You are here: HomeNews2015 10 22Article 389189

I am not the first president to borrow - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (110)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: MAHMOUD--- Mr. Mahama is exactly one of the visionless African leaders that have always been accused of misplacing their priorities. Does the NDC government think, despite the massive corruption, they can borrow reckl ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-AFFORDABLE...
    They are trying to garther whatever money they can to try buying votes and more so try rigging. Ghanaians are very awake and will not be swayed any longer by propaganda. No wonder you've abolished that ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

is this guy thinking straight?

• Koj 8 years ago

I was talking with a friend last night and he said to me Koj, as for Ghana we the citizens have done it for ourselves in all areas, the government has done nothing for Ghanaians since independence. I thought to myself, this i ...

• Apraku 8 years ago

Your borrowing has been unprecedented,More worrying is that as you started borrowing they warned you but you deafening Mahama but you didn't listen. l quite remember Osei Akoto warning you but you answered that GHANA HAS ENOU ...

• Over 60% NDC Thieves, JJ 8 years ago

the most highly corrupt president ever in Ghana is Dramani Mahama; highly incompetent as well

• Straight Shooter 8 years ago

Every President borrowed but not the way you Kwaa Mahama do.

• Kofi Manumeho Pii 8 years ago

Every president borrow but you are the worst borrower and useless indeed

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Mr. Mahama and his NDC tricksters are not interested in priorities that would ease the suffering of Ghanaians. They are only interested in prestigious signature projects for the enjoyment of few ruling elites , regardless of ...

• theAntidote 8 years ago

...so why can't I do the same? Kuffour awarded gold medals. I'll award diamond medals.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 8 years ago

Wei tumi ye nipa a yede yenho to noso? Kwasea mu pani saa no!

• Gyeeda, Subah, Sada, Woyome 8 years ago

If you can't get money to pay for the gas we all use, how come you have 5 million Ghana cedis to bribe all the ghosts from Togo to come and vote for you?
    Why are you giving five million to all those you want to vote NDC in ...

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

It is a shame! A 21st century Ghanaian president can never say these shameful words, unless he is as primitive as a Bole Goat. Ghana needs men of caliber to steer the nation not useless heedy rush Bushmen, who comes for pers ...

• Queen 8 years ago

SIMPLY PATHETIC

• Nana Kwaku 8 years ago

Did John Mahama really study communication or he was forced to study it bcos his History Degree from Legon was not fetching him enough money.He comes from a very poor background but very arrogant.

• Lord Lucan 8 years ago

Who is responsible for this error?

Did the President actually say 'portable' - or is a mistake by an uneducated journalist?

Someone needs a dictionary!

PRTABLE WATER IS-----WATER THAT IS SAFE TO DRINK. THE PRESIDENT DID NOT MAKE ANY MISTAKE HERE.

PORTABLE WATER-------IS WATER THAT IS SAFE TO DRINK.

• First Lady 8 years ago

The word is POTABLE, not PORTABLE.

• Lord Lucan 8 years ago

At last!

• Shergar 8 years ago

Who is Lord Duncan?

Maybe you should be drinking more POTABLE water!

• esem pii 8 years ago

So what happen to all this borrowing just to enrich yourself and your govt more unless your brother. Ghanaians I urge you not to be fools this time again.

These fools make it sound as if u are the first.
    Even Kufour took us to Hipic?
    Akufo addo with no vision
    And poor oh poor clueless bawumia being misled.
    Not mentioning disgraced lawyer of Ghana, Addison
    What a track rec ...

• First Lady 8 years ago

You ignoramus, HIPC is the state of being HIGHLY INDEBTED and POOR. One cannot attain that state within a couple of months of taking over an administration. Get it into your thick head that what Kuffour did, was DECLARE the s ...

• Waaluk 8 years ago

Thanks First Lady. Sometimes it is quite depressing that people like Kwame won't keep quiet over issues they hardly have any knowledge or understanding in.

Mahama is deceiving people that he has borrowed money for verifi ...

• SAPS 8 years ago

Kwame infact you are the one fool in the country now.I never knew we still have animal like you in the country.Kwasea kwa.aboafunu.You are just like that incorrigible mahama.Learn to think like a normal humanbeing created by ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

SAPS I am surprised that you never knew Kwame and his like are living in this country.In fact they're the majority if not why should we be governed by this clueless NDC party?
    The danger is we have a difficult task convinci ...

