You are here: HomeNews2015 12 02Article 398074

‘Ghana’s economy grew 500% under Kufuor but 52% under NDC’

Read Comments Comments (67)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: SEE BELOW----------------------------
    It would be recalled that before Election 2000, the Rawlings's P/NDC had ruled Ghana for 19 solid years. This era, as we all know, was marked by human rights abuses, tribalism, c ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

Economy grew by 500%? yet our own Ghana Telecom had to carted and sold to pay Teachers in 2008. Fast forward to 2015, has such a thing happened...nowhere

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Collective guilt will not fly over this matter of epidemic corruption. Looking at the genesis and the mechanisms or root cause of this phenomenon we know exactly who the culprits are. This system was first developed in our co ...

• ost 8 years ago

is k4 nana.

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Governance under the NDC government is all about 'opium of the people. They enjoy everything under the sun but ask us to wait for our basic needs in heaven. And as they ask us to tighten our belts for future betterment, they' ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

No wander we are where we are this are the economics we have as a nation, he should tell Ghanaian how much it costs them to denominate the cedi.

• RIMA 8 years ago

DONT MESS WITH BROTHER BAWUMIA

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

The whole world economy has been facing recession since July 2007. So for a so called economist to make such assertion is silly to say the least. Even the almighty capitalist America has to bail out Wall Street. Some in Ameri ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

Should read: Unfortunately he could not save too big to fail Lehman Brothers.

• Ukulele 8 years ago

I am not sure about this so called Dr. Is he a Dr of Economics or something else. Of course Kufuor would and should achieve 500% as (a) he was working from a low base (b) the economical conditions were extremely positive at ...

• zoko biz Chicago 8 years ago

you are 100% right. This so called economist is deceiving people who do not know anything about economic growth. what are factors that make a developing and dependent economy to grow? The biggest economy in the world, the USA ...

• Garuba 8 years ago

Vodoo economics at it's best. 500% in 8 yeas. Thus 62.5% annually.

• Lord gee 8 years ago

Foreigner!!! is becos u are afar , sleeping , dreaming that s y u couldn't see what is happening here ( in Ghana)

• Kofi, US 8 years ago

DONKY BAWUMIA STOP THE BULL SHIT LAIRS LAIRS LAIRS ALL OVER AGAIN. THIS SHOWS, CLEARLY HOW USELESS THIS S P DR DONKY BAWUMIA IS .

• BRUTAL 8 years ago

WAA LOOK!!!!!!!!! KOFI INCOPITENT THIS ALL WHAT U SABI YOUR FATHER IS A DONKY THATS MAHAMA AND AMISSAR THE HOMOSEXUALS THIS GENTLEMAN ALWAYS TEACHES YOU BUT KWASEA.............O G U A N MEEEEEE

• DIET 8 years ago

KUFOUR PRESIDED OVER THE MOST CORRUPT GOVT IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA.HIS GOVT CREATED OVERNIGHT MILLIONAIRES THROUGH CORRUPTION MOST OF WHOM WERE HIS RELATIVES. ARE WE GLORIFYING CORRUPTION? KUFOUR HIMSELF SAID CORRUPTION START ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

KUFFUOR FOUGHT CORRUPTION!! HE JAILED 6 HIGH PROFILE NDC THIEVES. NDC TRIED OVER 26 NPP FUNCTIONARIES BUT THEY WERE ALL FOUND TO BE CLEAN. WHOM HAS NDC JAILED IN ITS FIGHT AGAINST CORRUPTION???? LOOK, HONOURABLE MARTIN ALAMIS ...

• Gh 8 years ago

Masa gyii gyemea nuu,nah u fool too much.Im sure as at now,u are jobless sleeping in darkness.Gymii ,gymii keep voting foolishly.

• Kojo T 8 years ago

Bawuia as usual working from a vacuum.Please compare the growth rates to other countries like SA and Nigeria or Cote DIvoire or Kenya tomake it rlevantv of not China, Brazil, Russia

• DerDieDas.@KÖLN 8 years ago

We have every reason to be proud of Npp. Because they've the Truck-Record. Most of all, they've the finest collected Intellectual Men & Women across the 10 regions of Ghana, they've the Skills, Leadership and Commitment to tu ...

