You are here: HomeNews2015 10 17Article 388194

TUC rejects 400% tariff hikes

Read Comments Comments (48)

• KOFI 8 years ago

Then they should cut their big paychecks and gives the ordinary Ghanaian a break! Why is it that the common person always have to sacrifice for those that barely making it?!

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

LASY, PEOPLE COME TO THE UNITED STATES, CANADA, UNITED KINGDOM AND ALL DEVELOPED COUNTRIES SEE HOW MUCH UTILITY BILLS WE ARE FACING. LOOK PAY A RELISTICK, PRICES AND AVAILABILITY OF POWER WILL BE THERE 24/7. STOP THE POLITIC ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: NDC-----
    If presidency was just borrowing to build bridges, construct roads, and schools then any IMBECILE can become president, but Mahama and his government can't use their brains to transform the economy to create ...

• Boss 8 years ago

Some institutions are secretly and technically working against President Mahama and he will only get to know this when it is too late him. This is Ghana where even the Law of Gravity does not work.

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

STOP BEING STUPID!!! HOW MUCH PAY DO YOU GET THERE, YOU RUNNING SORE?

• ranger 8 years ago

400% TARIFFS INCREASES?
    DO GHANAIAN LEADERS HAVE CONSCIENCE?

• James 8 years ago

Idiot we will not come to the US UK or anywhere .What proportion of your salary do you use for utilities.After all your time in wherever you are you still think like an inept goat

• Nana kwesi 8 years ago

How much are you paid

• Isaac London 8 years ago

Kuraasini.Do u have brain at all? I think is better to compare the minimum wages in the UK US and Canada to the of Ghana.
    All your comments depict your level of intellegence.Kofi USA or whatever u call yourself.

• K the h 8 years ago

Fool, do not compare USA with Ghana. Only a fool will do this. Have you ever sought to compare salaries in both countries??idiot

• United Ghana 8 years ago

This has nothing to do with improvement, but, all to do with fattening up ECG & others for sale to foreigners. Anyway, your comparison to the US is most inappropriate & pointless.

• Nana Adjapong NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

Your written English tells me you cannot be in the USA. Simple words realistic and lazy are too difficult for you to write and you deceive yourself that you are in the US. Be faithful to yourself and you can be taught to writ ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 8 years ago

And what guarantee do you have that 99.95% or better reliability can be maintained as in the US, Canada, UK, etc?

• SAY MORE !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!! 8 years ago

When I say more, say more ! More ! More years for Mahama / NDC. Thank you.

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

What is d meaning of "those that barely making it"?

Paycheck reduction! Okay that makes sense!!
    We the shareholders should determine the salaries of the workers, especially the top Executives.
    However we cannot operate at a loss and at so unreliable a manner that homeowners ...

• Emma 8 years ago

How much of their output goes waste and what are they doing to correct that , this is the reason why the whites are always beating us,
    May be we must sell Ghana to them, we simply tired of all this mismanagement

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Author: LAST DON
    Date: 2015-10-16 14:51:24
    Comment to: MPs must stop intimidating Ghanaians - Dr. Amoako

How can you all glorify foolishness and punish justice. If you are a poultry farmer and saw a crow among your chi ...

• duked 8 years ago

STOP ABUSING THE SCRIPTURES AND USING IT FOR POLITICS.QUOTE THE SAME SCRIPTURES TO DEFEND THE WANTOM CORRUPTION OF THE LOOTING NDC BRIGADES YOU HYPOCRITE

• joe 8 years ago

Your time is up boy mahama. How can you be so wicked. You increased workers pay by 10 % @and you increased tariff by 400%. Where is our moses. God your children are suffering from this wicked Pharoah.

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

Joe, you are on point. All Ghanaian workers should also demand a corresponding increase in salaries/wages to be able to cope with the tariff increases.

• cha 8 years ago

haha what u vote for a bunch of failures this is the end results

• Duke 8 years ago

Ghanaians must understand that NDC government can not put the whole nation under this pressure, they cant not enjoy whiles we the masses suffer, everything aspect of the economy is going down, and
    They want to increase tarif ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

if you can't afford to pay essential commodity but you living in mansions,luxury cars then how do you as a zitizenry help to keep this utility company moving

Dessie,
    Do you own a home?
    Do you know the cost of a window or roofing?
    If those of us who own homes in places like East Legon can afford to buy generators worth $5-20,000, do you think if tariffs go from say 100 to 400 c ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

this atitutde of "we wont pay" that has crippled the utility companies till now

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

Nonsense. Where is the ability to pay when workers are losing their jobs, there is serious unemployment, companies are shrinking?
    Ghanaians must resist the tariff increases. We need efficiency in pur corporate entities and g ...

