You are here: HomeNews2015 12 26Article 403380

Ghana Armed Forces confirm dismissal of 500 recruits

Read Comments Comments (121)

• Gyato 8 years ago

IF OUR POLITICIANS WOULD TAKE THEIR DIRTY HANDS OFF SUCH RECRUITMENTS , THE SELECTION PROCESS WOULD HAVE BEEN PROPERLY DONE AND THE RIGHT PEOPLE SELECTED WOULD NEVER HAVE BEHAVED THIS WAY : THIS INCIDENCE IS REALY DANGEROUS ...

• TWENEBOAH 8 years ago

JUST FOR A BRIEF MOMENT THERE I THOUGHT GAF WAS GOING TO WASTE TIME WITH THESE POLITICAL APPOINTED CADETS.THE MILITARY IS NOT FOR EVERYBODY.IF A CADET CANNOT FOLLOW THE VERY DEMANDING TRAINING REGIMENT, SHOW HIM THE DOOR.NO Q ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Please i like your commenta but a correction will do. These are recruits and not cadets. Cadets are for the officers at the military academy. I hope it help3d

• Tweneboah 8 years ago

You can tell I am pretty heated up with the way things are going in our country.Nothing seems to work right and nobody seem to want to do the right thing these days.It is very frustrating.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Deterioration of professional standards , discipline and professionalism sacrificed in favor of political bias has made the army now nothing but a toothless buga buga lion. In fact all our security agencies need to be immedia ...

• Cool 8 years ago

So why id a lll the stupid accusations you are making did not prevent the sacking of the 500. we have a lazy cocaine sniffing , ice cream popping, unwilling to learn youth. why do we have youth unemployment when lands are th ...

• facts 8 years ago

Let there be an independent investigation to find out if there were indeed some kind of unacceptable forms of treatment or human right violations eg if a female under-trainee is instructed to need herself before the eyes of m ...

• kabokabo 8 years ago

Those 500 are known NPP surpporters

• SUNKWA 8 years ago

OOH-HO! THIS ONE IS BEYOND NANA & AKOMEA. THERE MUST BE SOME NDUOM SUPPORTERS TOO; THAT IS IF YOU LOOKED INTO THEIR EYELIDS!

• kwadede 8 years ago

CORRUPTION GALORE. You see the military and police have always denied recruiting people but how come 500 new recruits are being sent home for misbehavior? Insincerity in high places. What happened to the Timbilla recruitment ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-ADANKO...
    Don't go far to punish an innocent person. Mahama is the brain behind it.Asiedu Nketia brought the idea and supported byNDC national council. It is a way to get money for their party.

• DETRIBALIS 8 years ago

I AM SURE THERE ARE NO EWE/TROKOSIS AMONG THES SACKED PEOPLE. OUR ARMED FORCES HAVE BECOME THE SOLE PROPERTY OF EWE/TROKOSIS.IF YOU WANT TRIBAL BALANCE IN THE GHANA ARMED FORCES, VOTE AGAINST NDC. THERE SHOULD BE A BALANCE IN ...

• Stoway 8 years ago

Some of you are so ignorant to the extent that you fail to understand the fact that the military is a completely different organ of the nation. Everything you call for demonstration, law suits and independent investigation. D ...

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

It's b'cos of the stigma attached to farming(kokoasefo). I would not advise any young person to move deep into the jungle and engage in cocoa cultivation. No schools, hospitals or clinics, good roads, good drinking water, ele ...

• Cool 8 years ago

read comments, try to understand them, make comments if you can BUT remain civil and courteous. frustration is no excuse to be disrespectful of others. what you are seeing in the army recruits is what yoiu are exhibiting t ...

• Kwabena Aboagye 8 years ago

Army, is ' obey before complain'. The military training ground is not a place where you go and eat fufu and goat meat with palm-nut soup and then go to sleep. The army would have helped us with the composition of the 500 re ...

• Togbui Delavi 8 years ago

This protocol nonsense must stop.

• Pround pepeni. 8 years ago

BRAVO! THE MILITARY IS SHOWING THE WAY. AS SOMEONE SAID, TOO MANY PROTOCOL LISTERS BELIEVED THEY WERE ABOVE THE RULES. WITHOUT DISCIPLINE THE ARMY WILL NOT BE ANYTHING TO WRITE HOME ABOUT. I HOPE OTHER ORGNAISATIONS CAN BE BO ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 8 years ago

This is the best news of the year. I salute the GAF for doing the right thing by dismissing these recruits. By this act, the GAF has saved this nation from future coups.
    Now, publish their names in the newspapers so that no ...

