You are here: HomeNews2015 12 23Article 402884

Power minister adamant on AMERI deal

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Johnny 8 years ago

A poor man will never know the value of money hence when given a lot of money unexpected tend to misuse it.How many of these NDC ministers were having more than US$10,000 in their Bank Accounts when NDC won power in 2009.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

DEAD GOAT MAHAMA IS ON HIS WAY OUT. EVERY GHANAIAN IS AWARE OF THIS. IF YOU SEE MAHAMA'S HEAD ON THE BUS, LET IT REMIND YOU OF HIS INEPTNESS. HOW COULD HE SPEND $1MILLION ON THAT FOOLISH DEED WHILST HOSPITALS LACK BEDS AND OU ...

• facts 8 years ago

Kwabena'nkor have disgraced himself . Can't he advise himself? And he is giving another promise. With AMERI it is part of the same NDC programme- create, loot and share. Oh Ghana

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

DEAD GOAT MAHAMA IS ON HIS WAY OUT. EVERY GHANAIAN IS AWARE OF THIS. IF YOU SEE MAHAMA'S HEAD ON THE BUS, LET IT REMIND YOU OF HIS INEPTNESS. HOW COULD HE SPEND $1MILLION ON THAT FOOLISH DEED WHILST HOSPITALS LACK BEDS AND OU ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

NDC propaganda machinery tell us all Ghanaians are corrupt and born so but i beg to differ.When we take tro tro or a taxi there is no ndc foot soldier there to try make us pay a bribe before we can get in ,when i go and buy k ...

Author:-No nonsense...
    Nana is not only incorruptible but bold and a visionary. That is what Ghana needs now, not the current President who is weak, incompetent and tainted with corruption. A President who cannot solve a po ...

• GOD SAVE GHANA 8 years ago

AMERIA CHRISMAS OOOOO!YA MAHAMA OOOO!NA ACHRIEE ENE DUMSOOOO?SE YETE MU ANI.GHANA NEEDS PATRIOTIC CITIZENS WITH VISION AND WISDOM TO GOVERN THE NATION,NOT UNPATRIOTIC NDC INCOMPETENT GANG,WHO WANTS ALINES TO ELECT OUR PRESIDE ...

Author:-Kasapa...
    My friend, picture no lie. Or the picture too has been fabricated? This government is the most hopeless one in the annals of this country. How can you boast about your popularity and still be resorting to ...

• Upper Deck 8 years ago

the NDC & THEIR INCOMPETENT TEAM are ALL LAIRS.WHY SHOULD THEY TRACE THE SOURCE OF AMERI TO GHANA, IF NOT to expose this CORRUPT Govt? now that the good for Nothing Power Minister Donkor is adamant after such a hugh disgrace ...

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

Ghana is duped big time if the AMERI deal is the cheapest of all the stinky/dubious power generation deals the NDC has fronted on behave of our beloved country. Under the NDC government 1 million dollars is just a 'token' as ...

Author:-Mahmoud...
    Ghanaians are visibly yearning for a change to liberate themselves from the corrupt nation wreckers' party which has brought untold hardship on them.

NPP party, on the other hand, has what it takes t ...

• GOD SAVE GHANA 8 years ago

GHANA IS BEEN DUPED EVER SINCE AFRC-P/NDC CAME TO POWER WITH ACCT NUMBER 48.HOW CAN PRESIDENT JOHN D.MAHAMAS'NDC FOR OVER 10 PERCENT(10%) EUROBOND LOAN IN 2015,WHEN WORLD INTREST RATE IS BELOW FIVE PERCENT(5%).

• Alhaji Suleimana 8 years ago

Dr. Kronfour Kwabena Donkor has line up himself to the organised crime of the nationa desasters cooperation (NDC). He is assuring Ghanaians that from all the corruption, they have made, this one is the most cheaper one. There ...

• LAST DON 8 years ago

What can Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo boast of as his greatest achievement in life?

Is it Law or Politics, Education or Knowledge, Leadership or Service (He is uncertified in all of them)

In LAW you have no certificate ...

• OBEY 8 years ago

Curse be thy portion for all eternity.

• Son of Ghana 8 years ago

We are talking about the Corrupt Ameri deal and you are mentioning Nana Addo. From what I know he is not corrupt.Check out the (N)ational (D)uping (C)ontractors party.

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

What has Nana Addo got to do with this? If he is an astute leader, he would have seek some insight into the deal and advise his NPP dummies that indeed this is a best deal for Ghana. But what do you see? His fucking Bawumia B ...

• kyeremateng g 8 years ago

hahaaaaa, what is you name last what, you name tells much about ur foolishness n ur ignorant

• Punchba (UK) 8 years ago

DR Kwabena Donkor, you are a disgrace to all the Universities that trained you to get where you are today. I do not know why people like you were able to obtain PhD degree. Please use you brain.