• Ajax 8 years ago

Yes you are not the first president to borrow but please you have to borrow wisely and don't blow the borrowed money with your cronies.

• Kpotowogbo 8 years ago

"He disclosed that monies borrowed were channeled into infrastructural development including roads, hospitals, schools, portable water and electricity for the citizenry"
    uNDER THIS IDIOT, MONIES BORROED WERE GIVEN TO WOYOME, ...

• Bumbebo 8 years ago

Your problem is what you use the borrowed money for, or you don't see that you are Mr Do Little and Talk More?

• KWEKU SOLO 8 years ago

Prez John Mahama should borrowing as and when he feels like doing so. He is under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit.

• baba 8 years ago

What are you talking about. You have borrowed more than any government in GHANA but show me what you uesd it for. I promise you you will not live to enjoy it in dubai. Keep stealing and pretend.we are watching

• PRINCO 8 years ago

True you are not the first President to borrow---question is how effect have you put the borrowing to?
    For a country classify as a middle income when you came to power to go HIPC under your leadership definitely speaks volum ...

• British Man 8 years ago

This president talk nonsense

• Golden Boy 8 years ago

You borrow to complete your hotel in Dubai, you borrow yet we are in a serious crisis what sense does it make, Npp didn't borrow that much but we were feeling and seeing the impact, talking of School feeding, capitation grant ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• AO JABS 8 years ago

ARE YOU BORROWING THESE MONIES FOR YOUR CHILDREN AND GRAND CHILDREN TO COME AND PAY? BORROW BUT LET US SEE WHAT EXACTLY IT IS USED FOR, THE INFRUSTRACTURE YOU TALK OF CAN NOT BE COMPARED WITH THE LOANS THAT YOU HAVE CONTRACTE ...

• Manchester 8 years ago

We all know you are not the first president to borrow but you are the first president to have oil. All we are saying is that, you are borrowing too much.

• Ama 8 years ago

Mahama always sounds so juvenile. What a dumb thing to say!

• Kojo P 8 years ago

This president is so naive that all that he says now appears to be comedy. Of course he is not the first president to borrow but he is the first to have borrowed so much money yet the country is broke. There is no money to pa ...

• KATAKYIE OF ST LUKE HOUSE 8 years ago

STUPID TALK.

• dutchman 8 years ago

Borrow chop president thieves president

• worried man 8 years ago

Yes you're not as stated above but the first to used what you have received for your own benefits and purposes. From CPP.TO NPP The amount received was 9billoin .as to your 3years in office which you and your cabinet has cons ...

• Niii 8 years ago

But you are the first president who borrow more

• adanko 8 years ago

But you hve borrowed unreasonably and plunged our economy into a mess which is hurting all of us

• Amega 8 years ago

But you are the first to borrow very recklessly.

• Concern citizEn... 8 years ago

N u are happy with this,shame on yu... U rlly depicts a very bad n corrup leader n 4eva b a worse leader.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

How did Ghana wind up with this guy? he worst than Kuffour and believe me, Kuffour was terrible.

• Kofi Adams Bolga 8 years ago

Dear president despair being a supporter of NDC the truth is you are sinking the country and the next generation will suffer period.

• Senior Citizen Braunschweig Germany. 8 years ago

Mr President,we know that every one eats but when one eats too much he is called a glutinous person and this you must know that this glutiny will ditch Ghana into a deep hole of debts brought about by the same NDC,before Kuff ...

• Earl Jones 8 years ago

Indeed.
    But you are the first to borrow a lot of money. Do you realised you are condemning several generations of Ghanaians to perpetual debt?
    You are borrowing in the name of Ghanaians who are not yet born.

• KOFI 8 years ago

MR PRESIDENT, YOU MAY NOT BE TE FIRST TO BORROW BUT THE MOST RECKLESS, INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT PRESIDENT WE HAVE EVER HAD.

• ISAAC NPP 8 years ago

MR PRSEDENT please make sure that you dropped down ,why dumsor is still in Ghana. poor government, find another job Mr thief mahama

• KWAKU VI 8 years ago

Mr. PRESIDENT OF LIES, please specify the so-capped infrastructure projets and agree to ave them actually inspected and evaluated by independent external valuers. You are too much of a liar and a thief. I wonder if you happen ...

