You are here: HomeNews2016 01 05Article 405284

Fuel price increase: Govt deceived Parliament – MP

Read Comments Comments (65)

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

WE SHOULD ALL CONSIDER THE BEST FOR THE NATION. IF THE LEVIES ARE COLLECTED MAY THEY BE USED PRUDENTLY. CAN WE HAVE MORE STORAGE FOR LCO TO POWER THE GENERATING PLANTS?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: STEVOO-------
    GOD ISNT STUPID LIKE US, WE REAP WHAT WE SOWED,,,,WE SOWED FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, ALMOST ONE BILLION DOLLARS....WE SOWED WOYOME 45 MILLION DOLLARS, WE SOWED WATERVILLE 46 MILLION DOLLARS, ISOFOTON $325,4 ...

• &(+_=)WAR BEGINS NOW 8 years ago

THEY ARE JUST BUNCH OF CROOKS AND THIEVES WHO NEVER TELL YOU THE TRUTH.

• mensa 8 years ago

WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON IN GHANA AN OIL PRUDUCING COUNTRY?

• ed 8 years ago

WE MIGHT BE PAYING MORE THEN ANY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD FOR FUEL WHEN THE ENTIRE WORLD FUEL PRICE HACE CRASHED DOWN DUE TO SO MUCH CHEAP FUEL IN THE MARKET TODAY

• Ali 8 years ago

A renowned economist with their mathematical genus Dr. Pink sheet [you and I were not there] have been sleeping on the job. Stupid Akan NPP bastards.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-Kojo mawuyegah....
    NDC/NPP followers must use their brains, they must understand that only the best is good enough for the country. The present gov has failed to impress, too much corruption, low cedi, high unemploy ...

• Charles 8 years ago

Ghana's NDC has invented it's own economic concepts. Value for money,and demand and supply and it's effect on price means nothing to them.

• okle 8 years ago

Very interesting that the PhD law maker claims he did not understand what he was passing into law to govern Ghana. How pathetic!

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Symptomatic of this govt , lies and deceit just to ensure poverty of the people so they can be controlled easily

• OB 8 years ago

Very interesting, I don't see where the PhD lawmaker said he didn't understand what he approved. We have a huge problem in Ghana...
    We look but don't see
    We touch but don't feel
    We read but don't understand

From the Pr ...

• LAST DON 8 years ago

But for the unattainable ambition of one man; noble and dignified persons have been sacrificed just because they spoke their mind.
    What can you do again after you have spilled the milk? What is the value of salt if it has l ...

• d'SigNstyle 8 years ago

Say it loud

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum held in Westminster, Central London after a heated exchange between Ghana’s President John Mahama and former Nigerian President Olusegun ...

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum held in Westminster, Central London after a heated exchange between Ghana’s President John Mahama and former Nigerian President Olusegun ...

• Kwamea 8 years ago

Ignorance of law is no excuse all the parliamentarians should resign for misleading the Ghanaian public with all their book long.While the citizens are suffocated under wicked ndc government

• CHICO MAN 8 years ago

What were these minority Mp's siotting in parliament fgor ; is it not their job to be questioning these proposals ;these are useless Mps' they should be sacked because they all the cause of Ghana's failure .

• SENKOAAH. 8 years ago

BLAME YOUR USELESS GOVERNMENT THAT DOESN'T KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LIE AND TRUTH.ALL WHAT TERKPE SAID IN PARLIAMENT ABOUT THE COUNTRY'S ECONOMY WERE FALSE.THE GROWTH AND BLA-BLA WERE NOT TRUE BUT OPPOSITION HAD TO SWALLOW ...

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Not the first time. This fakes are lying to us and theselves since day one. They seek parliament concensus and borrow hugely for tiny little projects. Unacounted for ! Every deal in the name for ghana are inflated besides re ...

• Non honourable 8 years ago

Please stop throwing your hands in the air in fustration and act now. Parliament has all the powers except to turn a man into a woman. Dont tell me Parliamentarians dont have brains to act. Over to you HONOURABLES

• Charles 8 years ago

I recall someone said not long ago that 90% of parliamentarians in Ghana are corrupt.

• Sekwa 8 years ago

Unfortunately not in Ghana. Parliament is a rubber stamp in Ghana is like a computer, any garbage thrown in by the government comes out just that way. There is very little they can

• kojo Mensah 8 years ago

So if dead goat tells u that u hv been sleeping in Parliament why then do u doubt him

• k. b. frimpong 8 years ago

Always we have been deceived. Have you been sleeping over there? We will descend on all parliamentarians one.

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

so who should be held responsible me? what prevent you from recalling him to parliament for explanations the government owe us. as for this government regime the least said about them the better

• ghana peole 8 years ago

n,d,c , mahama and his cohorts have lost touch with life and reality, ghana people will teach them sense come 2016, and punish them very well. from ghana peope

• Rocky - Tamale 8 years ago

President John Dramani Mahama and his ministers are nothing but wicked blood suckers.

• Joe 8 years ago

Mahama is a devil. His days are numbered

• Constructivist 8 years ago

Who am I if Mahama who slept on his job in parliament for years came out to tell us his former colleagues are still sleeping! Parliament should assert its independence else its relevance in the democratic matrix is questionab ...

• doo 8 years ago

our MPs are useless there are helping us at all.

• Dela Dee 8 years ago

Is the MP serious at all,what's their use in parliament, are they not supposed to be doing due diligence with every bill before them.They (minority) collected money before consenting to the passage of the bill all are to be b ...

• Benny 8 years ago

Keep QUIET and suffer. The Ghanaian government is trading with the populace. Throw them away. And they must be prepared to ran away to Britain And the British will bring them back.

