You are here: HomeNews2015 10 25Article 389747

House of Chiefs 'irrelevant' - Lepowura

Read Comments Comments (40)

• KOFI - USA 8 years ago

He wants chiefs in Ghana to be paid? He is not serious and out of his mind. What work do the chiefs perform to deserve to be paid. How much taxes do they pay on the land, trees, minerals and other things they sell. They are ...

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

He stated the reasons why house of Chiefs is irrelevant. He singled out contributions of Chiefs towards fight against colonial masters and so must contribute meaningfully towards national development. That's why he stated tha ...

• Lin Biao Wng Yin 8 years ago

Managerial talent and a highly trained professional class are mandatory in national development. The chiefs are museum relics. Without them the state would be infinitely better off. China with no chiefs possess the second la ...

• Osbon 8 years ago

The Lepowura is not asking for the chiefs to be paid. All gazetted Paramount Chiefs in Ghana already received monthly allowance's from the Government. regardless of who is in power. But is very low, that is what the Lepowura ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

I agree, Lepowura is out of his mind.

Tell the guy to get a job and forget about being a chief in Ghana.

• Oti Boateng 8 years ago

This Jawula man is indeed sick. He was in public office,and also a chief when seen on NPP campaingn platform. What a hypocricy.Today you are hungry because of noko fio from politicians....die peacefully in opposition with hun ...

• Osbon 8 years ago

why do we have to insult any body for given his or her opinion. is a free country if you don't agree with him just say so without insulting the person let alone a chief. If you insult a Chief you insult the entire people who ...

• KIM 8 years ago

You this so called Kofi I don't think you are a Ghanaian else you would understand what Lepowura is saying. I wish I have the authority to deport all Togolese from Ghana except those from the northern Togo.

Say you want Ewes out of Ghana. Well, that's gonna stay in ur dreams!!! But as it were, since you Akans have problem with virtually every tribe in Ghana, why don't you secede from Ghana, form your own country n make your god ...

• KKW 8 years ago

Please abolish chietancy

• TRUTH 8 years ago

This man is becoming an irritant. How can you compare the chieftaincy institution in Nigeria and Senegal to Ghana? In Ghana where chieftaincy is largely hereditary who is going to pay them?

• why 8 years ago

he should go take a shower and leave Ghana in peace. nonsense.

• A.B.Y 8 years ago

FUCK YOUR MOTHER"WHY". YOUR MOTHER PUSSY/VAGINA IS FALSELY GIVEN TO YOUR IRRESPONSIBLE FATHER. ISLAM AND CHRISTIANITY ARE BEST RELIGION TO FOLLOW AND PRACTICE.

• why 8 years ago

hahaha, what do I care about a low life like you.Your mother is who you are talking about, that's why I'm laughing at you. No doubt your mother gave birth to a BASTARD like you because you had no dad to raise you up. Tell you ...

• why 8 years ago

hahaha, im not bothered by a low life like you. I mean seriously, hahhahahaa, a looser raging over nothing. Its your Mother you are talking about.. Your mother obviously gave birth to a BASTARD like you because your dad was ...

• whyy 8 years ago

hahaha, im not bothered by a low life like you. I mean seriously, hahhahahaa, a looser raging over nothing. Its your Mother you are talking about.. Your mother obviously gave birth to a BASTARD like you, because your dad was ...

• kwasi 8 years ago

Rubbish paa nie

• 1wY 8 years ago

hahaha, im not bothered by a low life like you. I mean seriously, hahhahahaa, a looser raging over nothing. Its your Mother you are talking about.. Your mother obviously gave birth to a BASTARD like you, because your dad was ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

This man is becoming an irritant. How can you compare the chieftaincy institution in Nigeria and Senegal to Ghana? In Ghana where chieftaincy is largely hereditary who is going to pay them?

• TRUTH 8 years ago

• kwasi 8 years ago

Rubbish paa nie

• kwasi 8 years ago

Rubbish paa nie

• kwasi 8 years ago

Rubbish paa nie

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

I wrote years ago that the houses of chiefs have become moribund and must be abolished.

Will re-present part of the article.

Andy-K

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

Who must resource chieftaincy in Ghana?

Who in Ghana does not know that traditional rulers are as crooked as our politicians; no difference.

This Lepowura must move to a country of his choice where chiefs are properly r ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Chiefs in the Gold Coast did not fight colonialism for an independent Ghana. In fact some Chiefs were collaborators & participated in decision-making structures under British colonial rule. After fighting colonialism & leadin ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Yaw you are absolutely right.Chiefs were even the vehicles[Indirect Rule] through which the British got a strong foothold in Ghana.The British gave them more judicial and administrative powers which they used to oppress their ...

• Ama Densi 8 years ago

Infact, they did not help us. One major cause of corruption, which undermines our socio-economic development, stems up from that chieftaincy thing and its relationship with the activities of the colonialists in Ghana. The co ...

• Brother 8 years ago

Tell .the chiefs to stop involving themselves in polities to gain respect instead

• Y B 8 years ago

Health solution.
    Get approved quality health product and prevent yourself from the following disease and sickness.
    Are you suffering from Cancer? cancer of any kind, HIV Aids, ulcer, heart and liver disease, kidney problem, ...

• Togbe 8 years ago

GH plz lets not dignify senseless & foolish comments. Lets ignore them

• Cut the Crap ! 8 years ago

Why must chiefs be paid ?
    And by whom ?

Chieftaincy only serves to perpetuate the twin plagues of poverty and ignorance , not to mention the atavistic tribalism that prevails in the country.

Ghana must find away of ri ...

• Patriot 8 years ago

Who would be the employer of chiefs? Government I suppose. Would that then not make chiefs even dance to the tune of the employer? Chiefs serve their (tribal) subjects. The State should not pay chiefs. They can abdicate if th ...

• Christie 8 years ago

There is no single role for a chief in democracy. You have surrendered your roles as soon as democracy evolved. Looking at the national power structure, the president (unfortunately useless currently), the DCE and the assembl ...

• Kakaminamor 8 years ago

Which land are you custodians! You have sold all the lands and we should pay you on top of that? Abi, all the corruption at the sports ministry is not enough? Please come again!!!

• why 8 years ago

• HAWA YAKUBU-DAGARA PRIDE 8 years ago

How did the chiefs play a major on fighting colonialism when they were instituted by the colonials?. Chiefdom was created by the Europeans for the administrative purpose. The land lords were there when the chiefs came. If the ...

• Essum 8 years ago

The chiefs who are singing the praises of Mahama only after money. They are going to pay dearly for their misdemeanour. How would any person in their right senses wish for another term for Mahama and the ndc? I'm sorry for th ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

Is the house of chiefs supposed to be any different from other Ghanaian institutions? Houses of chiefs in Ghana are staffed by chiefs who are political animals just like members of the Christian Council and members of the cle ...