Ghana needs only 150 MPs – Fritz Baffour

Read Comments Comments (70)

• GHA 8 years ago

IT DOES NOT HELP BLACK AFRICA:

• POOP 8 years ago

TAHT FOR SURE

• facts 8 years ago

SO MANY MPS HAVE NO GOOD IMPARTS ON THE COUNTRY. IT ONLY CONSUMES THE LITTLE FUNDS AVAILABLE FOR DEVELOPMENTS

• Kojo Essoun 8 years ago

I will call for 100 MPs only. What we have is one of the causes of our poverty

• John 8 years ago

A constitution where all powers is vested in the president.yes that is what we have got when butchers, babars, market women etc draw the constitution.we need a new constitution. The number of MP'so now is too many.

• perii 8 years ago

Who is Otumfuo? what has he done to do better than the prez and why otumfou?

• PEKI PRINCE 8 years ago

WHAT THE HECK IS THIS SPRAYING AND RE-BRANDING OF METRO BUSES ABOUT? The NDC(Notorious Demented Criminals) 2016 campaign propaganda team diabolically cooked up this scheme of using 116 public buses as cheap mobile billboar ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

A country like Ghana do not need even 150 MPs'. How many regions do we have in Ghana is that not ten? So, why do we need 275 MP's then? What are they doing to help our country? Ghana, we are enemies of our own.

• Anonymous Coward 8 years ago

In Ghana, anything can go to parliament provided they have enough stolen money from the poor. The most annoying part is the fact that some of these corrupt and uneducated fools have honourables attached to their names. Ghana ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

Seriously what's the job of an mp? ?How many of them actually do that job. Most constituencies complain they only see them during elections. When they vote on issues, it's always what their party have decided rather than thei ...

• KOFI MENDS Sekondi 8 years ago

The answer is giving the country back to the British to govern us for say 30 years while we understudy them All the key positions be held by the British and our people be their assistant. This will be a period of orientation. ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

It makes me sad to read such comments of inferiority in the 21st Century. Africans had powerful Kingdoms that were trading on equal terms with Europeans and Arabs as far back as the 15th Century. For example, Elmina Castle w ...

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

THANK YOU MR. YEBOA. YOU SAID IT ALL. NO FURTHER COMMENT. I HOPE MOST GHANAIANS WOULD READ AND UNDERSTAND YOUR COMMENT. GOD BLESS

• Alfredo 8 years ago

But it's true. We can't do anything right. And we always go to these people for help.

• Osu manste 8 years ago

Yaw Yeboah, and for all the reasons you have mentioned we have to let the British rule. Sad but hard truth. Our modern culture does not encourage truth and integrity needed to run a country. We can't fellow Africans to play t ...

• JOHN SAIBU 8 years ago

We. copy blindly. We went wrong the moment we adapted their education system. They have succeeded in brainwashing us to admit we are below their standard.WE ARE FOOLS. NKWASIAFUO

• GHA 8 years ago

BETTER TO RULE GHANA THROUGH KINGS

• JOE TEX 8 years ago

'In 2012, the Electoral Commission increased the number of seats in the House from 230 to 275, adding 21 more seats.'......what kind of journalism or maths is this ??? 275 minus 230 is now 21 ???

• SBD 8 years ago

That an indictment on our current educational system.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

That alone shows your so called graduates are not even at the level of a lower primary student,if the entire editorial staff cannot see anything wrong with that then it shows how useless our system is.
    This guy is one of th ...

• Ben 8 years ago

Ghanaians must abolish this current political system.

• YARO 8 years ago

I believe 50 MP's will do.

• kb 8 years ago

General Acheampong advocated the UNIGOV system.Could that be our way out?

• SBD 8 years ago

Why was Mr. Kan Dapaah lynched when he made a similar observation some weeks ago?

