Quality NOT Quantity. The many hours with students by these SYTO teachers only inflicts pain to the students. They spend a lot of these hours canning and beating students; so, who cares if they cut back the contact hours?
insight to the bone 10 years ago
Forbes too confirms we shall go to war as we are 100% sure NDC will rig the elections with election engineering , propaganda , corruption , bloated register , hegemony mixed with northern tribalism. Now that the dumsor barge fiasco has backfired and exploded in your face you present another half baked solution? Dumsor barge was meant to enable Ibrahim Mahama to own the majority of the independent power producing capabilities , increase unnecessarily the rates on electricity so our home start getting bills 3 to 5 times what they are now. We may be already refugees and second class citizens in our own country but that does not make deaf and blind to the truth. We know the root cause of dumsor is your Anti Akan hate agenda and because Akosombo is on Akan territory you have allowed mismanagement and neglect to practically put out of function one turbine after another. You spread propaganda and lies about some water level mixed with bullshit about the whole thing being old or obsolete forgetting that most hydro generators in the world are older than ours but still functioning. No talk of the possibility that its still possible to send these defunct turbines to Europe , North America , Japan or even Russia (NEVER TURKEY)and have them re-calibrated . Due to lack of timely maintenance from neglect and corruption blessed by the hate of the Akans politics mixed with Muslim caliphate destruction ,the turbines have all slowly spun out of axis and need to be dismantled to calibrate them , with the availability of new technology its even possible to increase the original 1000 megawatts to 1500 or even double if reverse turbines and other changes are made. Yes the undeclared WAR against the Akans continue, they already declare territories of the Akans such as Akosombo , Osu all the way to Kasoa and other areas as belonging to the Ewes , Gas or whoever, very soon we shall hear how the cities Kumasi , Koforidua , Takoradi and Cape Coast belong to the Zongo pepeni.Their vicious propaganda onslaught , brainwashing and subliminal message has left some Akans especially Fantis with no recollection of their proud history or even able to speak Fanti but now parade around as if they are Gas or ayigbe. Just like Al Capone was able to turn Chicago into a fortress for the mafia ,so have these sakawa mafia criminal NDC pepeni/ayigbe unholy alliance turned our country into a place whereby only corrupt criminals can prosper and decent silent majority marginalized. Their propaganda and grassroots network together with the security agencies are advertising an atmosphere of hopeless with the message that ALL are corrupt just like them. No worthy project can see the light of day due to their greedy corrupt demands and larceny. No progress can be achieved due to this rotten system placed there by the perverse , intellectually handicapped morons of the security agencies and NDC. Ironically enough this sakawa ndc govt has turned into their victims due to the massive Stockholm syndrome their own supporters , sympathizers and foot soldiers. In any sakawa situation we notice the victims when you try and enlighten them they resort to passionately hating you because they think in their delusion you are envious of their great opportunity . The end result is them loosing their life energy, misery and abysmal despair but God also punishes eventually the perpetrators and they too face death under very horrible circumstances. NDC is now desparate for a success story they can use to decieve Ghanaians of their benevolent intent but just like Al Capone they resort to creating an atmosphere/climate of destroying anyone who dares to raise their voice and speak the truth. We must continue our quiet whisper campaign to remove them from as just as outsiders and quiet majority of Chicago succeeded so will we. Fifi Kwetey says that the Volta region is the source and world bank of the NDC , and the lands /people of the Akans the bread basket to be exploited by them. My brothers keep your cutlasses sharpened and ready as just as when the European nations tried to enslave Germany into their breadbasket so must we soon teach them a lesson so that never again will they even dream of such a crime just like in Europe today. Freedom is not gained with a peaceful transition but with blood , we didn't start it but know how to end it . Very soon hopefully we shall meet in the front-lines of the battlefield
Kess Jones 10 years ago
Lack of knowledge my people perish... The so called SYTO teachers made you whom you are today, remember if you can read and write,to be able to call teachers SYTO today you must give thanks to the SYTO teachers...you INGRATE....
attu zongo 10 years ago
If you follow this disgraced corrupt and incompetent destroyers in power the education system in Ghana will collapsed.
NANA ADDO shall surely reward you when npp come to power.
