You are here: HomeNews2016 01 04Article 405177

Mahama appoints new Chief of Defence Staff

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Ibrahim... 8 years ago

This mahama guy thinks he can take all Ghanaian for granted including the army too.... We know what is going on mr man. Becareful.

• Bright Soul 8 years ago

Was it not
    Oje (Nigerian) who thought Mahama how to massage the ambrier aircraft prices during Atta Mills time? Axis of Evil in Power.Yooooo

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

the last one was useless so any change is good, perhaps these will now contribute to the development of the nation instead of sitting there chopping money for nothing

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

THESE APPOINTED OFFICERS KNOW THAT THE BEST THEY CAN DO FOR THEIR FAMILIES, COMMUNITY AND THE NATION AS A WHOLE IS TO REMAIN VERY PROFESSIONAL

• KOFI 8 years ago

HIS PILOT MUST CHOP SOME

• concern 8 years ago

How can a Nigerian become Chief of Defence staff in Ghana? NDC filled with this Ecowas nonsense and flooding Ghana with Nigerians, Beninios, Togolese nationals and sidelining full blooded Ghanaians.

• Akonta besi fom 8 years ago

There is no smoke without fire.The by-mistake president is beginning to get scared of the military now.He is removing all those who he perceives to be of a threat to him and replacing them with sycophants.

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

Let any military fool try his or her luck! Burkina Fasso will be just a picnic! Northerners, Fantis, Brongs and Ewes will show what they are made of against us cowardly ashantis! No one will count on the Gas-those kenkey eat ...

• Fanti Confederacy 8 years ago

If push comes to shove, Fantis and Brongs WILL side with their Akan brothers (Ashantis, Akims, Kwahus, Akwapims, etc), NOT with you Ewes and Northerners! BLOOD IS THICKER THAN WATER! For example, I am a Fanti from Mankessim. ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Yes, the sooner people realise that Bono's, Fanti's, Akyems, Ashanti's etc. Are sub-groups of the Akan people the better. We share the same Culture & Traditions and speak the same Twi Language with different dialects.
    My Fat ...

• Kukkaa 8 years ago

Akans are not the only tribe in Ghana. Get away with your village tribalistic sentiments.United we stand.

• kaketonti 8 years ago

FOOLS.THE WORD AKAN IS LIMITED IN-USE.IT ASCRIBES TO ONLY PRIMITIVE TWI-SPEAKING AREAS.GO ASK THE BRITISH.NOTE,ALSO THAT WE HAVE IN SOME FAMILIES ALL THE TRIBAL DIALECTS.I'M A FANTI NON AKAN.

• Kwabena worae 8 years ago

Be wise, politics is not about ethnicity, uk is not only english. Talk about issues.

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

You are a miserable soul. I don't blame john mahama for describing some people in Ghana as having short memories like this guy Abonsam. Look Dr Kwagyir Aggrey said something that if you bring a crow from the bush, give all ki ...

• l love freedom 8 years ago

So what have you said?

• AkuffoAddo JUNKIE 8 years ago

METCHEEEEEW, You are the biggest idiot on this platform.Have you asked what happened to those Zongo youth at Hohoe? Do you know they can no longer bury their dead there? Go figure and stop displaying your ignorance.

• Bobby 8 years ago

Please be reasonable a little. These guys are due for retirement period.

• BSR 8 years ago

Sampson Oje should have retired long ago... The worst is to come in GAF

• Oh Ghana 8 years ago

Tribalistic President,
    All the ministries are fully occupied by the EWES. No Ga's, Ashantis, Fantes, Bonos and Westerners even though they are the overwhelming majority. Stupid and tribal leader. We shall see. ......

• KWASIA 8 years ago

THE FIRST THING KUFFUOR'S GOVERNMENT DID WAS APPOINT HIS BROTHER DEFENCE MINISTER WHO QUICKLY GOT RID OF THE HEADS OF THE ARMED FORCES. i KNOW WHAT IT FEELS BECAUSE MY CLOSE RELATIVE WAS ONE OF THEM. THEY THOUGHT HIS WIFE WAS ...

• Kate 8 years ago

You are the tribalistic one!! No one asked you and your people not to acquire an education! But I won't comment much. Revenge is the Lord's.

• Krutuu 8 years ago

You are already aware that when your ancestors were in their farms and refused to attend school, other tribes took advantage of the presence of the whiteman and attended school. Send your children to school

• ABA ATTA 8 years ago

Ibrahim, how is JDM, taking Ghanaian for granted, in what way is he taking us for granted, person are put in positions to serve their country and the government for a period, when they are changed, then some of you FAR FROM T ...