• asems 8 years ago

It seems these politicians have their hands everywhere. Can they allow these bodies to function on their own? they have too much time on their hands.

• tuy 8 years ago

Do we really need an army? Has the Ghana army ever defended the country against external aggression? We have a bunch of idiot who argue that the Ghana army has been engaging in peace keeping duties around the globe. That is ...

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

First of all let us get something straight, the various civilian governments have done more damage than the military ever did.Who told you our neighbors have always respected our sovereignty? Do you know how many times Outarr ...

• Cool 8 years ago

WHAT KIND OF LANGUAGE IS THIS? WILL YOU WRITE THIS IF YOU CAN EASILY BE TRACED?

• Lord Zico 8 years ago

Is either you are sick or confuse about the duties of Army. If you don't have any thing to write close your pussy mouth.

• eric adjei 8 years ago

pleases, I hope you are from home not house.are you bringing solutions to what has happened or you are just insulting?please mind your words

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Fool yes we need a standing army

• USPr 8 years ago

I guess u'll need to ask countries without strong armed forces that question.

• Stoway 8 years ago

Yes Sir!

• AIRBORNE 8 years ago

YOU REALLY NEED EDUCATION

• otm 8 years ago

U really need education before u come out with the above article and u are ill mannered too u go to sleep and dis same military personnel keep wake at our boarder post nonsense I don"t need to even educat u cos u clearly don' ...

• Ranger P 8 years ago

You are not serious

• Worfa Yaw 8 years ago

TUY, you have written this fuck of an article out of your dirty ignorance. Ask and be told what the Army is doing for Ghana. If you don't have adequate knowledge about a particular field, don't try writing anything that tells ...

• Chopleave 8 years ago

Well done GAF. The recruits and the general public must understand that GAF is NOT a democratic institution. It is governed by laws specific laws all over the world and must be obeyed by all those who want to be part of this ...

• Ras 8 years ago

Am with you. This is the root cause

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

There must be something like truth
    missing here,you know that the enlistment is not done just like that,one has to go through severe scrutiny before being accepted.
    The 500 recruits were the best in the whole of Ghana chos ...

• Togbui Delavi 8 years ago

This protocol nonsense must stopp .

• Cecilia 8 years ago

Stupidly copying NPP's demo demo demo and strikes and making the country ungovernable. You can't do this in the military.

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

Stupid cecilia, they are all ndc footsoldiers who are used to ndc hooliganism and violence but you can't take that primitive attitude to any civilized and disciplined society. GET A LIFE and stop dreaming about npp chasing ...

• naaba 8 years ago

but ndc has never killed a regional chairman with acid. npp lmvc defied court order, thinking their lawlessnes can be exbited everywhere. they stabbed d asawase guy to death. their headquarters has bcom a place of lawlessness ...

• Ntiamoah 8 years ago

Remind Cecelia

• sir john 8 years ago

That is good ,they should go home,infact this nonsense can never happen im ghana immigration.army well done

• Constructivist 8 years ago

Good decision, but next time reject the protocol list. they are children and girlfriends of powerful people. They thought they can extend their influences and control the only discipline institution we have left in ghana.

• Alhassan Iddridu 8 years ago

That is the right decision. Desciplain we can.

• back door director 8 years ago

They wanted to be trained to play video war games.
    The army has started let the doctors in training be next

• mumuni 8 years ago

Bring back the Boys Company, jnr leaders.

• Yaro 8 years ago

Na truf you dey talk.Soldiering Na become business like trading and Awaakye selling.Ebi like say we need reform was.

• Samurai Japan. 8 years ago

That is a very good suggestion. This Govt. and future ones should think seriously about this idea. Thank you.

• OBAMA 8 years ago

Politicians in Ghana have politicised everything even to the extent that they have taken the works of the security services. They determined who should be recruited meanwhile they did not know the procedures for recruiting in ...

• HARDER@'-89 8 years ago

very swift n decisive stand by military high...this is really indicative of their high calibre of professional

• dogo dagarti 8 years ago

mmmmmh we pray they don't become rebels

• SUNKWA 8 years ago

HOW CAN YOU CREDIT SUCH SISSY-HEARTS WITH ANY SUCH AMBITION? THE ONLY REBELLION THEY EVER CAN CONDUCT WAS WHAT THEY TRIED AND GOT KICKED OUT. THEY ARE FOREVER TAGGED, WEAK-WILLED 'BLOODY CIVILIANS' AS LAGOSIANS WOULD DESCRIBE ...

• dogo dagarti 8 years ago

when u do back door recruitment this is the end results .. u reap what u sow

• Aziz 8 years ago

These 500 rejects would surely become armed robbers!!