• kofi 8 years ago

Thanks to God,for once l have seen a level headed NDC MP. Why should we waste resources on Thrash MPs.This is the 2nd time an MP is talking on this issue.Look at Ablakwa,Trees under school MP,Nii Moale and the life.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

When NDC was pushing to increase the number to 275, some of us who saw the idea as a bad deal, were vilified. Imagine the cost that comes with the increase, it can be used to develop other areas in the country.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

You only have problem when NDC increased the number but you didn't have problem when NPP also increased it,that is Ghana man mentality,selfishness,the same as this Fritz Barffour guy.

For your information,when they cre ...

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

Corney you are too intelligent for this equalization p-lease let us deal with issues without refering to the previous mistakes by other. Lets look at our population and see with the MPS far outweighs the population compare th ...

• kofi kyei 8 years ago

I totally agree with the MP that the number of mps be reduced. Ghana does not need more than 80 mps. Otumfou is worse than President Mahama and both are "yerentie obia".

• AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago

News about Dzifa Attivors thievery has gone international. Read about how the international media reported it and the global comments that followed.

Accra (AFP) - Ghana's transport minister resigned Wednesday after a contr ...

• Moomin 8 years ago

NDC MPs will muddy the waters up-north and complain what happened at downstream. Fritz, did you vote for or against when it came to the floor of Parliament for additional seats to be created? Double standards, bellish politic ...

• Marcus chris Lawson 8 years ago

The real work of the house is done by a few dedicated ones who always in the house
    The standing committed are the actual work engine of parliament
    Others just ran around with the self styled title honourable pdoing such dis ...

• Jay 8 years ago

Stop the nonsense talk Fritz! Your UK trained ass is aware that even in the UK almost the same size as Ghana they have over 600 MP's sitting in the house of Commons and a further lord knows how many sitting in the house of lo ...

• Kojo 8 years ago

UK has 64.5 million population and they don't go around begging for money

• PIOTO 8 years ago

UK doesn't beg for money and their MPs play a very important roles in running the country. What is the use of our parliament? Apart from the fixed term of presidents, i believe we should rethink the whole system of government ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

I bet 5 from each Region will be more than enough. Greater Accra and Ashanti, perhaps 8 each. This is even more so because many (in fact, most) of the current MPs do not even understand what they vote on (I can name names). S ...

• Kofi adu 8 years ago

If you think 275 is too much then find a means to a constitutional change. Cheifs should govern, it will eliminate foolish mps. Who say tweaa.

• Georgee 8 years ago

The thinking is flawed and should not be tolerated. By the way did you vote against the proposal to increase the number with 30 more constituencies?

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Mr Baffour's recommendation to reduce the number of MPs to 150 is a great idea. Ghana is such a small country to have all that many MPs. The money wasted on all these MPs could be used for infrastructure improvements. Stop ...

• akwesi 8 years ago

I think Fritz is right. Also, Ghana does not need more than 15 ministries. If Ghana as a nation thinks about LEAN MANAGEMENT and its concomitant waste elimination in a system, then a maximum of 15 ministers is more than enoug ...

• James 8 years ago

We only need to tape recorders, one will always be turned to shout yes,yes, and the other will shout no, no. After playing it for a while, we just need to claim the majority party won.
    We just have two rubber stamp groups i ...

• KADEMNAB AZUIMAH 8 years ago

All we need is 100 MPs for a country like ours Ghana.

• kutsii 8 years ago

Go way u there, Fritz Baffour the joker? Didn't u know this before u entered parliament to suck the tax payers monies in ur salaries, ex gratia , watchman, garden boy and maid and dress allowances? Nonsense. Foolish comedian, ...

• Omanba 8 years ago

These politicians have taking us for granted. What this mp is saying is true, but my question is that didn't he knows that before he also go there? Now the lifestyle of these politicians are pushing so many people into politi ...

• Osei Kofi 8 years ago

Has Fritz Barfour finally woken up from his slumber? Why didn't you show any push-back when the NDC was goading Afari Gyan to needlessly increase the number to 275. I'm very disappointed in you for not seeing anything wrong w ...