• Kizito 8 years ago

kwaseeeaa. which track record? what? 500% GDP. npp own Ghana or Ghana we are all living? aaappppooo tor.

• efo 8 years ago

Am not npp but I wonder if mahama has brains at all he has destroyed every thing in Ghana

• Adote 8 years ago

Dr. Bawumia, your assertion of 500% growth under President Kufour does no add up. If that was the case how come Ghanaians were still hawking on the streets selling dog chains? How come Ghana Airways went bankrupt, more Planes ...

• Mawriz 8 years ago

I thought the economy never grew under mahama. I am not very well learned in economics but I know that the under some conditions 10% maybe more positive than 1000%.

• Jojo Hammond, New Jersey 8 years ago

Folks, could we all agree and give mother Ghana to our beloved NPP so that they return us to the milk and honey that Ghanaian were enjoying between 2000 and 2008? Dr. Bawumia, should know that statistics could be manipulated ...

• Biri moses 8 years ago

How can you compare an expanded economy's growth of 52% to a smaller one with 500%?

• gift 8 years ago

gift
    bawumia mind your own business

• Obi Ngyeyen oooooo 8 years ago

The economic climate under Kufuor was different from the economic climate under Mahama. During Kufuor's era the world economy was growing by leaps and bounds. Compared to the outside world Kufuor did not do that well. The ...

• Boris Bukari 8 years ago

Are you sure of what you are saying? .

• tibaa 8 years ago

Bawumia is a very dangerous academician of our time - to twist data to paint a rather bad picture of an opponent!!!

• akuffo addo retirement party 8 years ago

Liar liar pants on fire

• Amanaman 8 years ago

Kufour ended up selling GhanaTelecom. Bawumia is a dangerous liar. He has learned so fast from Nana Akufo Addo and Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings. This man indeed sees all of us as dumb like the NPP supporters. It's like we wer ...

• James 8 years ago

I admire Bawumia but I find his analysis of the Ghanaian economy disingenous, selective and academically lazy. I am no economist but I know that when the world prices of your export products fall your earnings would also fall ...

• ASH 8 years ago

How much did you spend travelling to the UK to complete your education? Is it the same amount of money you can use to travel back? He always say what people wants to hear but not the truth.

• d'SigNstyle 8 years ago

in Ghana;from ordain pastors to politicians are all lies

• Dr. Sefah-Banafo 8 years ago

Hardly can any wise man in Ghana understand this mean thinking of the so-called Dr.Bawumia and his economic analysis of the Kufuor and NPP government including his would be master Nana Addo. Kufuor and the NPP government incl ...

• Sassco 8 years ago

Bawumia is a really man

• tiger 8 years ago

Are These npp guys hallucinating.how many ghanaians alive witnessed this growthmprobably only Bawuamia who lived luckily after to tell tall tales

• orji 8 years ago

Alhaji pink sheet is here again

• ASH 8 years ago

I cannot wait for the day when this man will be 'Afokoed' by the NPP after the 2016 elections.

• Rastafara"I" 8 years ago

It depends were you start from....

• #Citizen 8 years ago

This guy always tickles himself and fart,making illiterate NPP apologists go gay. Any time this fine gentleman mount a podium to talk, he throws his doctorate away and wears the brain of de violent lying NPP thugs. Cos that's ...

• hamza 8 years ago

One thing is lacking in doctor bawimyas presentation. Npp led by present j a kufuor at the time refused to tell Ghanaians how much capital that was injected in to the economy despite joining Hipic. we are very comfortable wit ...

• Eddie 8 years ago

Breaking news,folks! .Bawumia has been labelled by international observers of our economy as a "THEORY ECONOMIST ".Again,that he had better settled down as a BANKER than talking economics.This is a huge blow & a dent on Bawum ...