If you follow this disgraced corrupt and incompetent destroyers in power the education system in Ghana will collapsed.
Jane 10 years ago
Nana addo is your saviour, abi? Keep waiting for your redeemer.
Marcus chris Lawson 10 years ago
Generally civil or public servants are contracted for an 8 hour shift which is referred to as 9- 5.
Teachers starting work and finishing at the 1.30 pm is only 5.30 hours , plus the reported extra 2 hours makes it a total ... read full comment
Generally civil or public servants are contracted for an 8 hour shift which is referred to as 9- 5.
Teachers starting work and finishing at the 1.30 pm is only 5.30 hours , plus the reported extra 2 hours makes it a total approximate of 7.30 hours which is short of 30 minutes
Admittedly they take their breaks and have very long vacation periods than any other public servant
To suggest they are taking off 2 hours out of their working hours is sheer ignorance and irresponsibility
Indeed it is lawlessness and the government must have dialogue to educate teachers of their stupidity and shirk of duty
Their contract hours must be re negotiated then
Paa Cle, UCC 10 years ago
You were making very tangible submission but the ending is where I have problem with you, there is no need insulting the teachers, cos you don't know what is stipulated in the working conditions of the teachers. If you may wish to know, its the students who go on vacation but not teachers. Teachers can be call to duty at anytime the GES wishes and it is not by mistake that somebody chose to be a teacher. For being able to write what you wrote, you should show appreciation to the teachers cos they have made you who you are today
Constructivist 10 years ago
Don't market your ignorance here, teachers in secondary boarding schools work not for 8 hours but 24 hours. The work of the teacher is not for only the time spent on delivering subject content!
nanaQow 10 years ago
That's interesting, Lawson. I thought you will add extra duties like preps, supervision, etc. to your analysis. Get your facts straight ok. You sound like a well educated being. Think about what your teacher went through to make you who you are and give constructive criticisms. Teachers education people, not teach.
Kess Jones 10 years ago
Have you factor the preparation of lesson note,marking of exercises,preparation of TLM's and other stuffs?.
Anas is unstoppable 10 years ago
Teachers don't even teach. Students are failing exams. Those who feel they are not motivated should stop teaching
nanaQow 10 years ago
Stupid. Do teachers learn to write exams? Gyimi. Advice your younger siblings to sit down and learn cos teachers only guide you to be well educated. We live in the era of information explosion ok. And learning is not teacher oriented. B3l3
Frimpong, New York 10 years ago
The statutory working hours is 8 hours. Therefore Teachers are to work from 8 AM to 5 PM. Where is the extra hours? GES to note. Parents also to note since it is possible to take legal action against Teachers if they breach the statutory requirements.
Free Voter 10 years ago
Can you talk from 8 am to 5pm? Not only talking but ensuring discipline for about 80 students for all this time? Have you ever sat even to chat with 4 of your own children for 2 hours without headache? How about 80 children from different families, cultures, temperaments, physical abilities etc etc. Don't joke with teachers eh!
To the best of my knowledge, this motivation came as a result of parents wanting teachers to increase the instructional hours at the various schools and discouraged the organization of extra classes by individual teachers. So if the government is saying that parents shouldn't pay motivation levy to the teachers then I agree with the teachers withdrawing theirs services during these additional hours. After all, nobody is father Christmas in this country.
Afia 10 years ago
On a more serious note, teachers r supposed to be paid well than al oda profession. Scrapping this allawance is irrelevant. when mp's just sit in parliamnt n do "Yea yea/ No No" n take dat huge amnt. Let's al tink tru it.
... read full comment
On a more serious note, teachers r supposed to be paid well than al oda profession. Scrapping this allawance is irrelevant. when mp's just sit in parliamnt n do "Yea yea/ No No" n take dat huge amnt. Let's al tink tru it.
(Am not a teacher).
Captain K.tema 10 years ago
I beg you teachers ! You have to work for 8hours a day. Some institutions are even doing more than that. Eg police no holidays, no vacation, no extracurricular activities, at times 24/7 duties. Come to Tema and Ashaiman and see the number of hours personnel are working with no leave at all.Please teachers we know your salaries are nothing to write home about but in the cause of demanding for better pay and conditions don't use the hour argument.I remember how hard it was for me when I was teaching ,so sincerely you deserve better salaries and remuneration. God bless you teachers.
peter 10 years ago
Government must scrap the huge ministers allowances too coz they also take salaries!!
