You are here: HomeNews2015 12 15Article 401055

Kan Dapaah: MPs' GHS7k salary 'ridiculous'

Read Comments Comments (103)

• Joyland 8 years ago

Ghaian mps are a mockery of our democracy. They are not qualified to be there and therefore deserve nothing. Look at the scandals upon scandals being reported everyday, and these idiots are being called MPS. They deserve noth ...

• Odikr@ 8 years ago

Are the minority truants in Parliament?
    Because of the low renumerations they rather be absent from the House in order to take care of their Private Business.
    I wonder who signs their "attendance register"?
    Could this be t ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.

“Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”, 

In the full glare of the President, Vice Preside ...

• Odikr@ 8 years ago

So where is the Minority Spokesperson on Power and Energy?
    What is their take on the Energy deal?
    What was the Party line when the motion was raised in Parliament?
    How many of the Parliamentary NPP,were in the House;when t ...

• Martian Voter 8 years ago

Well said. MP's sole purpose is to loot the state for everything they can get. They don't even pretend to serve the national interest.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

This ex-MP is talking rubbish because MPs are not elected to attend funerals. In another suggestion, he claims Ghana needs just about 105 MPs so that their salary could be doubled. Why did he not make these suggestions when h ...

• Koboo 8 years ago

Kofi Attah, your suggestion is mere rubbish. If he did not suggest it when he was in parliament does not bar him from suggesting it now. By the way, you would be the same person to accuse him of being self-serving if he had ...

• Northern Npp youth 8 years ago

hmm there is the need for right thinking Ghanaians to form an alliance against partisan politics. First MPs should be based on certain merits. they deserve to have different salaries according to merits n not equal salary fo ...

• Dr. OSEI xxxx 8 years ago

These fools will not think of Ghanaians but always themselves. If this is the only benefits for MPs why are they killing each other for it? Must we pay taxes from our meager salaries for you to contribute at funerals? You are ...

• mama Dee 8 years ago

Dr. Osei, thank you for the comment. He did not even say anything meaningful that they use the money for but funeral contributions. I weep for Ghana

• Omanhene (U$A) 8 years ago

How could a Mickey Flick country like Ghana, whose population is about only 25 million, have as many as 275 MPs and about 90 ministers, deputy ministers and the many yooyoos assigned to the presidency?? Can’t we do with jus ...

• Isaac- London 8 years ago

Shut up. Why you did say that when you was there

• Salifu Dagarti 8 years ago

You should show a little respect.

• Earl Jones 8 years ago

How much is enough for the MPs, Kan Dapaah?
    And while you are at it, please work out how much is enough for other public servants who also have to share their salaries with others.

• Obiba 8 years ago

Is this man telling us that the government should pay for MPS funeral expenses?

• Obiba 8 years ago

• Ebibiman 8 years ago

Is he hearing himself very well?
    Is it written in the constitution for them to share their salary with their constituents ?

• NB 8 years ago

GHANA INDEED IS IN DEEP TROUBLE. LEADERSHIP CRISES.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Don't let me laugh. Are you an Asante, Akyem, Bono or Akwapim? Your question is part of the unwritten constitution. Funny. let them vote for you and don't attend funerals and see if they will vote for you again.

• Life 8 years ago

Of course cultural norms are a challenge however can be Shaped to positive stuff. Encourage simple funerals and encourage donations to tangible developments in the towns named after whomever they like

• Same person 8 years ago

Frank I wish you withdraw your stance. Are the civil servants also attending funerals? Are farmers not attending funerals? Are they also not contributing money at funeral for the bereaveds? You cannot Mr. Kandapaah cannot fac ...

• Kojo 8 years ago

Woaa look at what this man I ssaying? tweaaa

::::::::

"....... if you are an Ashanti, you must be there every weekend for funerals. And when you go to the constituency, it is not just one funeral, it is about 10 funera ...

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Ask again for me ooh .. Misplaced priorities nkoaaa!!! Oh Ghana WHEN???

• Tsiame 8 years ago

One African country president is paid according to the population of the country.
    Why can't we pay our MPs according to the number of funerals they attend?

• k the h 8 years ago

USeless ex MP.
    How much do other public officers get? No one is forcing you to be an MP.
    Go and practice your accountancy. talk like an educated person

• Okunka 8 years ago

Why do MPs have to have drivers?

