You are here: HomeNews2015 11 23Article 395712

AGI commends gov’t for ban on importation of cables

Read Comments Comments (13)

• Joel MacCutchen 8 years ago

Local prices are twice the imported ones

• KANAWU 8 years ago

NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT. MY FEARS ARE THAT IF THE AGI HAS A QUALITY CONTROL BOARD SAVE GHANAIANS OF INFERIOR PRODUCTS FLOODED ON THE MARKET, THINKING THAT THEY NOW HAVE THE MONOPOLY. WHICH SOME OF THE DISADVANTAGES OF MONOPOL ...

• obroni 8 years ago

competition makes strong entrepreneurs and create the best consumer prices

• eugene 8 years ago

monopoly is never good...Look at price of phones and service since it was deregulated!

• Nailbiter 8 years ago

If GSA did their job, rather than being a bribe bowl, then sub-standard and dangerous cables could not be imported. Ghanaian manufacturers could compete on the open market with their quality products.

• ghanaman 8 years ago

Normally, any ban by Government meets cries from the competition on the need to terms of free trade agreements. Will that happen this time too? If protecting local industry with ban on inferior imported goods is tenable, then ...

• BOB MENSAH 8 years ago

GOVERNMENT SHOULD NOT BAN ONLY ELECTRICAL CABLES AND TRANSFORMERS BUT ALL PRODUCTS WHICH HAS BEEN CERTIFIED BY GHANA STANDARD AUTHORITY AND FOOD AND DRUG AUTHORITY.
    OUR SALVATION LIES IN INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT IN GHANA..... ...

• obroni 8 years ago

So according to you we should ban everything that we can't produce in a competitive way ?
    Do you have any idea what will happen to local consumer prices ?
    Do you know that Nigeria does that and when you buy a chicken in Gha ...

• BOB MENSAH 8 years ago

ALL PRODUCTS MANUFACTURED LOCALLY.

• KANAWU 8 years ago

NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT IF THE QUALITY WOULD BE CONTROLLED VERY WELL WITH GOVT. AGENCIES WITHOUT BRIBES. CERTAINLY, NOBODY WANTS TO PAY TOO MUCH FOR ANY PRODUCT WITH HIS HARD EARNED MONEY, IN THE SAME TOKEN NOBODY WANTS TO CH ...

• obroni 8 years ago

Market protection breeds lazy entrepreneurs, I can understand a temporary extra tax to build capacity but closing the market ?
    Japan has closed its rice market since decades, the result is that Japanese rice in Japan is the ...

• HARDER@'-89 8 years ago

Very very commendable indeed but mr president do same for rice, poultry, toilet roll , tomatoes, onions, ear bud, toothpick, furniture, fruit juices, mattresses and even processed petroleum products....etc..

• Niibii 8 years ago

There must be a control on quality of cables coming to Ghana simple