• SUNKWA 8 years ago

THEY DO NOT HAVE THE HEART TO ROB AND IF THEY TRY THEY WOULD FLOP MISERABLY AND END UP IN UNIFORM AS PRISON LABOURERS. THESE ONES ARE CURSED. WHEN YOU GET THE CHANCE TO JOIN THE SERVICES AND YOU FLOP THE WAY THEY DID, THEIR ...

• HARDER@'-89 8 years ago

Very swift n decisive stand by the military high command and is really indicative of the high calibre and level of professional precision by our military. however, i believe this problem has arisen largely to the undue influe ...

• ASEMPA 8 years ago

Yes NPP has also NEVER shot a DCE. NDC shot their own DCE in the volta region and because of politics swept it under the carpet. Up till today not a single soul has been caught just because they wanted to use Chm Adams death ...

• KAREN -UK 8 years ago

THE MOTTO OF THE TRAINING GROUND IS''HARD TRAINING EASY BATTLE''AND THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT WE HAVE ALL GONE THRU AS RECRUITS N PASS OUT AS SOLDIERS.I AM NO MORE IN THE ARMY BUT I CAN TELL YOU,I AM WHO I AM TODAY BUT FOR THE TRA ...

• KAREN -UK 8 years ago

THEN LT OPOKU WOULD HAVE....CORRECTION

• Nii 8 years ago

Please avoid exposing your ignorance this way.

• Mawuli 8 years ago

Idiot ! go back to ur history teacher he will tell you that NDC is more violence party than any other political party in Ghana . Western regional NDC chairman was lock in the kiosk and burned him into ashes by party members . ...

• Cool 8 years ago

OSEI, please stop using Ewe monikers

• YB 8 years ago

Health Campaign
    Complete health living organization (NGO) present, Health screaming exercises for communities, Churches and individual at reduced rate.
    This program covers Liver functioning. Heart, Kidney, Pancreas, Lungs, ...

• Bernice, USA 8 years ago

I don't suppose you want me to offer my person to you to take care of seeing you don't even know what you are professing to practice. I don't believe you are into the practice of medicine. Looks like you a traditional herba ...

• Samurai Japan. 8 years ago

I'm still proud of the Ghana Armed Forces. It is one of the best , if not the best, institutions we have left in the country. Please let us protect it and ask our politicians to take their hands off it. Every future recruit s ...

• Ibrahim... 8 years ago

Is this not a scam...

• Cool 8 years ago

The NPP brought the concept of recruitment according to regional quota. we spoke against it . some tribes in Ghana are naturally discipline, take orders, and are tough fighters. others are best at selling stuff along the s ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

Cool, you are an illiterate dumbass. These idiots are Ndc sick people recruited from their world bank and because of akpeteshi drinking, cannot go through its rigorous training.

These incestuous trokosi daughter fuckers th ...

• Akwasi 8 years ago

I congratulate the Military Command. Good job. Let them go home and demonstrate. The indiscipline is too much. What kind of democracy is this that everyone gets up and do whatever he or she likes. Insults everywhere and no re ...

• Awudu Nelson 8 years ago

Good One you have said it all. that is what is happening in some of the institution.

• kwaku 8 years ago

the army is for ewes and northners not his lazy dwarfs who have been cross bred . business and stealing is their hobby. sack them fools. kuffour brought that stupid regional balance . what is not in ur blood cant work.

• JB 8 years ago

Is a good news to us. But I have some mix feeling that this people may end up on our streets as arm robbers. Measures should be put in place to monitor their movement in the communities. I pray and hope that they don't vest t ...

• SUNKWA 8 years ago

PREPARATION. THE YOUNG CHAPS DO NOT KNOW THAT IT TAKES SOMETHING SPECIAL TO BE CALLED A SOLDIER.
    IN THE ERA OF COMPUTER GAMES, THEY THOUGHT THEY COULD WALK THROUGH THE RECRUITING PROCESS WITHOUT EARNING THE PRIDE THAT COMES ...

• ismail Abdulai Yusha(priv pya 2002/20 8 years ago

Ahuu Ahuyaya thank u sir for the great job done soldiers are mot like other odinary people they are special people who ever thinks soldiers are to go to camp eat and sleep should go to their mamas kichens for food and pampar ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 8 years ago

Brothers and sisters, let's be patient for a moment and blame no party in this issue. I believe some investigations should be carried out to identify exactly what the recruits perceive as mistreatments of human beings. We all ...