• kofi adu 8 years ago

Ghana is not a santa. you don't have to be there begging. you have to be meaningful and successful person. you had money to campaign now what, do you have to reap it? old man the thief.

• KU4 8 years ago

SPENDING MONEY ON DEAD BODY WHAT A CONTINENT.

• Kofi Agyeman 8 years ago

This suggestion of reducing the number of MPs and improving the salaries is one of the more sensible things I have heard from a Ghanaian politician in a long while.

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

But to increase the salary so that he can go to funerals? Waoooo

• King deed 8 years ago

MUST YOU ATTEND EVERY SINGLE FUNERAL AS AN ASHANTI? WHO SENT YOU?

• Life 8 years ago

Time to askyourselfwhy you are an mp

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Mr. Dapaa, are you sane? Who force you to be an MP and where is it written that you should go to funerals etc, and donate your money just for political expediency?

Your explanation does not make sense and to me, the curren ...

• mohammed 8 years ago

I will say 3500 to commensurate with other professionals like the teachers.

• T K 8 years ago

Some teachers are paid less than 1000 Ghs yet they pay rent, light bill, t&t to sch, sch fees, funeral donations:etc all from this amt and nobody seems to care. Go and take all the money and chop

• kofi 8 years ago

this man should be removed from office..u go chop mp cos of money...y somebody force you...greedy man only thinking about ursef.4ckn

• TT 8 years ago

It us a free world. If you think the money is not enough, then do not go for the job. There is no where in the world where the president is the highest earner in the country.

• FREDERICK 8 years ago

WE HAVE BEEN INCREASING NO OF SEATS IN PARLIAMENT TO WIN MORE SEATS NOT ABOUT ENSURRHJNG EFFICIENCY

• Kwaku Poku 8 years ago

Who asked you to hire a driver? it is up to you to hire a driver from your own pay or learn how to drive.

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

Mr. Dapaah..... You can't never be paid enough if you choose to be Father Christmas of your constituency.

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 8 years ago

It is not the duty of MPs to give money to funerals. Do the British do that? No one is begging any one to be an MP! We rather need to pay nurses, teachers, doctors, and those who produce cocoa, Shea, coconut, yam, fruits bett ...

• Chubby Alidu 8 years ago

Why should MPs have drivers?
    It time we change since these are some the things that bring corruption into the system

• Louis 8 years ago

I do not agree with Kan Dapaah. Do not give donations at funerals and do not share a thing with anybody. I believe, if Kan Dapaah and his MPs are paid 500,000 ghc a month,they will still complain that it's not enough. I do no ...

• Ben 8 years ago

Why do you have to share your salary with the constituent? if you put good policies in place to take of the needy in the society, nobody will bother you for money.

• Luke G UK 8 years ago

Oh let me list it for you : travel allowances, book allowance, per dm to travel, per dm to go to meetings, free car, free petrol, free phone, free electricity, two house maids, two drivers one for your wife, free watchman , f ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

He is just a fool!

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

And this man was a Parliamentarian? What has the People of Ghana have to do with the MPs personal business, going to funerals? Such are the selfish big fools we have representing the people.

• Aprukusu 8 years ago

Why do our people in responsible positions who are supposed to be educated, talk so much rubbish ????.

Why does an MP need a driver? If you choose to go and splash money on funerals just to look good, why should the tax pa ...

• GH 8 years ago

Are they elected to work in the legislature or to share salaries? Nonsense. Joke of a country. Does the president share his booty with us?

• Samba 8 years ago

Thieves. Do you have to attend selected funerals in your constituencies with public money? Greedy fools

• EA 8 years ago

If it were so ridiculous how come there is such a scramble to be elected an MP. There must be something in there that is so attractive which Mr Kan Dapaah is hiding from us!

• AGYAAKU 8 years ago

As an accountant, Kan Dapaa should have known that the 50 percent reduction he is advocating for would automatically eraze his projected benefits. His fewer MPs would have double responsibilities thereby ending up attending 4 ...

• Kofi babone 8 years ago

Where were you honourable when the EC created more constituencies which automatically comes with MPs? Your suggestion is belated are you suggesting that we should merge constituencies ie reversing what the law has allowed for ...

• Ghana Defender 8 years ago

Do you go into politics to serve your poeple or enrich yourself? This is why you need to become financially independent before venturing into politics. But in Ghana university boys and girls come out of school without any wo ...