• Hanson Frempong Manso,London 8 years ago

Governance of a country like Ghana are managed by honest and qualified Economists but not 400 MPs. Use proposed 125 MPs funds to tackle current power problems

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

Fritz Baffour, now that you won't contest anymore that you can see that Ghana needs only 150 MPs. You didn't see this when you were in competition.

• DI ASEM PA 8 years ago

And who government increase the number? Mahama and Atta mills government. Ndc government has nothing good for this country. Bunch of trash in the parliament.

• christopher South Africa 8 years ago

Ghana is too small for that number of MPs and even they are not doing anything

• kaka 8 years ago

i agree, the number of MP's is too large for a poor country such as Ghana. sorry we are not poor but highly indebted. the mps will always endorse what the government proposes any way, so why do we need more people in parliame ...

• KOFI MENDS Sekondi 8 years ago

Almost 60 years of independence,and with our own people like Mahama ruling us, dwear reader stop to think about thiswhat have we done with these years of independence? Don't you agree with me that if Ghana had been able to ma ...

• Big J 8 years ago

more seat means, more money for the part who get more seat.

• Justice 8 years ago

IT CAN BE 100 PEOPLE BUT ALL OF YOU CAN'T THINK RIGHT FOR THE NATION AT THIS POINT.
    CRAZY GUYS ARE 75% IN PARLIAMENT, WASTING OUR MONEY.

• peter 8 years ago

We just need 100 MPs.

• Dr Robert K Glah 8 years ago

Effective Representation: 400 MPs.
    Representation of most interest groups is the solution and not denial.
    That strategy may share equitable responsibilities to the people by the people and for the people.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 8 years ago

The origional parliament of Ghana had 120 seats and so 150 seats for the present age is ok. The 275 seats as at the moments is not economic, how much more increasing the number of seats to 400 in future. Is it a means of crea ...

• Felix 8 years ago

It pains me being a ghanaian. Politicians are taking us to be fools. This same person voted in favour of creating new constituencies. This tells us they are there to serve their party interest but not that of their constit ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

OK 25,000,000 population? If we want proper representation then we need 25,000 MPs abi?, 1000 people, one MP. Money nonsense abi,

• BALUTAH 8 years ago

Use our head.how can you compare Ghana To uk what do they have in common?please buy a pillow and a thinking cup

• Anas Seidu 8 years ago

True

• Alfredo 8 years ago

Blame stubborn cat afari gyan who refused to listen to anybody.

• Afia Sika,Gomoa Nkran 8 years ago

God bless you, Fritz. I think we even need less than that. Ghanaians will do themselves and the Country a great favour by putting aside all their political differences aside and reconsider this suggestion critically. We have ...

• mike 8 years ago

If you notice the size of Canada is at
    9,984,670 sq km.And has 308 MP's,why does Ghana currently need 275 MP's when you are 238,535 sq km.Ghana is .02389012 % the size of Canada in comparison .That is less than 1 % of the si ...

• mike 8 years ago

I revise that,Canada rather has 338 MP's

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

It is HIGH TIME we took this TOPIC serious again.......the REDUCTION of the number of MPs and placing a CEILING on that number as an ammendment IN THE CONSTITUTION!!!!!
    A small nation like Ghana,BEGGING SUPPORT for the BUDGE ...

• cobby aped... 8 years ago

i believe 35 mp's will do...this wil help manage our resource... coz some of e mp's ar there jxt to say yeh yeh yeh in PALiament nö improvement in their constituencies Tnx

• Kojo @ 8 years ago

This is most sensible statement I have head. The number of MPs are too high. Yes reduce it to 100 even.
    Thanks

• SAMUEL K NKRUMAH 8 years ago

True! I support the comment by the MP 100% The MPs are too many. They are part of the huge wage bill for the country.

• Joe 8 years ago

There is no guarantee that the money saved by cutting down the number of legislators will be used for developing the country. It will be looted and shared by the lucky few.

• Yakubu 8 years ago

150 MPs are too much