You are here: HomeNews2015 12 15Article 401010

ACEP punches holes into AMERI deal

Read Comments Comments (56)

• JJ 8 years ago

The NDC Government is still committing atrocities.
    Government officials are stealing and stealing. They are not trustworthy.
    Many Ghanaians have died as a result of economic hardships.
    Many Students have failed their exam ...

• Sam 8 years ago

What has been the contribution towards energy sufficiency in Ghana? So so mouth mouth.
    They can go to hell, Ameri is here to give us power, no hypocrisy or skin pain will stop them.

• Teacher under Tree 8 years ago

The good Dr Mohammed might have been singed [sic] but the Ghanaian public has been burnt.

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

THE TRUTH WILL ALWAYS STAND. MAY GOD PUMISH BE IT EVER SO SEVERELY ANY ONE IN AUTHORITY WHO USES HIS POSITION FOR PERSONAL GAIN AT THE EXPENSE OF THE PEOPLE

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

The politics of empty meaningless Rhetoric is all that jj can do , say one thing , mean another and do a third is the fruit of this diabolically evil scourge of our country. Oratory skills or eloquence in presenting lies dece ...

• MANSON UK 8 years ago

Too much talking,Ghana not even simply electricity you can produce for yourself this is insane.

• RHYS 8 years ago

I CANNOT BELIEVE WHAT GHANAIANS ARE DOING TO OURSELVES. GHANA WAKE UP AND VOTE THIS CORRUPT GOVERNMENT OUT OF POWER. ELSE THE NEXT FOUR YEARS WILL BE UNBEARABLE FOR HE ORDINARY GHANAIAN.
    GHANA WILL HAVE TO BE BEGGING THE NDC ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the nex ...

• Nyansaba 8 years ago

WHAT IS MAHAMA AND HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDS GOING TO DO WITH THE OVER $20 BILLION OF GHANA'S MONEY THEY HAVE LOOTED SO FAR? ARE THEY GOING TO LIVE FOR 1000 YEARS TO ENJOY IT ALL? COULDN'T JUST $1 MILLION DOLLARS HAVE BEEN ENOUG ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

In fact the good name of people from the north has been smeard with mad by Mahama.however, the majority still have their untarnished reputation. Mahama is a thief, a disgrace to people of the north.

• Akuvie 8 years ago

Algeria bought 8 of these turbines for $160 million. 10 of these turbines is going to cost Ghana $1 billion. I believe democracy has not helped Ghana at all. How can this happen and people still stand and defend criminal like ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

You're right. Such massive thievery with impunity by Mahama & his gangsters & an ineffective parliament undermines the value of democracy.

• Pround pepeni. 8 years ago

THIS IS PURE THIEVERY. OUR PARLIAMENTARIANS ARE ALL STOMACH POLITICIANS. BAGBIN, THE MUGABE, SAID PARLIAMENT WAS CORRUPT AND THEY TOOK HIM ON BUT IT IS TRUE. ANYONE TRY TO PASS EVEN A BILL THAT WILL NOT MAKE YOU MONEY AND SEE ...

• EH 8 years ago

DID MAHAMA HOLD SOMEBODY'S HAND TO SIGN A DOCUMENT. THOSE APPOINTEES ARE LETTING HIM DOWN AS THE ACCOUNTABILITY AND RESPONSIBILITY THOUGH COMES BACK TO HIM. OPENNESS WILL HELP OUR DEMOCRACY. INFORMATION BILL AND WHISTLE BLOWI ...

• james asamiah 8 years ago

Wow lookoo

• Kizito 8 years ago

Kwasea. They bought it wit their own physical cash. If any Ghanaian has that many why shouldnt he go for it to prevent us from long dumso?

• aikins 8 years ago

What does Ghanaians when Afari Gyan imposes a thief like mahama on us. Me I'm not surprise at all because it has been the constitution of mahama as president.

• aikins 8 years ago

Expect!

• gbm 8 years ago

I wonder if you are a Ghanaian with brains, who come from a home. Ghanaians with brains who come from homes, good homes never insult elderly persons much more the president. This what the so called enibueei has taught you. Yo ...

• aikins 8 years ago

And I wonder if you see mahama as president who need not to be insulted, because even Bill Clinton was along the line insulted. About me coming from home you must be an animal to say you come from home with the name gbm than ...

• LONE MAN 8 years ago

your response shows that u are what he claimed u are.

• Kizito 8 years ago

You are a fool. Are you American?

• aikins 8 years ago

Gyimii is Aikins American name or English name for that matter? Animals.

• WASHISHI 8 years ago

GHANAWEB IS NOT A CREDIBLE FORUM 'WE CANNOT CONTINUE TO BEHAVE LIKE FOOLS BEING REMOTE BY OTHERS TO REJECT AND ACT ANYHOW AS A CITIZEN.WE NEED POWER,ENERGY TO WORK WE AT THE SAME TIME ARGUE FOR POLITICIANS TO MILK US,

• Nana Antwi 8 years ago

Day in day out, this moribund regime of mafia dons continues to invite the people of this country onto the streets but we refuse to heed its reckless actions because of our deep mistrust of the political elite and according A ...

• KOO 8 years ago

The wanton stealing and misappropriation of Ghana,s revenue by these politicians is quite sad.They are first in positions for themselves,their families and party,the country comes last.Citizens are beings taxed to the last p ...

