into Ghana?. What security has Ghana got. No cct cameras, no detectors at our point ...

• sam Oduro 8 years ago

Mahama this man is the good, the bad &the ugly

• Cojo, Germany 8 years ago

Ghanaians should massively vote Mahama's administration out in 2016, He is 'ditching' Ghana's security and destroying the economy

• ZoRRo 8 years ago

Too many decisions are being taken on behalf of the people without their consent. Power belongs to the people not the few greedy bastards, running this country.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

If every State in the United States of America fears to accept these Guantanamo suspects in their mist how much more can Ghana accept and control them? Not even any State wants to try them in their courts. It is time for all ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

Coming to Ghana to see our ladies wearing mini skirts and our president having 23 children with 12 different women is enough to brand Ghana as a Kafir State that needs Islamic liberation with the support of Al Qaeda. How woul ...

• Nii Osabu Anokwafo 8 years ago

Who accepted these animals? Why they didn't go back to their countries? Dangerous for Ghana

• kofi amankwah 8 years ago

Hon minister, do you understand the magnitude of the problem you are importing into the nation? What mechanism do you have to monitor aqeada activities in corrupt Ghana. Remember that this is a country where you can buy some ...

• Gregarious 8 years ago

Why U.S fail to accommodate these two guys if they believe they are genuine people. Manama and gurus must think twice be4 accepting refugees from any terrorist country. Don't belief neither rely on these Americans. These c ...

• Yakubu 8 years ago

How much money does US has paid john mahama for such people from Guantanamo pls let mahama come out n explain to ghanaians

• kutsii 8 years ago

Felix, is there any difference between knowledge, wisdom, understanding and experience? Any strange thing can happen in Ghana but pray that ur flight be not in winter nor on a sabbath day. Do u know that a leopard doesn't age ...

• Frederick Kofi Tawiah 8 years ago

I believe that our security agencies are sleeping. what a shock?

• Ghana Man 8 years ago

With this people Ghana is condemned. The whole Ghana Armed Forces cannot handle these people. America could not why Ghana. They are asset for U.S.A. not poor Ghana. No prison facility in Ghana can handle them. Go to Cuba an ...

• Obrefo Dum 8 years ago

stop worrying they are not our enemies they hold no hate against us in any way therefore will not do us any harm.we are only trying to help them this people are not stupid.

• Asempa 8 years ago

Kwakye you should be careful for you are too young to meddle in the very serous and dangerous issue Ghana has ever encounter since we became independence so please shut up for you are too young to meddle in this debate. A wor ...

• peter 8 years ago

Look at his monkey like face. What do u know about national security for u to say they're not threat to Ghana? Even we can't check our borders very well how can we deal with these hi-tech criminals?

• peter 8 years ago

The army will be their first target so get prepared,that is your reward for helping to bring this indecisive and irresponsible government!

• George Asare 8 years ago

I really want concern citizens of Ghana to know this how America and their western Allies start wars in Libya and now in Syria.

They send terrorist into your country for them to demonstrate to destroy state properties and ...

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

are we ghanaians now experts in giving assurance?

• AZAA GOVERNMENT 8 years ago

Oh John Mahama! Why are you so useless? You, along with your Ministers and the Council of State lack wisdom. What have we done wrong to deserve such hopeless people parading as our leaders? Why Ghana? How much were you paid b ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

I keep looking at this issue but I can't see were the issue is? the freed Yemenis and a couple of others were found to be innocent. Do we not have a commitment to the Global community, Have we forgotten who we are? so what is ...

• kk 8 years ago

You are just a complete and absolute idiot. If they were found to be innocent, why shouldn't they send them to native countries; and why didn't America take them?

• Davi 8 years ago

If parliament was not involved in this transfer which poses a serious national security challenge, Mahama or whoever authorized this must be impeached!

• Koofantse 8 years ago

Could some one explain why the US can not send him back to where they picked him or his native coun
    try but rather has to live in Ghana for two years?

• Manuel 8 years ago

This is TOTAL NONSENSE.WHY GHANA AND NOT CHINA OR RUSSIA? These garbage should be sent back to America.

• Paakow Mills 8 years ago

A sacrifice in order to stay in power
    You guys can't read between the lines, the only reason Mahama did this was for NDC own interest. This NDC party has been very corrupt, they are refusing compilation of a new voters regis ...

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

SO THAT THEY CAN GUIDE THE CITY AND THE PALACE THEY ARE WE'LL TRAINED.

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

Niggers will swim in their blood more of these will be coming

• MR, PAPSON 8 years ago

We live to see.

• Goldfish 8 years ago

why can't they go back to their own country(ies). they will come to tell us how to live our lives in our country.
    We are understanding, co-religious country where we respect and celebrate our traditional religion(s) and bot ...

• JPOT 8 years ago

Every Ghanaian needs to rise up to fight this corrupt Government. I have been an NDC for long time but no more.

• Honesty 8 years ago

They have told him exactly what to say, talking blah blah blah. THEY tell them want to say all the time on TV, News papers, and the radio stations.

• Kuuku 8 years ago

Better send them back to America
    They are hard terrorist who can never be converted. We live in a peaceful country, please don't let these people come and radicalised our children.we can't even fight arm robbers how would f ...

• Kuuku 8 years ago

Where is the opposition parties we need you to defend us

• Ogyam 8 years ago

This guy talks like a kid. Why didnt they keep them in US. No doubt Ghana is collapsing

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

A silly political response to a significant breach of national security.

• AZAA GOVERNMENT 8 years ago

If you had any brains in your skull you would not dream about these terrorists let alone letting them in into this country. Useless DOGS pushing the country into a ditch with their stupidity! I don't blame a foolish young man ...

• Etosha Disco 8 years ago

Why in Jesus, name will the US not give these terrorists asylum but would rather have someone carry the burden of sheltering them?Anyway are their neighbours in Ghana going to be made aware that their next door neighbours are ...

• ed 8 years ago

case resolved

• k o yeboah nash 8 years ago

It was Dan because of money, because if this men were drop in a toilet with money rap around them ndc will get them out because of the money. Greed ndc.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

Ei.... Felix the liar.

• SCONTY 8 years ago

IF THEY ARE NO THREAT TO GHANA WHY IS THE USA PUSHING THEM HERE. ARE THEY NOT SUPPOSED TO TAKE THEM TO US? FROM WIKI LEAKS THESE GUYS ARE HIGH RISK THREATS TO GHANA.SERIOUSLY GHANA HAS BEEN MISLED AND OUR LAZY LEADER WHO ALSO ...