• sup 8 years ago

this man paaasss

• A.j 8 years ago

(MALLAM) Congratulation…Hard work and dedication to duty has put you where you are now…I am very proud of you…KUDOS……..MALLAM…Stay blessed.

• Charles Agbenu 8 years ago

Another Alata man. Why Ghana why

• emma accrs 8 years ago

the best appointment mahama has made in the military. Oje is the best man for the post n there is joy in the barracks in all ranks. I can see the tension in the military falling out outright. Mr prez thank u.

• jojo 8 years ago

The man was born in Damango in the north. He is a ghanaian but was appointed cos he's from guess what....

• hggffff 8 years ago

but he is better than your father. foool!!

• Yaw George 8 years ago

Thank u mr president for the change of chief of defence staff he is wicked man

• THEGREATASHANTI. 8 years ago

Why do you ? Stupid Mahama

• Homeless 8 years ago

IS YOUR MOTHER AND FATHER WHO IS STUPID FOOLISH MAN I DON'T YOUR FAMILY GO TO SCHOOL IF THEY GO TO SCHOOL AND READ WELL YOU WILL NOT BE HERE SAYING STUPID MAHAMA.....

• Dsevcx 8 years ago

People are celebrating in the barracks

• ASAMOAH 8 years ago

Why the chief of Naval Staff??? Such a visionary leader

• Ohene 8 years ago

every election year they tend recruiting for these security posts. Nothing changes.

• zewukrebekuku 8 years ago

Thank you JDM, the best appointment so far in the military but Opoku adusei must go.

• stupid ewe military officer 8 years ago

why must he go. for being an akan? President you made a fair appointment.Bravo The ewe boys are disgrunted they want everything. then northerners should have taken all but you did not do that. president proud of u. this ewe o ...

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

The thieving ashantis are still in the military high command! these are cowards and cannot defend us. They are just UN peace keeping "galamsey" dealers

• perii 8 years ago

Kotoka Mensah Gbedema Akpaloo Rawlings
    Kojo Tyikata of one man one Machete fame. So who shd Ghanaians be afraid of.

• Dabo 8 years ago

Mahama has done it again, are there no qualified Akans?

• Bill 8 years ago

Who will let you lead the army?

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

They are damn scared of the Ashantis. Afrifa was among Kotoka's front men who staged the coup but he out witted them and made himself the head of state hence they hated him. They tried several times to overthrow Acheampong bu ...

• AkuffoAddo JUNKIE 8 years ago

You this nonentity never cease to amaze me. Other tribes scared of Ashantis??? Tweaaaaaaa. Where were your men when a woman led you to war. Don't let me laugh.

• Togbui Akpo 8 years ago

They are cowards who could not fight but made a woman to lead them to war. In the North and Eweland, women do notlead men to war. Hahahahaha. Forest cowards. Big mouth. No action

• Kate 8 years ago

You've answered your own question. Thank God some of us know that a person's tribe doesn't influence his level of competence. Go on sleep with your stupid tribalistic nonsense

• blackbarnes 8 years ago

ARE YOU A DIPLOMA OR DEGREE HOLDER AND WANTS TO DO YOUR MSC OR MBA WITHIN ONE YEAR IN EUROPE(CAMPUS OR ONLINE),THE OPPORTUNITY IS HERE NOW!!!CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION!!!UPCOMING ADMISSION IS MARCH 2016
    COURSES INCLUDE: ...

• KKK USA 8 years ago

MAHAMA WHATS THIS THE ONLY NAVY MAN WHO HAS BEEN A CHIEF OF DEFENCE STAFF YOU SACK HIM ALL BECUSE OF YOU WENT TO WIN ELECTIONS BY ALL MEANS NAVY STAFFS WAKE UP AND OPEN YOUR EYES

• Quashie 8 years ago

Mahama pls bring biekro back n sack faidoo he is also sikadesious

• joe man 8 years ago

Ooh ghana...jux becos a platoon of 56 recruits and 4 ring leaders, 500 recruits have been sent home.pls cds do something about it cos majority of them (recruits) are innocent.Additionally armed forces issue is very confidenti ...

• aboa 8 years ago

Thank u Mr president for changing the CDs.#wicked
    Come and see jubilation in the barrrackz.

• NANA FOR VICTORY 2016 8 years ago

Our buttocks loving JDM,
    Who introduced voodoo in Ghana politics
    Buttocks loving is thy business
    Dumsor is your achievement, as STX is thy failure,
    Corruption is thy favourite as Evil and lies are your hobby
    Lining up ...