• OBEY 8 years ago

Are u kidding me, examine the donkor guy very well. N u wud realise he is a retard. PhD or not. A sick person in the head with emeritus is still sick

• SARPONG 8 years ago

It might be the cheapest to operate but you inflated the price. Whoever sat down to sign this contract is either a thief or an idiot.

This Kwabena Donkor guy is a hot head and not the sharpest knife in the drawer. Why go ...

• Suroakata 8 years ago

Kwabena Donkor,Okorofo Mahama and his brother Ibrahim Mahama are UNAPOLOGETIC CRIMINALS. They just take Ghanaians for a ride.

Are you not aware that your NPP MPs looked into this deal and approved it wholeheartedly? Nothing stops your NPP MPs to take another look at the deal in parliament. Is your NPP MPs ready to do that?

The ball is in your co ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Are you an idiot? The turbines will cost $220 million.

Idiot, if you purchase 10 turbines, you don't build power plant, you prepare site for installation and operating that plant including your profit margin and that is ...

• Agyemangboye 8 years ago

How much did kuffour have before his presidency. Did he buy hotel de waawa before becoming president. How much much was his value after the redenomination of the cedi and the casttle kick backs.

All the npp ministers who w ...

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

Kwasea, Kuffuor owned his house before becoming president and you don't tell me that house worth less than $100,000 as compared to ndc ministers and appointees who didn't
    have nothing in their bank accounts.
    Mmoa bi saa, ...

• work 8 years ago

TRAVEL AND WORK IN MALDIVES ,PANAMA AND CHINA
    DO YOU DREAM OF WORKING OUTSIDE GHANA AND EARN 1,350USD PER MONTH ,DO YOU WANT TO BE A TOUR GUIDE ,WORK IN THE HAROUR AND GO TO SCHOOL AT THE SAME TIME ,WE HAVE JUST ARRIVE ...

• Jay********************* London 8 years ago

IT WOULD HAVE BEEN CHEAPER HAD YOU NOT INFLATED ITS COST.

JUST BECAUSE IT WAS CHEAP DOES NOT LEAVE OFF THE HOOK FOR INFLATING ITS COST.

• GLOBAL CITIZEN III 8 years ago

Power Minister, just because you say the Ameri deal was the cheapest and best does not mean it was. We will believe you only when you provide a detailed breakdown of the total cost of the equipment, and any additional costs, ...

What the fuck is your NPP MPs doing there in parliament? They gave their approval to the deal. Are your NPP MPs stupid?

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

why are we doing business with known criminals?

And why are they suing in a Pakistani court instead of a Norwegian court?

Don't ever trust an Arab! They are dishonest!

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 8 years ago

And I quote : "
    Director Mohammed Amin Adam of the think tank Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP) does not believe this agreement will make the world a better place.

On the contrary, he is very critical to the agreeme ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 8 years ago

Please track down all bank accounts of every past and present Ghana Government official and their assets overseas. Ghana has been brought to her knees by thieves in government. Anybody with information about stolen money from ...

• I.A.N 8 years ago

I think that NPP supporters are like goat or sheep with rope on it neck pull by a blind man in the middle of night on a desert. unfortunately to, the animal is also blind. what do you think will happen to them?

• Pelicles 8 years ago

You need help.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

So everything thing is NPP. Hmmm. You are sick the cell brain. Ghana first you moron.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

So everything is Npp. Hmmm you are sick in the cell brain. Think about Ghana first, moron.

• No Mercy 8 years ago

Nobody is goat or sheep,idiot try to know what is going on in Ghana,try to speak sense

• Mahoman 8 years ago

This Guy is sick period!

• New Sheriff in Town 8 years ago

Kwabena Donkor needs to address the fact that Ghanaians have to pay $510 million to AMERI but AMERI is able to pass on the execution of WHOLE contract to METKA for a fee of $350 million. It does not make sense. He should be e ...

• member 8 years ago

If the plant is cheap why are they increasing the tariff over 199%

• Appiah Franklin 8 years ago

That's Ghana for you, the late Luke Dube said it all....NO TRUTH IN THIS WORLD

• Steve 8 years ago

Kwabena Donkor, I don't think you are human.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Yes,tell that to the illiterates. They will accept you.

• Nana 8 years ago

This is poor journalism. Is that all he said? What about explanation to the 510 BOOT and the 220 ready cash issue? We want to know. The reporter should come again

• Bush Tailor 8 years ago

It's interesting some folks will still vote for these guys. Ignorance.

