You are here: HomeNews2015 11 06Article 392314

Election 2016: IMF pegs Ghana’s fiscal deficit at 5.3%

Read Comments Comments (58)

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

I weep for Ghana.The constitutional clause that makes a vice to become the automatic president on the death of the incumbent must be amended forthwith.....the chief justice must take over until there is an election

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Bawumiah should listen to proper economists on the economy of Ghana. NPP should hang itself for all the lies.

BAWUMIA with his Kejetia economics!

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

EC BOSS IS A NIGERIAN. MAHAMA HAD FREE EDUCATION.

• AccraMan 8 years ago

CLOWN AKUFO-ADDO SAYS HE WOULD REVIEW THIS 3-YEAR IMF PROGRAMME!!!!!! A PROGRAMME THAT HAS AGREED MACRO-ECONOMIC TARGETS THAT WOULD BE CONSIDERED POSITIVE BY ANY MACRO-ECONOMIC POLICY MAKER OR MANAGER IN THE UNIVERSE. WHAT IS ...

• Kaku 8 years ago

Old man, you are a fool, she is my cousin and we are Nzemas from Axim, Lower Town

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

not surprised Nkrumah betrayed all his Akan allies , threw the country into a chaos of never ending debt ,and the list is endless. This proves she is there only to betray the vote of the majority , may God punish her in the m ...

• Kwame Joe 8 years ago

And you call this politics? NPP has lost it.

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

No wonder there's corruption and deception everywhere in Ghana, whenever the NDC govt is in power. Going for an IMF bailout isn't any good achievement, and for the institution to talk about 5.3 fiscal deficit isn't any hefty ...

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Stupid Victor, stop your fraud and armed robbery. Haven't you seen how every criminal caught by the police is an NPP supporter?

If not criminals, why would you follow a party led by a very violent person who is always gene ...

• Humanity 8 years ago

You are Indeed an APONKYE...your grasp of the prevailing economy and what it means by going to the IMF is clear from your writing.
    MY HEART WEEPS FOR AFRICA, WITH CITIZENS LIKE YOU-BRAIN DEAD

• Kofi Marfo 8 years ago

Listen to Ambassador - Bloodsucking Institutions

• Nana 8 years ago

Heartless

• Love Gh 8 years ago

Consistent borrowing without debt settlement is proper economics in Ghana. hahahahahahahahahahahaha Ghana in trouble under a clueless government

• ADANKO 8 years ago

Oh////// Seth, you are smiling. Are you happy of your debt? You don't know what you are doing. Foolish seth and NDC,you are happy. Cant you do things on your own? you have all the resources but because of stupidity you can ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

"In the second ndc administration which will surely come (thanks to rigging) load shedding will be a thing of the past"......from a lying buffoon !

• kk 8 years ago

Nana Ado hv said I'm afraid for GH ,Eiii Eka nie hmmmmmmmm

• Tina Uk 8 years ago

JDM and Seth Tekper thumbs up. NDC for 2016

• Kofi Marfo 8 years ago

Bloodsucking Institutions!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4DMOWj8Pn8

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

What a shame, you sit in your country and let someone who sit in his or her office in foggy bottom, DC. command you how to run your country and your government. I can imagine how this IMF guys are laughing at ndc government ...

• Konogo kaya 8 years ago

Thank u for ur comment. Remember what Akuffo Addo to Europe and US to campaign for the change of the voters register. Is he also commanding them to come change the voters register while he is in own country?

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

befitting response.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Do you think I am into your ndc, Npp party politics. I tell it the way it is. Is about time we stop that stupid party politics which has led us to where we are today. Democracy is about exchanging ideas and debating about iss ...

• AccraMan 8 years ago

NANA ADDO AND NPP WOULD DO WORSE FOR GHANA BORROWING FROM THE FOLKS AT FOGGY BOTTOM. DO YOU PEOPLE NOT CLAIM ERRONEOUSLY THAT NPP PARTY IS THE DARLING OF THE WEST, IMF, ETC.

• landiz 8 years ago

Mana Addo touring Europe for voter register change was to prevent electoral war. Be wise my brother.

• Douglas. Bristol-UK`° 8 years ago

So so loans nkoa!

• KG 8 years ago

What a nice comment! You want equity, come with clean hands.

• Samansaman 8 years ago

Look at those Foolish Leaders smillin Over their DEBTS,U FOOLISHMEN-IS Prevention NOT better than CURE? What a clear Indication that the BLACKMAN is STILL YET INCAPABLE OF HANDLING HIS OWN ECONOMY WITH ALL THE RESOURCES AT HI ...

• Kofi Marfo 8 years ago

You people should listen to UK Ambassador on youtube. Bloodsucking Institutions
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4DMOWj8Pn8

• asem 8 years ago

shame to Ghana, unless someone slaps us before we go to toilet... Ghana s indeed sold.

• Sea blue 8 years ago

IF Prez KUFFUOR brought GHANA from J.Js HIPC-NDC to the MIDDLE CLASS status,then THAT DEAD GOAT MAHAMA must get LOST.