• my name is my name joe 8 years ago

Bring back Biekro n sac Faidoo
    Mahama pls bring biekro back n sack faidoo he is also sikadesious.. plssss God help us ..

• adanko 8 years ago

THE MAN IS JUST SHOWING OFF TO SHOW THT HE CAN DO ANYTHING WITH ANYBOBODY IN GHANA. NO SENCE IN HIS ACTIONS. THIS IS CAPRICIOUS!

• Abongo soldier 8 years ago

Please Mr President well done for the changes, please mr president we begyou in the name of god, we the working force want Opoku Adusie to be changed too . Please do tht if only you need our votes. We shall vote massively for ...

• l love freedom 8 years ago

We love opoku adusei. He has placed the army in proper place to able to fight the enemy if need be. Only lazy money seeking soldiers would want him changed. Fool. Come again.

• hggffff 8 years ago

I support u 100%

• Ab 8 years ago

This fool called mahama is appointing heartless mafias who are prepared to slaughter people in the opposition stronghold when the prostitute ec leads the country into chaos. Me my gun is ready n will slaughter as many ewes/no ...

• d'SigNstyle 8 years ago

no weapon of enemy shall prosper against his natiobn..in jesus name

• Homeless 8 years ago

do you know you are very stupid Mr man

• voice of the voiceless 8 years ago

Ab watever u call urself u are very stupid man.Ghana is bigger than the mere NDC/NPP and indeed any political grouping. Pple like u may not live to see d upcoming polls. No weapon against dis nation ll prosper in Jesus mighty ...

• Akpangba 8 years ago

Try the Ewes and the Northerners and you will see the outcome. Do not beat war drums because you cannot dance a war dance

• kofi,USA 8 years ago

Not all the military and the police are ndc so mahama can forget. He should ask Egyptians and Libyans or even Burkinabes.He is shivering already. Avuuu....

• Kofi King 8 years ago

We are crying in the Navy why this type of change God help the Ghana Navy Ye woooo

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Our Nana Addo ugly Who art in Ghana Loser be your name Thy defeat come again Your free education be done by NDC As it is in your promise Give us this day our all die be die plan And forgive us our supreme court verdict As we ...

• revolution 8 years ago

President mahama has gotten it wrong in appointing commodore faidoo dat man is no visionary leader go to western naval command n u will see d mess dis man has cause

• BACKFIRE DORTMUND 8 years ago

EC says no ,Mahama must only make the rest to win.Security must prevail in the name of ballot stealing

• Concerned 8 years ago

Pls mr Prez,we need our VISIONARY Bierkro back, de only one we are proud of, n let de wicked Quashie double away.

• Oh Ghana 8 years ago

Tribalistic President,
    All the appointments have been given to the EWES. No Ga's, Ashantis, Fantes, Bonos and Westerners even though they are the overwhelming majority. Stupid and tribal leader. We shall see. ......

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

Tribalistic you've got to be kidding.

• Ask n be Told 8 years ago

Mr Prez, why de CNS-BIERKRO, instead of de dangerously corrupt ones folding de Armed forces into their greedy pockets with their syndicate leader Qurshie.

• anonymous 8 years ago

Oh baba the cns shld have rather stayed longer...vampires still around u.

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

mr president why the cns(comd biekro)he a good leader,he has got good peoples skills,good charisma,a God fearing Man.please mr president try and listening to troops.

• TT 8 years ago

Correct. Very true boss. CNS Biekro was treated unfairly

• concerned 8 years ago

mr president,the CNS comd biekro is the kind of man that the armed forecs need.a God fearing man,good chrisma,good peoples skills,motivational speaker,very humble,good leader.he is the right person who can bring professionali ...

• ONYAME NIPA(Man OF God)USA 8 years ago

ONYAME NIPA SPEAKING

• ONYAME NIPA(Man OF God)USA 8 years ago

SOONER

• OJI a Nigerian 8 years ago

mahama incompetence

• seidu 8 years ago

The defence of Ghana entrusted into the hands of a Nigerian. Oje every officer in the army knows is an allien. His father keft him behind during the alliens compliance order by Dr. Busia. Is also not a security he is Mahama's ...

• kakaboneka 8 years ago

God is not a fool.your stolen time is up and this time the devil himself will give you you dures.eatch

• Nyame bekyere 8 years ago

A good change at the right time but this is not for elections but for good administration for the soldiers bcs are jubilating everywhere in the barracks across the country. they shld for for the security rigging election for ...