• OH YES 8 years ago

Yes you are not the first person to borrow and would also not be the last to borrow, but the s ale and magnitude of the thievery of the borrowed funds as opposed to getting the economy growing is what is sending you home quic ...

• ogyam 8 years ago

Mr. President your answer that you are not the first president to borrow is below expectation. If you did not get the question well then come again because your government appears to have borrowed too much and Ghanaians do no ...

• H. G 8 years ago

You are a useless fooooool. Idiotic animal.

• Isaac London 8 years ago

Gyimii gyimii. You don't understand what you're doing .your own type of borrowing is reckless .no sense. Learn to borrow wisely. Mr Visionless .

• Alfred Ward 8 years ago

President John mahamah i guess he need to be ashamed for saying this u are the president and for that matter a leader pls ur excellency i think its been a hard time u go back to ur shs social note and leard leardership styles ...

• great 8 years ago

Stop comparing yourself to others and do better for the nation Mr. Mahama.

• great 8 years ago

Stop comparing yourself to others and do better for the nation.

• PENNYWISE 8 years ago

SO WHAT? NEVER KNEW THIS MAN COULD BE SO STUPID AND IRRESPONSIBLE

• Sammy Yao Adadivor 8 years ago

Listen to nkwasia sem that he's talking.previous government borrowed make an incredible used and you borrow and share with your brother,others!!

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Oh, sorry, this is John Mahama.

• HG 8 years ago

You are an idiotic animal without tail. Stupid norther whose duty is to carry shit.

• Konica dagarti 8 years ago

Useless talks

• PATRIOTIC PATRIOT 8 years ago

But you are the first president to be wasting, misusing and mismanaging borrowed money

• Omanba Kwame 8 years ago

You went to Turkey twice when our $800million worth of gold were seized in this country.
    Nothing has since been said about this seizure.
    You must truthfully tell us where and what happened to our gold,mahama???!!!!!

• Man Tamale 8 years ago

Yours is too much and yet the country is moving backwards

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A wealthy man walks into a bank New York City and asks for the loan officer. He says he's going to Europe on business for two weeks and needs to borrow $5000. The bank officer says the bank will need some kind of security for ...

• Maame Abena 8 years ago

The President Mahama is indeed not the first and will not be the last President of Ghana to borrow. What the president fail to admit is the huge amount he and the NDC have borrowed. For just seven years Mahama and the NDC hav ...

• Rev Edwin 8 years ago

What is Nana boro saying ?

• Obrefo 8 years ago

Yes I'll grant you that. But the magnitude and the wreck less nature of your borrowing is unprecedented. Ghana can't survive your BORROW, CREATE, LOOT, STEAL and SHARE economic policy. You're sinking this nation into debts be ...

• Obrefoba 8 years ago

Think twice because you can't borrow yourself out of incompetence, mismanagement, corruption, stealing, create loot and share. It has never happened and it would not happened.

• Barima owusu akyem, thmm mmenten agye 8 years ago

It is true that You are not the first president to borrow money, but in your case the borrowed money is not use for development but share among yourselves.

• Ron 8 years ago

but is too much,mr president.we need to borrow and invest for income.Like a man who borrows for building his personal house.there will not be any income from the loan.

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

John Mahama is certainly clueless about the kind of impact his reckless borrowing has on Ghana's long-term survival. He has crippled growth and job opportunities for graduate students who just entered the job market after gra ...

• Woyome naayale 8 years ago

Oh nonsense, a ceiling my foot. They are not going to give you any more. I told you and im going to say it again, your children and family will live with us in this mess you have created forever. The 7 dirtiest country on ea ...

• kwadwo brenya 8 years ago

You and your appointees have nothing to show Ghanaians for your borrowing apart from the albatross of debt which we have on our hands.
    You have only succeeded in making you and your bootlickers fabulously rich at the expense ...

• Chiefi amankwa 8 years ago

Get off from the chair ..we need leaders that will create policies and bring fresh ideas to move away from borrowing ...other african countries are doing ..u are just dumb ..wasting our time so called illegal president

• KB 8 years ago

Clear off our backs.