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

NDC have always been using dirty tricks to confuse Ghanaians. I wonder how the IMF would praise Ghana for asking for a bailout then turn around to say: "Oh, everything is fine with Ghana" as if going for such loans to service ...

• Kojo Badu. 8 years ago

OH GHANA PAA NE!!! I THANK GOD THAT GHANA IS STILL ALIVE, IMF MUST STOP GIVEING SAMETHING TO NDC, ONEDAY IT WILL GOING TO GIVE GHANAIANS PROBLEMS.

• Alhassan 8 years ago

For all these years this brainless Tekper had no financial plans and run a middle income country to HIPC. Small boys from IMF had to come a design a plan for the idiotic minister. Now he is happy instead odf being ashamed of ...

• Kwaku Ananse 8 years ago

Another Npp doomsday prophet. We were all in this country when your god Kufuor too Ghana HIPIC. Why don't you talk about that? You hate Ghana so much much you will demonize Ghana any chance you get. Shame on all you Npp all- ...

• Atoapoma Abransamadu 8 years ago

Your NDC government under Rawlings rendered us bankrupt at 2000. Kuffour had no option but to take us to HIPIC! So it was your party NDC under Rawlings that lead us to Ghana being declared HIPIC nation. Your Mahama is doing t ...

• Celine 8 years ago

NDC is just a collection of brainless irresponsible idiots who out of their low IQ are also thieves. Nobody in NDC knows how to plan. Your days are numbered idiooooottts

Boo hooo hooo. moo moooo adjei, bad news ooooh! Ei, what will happen to all die be die. Soon dumsor will end and we will be finished. If we can't find bad news, we will fabricate it. Mooo mooo hooo eeeii. We pray for bad n ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You sound like a little kid. Wishful thinking, soon dumsor will end, when? Moron.

• JDM 8 years ago

naysayers will die stupid

• Kofi Bediako 8 years ago

Why should IMF always tell the ndc what to do.This is stupidity. If you continue doing the same thing that give you problems that is foolishness.You distribute V8 cars to chiefs at the cost of 60 thousand dollars each,yet yo ...

• Abrantie 8 years ago

Good to know we are on the right path to attending stability and growth.

• Evil people.. 8 years ago

See fool. Original mugu from the village I guess.. What right path you referring to?? Gyimifuo!!! Open ur eyes and get some brain..

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

hahahaha!!!!!!!
    Kwasia ba, that's why u'll always be in opposition

• TEE PEE 8 years ago

NOT UNTIL WE STOP THIS PERIODIC VALIDATIONS FROM OUR PUPPET MASTERS, THE IMF, WE'LL STILL CONTINUE TO WAALOW IN MISERY AND POVERTY.
    WE HAVE BECOME OUR OWN WORSE ENEMIES BECAUSE OF POLITICAL BLINDNESS, STUPIDITY, WANTON GREE ...

Give us a break!! Even if Ghana becomes a paradise you will complain. Another Npp doomsday prophet and nation wrecker.

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

This report doesn't cover the abysmal state of our economy which has resulted in massive unemployment of the youth, escalating prices of goods and services, massive layoff of workers, collapse of the healthcare delivery syste ...

• Odoi 8 years ago

Abrantie, did you understand what you read or said? I think Ghanians will clap if a Chinese shout at us in his native language

• Akonta besi fom 8 years ago

Kwesi Botchway ran the economy down with Rawlings,Kofi Wampah is a confused man and Seth Terkper simply does not understand basic supply and demand issues.Ghana has fallen apart indeed.

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

But they are better than osafo marfo and shit economist bawamia who confused Ghanaians with the New Cedi that has caused Ghanaians so much. Aboa, open your eyes and think like a human being

• Ali [Insight to the bone] 8 years ago

We [NDC] will have to mortgage off your mum's pussy to the brothels in the Hague and Abidjan to pay off the debt. After all, you Akan [NPP] are professional prostitutes. That is one of our products. [prostitution by Akan]

• Yahaya Mumin 8 years ago

Read between the lines:

"the planned fiscal adjustment under the program will be strengthened in 2016".

The targets achieved so far involves refusing to pay government workers, or deliberating refusing to pay them for y ...

• Bright Soul 8 years ago

"The current Voters Register has been deliberately stained to an extent that no amount of detergent can clean it.Lets buy a new one to save Ghana's image!"

• dan 8 years ago

good one there,let us praise them for the good works. the negativity is too much. tekper keep it up

• ASAMMOR-DUAH 8 years ago

NDC,NPP gov't must be voted out we need change of govt but my question is which party in gh is serious? hmmmmmm God save ghs future

• Nab 8 years ago

Can IMF be trusted?

• Dr Robert K Glah 8 years ago

Trust IMF to stabilise Ghana economy but not to build African solidarity for sustainable industrial Revolution.

That Revolution requires positive self determination based on people-centered development Revolution and not I ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

This is no news. IMF even praised the Abacha Regime for performing economic wonders until the rogue general was poisoned by prostitutes and there was a regime change before Nigerians realised `the general and his family membe ...

• atta 8 years ago

Are they telling us the truth? I do not believe these things anymore. Ghana has been dealing with IMF since the 80s.