• KWAME JACKUP 8 years ago

THIS CDS MUST GO LONGEST TIME. IF I TELL YOU SOLDIERS ARE BUYING THEIR OWN DESERT BOOT UNIFORMS BEFORE EMBARKING ON UN PEACE KEEPING OPERATION YOU WILL NOT BELIEVE IT BUT IF U CALL THEM THEY WILL LIE.SUDAN AND MALI.

• WO1 TETTEH ADICO 8 years ago

Congrats Air Commodore Maxwell Mantsebi-Tei Nagai on your appointment as the new Chief of Air Staff. Congrats once again.

• ONIPA NUA 8 years ago

SAAAAAAAAAAAA NA OTE3 SACK YR SELF

• Gideon Maya 8 years ago

Proud of you Air Commodore Mantsebi -Tei Nagai. God will grant you the needed wisdom to steer the affairs of the Air Force.

• QUASHIE 8 years ago

NO BIERKRO NO VOTE,MAHAMA U TINK WE AR FOOLS BRING BACK BIERKRO N SACK FAIDOO WE DONT LIKE HIM,NO UNIFORM FOR NAVY N CAMO TOO NO,PLS CHANGE FAIDOO OR U URSELF RUN N LET FIRE SERVICE TO GUARD U SOLDIERS AR NOT FOOLS.

• Akoto 4 8 years ago

So Mawuli Biekro have demoted or what?? And he will pack out of the Anchor House at Cantonment?

• Tutugyagu 8 years ago

huhu huhu. Its inevitable. the nation needs recycle. The writing is on the wall. What keeps corrupt politicians awake in the night. You can run but can't hide. Keep stealing from the national coffers. Its just a matter of tim ...

• balanced appointment 8 years ago

Mr Presidooo. Thank you. you should have not done the changes but still we are happy for the new cds and the new service commanders.we loved those changed too. please find them a place. those complaining are greedy they want ...

• Let God rule Ghana 8 years ago

This is ridiculous. Seeing the development CNS Biekro has brought to the Navy and Ghana..... the building projects and the solid navy he has built to the outside world. It's very funny president will make this change. #bringB ...

• IM Abdulsi - London 8 years ago

My congratulation to you Sampson. Humble man and dedicated officer.

• Yaw 8 years ago

That stupid and good for nothing former CDS Quashie should have been sacked long ago!! He has messed up the military and made all soldiers hate NDC government so much and we for sure going to vote against the government ....N ...

• Let God rule Ghana 8 years ago

What CNS Biekro has done in 2 years, people could not do in 15 years. He is a legend. You could have just respected him by making him end his 4 year tenure. This is clearly sabotage. Cos no wrong finger can be pointed to him. ...

• Old Soldier never die 8 years ago

Jdm now that you have sack some 0f the corrupt officers how do the 78 to 83 old soldiers get their money Jdm sack Col Dzisi the Ghana Armed Forces is full corruption

• jobling castro 8 years ago

Mahama Ghana governmet need new idear Ghana is heading dictartorsip

• Raymond 8 years ago

who say Quarshie was de best man to be the CDS,,hv u been to his house to perform duty b4.Jxt ask de pensioners (88/89),,hw he mismanaged the money they have worked for,,,,,y was he trying to hang himself. And u ar calling hi ...

• Tetteh 8 years ago

why why Mr pres why. Do u change Biekro
    pls u will pay for this.

• Bright K. 8 years ago

Repent from your sins and take the free gift of salvation by believing on Jesus Christ as your Lord and personal saviour and you shall be saved. Heaven and Hell are real. Where will you spend eternity. Choose heaven.

• Abena 8 years ago

WHY, NO INFO B4 RESHUFFLE

• maame 8 years ago

New Chief of Defence Staff please work as if you are working for God. Please fairness not comprimising witht he government. Let Christ be the centre of your job.

• TT 8 years ago

Hahaha. How will he do that when he is a close friend to the president since childhood days? This change is not surprising at all.

• citizen observer 8 years ago

point of correction the new CDS IS NOT NIGERIAN he is GHANAIAN pls verify your facts.he was born bread and buttered in TAMALE.OLD NAVASCAN. ONE OF THE BEST PILOTS IN THE GAF. HE WAS APPOINTED ON MERIT.CAN WE LOOK PAST POLITIC ...

• Quashieba 8 years ago

Mahama for u changing our biekro,u will not av soldiers vote we will vote u out like football.