Joe 10 years ago
Ndc goverment doesnt care about teachers.
USMAN 10 years ago
Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from an orphan. Please read the following:
Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg
There was near p ... read full comment
Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from an orphan. Please read the following:
Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg
There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum held in Westminster, Central London after a heated exchange between Ghana’s President John Mahama and former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo degenerated into open insults.This was due to General Obasanjo openly accusing the Ghanaian president and his government of blackmailing and collecting bribes from Nigerian businessmen in Ghana, buying numerous properties in Nigeria and South Africa and financially contributing 12 million dollars to Goodluck Jonathan’s campaign last year. This infuriated President Mahama who lost his temper and pointing his finger, called General Obasanjo an ” idiot” and a “silly buffoon”.It took other ministers present as well as Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni to calm tempers and usher President Mahama to a nearby room. The forum, which takes place from 1st to 3rd December is attended by African Heads of States Ministers, Private equity firms and investors to discuss opportunities for investment and development in African Economies.
Source: Bloomberg
Osnad 10 years ago
Failure is our success is waec and ges motto. expect more failure in wassce, this will increase the number of students who will register novdec.
God save mother Ghana.
Failure is our success is waec and ges motto. expect more failure in wassce, this will increase the number of students who will register novdec.
God save mother Ghana.
customs officer 10 years ago
Just for 10ghcedis for only 2 hrs
.what is the national daily minimum wage?
Mike, UCC 10 years ago
Paa Cle, UCC and Afia congratulations !!!
Actually, these are the kind of Intellectuals we need in this country. But for others, twaaaaa !!
Several teachers taught you but you vehemently refused to think and speak as people ... read full comment
Actually, these are the kind of Intellectuals we need in this country. But for others, twaaaaa !!
Several teachers taught you but you vehemently refused to think and speak as people that were for once taught.
May God have mercy upon humanity. ( Am an intellectual. )
Pito brewer 10 years ago
Hahaha some intellectual! You just heaped praises on some selected people and condemned others and offered no viewpoint on the issue at stake and ended up calling yourself an intellectual, please revise your notes and withdraw for some self reflection.
Kwaku 10 years ago
You are suppose to work eight hrs. Do they want to work twp hrs
when 10 years ago
This GOVT Wants to make every Ghanaian POOR and die of hunger BUT they should know they will die instead. Their TRIBAL compaigns will not work for them again. Now we are all wise, we will send this careless mahama out.
kwame 10 years ago
Yet still let teachers in de volta region vote 2moro.They w'l still vote 100% 4 NDC.Ghanaians ar foolish.God hv mercy
Mustapha 10 years ago
Love of country and children come last
sanjay 10 years ago
teacher's and doctors if we leave Ghana for you people one day you will come out and say,each day you will be killing one student each, are u the only workers in Ghana,what a pity, today nurses, tomorrow doctors, and next teacher's, that's why our grandfathers were saying they will never aloud their children to go school!!they believe if you are educated you are a thief, and now see what's going round in Ghana, we don't even know where to start again since we started democracy, people are wasting our resources and money on useless and baseless people call parliament,they just go and sit and make argument and close,wasting our money and resources, our grandparent's didn't go to school, but they live happily before in the world without problem, they were not thinking to get too much money before dying,one person were not willing to use hundred's of people food to chop alone, indeed they were all thinking about what's next after their death, they did every thing to build mother Ghana,at war & slavery,now ask your self is education really helping we African's in General, see corruption in Africa,with all our resources people are still living in poverty,the hatred is too much on us now,we leave what was left for us and be chasing things that do not belong to us,we leave our culture and we want to be living western life, that our life of we African's especially in Ghana,we all want to be rich no matter how the situation is,and we forget God is the giver, no one is willing to help Ghana, unless he will get money from it,every day the good people are dying and the bad once are surviving, ask your self why, i will stop here, if you are reading this, you should know am not insulting any one or politicizing anything,please Ghana is for only we Ghanaian's, we have to help the country to be on its feet, we can have good economy,we can have good living,and that will be if Allah send a person who is God fearing,who have faith,who know he will be judge tomorrow after his death,and we can leave happily as a country,until that ...,.....,,.