• George 8 years ago

Hmmm, these are people we call honourables. I agree with the reduction of MPs even to 10 because the have deviated from their core duties that is enacting laws to funeral attendance. Anyway, who says only MPs donate at funera ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

You are one of those brainless so called intellectuals we have in Ghana and who think only about themselves. MPs in the UK drive themselves or use buses and trains. What is so special about these Ghanaian MPs who are always ...

• Siburuku Tifalo 8 years ago

whole lot of free allowances and infringements.AND HE HAS THE GUT TO SPIT ON OUR FACE-right!Most GHANAIANS are NOT getting this money PER YEAR. He makes all this in just a Month and STILL COMPLAINING! GHANA MUST BE SERIOUS NO ...

• usa 8 years ago

This is rational old Ghanaian. Very ignorant

• Osei 8 years ago

@usa i totally agree with you.
    Very very foolish comments

• OKOE 8 years ago

IF THIS IS HOW SALARIES ARE TO BE BUDGETED FOR THEN THE LORD HAVE MERCY ON GHANA. IF THIS IS HOW SALARIES ARE TO BE DETERMINED ACCORDING TO THIS MAN THEN GHANA IS IN BIG TROUBLE. EVERYBODY IN GOVERNMENT MUST TELL HIS EMPLOYER ...

• The General 8 years ago

Just to remind you,what the law requires of you.Stay within the confines of your legitimate duty and you would count surpluses at the end of each month.

• Tee 8 years ago

KEN....kindly check how much most of these incompetent MPs were earning before the got voted to represent us. It's their choice to make whether to take car loans or not. Please don't talk us into sympathising with them....Non ...

• bobo 8 years ago

this is also corruption Mr Dapaa or where do you thing the corruption starts?

• Nyansah 8 years ago

Kan Dapaah. You are a big fool. Give all Ghana money to them so the rest of us will go chop grass. Aboa kwasia, mm3333 odwan. What do they do are they there to share their salaries for the sake of cheap popularity insyead of ...

• amoah w. 8 years ago

why is our "MPS running" into funerals of people they have probably never met in their life ?

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

The last time I checked, I never saw "weekend funeral" in MPs' job description. It's an option. You go when you have the money (like the rest of us Ghanaians do), or you sleep at home and find some excuse. Why doesn't Dapaah ...

• kosi 8 years ago

This is nonesense. What is Ken Dappah trying to say? These are people who are very learned and I expect them to speak scientifically and academically. Is Ken saying we pay our parliamentarians to go to funerals and donate mon ...

• Israel Jude 8 years ago

The most absurd and unreasonable thinking and suggestion I should like to hear. Why should we expect HOw to attend our funerals and other celebrations and donate? Why should this be a reason for increase in salary for MPs

• berma1 8 years ago

See this fool,so this is what you and your dwarf nana osama bi ladi akufo addo hva plan 2 do wif our money incase mistakenly ghanaians vote 4 u people,rot in opposition 4ever.

• LETTRUTHPREVAIL 8 years ago

This is why Mahama is incompetent, because he does not attend funerals every weekend and donate more than 100 cedis at more than ten funerals, for it to be announced on the PAs.
    Hom mpem NPP eh! Hmmm nnmmm. That's competency ...

• SARFOWAAA 8 years ago

Haaaahaaa trust me these two major political parties NPP and NDC sponsors funerals just to buy popularity in those constituencies the deceased must passed away.
    Particularly if the deceased comes from a good family. That is ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Stupid. Who is asking them to pay people in theire costituenciwa or go to funerals. Are they there for funerals

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

These STUPID NON-PERFORMING Parliamentarians...especially from the Opposition....WHAT AT ALL do you do to DESERVE even the GHS 7000 ?? monthly salary ??
    You VOTED UN-ANIMOUSLY in March for a Bill and NOW you're saying the B ...

• sela 8 years ago

This man is not serious in life

• Philip Kobina Baidoo 8 years ago

Which part of their job description demands they attend funerals? You sound ridiculous Dapaah.

• Sam Walker 8 years ago

Look @ this stupid thief tht was fired from kuffour administration 4 stealing 5 million pounds is nt false if u don't like the job leave thiefs n crocks God save mother Ghana

• Bill 8 years ago

This greedy fool. What is the average salary in the country?
    What is GNP? Each Ghanaian is entitled to $1000 the whole year. You get $2100 a month ($25,000 a year) and you think it's small. You need to grow up.