• HASSAN MUNKAILA 8 years ago

SAY THAT AGAIN, AFTER ALL THE CORRUPTION, INCOMPETENCE, AND INEPTNESS OF THIS MAHAMA GOVERNMENT, SOME PEOPLE WILL STILL VOTE FOR THEM BECAUSE IN THEIR SHALLOW BRAINS ALL THAT MATTERS IS NDC. OH GHANA I REALLY PRAY FOR MY PEOP ...

• Kanawu III 8 years ago

Thats more than ignorance, its stupidity to the highest degree.
    It is so painful, some people vote for these greedy, ill-educated bastards because of handouts that only last a day

• inercycl 8 years ago

If it's cheaper compared to all others, come out with figures...etc this and that plant were purchased at this price and Ameri plant is this much so comparatively ameri plant is cheaper! How can anyone trust you and what yo ...

• kwame 8 years ago

I must add that it is frustrating, that the Power minister continues to take us all (Ghananians) for fools. my question is not a matter of cheapness/cost. He refuses to be transparent on the transaction

• He who 8 years ago

Braindead I A N u are a child of an imbecile infact a product of a bitch, follow yr deadgoat president to yr doom. Weeyi nom.

• obeng mireku 8 years ago

hmmmm Perhaps Hitler Was Right Afterall ...the are some people who need to be killed.

• Duke 8 years ago

It is sad, that now Ghana has become one of the most corrupt nations in the world, as a country we ve gone through so many crisis that should ve been enough for us to desist from such evil practices.Ghana has men and women w ...

• Obiri Yeboah. Lond 8 years ago

The so called power minister Kwabena Donkor can not take Ghanaians for joke, by promising the good people of Ghana that by the end of the year Dumsor would be the thing of the past.Or Agya Kwabena Donkor will resign,he has ...

NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO

I want to hear that a single NPP MP had the balls and temerity to challenge the minister's assertion on this AMERI deal.

Are your NPP MPs useless or they are dummies?

NPP KWASEA ...

• NANA KOFI 8 years ago

I wonder why they don't sack that foolish man

• OBEY 8 years ago

I dont blame donkor because. Donkor is my slave. When u put a slave on the seat u shd expect looting n other forms of inappropriate conduct. It a good thing Ghana is suffering under ndc. Next time u wud b vigilant in ur elect ...

• paul 8 years ago

The issue is not the comparison with other plants in the country. It is the price at which it was obtained, compared to the same plant in the world market

• Abrantie 8 years ago

Don't mind this corrupt and senseless npp who have taken bribe from General Electric to paint this contract black.

• corruption 8 years ago

YES IS THE CHEAPEST,YOU ARE RIGHT,WE ARE TALKINGCABOUT THE AMOUNT IN INVOLVED;YOU THINK YOU ARE CLEVER,GOD WILL JUDGE YOU ALL

• Collins Anim 8 years ago

who made this fool minister

• Akwasi Owusu-Ansah 8 years ago

A thief will always be a thief even if his or her hand is put on fire. ieeh Kwabena Donkor! you've joined the thieves. God bless you!

• kk Osei 8 years ago

I don't think that the NDC is causing any harm to the nation.Of course,there could be very bad ones ruining the country which Mahama must expose to inspire confidence in the people but the same could be located within the opp ...

• VVIP 8 years ago

NDC highway man! Professional criminals and mafias stealing the nations coffers. God will hammer their leader and his gangs.

• Ben 8 years ago

Tell Ghanaians the full of details of the
    deal. Is it the 510 million dollars that is
    the cheapest? Tell us the exact price and
    stop throwing dust into our eyes.

• Sule 8 years ago

Why won't this old thief be adamant when he is part of the looting brigade . Useless old fool.

• Whatever 8 years ago

If I were the power minister I would have repudiated them before given an answer. The statement in the public domain says the machines is being rented and it is pay as you go. Yet the NPP has filled themselves with the lies t ...

• Kwaku Owusu 8 years ago

We talking about inflated capital cost and not operating cost, so Kwabena Donkor, come again. What is your basis for saying that the plant is a good deal without providing cost of similar plants on the market. Please don't de ...

Your stupid NPP MPs did not challenge the minister on this. Why?

• kyeremateng g 8 years ago

this donkor or is the name donkey has seen money so he doing business more than solving dumsor. blockhead paaaa nie

• Marcus chris Lawson 8 years ago

Even if AMERI offers the cheapest deal what prevented us from buying directly from the providers?
    It might well be because the price could not be inflated or there will be no kick back as most policing of this country do
    G ...

• kofi abas 8 years ago

If a bank offers to lend you 350m for 6yrs n charges u 160m as interest for a whole 6yrs,won't u run to take such credit facility? Work out the interest rate,it's abt 9%. Has mahama 350m to buy as u suggesting? All ameri did ...

NPP is a party of semi-illiterates, bozos, and damn right fucking fools.

NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO. Welcome from the nuhuaa (village).