For you 2016 jamb question and answer 10 years ago
For you 2016 jamb question and answer just visit WWW.MOBOVILLA.COM and call +2349030861174.
kwesi 10 years ago
if the government is looking for ways to cut on expenditure and has cut nursing training allowance ,teachers allowance, subsides on fuel and electricity ,then it can also cut northern educational fund and also subsides on electricity to the north and upper part of volta
Joe Turkey 10 years ago
Other than John Mahama (who steals so much from government he does not need any other incentives) which Ghanaian worker does not need incentives. When I was in Middle School, my teachers spent 4 to 4 hours helping students, doing gardening or doing cleanup on campus - all for no extra tapence (do you remember that word?)
Obiba rBroke 10 years ago
Tit for tat, is even in the Holy book. Good job by good wise teachers
kwasi 10 years ago
Ghana teachers has got it easy.they have to serve the 8hrs as every body dose.8am to 4pm.at lease the kid have to close at 2.30pm and they have to stay till 4pm.
Yankey 10 years ago
The parents came into consesus to give the teachers some incentives. This policy makers will abolish the payment and pay for their wards. Look at the poor people, supporting it. The foolish man is asking teacher s to close from school at 5pm. Even your little kid you cannot take custody of....so you got admission for her at the age of 1. You expect teachers to be with 57 pupils for 8hrs....Say something sensible and stop the nonsensical statement
anero 10 years ago
NDC government be very careful with teachers oo because this led the elephant to the bush. You can close your ears but l am telling u that the same people who sent the elephant to the bush will send the NDC to the sea
uncle Yaw,swedru. 10 years ago
OYes,the scrapping of this illegal tr motivation allowance is very muchwelcome.Apart from d extra classes fees that trs collect to teach for one more hour they still collect this illegal motivation fees.Not all schools collect this fees.It's collected at d second cycle schools.The shs is bedeviled with too many illegal fees making the cost of educating our children too high.Let's not politicize this.Let's help d govt to effect d ban.The motivation n extra classes fees are the first to be collected before d main fees.It's bad.It must stop now!
NANA USA 10 years ago
You these lazy teachers are doing nothing in the classrooms.Are you not paid?This is laziness if you will be serious in teaching for the hours given you l hope it will be fine
Akora 10 years ago
This so called leader is speaking nonsense. If you are charging an illegal fees, you want right thinking Ghanaians to allow you to receive that illegal money? What kind of teachers are these?
My heart sometimes aches about the way and manner we the intellectuals allow personal and political sentiments cloud our thoughts and arguments. We are all thinking about how to improve our educational system. Insults and name calling is not going to help in anyway. We may be working at different sectors of the economy but with common aim; thus the development of our dear nation. We might be thinking of 10.00 being paid to the teachers for two hours service. We have forgotten that the two hours is for a day, multiple by the number of days in a week and the number of weeks in a term, then we start the argument from there. I am not supporting the teachers withdrawing theirs services, but we should understand them from their point of view then we jaw jaw and arrive at amicable solution. Some are talking about making good use of available Instructional hours forgetting of other activities that takes place within the academic year, not forgotten holidays and the fact that these days the teachers have to cover three-year work within two years. Teachers are not magicians, they therefore deserve our respect and appreciation not INSULTS
Bob Little 10 years ago
Sometimes, I don't understand why people get into professions they are not motivated by themselves to do.As teachers, you should have the interest in helping the young ones.The reason why everyone is not a teacher is because not everyone has that passion for it. so if teaching is your passion,why do you need motivation fee and also the salary as well. Then i think all workers need motivation fee. This nonsense by teachers must stop. If you think you dont have passion for teaching , you better quit and find what you want to do. Get back teaching hours, who cares. Even when teachers receive this motivation fee, they still close from school very early, sometimes comes to class late, and they always have interest in organising extra classes just to get students money and this is the reason why they dont give their best during normal teaching or working hours. Nonsense.
stereo 10 years ago
Teachers l guess you've now seen this Notorious Dirty Criminals(NDC). This is foolish,their can scrap all the allowances of teachers. Teachers will still survive, but 2016 is going to be the end of the road of this Notorious Dirty Criminals (NDC), fools!!!