• Method Man 8 years ago

Nonsense! Nobody says you should not borrow. We say borrow responsibly. Use your head and stop the looting and mismanagement of our resources.

• Jonathan 8 years ago

But its too much and don't see what the money is used for. Use it responsibly.

• TEE 8 years ago

WHY BCOS HE IS NTANI PEPENI IDIOT FOOL

• TEE 8 years ago

MAHAMA YOU ARE A SIMPLE USELESS CLUELESS INCOMPETENT BIG THIEF PERIOD

• Obiri Yeboah. Lond 8 years ago

Is this good for nothing president Mahama not ashamed to say he is not the only president who has borrowed money,we are not saying don't borrow but not to borrow and share with your family friends and party members.That i ...

• BEN 8 years ago

YOU MUST BE SHAME OF YOUR SELF MR. PRESIDENT. THIS SHOWS YOUR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE TO RUN THIS NATION. PLS DONT WASTE TIME TO CONTEST AGAIN COS WE HAVE SEEN YOUR FAILURE.

• Nana Antwi 8 years ago

Mr. President what you are doing is unprecedented borrowing to the point of bankruptcy and then overseeing reckless spending and turning two blind eyes to corruption and impunity in every nook and cranny of government. Borrow ...

• Farmer 8 years ago

What a lame duck excuse...

Borrowing must have visible results and then the GDP ratio goes down automatically. In this country borrowed funds disappear without a trace.

• Georgee 8 years ago

But why should you borrow so much, knowing that Rome was not built in a day. You have put this country in big trouble. Where is the oil money?

• Kenneth 8 years ago

... .and you're not going to be the last to borrow.

• Kwawu Agbemenu 8 years ago

Nor the first under whom corruption is rampant! So it MUST continue, regardless?? Lord help us with this mentality.

• jagadu 8 years ago

I am through with this fool. You keep borrowing and what do have to show for. He should be prosecuted when he leaves office. He is an idiot who has no idea what the ordinary citizens are going through. We need revolution in G ...

• ras 8 years ago

Mr President, you have got I wrong.Ghana borrows, not you.

• JDM KILLED MILLS 4 POWER?? 8 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF,FOOLISH MAN,NONSES

• ALHAJI 8 years ago

THIEF MAHAMA IS SICK,NO BRAIN,DEAD GOAT,ATOPAHENE,WOMANIZER MAHAMA IS INSANE

• Ali Mahama 8 years ago

Mahama is not the first President to borrow so go on borrowing u beast. Which President has borrowed more than u

You are not the first president to borrow but you are the only stupid president who borrowed only to share the money with his cronies. Kwasea, w'agyimi paa. Ofui.

• humble 8 years ago

aboabiba can u account for it stupid president like mahama

• humble 8 years ago

am not sure this fool studied communication which skul, stupid talk, am now convinced that all ndc followers are tiboncoso, the head determines the tail

• PAA APPAH 8 years ago

STATUS QUO AFUOM PRESIDENT CAN HE SAY SOMETHING SENSIBLE FOR AT LEAST, ONCE

• Edem Lolonyo 8 years ago

More reckless than anybody in Ghana. Stupid bufoon

• xyz 8 years ago

You right but on your part you borrow without thinking.

Any president who borrowed did so wisely. At that time, we did not have oil but in your case, you are giving money to Woyome foolishly. You are paying fraudulent judgement debts to Isofoton, RLG, Gyeeda, Sada Suba etc. How st ...

• Barima owusu akyem, thmm mmenten agye 8 years ago

If the people don't see any development the borrowed money is used for, they have right to grumble since it is their money which Will be taxed to pay for loan and its big interest.

• PEACE 8 years ago

MR MAHAMA IA A FOOL A DEMON AND SHOULD BE HANGEDFOR KILIING GHANAIANS AND MR ATTA MILLS

• Pastor Josiah 8 years ago

Mr President, you don't write history by doing what all other persons have ever done. You can only write history by doing what nobody else have ever done. So be the first to do what no Ghanaian president ever did.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

What kind of president is this? It looks like John Mahama is a curse on Ghana.

• KB 8 years ago

Mahama don't u know dat Ghanaian are crying for help hmmmm,don't you.

• Sammydee 8 years ago

Why don't you strive to be the first to stop? So you will stand out as the best