• Ato John 8 years ago

What is happening to our beloved country Ghana.
    Army recruits demonstrating, not because of inadequate rations, inappropriate clothing and or tools, we can't even talk about accommodation here let alone physical training. Wh ...

• HARDCORE 8 years ago

My brother, you took everything away from my mouth, well done.merry Christmas

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

ATO YOU ARE A GREAT MAN KEEP THIS UP

• Danlugu Stephen 8 years ago

Crimes and criminals are upgrading everyday in on our streets but in terms of our security we lack behind.
    those who are fit are not picked
    God help Ghana

• Agbesi Kwesi 8 years ago

..Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg

There wa ...

• VETERAN, UK 8 years ago

I AM AN EX- SOLDIER OF THE BRITISH ARMY.BEFORE JOINING ANY ARMY,YOU SIGN A CONTRACT WITH THE ARMY PROMISING TO ABIDE BY ALL THE RULES AND CODE OF ETHICS.SO WHY WOULD THESE WEAK RECRUITS JOIN THE ARMY IF THEY KNOW THEY ARE WEA ...

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

YOU SEE IS UNFORTUNATE THAT YOU DONT LIVE IN GHANA YOU WOULD HAVE AGREED WITH ME THAT THE SACKED RECRUITS NEVER HAD THE INTEREST OF BECOMING SOLDIERS BUT THEY WERE FORCED INTO IT BY RELATIVES, FRIENDS AND ACQUAINTANCE WHO HOL ...

• VETERAN(BRITISH ARMY), UK 8 years ago

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU RECRUIT SOLDIERS BASE ON PROTOCOL INSTEAD OF MERIT.THEY HAVE DESTROYED THE CHANCE FOR THE POOR QUALIFIED PEOPLE THAT DESERVE TO BE THERE.

• Johnson 8 years ago

I side with Gyato the so called protocol is destroying everything in the system do u think if these people had gone on their n knew the nature of the training,would they have misconducted themselves like that?

• George 8 years ago

these cadets paid bribes before selected and after few days training laid them off, their bribes should refund back to them.

• Zormelo31 8 years ago

Security is not a job for Dadabies. Who told them dey have a say in training skul. Does recruits have any right?. Dey wan go home n dey r home telling dea relatives dat dey r on break.
    Even if protocol kuraaaaaa,de pipo shld ...

• germany 8 years ago

well done Ghana,the world is looking.

• CHOKOSI 8 years ago

Interesting. If they can not stand even a mere place like Shai Hills, what kind of soldies would they be? WE are not talkin go Tamale Nyohni where the sun alone is somethin to send you packing home, even water to drink in the ...

• sea blue 8 years ago

ANOTHER HIGH-TECH SCAM abi! COP-ATTIMBILLA knows all.When and where was all this ppl recruited? AND ALL the new 500 recruiters had one mind at the same time? SCAM-SCAM-SCAM! Anyway dont cry for ARGENTINA,bcos ITs the BETTER G ...

• King Faisal 8 years ago

WE MUST BE SERIOUS TO ENFORCE THE LAW OF THE NATION TO WORK,IF NOT THAT WE ARE ALL FORCING TO TURN TO JOKERS A NATION OF JOKERS.GHANA MUST BE SERIOUS,GOOD DEED COMMANDER

• KUSASI KOKU 8 years ago

Most of the recruits were there because of their parents' influence. Twea, these John Mahama soldiers.

• ONYAME NIPA(Man OF God)USA 8 years ago

Shame

• S B. 8 years ago

This is what is supposed to happen. People are not recruited on merit. Politicians meddle in the affairs of the military. If this is not stopped worse things are likely to happen in the nation's security services. Ministers, ...

• Nariesentan 8 years ago

This is to the RULING PARTY NDC. STOP POLITICALISATION of RECRUITMENT in the ARMY , POLICE, PRISONS, CUSTOMS, FIRE SERVICE, IMMIGRATION SERVICE. It brings down Discipline and lead to the recruitment of unqualified persons. ...

• LK 8 years ago

ARMY COMMANDER YOU SEE YOUR QUALIFICATION YOU INTRODUCED TO JOIN THE SOLDIER THE EFFECT THOSE PEOPLE ARE ALL GRADUATE YOU ARE LUCKY THEY SHOW THEIR BEHAVIOUR AT THE TRAINNG SCHOOL. PLEASE TAKE JSS AND SHS WITH NORMAL PASSES ...

• Recruit 8 years ago

I may not know much but I understand the word 'electrification' in Gh Army. The misconduct of a group of people have caused the future of 500 people. What can these people do? Why then do you deceive them that they will be ca ...

