You are here: HomeNews2015 11 20Article 395169

Mahama: NPP caused 41% of our debt

Read Comments Comments (122)

• ... 8 years ago

This man is mad like Afoko. Side effect of eating too much dog meat.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE(OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: AKOSUA------A naturally resourced small country like Ghana is owing 100 billion dollars with bad roads dumsor and people drinking from rivers and streams and they are happy. Tekper and those happy people must be silly ...

• Dr Adia Atanga 8 years ago

Some of u like baumia must learn the economics well and stop accusing the NDC government

• OBAA YAA 8 years ago

Some of you like Mahama should learn how to tell the truth about the state the country economy and it total debt of $ 95.4 billion but not $ 14 billion as stated by the Mahama.

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 8 years ago

Yes, I just checked again! Ghana owes $94.5 Billion not $47 billion. Cutting the numbers down does not mean Ghana does not owe. INCOMPETENT Mahama!

• HolyGhost 8 years ago

And where did you check it from ,big liar

• eugene 8 years ago

who forgot to pay NIGERIA $74 billion dollars for gas used..The lights will be out every day if mahama don't empty his pocket and pay Lago's for their gas..They will close the valve on the pipe

• the don 8 years ago

Empty his pockets??are u that stupid?

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

We have on several occasions stressed and elaborated the evil Islamic pepeni criminal mafia and the callousness of the hegemony ayigbe ndc. What the ayigbe and pepeni have in common are their intrinsic evil , wickedness devoi ...

• gh first 8 years ago

Word!!!!proud Akan proud Ashanti..people with common sense n knowledge

• Mohammed Nasir 8 years ago

Useless comment,I am a muslem and an Npp member ,does it mean that I hate Christian ?By the way who told you all the Christians are Ashanti's?and the northerners are Muslims ?The likes of you who have nothing to offer to the ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahaha, shame on you. Illiterate, check your figures and find out how much is in 41% debt caused by npp in eight(8) years compared with atmost 51% bebt caused by ndc in 26 years. Learn so that u'll be informed n ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

I know now that Mahama is really dumb and don't understand what Ghanaians saw in this thing to vote for him.

Mop left office with 8.9 billion debt which at that time was equal to $5.9 billion. The external part of this deb ...

• Anonymous Coward 8 years ago

Mahama is a liar. Ghanaians are by nature corrupt, dishonest, liars, wicked, thieves and hypocrites according to the current chief justice. Somebody definitely shit at the wrong side of the gene pool and the product is these ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Mahama and his quack socialists have again failed to improve the economy despite the unprecedented high oil revenues, high commodity prices and more than 37 billion dollars borrowed so far to land the country in another HIPC. ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Now, opepeni gyimini president mahama has finally accepted that he has misused Ghana's money and he is now saying that 41% was from NPP. Akoa yi agyimi yie paa.

• HolyGhost 8 years ago

Wu Maame ne wu papa na agyimi paa, Aboa ba, have you finished insulting you dubious monkey looking Akufo addo let alone a sitting president, Ask Akufo Addo to produce his law cert.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

I live in democratic country and I understand what democracy means. But as for you tribalism is killing you. If you are a real human being you would not have followed mahama at this time of age. Do you think that he has broug ...

• HolyGhost 8 years ago

You are more dumper than Mahama and also a pathological liar.

• Ishaaku Muktar 8 years ago

I just can't understand why Ghanaians allowed this thief and murderer to become president of ghana. And he is still stealing with alacrity. Where did he get the $40m dollars to buy shares in a hotel in Dubai? And owns fleet ...

• Sly 8 years ago

History! Mahama, did you ever study statistics, Mathematics and Principles of Economics? I doubt it, and may be you were not among the intelligent in your class. No wonder, your level of incompetense

• Kwame Begro 8 years ago

Do you know what George Osborne - the UK Chancellor majored in? Go check it out Sly. I guess if you are born clever and and you are a politician (born a thief) you know your way around how money works my friend.some of you ju ...