• Ahmes 8 years ago

If Doctors should also suggest halving their numbers so that they can have double their salary. Will that be fair. And who task them to that, money giving in anticipation for winning elections in the next coming years.That is ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

NOBODY NKOWS WHERE THIS FOLK HSAD HIS EDUCATION.

DOES HE KNOW WHAT IS GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT OF A COUNTRY.

YOU ARE NOT MANIFACTURING OR PRODUCING ANYTHING IN THE COUNTRY TO EARN FUNDS INTO THE COUNTRY, YET, HE IS TALKIN ...

• kofi dsan 8 years ago

Selfish mp,s upon ur dubious deals,u want more to your salary.wot a shameful alterance from dis honourable.have u forgotten ur home takings after office.civil servants will serve for more than 25-30yrs for them to take home p ...

• Gilbert 8 years ago

It's really unreasonable that our ex MP cannot make sense of what salary means.
    This is absolute madness!

• Tigerliccious 8 years ago

Are parliamentarians too big to drive tmeselves? US senators don't have drivers. Thye drive or even bike to the senate.

• yaro 8 years ago

and how much is the pay of the ordinary Ghanaian-nurses teachers........GHC1000 u pay bills and transport to work and accommodation all from the small pay.so u see Mr. kandapaa u guys are over paid

• Nyansah 8 years ago

Kan Dapaah is just foolish greedy goat who does not think abt other. I hate him for this statement. He shd go take all Gh money n chop. Wht do MPs do. Gh can survive without them. Fools plus foolish Dapaah.

• Nyansah 8 years ago

Dapaah l know u hav by now regretted after ready all thses comments. Think before u talk next time. U foolish old goat.

• Michigan 8 years ago

Nobody is forced to become a MP. You knew what the salary was before you decided to join. Improve the economy and the cost of living will improve for everybody in cling MP's.

• back door director 8 years ago

What sort of puerile logic is that

• Oti Akenteng 8 years ago

Mr, what about teachers, doctors, nurses just to name a few. Who is forcing them to stay in politics? After all it is not their ordained right to be an MP. What about all the fringe benefits that they enjoy, not to mention th ...

• Baffour 8 years ago

I have never heard such a stupid statement from a parliamentarians. After sleeping on the job all these years for even a sitting president to tell you so, after collecting end of service benefit every 4 years, after getting a ...

• Loneranger 8 years ago

This man paaaaaaaaaaa!!!!

• Moshie Kokonte 8 years ago

The average salary of a teacher in Ghana is less than GC1,000. So MPs make at least seven more time than teachers and teachers also attend funerals just like the MPs. MPs make about three times more than doctors. So on a c ...

• Steve 8 years ago

What a shame, are you charity organization? How much money you raised from your community and what kind of job opportunity have you implemented in your constituent.

• STEVE 8 years ago

this idiot has confirmed what I have been saying for a while now. Our parliamentarians steal money from the state to finance their personal needs than for the development of the country. Were they elected to be attending fune ...

• mohammed 8 years ago

it is not the people responsibility to support a ridiculous MP lifestyle. if you cannot then go to the private sector. change the culture and teach your constituency that it is the public purse not their funeral and lavish li ...

• Sir Rogers 8 years ago

IF THE SALARIES OF MPS ARE NOT ENOUGH FOR THEM, THEY CAN TRADE IN DRUG ESPECIALLY COCAINE SO THAT THEY CAN GET PLENTY MONEY FOR THEIR UNNECESSARY SPENDING....ALEKU,GBORKU MPS

• KOFI 8 years ago

I THINK THE ASSEMBLY MEN DO ALL THE WORK IN THEIR CONSTITUENCIES HENCE MUST BE GIVEN MORE MONEY AS SALARIES RATHER THAN THE MEAGER ALLOWANCE THAT THEY RECEIVE PER SITTING.AM SAYING THIS AS A FORMER GOVT APPOINTEE AT THE AMA.

• G. Danquah 8 years ago

It is now time for our MPS,CHIEFS AND ALL fellow Ghanaians to change the way we go about funerals.Everybody is feeling the pinch and yet we are doing nothing about it.Simply make a law to barn all Parliamentarians for attendi ...