Hey muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu! The AMERI contract is about three (3);

(a) procure 10 gas turbines

(b) build a power plant that will utilise the 10 gas turbines to

(c) produce power for Ghana for 5 years.

Are your dummy ...

• Kwabena Kwakye Kukurantumi 8 years ago

I will always that using the rented press to vilify the government will not win them(NPP) seat. Do you remember in 1999 this same VG(Kwaku Baako's allies) lied about Rawlings. He(Kwaku Baako) muddies the waters and wipe his m ...

• Winnie the Pooh 8 years ago

Folks,Is the power minister a fool,imbecile or an idiot.Folks choose one that will suit him best.This NDC Mahama administration refuse to put money in GETfund and NHIS accounts and out education is poor and NDC supporters are ...

• Kwame, new jersey 8 years ago

This man is not matured enough to handle such deals and propaganda. This is sheer naive for a whole minister to justify himself in parliement house with this issue. What's wrong with him. Our leaders are sick. They know how s ...

• AsemAsa 8 years ago

All the against people here are playing partisan politics. They want Ghana to sink just to make a party unpopular so they can win . Cheap politics. You people thought Domsor will never end do you could use it for your campaig ...

• HMMM the crusader. 8 years ago

WhenTHIEVES ARE COUGHT RED HANDEDTHEY LOOSE THEIR VOICES AND THIS IS THE CASE OF THATKOOKOASE MANKAFOO DR.so to speak.THE HEEDER OF PRAYERS HAS MADE IT BURST INTO THEIR FACES AND THEY HAVE NO WAYOUT.THANKS ALOT MY LORD FOR E ...

• Afari 8 years ago

Does the honourable minister want to tell us that because the AMERI unit will produce the cheapest electricity among the mix in Ghana so no under dealings or improper activities were done in the purchase of that contract. Whe ...

• Abu Issaka 8 years ago

This idiot thinks we are all fools.Thieves!!! Stop stealing our money with inflated contracts.

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

The power minister must put the risgn on the table ,and he have to do it immediatly since the masses ghana demanding then!and he has already know and see the colapsen of the masses works in our mother-land,then we ask him to ...

• Ibrahim... 8 years ago

This man is on his way going to jail,, hehe. U wait and akuffo addo wins. Then u can talk much in court

• pato 8 years ago

l guess kwabena donkor is an Ewe. Besa is in every house.

• JH. New York 8 years ago

The Power Minis said(1) "AMERI offers
    the best in Price Compared all the other Thermal Plants the Country Currently relies on for power- generation".(2)."I must state on record the AMERI is the Cheapest Plant we have in t ...

Dr Kwabena Donkor is adamant for two obvious reasons.(1)The endless Shame to his person and reputation.
    (2).The embarrassment to the

Dr Kwabena Donkor is adamant for two obvious reasons.(1)The endless Shame to his person and reputation.
    (2).The embarrassment and headache to the President who appointed him,and effects on the fortunes of NDC Party in 2016 ...

• Kwadjoe Yeboah 8 years ago

Don't talk like a fool. Where are the cost analyses of all the other sources of energy? I do not trust his judgement and intellect. Make everything public so all intelligent people around the globe can analyze them and shame ...

• Mark K 8 years ago

The incompetency has extended its boughs to the others in position like this unrealistic power minister. How can a whole minister talk so cheaply like a toddler?

• jagadu 8 years ago

Talk is cheap. If you want to dispute what has been published about this agreement, produce the contract to Ghanaians. This man is corrupt like Mahama.

• Keadjoe Yenoah 8 years ago

The minister is ignorant and blockheaded. Ghanaians think that snyone with Dr. Infront of his/her name is intelligent and can do a good job. Any PhD who cannot develop anything to benefit a population is useless and does not ...

• jagadu 8 years ago

This fool should resign over this Ameri deal. Government should appoint independent people to investigate this stupid deal.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

Dr Kwabena Donkor has joined the gang of organized criminals with president John Mahama as leader. Now, he is disgracing himself all over the place. He had been consistently inconsistent. He is now ruining his reputation.

NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO.

Well let me remind that NPP and their detractors that their MPs iin parliament did scrutinise the deal and approved it. If NPP has any problems with waht they have already approved, t ...

Was that fucking K.T. Koti Boto Hammond present and what was his challenge to the minister's authoritative response? Kwasefuo.

NPP MPs will rather do politics with our power supply problem on FM stations but not in parlia ...

• Ajaho 8 years ago

Trust in NDC is gone

Of what use are your NPP MPs? They looked into the deal and approved it with glee. Now what?

• yussif 8 years ago

This cant be possible,a minister resigns over gh 3.6 million pure stealing whiles another minister kwaben Donkor stays,mybe the lady has conscience.Again this should also see the power minister packing out of office in view o ...