• kwaku NYU 8 years ago

Hahaha liked that comments. Some bodyis got to shot that bastard mahama. i

• john 8 years ago

smelling defeat to what political party? or to a party that is already in crises over a common party fund?

• Fedup 8 years ago

THE WHOLE WORLD THIS MUMU MAN WEY HE FOOL...

• Mistic 8 years ago

Lol

• ZAC 8 years ago

Mahama when the NDC took over the adminstration of the nation in 2009, Ghama's debt was under 10 billion cedis. Ghana's debt is now 100 billion cedis. From 2009 to present we are saddled with 90 billion cedis debt, Mahama and ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

He's not just useless and and fool but also tells A BIG LIES. come on stop disgrace yourself. We all know who put Ghana where we are today with our doubt. The the truth for once Mr good for nothing.

• JAMES 8 years ago

THEY SAID WHAT THE LOAN IS FOR BUT WHEN THEY GET THE LOAN IT GOES INTO INDIVIDUAL POCKETS. HEDGE FUNDS FIRMS DON'T CARE THEY WILL GIVE YOU THE MONEY ON WHAT A LEADER PROMISED TO USE THE MONEY FOR BUT IN RELIALITY IF MONEY GOE ...

• Busia 8 years ago

The rest 26 paragraphs are for NPP. The headline does not fit the analysis. New trick of NPP journalist.

• Mahama 8 years ago

Mahama, you know a mad man does not know he is mad and has to be forced to the mental hospital. You are mad. Go and see a psychiatrist at the Assylum hospital or Pantang. We need electricity, roads, water, good policies colle ...

• Tekper 8 years ago

Please mental hospital send your scouts to arrest this MAD idiot. A mad idiot can be very foolish if left alone

• Ericus-Ericus 8 years ago

The incompetence level of Mahama is getting out of hand. Why is Mahama now doing serial callers job???. A president who lies about his country's economy is not fit to be in that position. Frustration has really set in and the ...

It is absolutely obvious that Mahama can smell defeat.

• Abubakari Yakubu 8 years ago

Foolish mahama

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

NPP ARE U SLEEPING, WAKE UP AND CHALLENGE THIS JOHN MAHAMA WITH THE TRUE FIGURES AND FACTS PLEASE

NPP tells lies whiles in opposition, then it will kill when it is in power. It is most unfortunate that an opposition with members in parliament tell lies about Ghana's debt. The question to ask is what did NPP did with the H ...

• BBC! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Have you researched about the facts of what the prez said. He may not be telling the truth so better get the facts before you comment.

• Prof True Talk 8 years ago

For a long time, Ghanaian politics has been about generalizations which have only served to confuse. When issues are broken down into compartments,the picture becomes clearer. Solutions are easier to fashion. I love this. Thi ...

• need to educate 8 years ago

fools of Npp people idiot to you all kwasiafour listen to ur debt 41 percent of urs and you still fool why.bye for now.

• HAWA 8 years ago

9.2BILLION - 99.4BILLION
    NPP LEAVING NDC1,2

41% 59%

MAHAMA WABON PAAAAAA WHAT A JOKE AS PRESIDENT!

• Ogyam 8 years ago

The president is only explaining on 14 billion dollars instead of the 37 Bawumia claimed. The President should come again. He did not touch domestic borrowing. We are still not convinced

• Anthony 8 years ago

Bawumia is sick. He is an impulsive liar , irresponsible and very corrupt. Bawumia lacks integrity just as his boss Akufo Akufo. He must have cheat his way through education.

• kaketonti 8 years ago

YES OOOO.REMEMBER ZERO IS NUMBER

• B'mark 8 years ago

How much do they give you to spread false propaganda, come to your senses man. That your NDC president don't know nothing. All he knows is to find means to stay in office by hook or crook. Have you asked yourself how Atta ...

• Teacher Omawugi 8 years ago

whatever brain exercise you are doing please continue because it will get you to your destination very quickly

• Kay 8 years ago

Mahama is a liar . Now Ghanaians know the real person he is . Pretends to be innocent but in reality he's a devil in disguise. God will uncover you .