• A M Adams Kpo. Ghana. 8 years ago

The military command has done the right thing but the recruits should have been made to pay for all monies spent on them.

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

This is a lesson for Ghana. When NDC took power they sacked all properly military recruited people who were going for training. NDC came out to say that those recruited were NPP people. Now Military, Police, Immigration etc ...

• A M Adams Kpo. Ghana. 8 years ago

The Military Command has done well;The recruits must pay for all monies spent on them.

• A Recruit 8 years ago

A recruitment process that took the duration of two years involving candidates from far fetched and distant parts of country many of whom without relatives leaving in accra came n slept on the streets of accra during the fina ...

• fine boy 8 years ago

You need education as to how to respond articles properly, this is not about npp ndc it is about the defense of the country so talk within that to help the nation with your little knowledge

• Thomas 8 years ago

dats d result of protocol enlistment

• Shie Kwaku 8 years ago

Good news...now try to always recruit young, energetic and people with de nation at heart,..not protocol cadets.

• rita osei-owusu 8 years ago

good

• mahamudu Ali 8 years ago

What misbehaviour? Who is misbehaving more than mahama and his appointees? Go and sack them before these poor boys. You wanted them do the wrong thing and they said no. So you are punishing them. That is what is happening ...

• OPK 8 years ago

Well done GAF for taken such a mediate action and i think this is the chance for those who were placed on standby..Thank u..

• OPK 8 years ago

Pls CHIEF OF DEFENCE STAFF(CDS) must step foot into this issue nd call back all the standby people nd all those who were medicaly fit coz they were also part but due to protocols dats why they back them all off..God is not as ...

• WHO THE CAP FIT 8 years ago

IT'S NOT YOUR FAULT, THE GOVERNMENT HAS BEEN ASKED TO REDUCE THE WORKING POPULATION IN THE COUNTRY BY THE IMF. 2017 IS GOING TO BE WORSE, DIDN'T YOU SEE WHAT WAS DONE TO OUR TRAINING COLLAGES? THERE ARE MORE TO COME IF THIS G ...

• Ishaq Agyapong - Kumasi 8 years ago

When and how were these people recruited? For the past years I haven't hear any of such recruitment exercise. The protocol results.

• Attah Sey, West legon 8 years ago

A friend who was also on the recruitment list visited me, and in our conversation, he hinted to me that he will stop going to the training, I ask why, and his answer was, he thought of joining the army with free mind, they ar ...

• THUMB BEE 8 years ago

Thanks to the GAF for such a very bold step taken. Those recruits should sit home and learn more sense, there are not many jobs in the country and u are lucky to get an opportunity of that caliber and u still wants to rise yo ...

• Ntiamoah 8 years ago

But they know how to handle weapons, don't they?

• Mr Bond 8 years ago

IMF and World Bank thinking for President John Dramani Mahama is working.Since Veep aspirant expose president John Dramani Mahama wicked evil diabolical act to fired workers after 2016 election has began and workers who are t ...

• moses 8 years ago

The President of Ghana must temper justice with mercy. Otherwise
    these boys would endanger national security greater. Moses.

• Majeed a.k.a polasky 8 years ago

We must be beccareful as a country ,remember those people have undergo some training before ,indeed we have to reconsider our decision in order to Reduce the rate of crime in the country

• Oxford 8 years ago

oh,pls sir plead wit de GAF to doing some tin to dz Case ,if not we may conclude DAT de crime rate z now ranpand ,becos dese pple have equip wit de training ,so I plead for forgiveness dear sir thank you

• better 8 years ago

ITS OUR DREAM TO ENTER THE GAF BUT SINCE OUR TYM IS NOT UP WE ONLY WAIT 4 GODs OWN APPOINTED TYM ...
    I CONGRATULATE DE GAF 4 A GREAT WORK DONE ....
    I SAY DEY SHOULD KEEP ON TO THE GR8 WORK AND GOD WILL SURELY BLESS DEM ...

• don 8 years ago

we shld factor those pple. hu were not involved in dat. act . after. series of i fact gathered so far, those innocent soul must be called up

• joe man 8 years ago

I believe not all of de boys took part in the demonstration.The ring leaders should b sacked.again these boiz hav bn to de range as wel..govt should step foot in dz issue cos sum of de boiz ar innocent.

• Bill Sam 8 years ago

I blame this on protocol list .The army is not for anybody so they should refrain from bringing people who have not undergone medical examination to determine thier fitness to join GAF and create problems for willing and fit ...

• Nana 8 years ago

Every hardship is a blessing

• Patrick adjei 8 years ago

Its unfair judgement.