Sir Mike 10 years ago
I think the PTA should also stop their building projects for schools since that has outlived it's purpose. It is the responsibility of the government to provide classrooms, dormitories and teachers bungalows not the PTA.
Ab ... read full comment
I think the PTA should also stop their building projects for schools since that has outlived it's purpose. It is the responsibility of the government to provide classrooms, dormitories and teachers bungalows not the PTA.
Aban afie de3 yabr3 wo ne ns3m ns3m.
Hmmm.
Forbes too confirms we shall go to war as we are 100% sure NDC will rig the elections with election engineering , propaganda , corruption , bloated register , hegemony mixed with northern tribalism. Now that the dumsor barge ...
Lack of knowledge my people perish... The so called SYTO teachers made you whom you are today, remember if you can read and write,to be able to call teachers SYTO today you must give thanks to the SYTO teachers...you INGRATE. ...
Teachers starting work and finishing at the 1.30 pm is only 5.30 hours , plus the reported extra 2 hours makes it a total ...
You were making very tangible submission but the ending is where I have problem with you, there is no need insulting the teachers, cos you don't know what is stipulated in the working conditions of the teachers. If you may wi ...
That's interesting, Lawson. I thought you will add extra duties like preps, supervision, etc. to your analysis. Get your facts straight ok. You sound like a well educated being. Think about what your teacher went through to m ...
Stupid. Do teachers learn to write exams? Gyimi. Advice your younger siblings to sit down and learn cos teachers only guide you to be well educated. We live in the era of information explosion ok. And learning is not teacher ...
The statutory working hours is 8 hours. Therefore Teachers are to work from 8 AM to 5 PM. Where is the extra hours? GES to note. Parents also to note since it is possible to take legal action against Teachers if they breach t ...
Can you talk from 8 am to 5pm? Not only talking but ensuring discipline for about 80 students for all this time? Have you ever sat even to chat with 4 of your own children for 2 hours without headache? How about 80 children ...
To the best of my knowledge, this motivation came as a result of parents wanting teachers to increase the instructional hours at the various schools and discouraged the organization of extra classes by individual teachers. So ...
I beg you teachers ! You have to work for 8hours a day. Some institutions are even doing more than that. Eg police no holidays, no vacation, no extracurricular activities, at times 24/7 duties. Come to Tema and Ashaiman and s ...
There was near p ...
God save mother Ghana.
Several teachers taught you but you vehemently refused to think and speak as people ...
Hahaha some intellectual! You just heaped praises on some selected people and condemned others and offered no viewpoint on the issue at stake and ended up calling yourself an intellectual, please revise your notes and withdra ...
teacher's and doctors if we leave Ghana for you people one day you will come out and say,each day you will be killing one student each, are u the only workers in Ghana,what a pity, today nurses, tomorrow doctors, and next tea ...
if the government is looking for ways to cut on expenditure and has cut nursing training allowance ,teachers allowance, subsides on fuel and electricity ,then it can also cut northern educational fund and also subsides on ele ...
Other than John Mahama (who steals so much from government he does not need any other incentives) which Ghanaian worker does not need incentives. When I was in Middle School, my teachers spent 4 to 4 hours helping students, d ...
The parents came into consesus to give the teachers some incentives. This policy makers will abolish the payment and pay for their wards. Look at the poor people, supporting it. The foolish man is asking teacher s to close fr ...
OYes,the scrapping of this illegal tr motivation allowance is very muchwelcome.Apart from d extra classes fees that trs collect to teach for one more hour they still collect this illegal motivation fees.Not all schools collec ...
My heart sometimes aches about the way and manner we the intellectuals allow personal and political sentiments cloud our thoughts and arguments. We are all thinking about how to improve our educational system. Insults and nam ...
Sometimes, I don't understand why people get into professions they are not motivated by themselves to do.As teachers, you should have the interest in helping the young ones.The reason why everyone is not a teacher is because ...
Teachers l guess you've now seen this Notorious Dirty Criminals(NDC). This is foolish,their can scrap all the allowances of teachers. Teachers will still survive, but 2016 is going to be the end of the road of this Notorious ...
Ab ...