• MR DUMMSOR PREZ 8 years ago

MILLS 33% DEBT IN THAT SHORT TERM IS BAD BUSINESS .

• Jay+++++++++++++London 8 years ago

Mahama is NOW BLAMING ATTA MILLS. IS THAT WHY THE NDC KILLED HIM TO PAVE THE WAY FOR HE MAHAMA TO COME ON THE SCENE SO THAT THEY CAN STEAL WHY HE SERVES AS A MERE STOOGE OF THE TSIKATAS.
    #
    WHY DO YOU THINK NANA KONADU IS FR ...

• Eric 8 years ago

I always says Mahama is childish No

• kwesi 8 years ago

small maths percentage he cant see top, then can he understand economics

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

Someone must come out and straighten things out for us, because our heads are swirling badly!
    We are being made to believe that the Mills' government inherited GHC9.5 billion debt, which shot up to GHC33 million in 2012, whi ...

• Analyst 8 years ago

If you mention the debt in Ghana cedis, you will be confused because the value of our cedi has significantly varied from 2008 to 2015. Even though external debts were taken in dollars, the NPP prefers to mention them in Ghana ...

• JH. New York 8 years ago

There's not a confusion.The fact is that,Mahama is doing Politics and therefore economic with the truth to divert Ghana Debt against Kuffour's gov't,the same way he Childishly tried to divert the insult on him by the people t ...

• TAA TANG 8 years ago

THE PRESIDENT IS A LIAR.

• Ama Benya Doe 8 years ago

Do Ghanaians remember the Chief Psychiatrist Doctor Osei declared President Damni Maama as having mental challenges?
    He simply cannot handle the Presidential job. How can he after brushing my 'sooba' and not giving me any ...

• Abokli.Adedome VR 8 years ago

Fowl words don't win votes(Scary Preside
    Fowl words to opponents don't win votes from floating and reasonable people of Ghana.l personally hate politicians who insult. It's so ugly.there is nothing funny in it its only peopl ...

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

Tombs high my brother let's focus on Ghana development by democracy and avoid those who intended to divide us because of their selfish interest stay blessed

Can this idiot and fool president stop the blame games and focus on better Ghana agenda? What was Ghana total debt before K4 administration took over Ghana? and what was Ghana total debt before your incompetence administratio ...

• Jay+++++++++++++London 8 years ago

Mahama chose Ho to talk about the debt.

If he is serious he should meet Bawumia and give his side of the debt saga.

Ho people WOULD VOTE NDC EVEN IF THE NDC MAKE THEM SHIT IN THEIR ROOMS.

THAT IS HO PEOPLE FOR YOU. ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• OMOKHATYI-Proun NIGERIAN 8 years ago

Ghanaians fool ooo.insulting. your president like these??????.Such things can never happen in my belovered Nigeria where we are wise not be hurling insults at out leaders.

You're really funny guy buddy and trying to be an idiot, what is wrong to tell an idiot that you are a fool either by the person action or words? So if an elderly person is a thief acting stupidly we can't say it right, Nige ...

• OMOKHATYI-Proun NIGERIAN 8 years ago

Chai!!!!! see another short dwarf defending foolish these in ghana.i said this can never happen in NIGERIA
    Ghanaians still in the stone ages.
    I always visit ghanaweb to entertain myself with stupid comments any time am stre ...

And I also thank God I'm a Ghanaian not even born in Nigeria because educated idiots demonstrating stupidity at higher levels thinking that accepting foolish talk and lies from leaders and elderly people without saying nothin ...

• Steve 8 years ago

Mahama you talk too much

• BEN 8 years ago

Desperate n fustrated mahama talking.. U konw the reason i dnt want call u president, cos for me n many suffering ghanaians mahama has lost total integrity, his abysmal performabce is clear indication that he is not fit to be ...

• Daniel.-Russia 8 years ago

"For what shall it profit a man,if he gains the whole world ( wealthes/riches) ,and lose his own soul????.(Mark 8:38).