• DADZIE 8 years ago

Please ,Please lets talk About us , we Pay too much to travel home to GHANA by AIR .Its about time to come together and fight the SYSTEM of OVER CHARGING us .Take the time cheak prices .Flights to Ghana are many and they FLY ...

• kofi adu 8 years ago

fool when will wisdom besiege you. yesterday was so different you don't even remember. who signed the oil deal. very bad for todays economy. think.no yesterday please.

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

FALSE FIGURES, HAS THE ECONOMY OF US,THE WORLDS ECONOMIC LEADER EVER GREW EVEN 100% IN US ECONOMIC HISTORY.

HOW WAS IT POSSIBLE FOR THE ECONOMY UNDER KUFFOUR TO GROW, WHEN GHANA WAS DECLARED AS A HEAVILY INDEPTED POOR COUN ...

• Michael K. Tettevi 8 years ago

There is vast difference between 500% and 52%. If Ghana's economy grew 500% during President Kuffuor's regime and only 52% under Presidents Mills and Mahama then NPP is ten times better than NDC. Vote wisely in 2016. Action s ...

• OWEN-NEW YORK 8 years ago

GHANAIANS MUST COMPARE THEIR STANDARD OF LIVING AND MAKE INFORM CHOICES. RENT,UTILITY BILL-(water,electricity,telephone),HOSPITAL BILLS,SCHOOL FEES FOR YOUR KIDS,TRANSPORTATION.COST OF FOOD ITEMS ETC

• Nana kwesi 8 years ago

Then why was NPP shown the exit door?

• GhanaSon 8 years ago

Economy grew by 500% yet Ghana Telecom had to be sold to pay teachers. Don't be silly Bawumiah. Ghanaians are more discerning than this. It's a shame with your level of education you allow Akuffo Addo to push u around. You ar ...

• truth 8 years ago

Yes it was better than NOW bu the truth was those kuffour friends,family members enjoyed more.And NDC doing exactly the same thing.

• kaketonti 8 years ago

BAWUMIA IS TALKING ABOUT COCAINE,ILLEGAL-DRUGS GROWTH,KICKED BACKS,HOTEL WAWAWA ETC UNDER THIEF K4 ERA.THIEF K4 NEVER CREATED STATE ENTERPRISES NOR JOBS.RATHER HE SOLD EXISTING ONES.

• Nyamekye. 8 years ago

Pure patapaa statistics by a patapaa man. Is the 52% for Mills, Mahama or Rawlings? Bawumia, your father was a traitor and so are you. By2016 we shall all see.

• Krista 8 years ago

bawumia is mad bcos we dont have 500% so if NDC is able to get 52 then we are doing well.

• inercycl 8 years ago

Woow.is this a topographical error or merely playing with figures?

• Ukulele 8 years ago

Dr Bawumia’s comment “Ghana’s economy grew 500% under Kufuor but 52% under NDC” in his response to the Ghanaian Mr Terkper’s Budget Statement shows clearly why the country is not progressing. I believe Dr Bawumia ...

• Nyiary 8 years ago

may bawumia becomes our future president

• Lord gee 8 years ago

Well Said, Dr Bawumia. May de lord gives u more wisdom for us and for mother Ghana.

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

We don't need political bandits, we need go stewards and leaders.

• Busia 8 years ago

I love this term.

• Big Boy 8 years ago

Kufour worked under HIPC and so had more advantages.

• KD 8 years ago

This is all you know how to do .just talk talk kuaaa nothing better

• papajay 8 years ago

bawumia is a big liar and mischievious

In 2008 the yellow gallons, commonly call Kufuor gallons were still around and we were still buying chargeable lamps. Why should Bawumia look always into the eyes of Ghanaians and call us fools.

• Trotro 8 years ago

Dr. Bawumia, now I think you have to shut up. We are tired of this nonsense.

• Augusco Boy 8 years ago

I have followed Bawumia's so-called economic statements for a little while now and I continue to be amazed at how this guy is getting away with murder. Is there no real economist in the NDC to refute this guy's continuous non ...