• Nana Antwi 8 years ago

Create Loot and Share is not negotiation and its protection lies in keeping the details hidden from public scrutiny. Speed and fudged facts are its modus operandi

• First Lady 8 years ago

If Ghana does not have $350 million to pay for outright purchase and installation of 10 brand new gas turbines, but can afford $120 million per year, does it not make sense to either go for 'home used', (after all all the one ...

• adanko 8 years ago

Because we allow prostitutes like mahama to be our presidemt!

• Kojo Kojo 8 years ago

The title is somehow deceptive but the body of the subject matter is instructive, educative and concise is respect of the surrounding circumstances.

• gbm 8 years ago

I wonder where all this talk and discourse is taking us. We want to have power and we did not have the means to provide it. Someone supplies the power on hire purchase basis to us and we are still making noise. Most of us buy ...

• LONE MAN 8 years ago

What i see is that, if NPP Ghanaian say luck of power and u bring power they will say is expensive. development they will say expensive.

• Wisdom 8 years ago

brother I am surprised paa. floating voters are patriot and so as u...The mere fact that I'm hungry doesn't mean if u gif me garbage I'll eat ok. I think if it must be done it must be donewell. Ndc accused Npp of same and we ...

• Boycott Ecowas 8 years ago

I am a Ghanaian leaving in Norway and that Pakistani is a criminal and the Norwegian government, Swiss government and others are searching to arrest him so how come Ghana does business with a crook. Birds of the same feathers ...

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

A lot of people here, like yourself talk nonsense.

The man may be wanted in Norway, but did the Norwegian govt inform Ghana govt about him and warn Ghana govt not to do any business with him? Was his name published interna ...

• Brian 8 years ago

Johannes Awotwe, hope that is is your real name; you are very very foolish indeed for writing this nonsense thinking it is a contribution. Your father and mother brought you to the world to lead a useless life and may God hel ...

• Kizito 8 years ago

Your. are the most unthinkable person. Are we talking about Ghanaian interest or elsewhere?

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

There was not a single subatsnce in all that crap you wrote here

My friend, just answer the questions I put to you and stop the blah-blah.

Idiots of your type cannot reason outside politics. I do reason beyond politics ...

• CANTONA 8 years ago

Outright purchase of the equipment would save us $290 million rather than going into the build own,operate transfer agreement .The 290 million dollar's could be used for other development of our country.Infact we lack thinker ...

• USMAN. 8 years ago

Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg

There was ...

• Kodjo 8 years ago

Where were all these FOOLS when the power barge took almost a year to arrive??? Now that it has arrived every dickhead expert now has an opinion on why this barge is a bad deal for Ghana. Unbelievable!!!

• Kwamena DAUSEY. 8 years ago

If you are saying the cost of the power plant should not have been 510 million dollars , did you think of the cost involve in putting up the plant, installation,other materials and labor. Would the plant itself jump fro ...

• CANTONA 8 years ago

Kwabena did u read the storye well. METKA, which has a deal with AMERI to technically own, install and operate the turbines for almost five years before
    handing them over to VRA, thus the BOOT agreement stated in a statemen ...

• Alonzo 8 years ago

ACEP is a useless NPP inclined so called think -tank my foot.its leader Amin Anta was an appointee in the NPP regime.

• gideon darlington 8 years ago

Prof Ayensu, please stop disturbing our ears with hailing your mother as the best woman the world has ever had at any function or ceremony you find yourself. What is admirable about a woman who has eight children with eight m ...

• gideon darlington 8 years ago

u wanna kill us Prez Mahama

• OTIS 8 years ago

ACEP claims in their submission that "Government informed Parliament that it would cost Ghana US411 million if it decided to buy the equipment outright." Is this true? That's, is it true that Government did in fact inform Par ...

It looks charges depend on spark plugs when a vehicle is taking passengers from one point to another. The matter is that Ameri will produce power and sell it to VRA. Thus the payment to Ameri depends on the power it sells to ...

• Aa 8 years ago

Clearly is not possible that cost of 5 turbines will be US$220 million, while installations, etc will cost $290million to make total cost US $510million.
    Is it another way to loot money for 2016 election rigging? Think about ...

It looks like there is another falsehood here because thermal generators do not have turbines. Turbines belong to wind and hydro electricity generators. Their engines are just like that of motor vehicles. The heat from their ...

• olu 8 years ago

ACEP can do better than this. How on earth can a think tank not be able to differentiate between cost and expected cash flow?. The entire cost is born by the company which expected to produced electricity that VRA will buy an ...

• Martin 8 years ago

Until the government makes the documents it signed with Ameri Corporation public, the analyses by these so-called expects are conjuncture.

• RPG 8 years ago

This deal which John Mahama entered into through the Min of Power with all sorts of criminals wanted all over the globe was just but a thieving exercise, passed under a certificate of emergency by its parliamentary majority, ...

• akuffo adoo retirement party 8 years ago

There goes the Stink Tank, they don't think but only stink with fake scandals. No solutions to offer, only criticism.

• EH 8 years ago

SELECT COMMITEE ON MINES AND ENERGY SHOULD BE LOOKED AT CRITICALLY WHETHER THEY ARE UP TO IT. THE WOES OF THIS GHANA IS FROM THEM. ARE THE MEMBERS ALWAYS PRESENT TO DEBATE , RESEARCH AND LOOK INTO THESE CONTRACTS? ARE THE MPS ...