• john maha 8 years ago

so does this man know what he is doing, being in power for Eight years without achieving anything and yet still he is accusing opposition parties. doe he really know what he suppose to do

• eugene 8 years ago

blaming USA on their failures

• Chief 8 years ago

Can't do math too--The Incompetent One. Now I understand why our economy is in the toilet. Mahatma probably did history in school.

• agyeman 8 years ago

HOW CAN A WHOLE PRESIDENT SPEAK LIKE THIS IN THE 21ST CENTURY. PATHETIC

• mahama must go 8 years ago

Time is not on our side. Impeach. Mahama now. Incompetent bastard

• mobydick 8 years ago

Rising debt is a great sin especially if the loans are not used efficiently. Mr. President, you are truly mortgaging our future. It is pitiful and shameful that you still do not understand this.

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

The dead and rotten goat president Mahama is lying to Ghanaians about the country's debt. Our debt was $9 billion when the ndc came to power. How can that represents 41% of the debt of $95 billion +. Who are advisers of presi ...

• BB 8 years ago

Keep only Ghanaians ON VOTERS REGISTER

• BB 8 years ago

no ghost names

• QED 8 years ago

According to Mahama analysis, Prof. period of Office is 2008 -2015....interesting. WHEN DID PROF. MILL DIE? Did Prof. Mills die in 2015 and he Mahama contested 2012 election to 'steal the verdict' that went to Court for his v ...

• Dr. William Acquah 8 years ago

Mahama is really a big Idiot and unfit to be Prez. of Ghana.

• opana 8 years ago

Mahama thinks that ghanaians are fools like him and his party you liar

• con 8 years ago

Aaaah Mr . president so opposition go fo loans. What about the money they left for rural electrification project, hippic benefits money. They tell u to go for loans aaaaaaba

• Jenny 8 years ago

NPP wrote off your debts and find you oil personally

• Jenny 8 years ago

Build institutions for you personally

• KOO THE BOY 8 years ago

GOD HELP US WITH LEADERS WITH WISDOM,KNOWLEDGE AND UNDERSTANDING OR WE ARE DOOM.THIS NDC DON'T GET IT.

• danny 8 years ago

aaaaa...this Mahama guy is very bad...what kind of politics is that...that is very cheapcheat move he taking to decisive the illiterate Ghanaians...now not betteri Ghana agenda but rather life changing tour....I ask mahama wh ...

• Prince 8 years ago

So what? The pblem is that this Govt, yours has added loans to go beyond what is reasonable. 41% was acceptable but the additional 59 has taken it beyond what is reasonable so please deal with it and stop the unnecessary nois ...

• danny 8 years ago

hmm...indeed a president who is running a country like Ghana who is full of natural resources is really truely incompetent and let me say useless....how can you borrow money to loan...what sense is in that....this amazing and ...

• ajeyi 8 years ago

ghanaians are suffering God help us

• Willie 8 years ago

AN INCOMPITENT president

• Flavia 8 years ago

work hard and stop the blames Mr. president. we tried of your BLA bla bla of late.

• LiarKenedy 8 years ago

All former presidents combined debt is 50% and your 7 years alone is 50%. This is admission of reckless borrowing. Why have you left out monies borrowed internally? How much did they borrow and how much have you borrowed?

• Paul 8 years ago

Under NPP our debts through HIPIC were written off. So if after that NPP CONTRIBUTED 41% after our debts had been written off imagine what would have happened if our debts had remained. Your analysis should be against that ba ...

• Lord frenzy 8 years ago

What have you done with the 50% in 6 to 7 years. Thanks things are not as well as it used to be with 50% borrowing plus internal revrnue. Please work harder. Add value and leave a good name.

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

Did npp put up a single school or university? How many new hospitals were built by npp? Yet 41% debt. Even the NHIS was strongly opposed by senseless npp MP between 1997-1999 in parliament. U oppose every good thing. Ghanaian ...

• Paul 8 years ago

I see why NPP is in such a mess. They gullibly feed on what they are told by their leaders; this is called HERD MENTALITY. Here is the president giving us the facts and break down of our total debt.He says NPP is responsible ...