• Edem Kuma. Adedome 8 years ago

Vote massively for JDM
    JDM all the way. Just go to the Volta region and central region. Jdm has undertaken so many projects. The people in these regions are happy and will vote massively for jdm to finish his all time best p ...

• d'SigNstyle 8 years ago

The MP statement don't make sense..

• kay 8 years ago

We people of Ghana with respect to the atorny general' office petition her to sue August house for mismanagement, fraud,proper scrutiny etc for Mrs attorney genral come clean on this....

• Olalaaa 8 years ago

What kind of statement is this?, is the minister saying 5./' was submitted for parliament approval and after parliament a proved the 5./' finance minister turned around to inflate it as usual the NDC corrupt management to 27. ...

• malam tanko 8 years ago

Can bushman Economist talk about government subsidies how they pulling the nation down. Shameless apologist.

• Alhassan Alhassan Fuseini 8 years ago

This is clear indication of our MPs been inactive about they are there to do for us our representatives. They must sit up.

Ignoramus parliamentarians! What a clever way to shirk responsibility and heap the blame on others

• Abina 8 years ago

We are know that you are good for noting Finance Minister.

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Day 5 folks of the 311 days countdown to the Nov 7 when we will all give this azaa pea brain prez a two-finger salute and consign him to cattle farming in Bole which will benefit us all.

• Kwesi 8 years ago

It's only in Ghana will Members of Parliament always passed their responsibilities on to government. Have parliamentarians in forgot the check and balance concept. You, parliamentarians are supposed to look out and protect yo ...

• Paa Kow 8 years ago

When the minorities in parliament walk out from the house bcos the Govt cavalierly want to impose something on ghanains , the very people on whose interest these honourable men and women are fighting for turn to acuse them of ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

When Kwabena Donkor presented all 3
    options on the Power dealto the House,none of you MP's did any Calculations to ascertain which was good and Cheaper to the Taxpayer. Later,TK Hammond whom Seconded the motion lamented Dr ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

When the EC Budget was slashed to 800 million GH Cedis,the EC threatened to reduce her dreams of 30,000 Polling Stations to 29,000,at 850 persons per Polling Station.That means Ghana has a Voter population of 24,650,000 rough ...

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

If you allows incompetent thieves lie their way into government, that's what you get. I hope this time around Ghanaians will WAKE UP. THIEVES IN POWER.

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

Voters need to understand that this is
    NOT about Mahama and Nana Addo.The Simple TRUTH is that,When you VOTE to remove MAHAMA from Office you shine light on the Problems in the Country and give the chance to someone to corr ...

• lion 8 years ago

Open your eyes ghana. NDC must go!!!! John mahatma has nothing good to offer Ghanaians.

• max 8 years ago

Y WOULD U NOT BE DECEIVED WHEN U WERE SLEEPING IN DE HOUSE.

• Sekwa 8 years ago

You are totally ignorant abot the works of the Ghanaian parliament which is basically a rubber stamp. Rulling governments always have their way no matter what is how bad a presentation from the government is.

• Sekwa 8 years ago

We need the money for branding of buses, cloths, cups, milk, milo, kako etc etc for the elections. Thats what majority of poor Ghanaians want not not development

• Kwabena UK 8 years ago

Parliamentarians who are ignorant, sit to be fed with false informations to act on. LORD HAVE MERCY.

• Moro 8 years ago

Since 1992 government in power with majority in Parliament, as it helps us? If no then our voting style should change and let government in power has minority whilst opposition has majority and let see if it will help us

• $@m 8 years ago

U increased fuel,utility tarrifs,unemployment,dumsor....and it goes on and on...this govt is full of shite..

• kwam 8 years ago

This is why Mahama said MP are sleeping on the job, they always want to shift the blame, they should have known better by calculating the percentage before approving the tax bill.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

Since when did drivers start buying fuel from the government at a 27% increased price?

Why do we play politics with everything? Where is the deceit here?

Instead of calling out the petrol retailers who are engaged in ...

• Kwame, New Jersey 8 years ago

GHANAIANS MUST NOT ENTERTAIN THE PRESIDENT AND HIS PARLIAMENTARIAN COME 2016 ELECTIONS. BOTH PRESIDENT AND NDC MP'S MUST BE VOTED AGAINST. WHEN THEY BRING MONEY TO YOU IN VIEW OF BUYING YOUR VOTE, PLEASE TAKE THE MONEY AND VO ...

• Frederick Kofi Tawiah 8 years ago

Parliament are not doing enough for the citizen of the land

• JohnD 8 years ago

MPs are too busy attending funerals, outdoorings, parties, etc and have neglected their core mandate; and they get upset when they are accurately described as sleeping on the job.

• Martin 8 years ago

You all MPs must be blamed. So can anybody just go to parliament and deceive you into beleiving that 2 and 2 equals to 7? How can yoy talk of levels without considering the effects on the citizenry? You must be a big joke you ...

• MR EDEY BE KEKE 8 years ago

This NDC government does not care about the life of its citizens so they will continue to make us suffer because they don't care about the suffering masses. They have looted this country to the verge of suffocation but God is ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

DID PARLIAMENT DO DUE DILIGENCE? DID THEY ASK THE RIGHT QUESTIONS. PARLIAMENT IS CONPLICIT IN WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO THE PEOPLE OF GHANA. THE EXECUTIVE ARM OF GOVERNMENT CANNOT DECEIVE THE PEOPLE IF PARLIAMENT ALWAYS ASKS THE R ...

• peter 8 years ago

Useless MPs what do u do at the parliament? U take fat salaries and left,right and centre allowances but u do nothing.

• Ma ka, ma ka 8 years ago

You parliamentarians are fools if that is the defense you are giving us.