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 8 years ago

Who said Ghana owes $14 billion? Ghana owes $47 billion. Check with IMF and the World Bank. Akoromfuo! INCOMPETENT Nation wreckers

• Mankind 8 years ago

Mahama has said that "Ghanaians have short memories" This is specially true for NDC members. These fools believe that Ghana's debt is $14 Billion instead of $94 Billion!! Oh my God! what an ignorant people who believe in the ...

• Omanba 8 years ago

Mr president don't dust into our eye, we know Ghana went to hipic due to our debts. After that Ghana'$ total debt president Koffour Levy was 9.5 billion so telling us that constitute 41 percent is either you don't know your m ...

• SD 8 years ago

please, let the Finance Minister come and break these figures down further for Ghanains. Those debts starting from 2001 should be broken down year-by-year and what each loan was used for for us see the truth and let the dirty ...

• danny 8 years ago

you are very stupid fool to tell as that!!!!

• prince 8 years ago

Mahama will rule for only one term because of the poor performance,he has move Ghana back to 99 percent.

• KWAKU ANANSE 8 years ago

THE DEVIL HAS TAKEN OVER YOUR SOUL AND YOU ARE IN HELL AND REPENT AND ALLOW JESUS INTO YOUR LIFE.

• Victor Asiedu-Young 8 years ago

Hahahaaa! Another bogus statement by John Mahama's incompetent NDC govt.

• Hazor 8 years ago

President John Dramani Mahama is very despite to hook on to power and has resort to lie and propaganda to humiliate and disgrace himself.What a damn president

• Hugo 8 years ago

Why are some people feverishly lying to Ghanaians to remain in power. This a highly failed and desperate President.

• nana, ga usa 8 years ago

Mahama, may you stop talking like a fool and tell Ghanaians why you should be given another chance to ruin Ghana for four more years with your corrupt administration. Have you solved the dumsor issue? nonsense.

• apuuuu 8 years ago

Something is not right with this incompetent dead goat dumsor President he needs to keep his mouth shut he is making himself looks like jerk so there's no body in ndc party to tell him to shut it off ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

This is because Mahama knows the remaining 42% can not be accounted for. Fiafitor. And all of a sudden he is talking like a psychopath.

• kwTgia eks 8 years ago

Bawumia you are not making sense. You haven't factored in repayments due to the type of loans taken. this is cheap politics

• atta yaw 8 years ago

Ah.! This man paaa.... We voted for you to come and solve problems not to play blame games..

• tsoo 8 years ago

And u caused the 59%. You are a really a dead goat.

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 8 years ago

How clueless can you be. Instead of taking the over GHC95B Ghana owes he decides to dispense with the domestic element of the debt and focuses on the external
    His only internt is to muddy the waterrds! Inferior NDC tactics. ...

Is there any difference between Mahama and his lingua Power Minister,Kwabena Donkor. Both of them

..are liars.No wonder we find ourselves where we are.President Liar! Shame on you.

• Akora Sark 8 years ago

Please Mr John Mahama give us the full details of all the Foreign and Local signed by various Governments.
    Don't just talk figures. Just proof your case with dates and the responsible Government.

• Francis, USA 8 years ago

I don't think this guy called prince akwasi addae n prez mugabe have brain at all. If u hv such blame why don't u blame the previous leaders. Blame k4our n akuffo addo nonsense.

• Fiifi 8 years ago

You're here spewing your nonsense again... You don't learn anything do you? I'm actually disappointed I wasted time replying to your ignorance. But even more worse is your illusion of knowledge. Your Akan tribalism and religi ...

• Andrewwhitehead 8 years ago

Ok.mr mahama, who caused the other 60%?

• Nyiary 8 years ago

pathological liar

• NDC supporter 8 years ago

ofui president......wo y3 ofunche..........odwan funu.......

• Ishaaku Muktar 8 years ago

John Mahama is a liar. NDC inherited 9bn from the kufour administration,and now the total debt is around 95bn.
    How did john Mahama arrive at his dubious calCulation
    that 42% of our current debt was incurred by Kufour adm ...