Do all workers own homes?
    The TUC objections don't make sense! Who told them they have a choice?
    Why don't we reduce the price of everything imported into Ghana, to a level workers can afford, then?
    Nonsense!
    Thi ...

• Barnes 8 years ago

How did you get the 400%. Do your math well and stop playing on peoples ignorance to try to agitate them.

• MANTSE 8 years ago

There is a LOT of MONEY waiting to be collected at the Ports. Govt must go after it instead of always seeking price increase on goods and services.

But in order to collect that money, Govt must put Ghana FIRST when it com ...

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 8 years ago

The TUC must reject the 400% tariff outright without a question.There is no need for bargain or arbitrtration.Ghanaian workers have made a lot of sacrifice and they are saying that-enough is enough.No more slave wage.Stand u ...

• (SAY MORE !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!! 8 years ago

When I say more , say more !!!!!! More ! More ! More ! More ! More years for Mahama / NDC

• MemyselfandI 8 years ago

Oh my mother Ghana, what is going on? Many problems, no ideas, no solutions, no improvements, no better lives, only sadness and sickness, and early deaths. What a time to be Ghanaian!

• Opana 8 years ago

Hey kofi you are crazy how much electricity bills you pay in USA even hear is cheaper than Ghana i live in Boston every month we pay $68.00 a month and we have so many electrical appliances in our apartment and is three bedro ...

• Kuspui 8 years ago

This is a political game to sabotage Mahama. But all effort will not change anything. Let them do it; we will all cry for more pay to be able to pay 400% increment. I think some managers are just there for nothing; no innovat ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

I guess minimum wage in Ghana can not buy a barrel of water. I wonder how these Mahama's Zongo families (average nine per family) are going to clean up.

• CASTRO 8 years ago

MOST ELECTRICITY IN GHANA IS STOLEN BY ALMOST EVERYONE. WHAT DO WE EXPECT. A FEW OF US ARE BEING REQUIRED TO SUPPORT THOSE NOT PAYING THEIR SHARE. THIS IS WHAT IS HAPPENING.IT WILL CONTINUE UNTIL SANITY RETURNS.

• Michael K. Tettevi 8 years ago

You mean a bucket of water should cost 50p - 60p and pure water should cost 40p a sachet ?

• KA 8 years ago

...as the TUC leader asserts,why do you say that,workers cannot pay? probably, as per their salaries? You may have a genuiene point there but my question is this; What percentage of Ghana's population work for the government ...

• Y B 8 years ago

Health solution.
    Get approved quality health product and prevent yourself from the following chronic disease and sickness.
    Are you suffering from Cancer? cancer of any kind, HIV Aids, ulcer, heart and liver disease, kidney ...

• kofi 8 years ago

CAN NDC GURUS CALL USELESS PRESIDENT IN ORDER. HE IS DESTROYING OUR GREAT PARTY. ALWAYS PUTTING BURDEN ON GHANAIANS WHY? THIS MAN CAN NEVER WIN ANY ELECTION IN GHANA AGAIN. PLS ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

• Obroni 8 years ago

Electricity and water prices are both according your own prices given going up about 110 to 120% where does TUC or this journalist get 400% from because even when you add them you only get 230%

• Nana pokua 8 years ago

Is the government going to increase our salary by 400%? PURC must be joking.

• Nana pokua 8 years ago

Kofi USA, i pity u. How much are u paid at the end of the month?. If u want to compare utility tarrif, then compare gh minimum wage n dat of USA. Compare their selfless leaders to dat our greed ones. How much does the governm ...

• ADWOA 8 years ago

NO PAIN, NO GAIN; NO TARIFF INCREASE, NO END TO DUMSOR

• ROCKET PROPELLED GRENADE LAUNCHER 8 years ago

Who should pay for the ineptitude that has caused depreciation of the cedi in high tariffs?
    The moment that high tariff nonsense takes effect, John Mahama should be prepared to step down on that very, very day. We can promis ...

• Concern citizEn... 8 years ago

Pls TUC disagree on d tarriff increase n save dx poor nation under d devilish n creat,loot n share regime of dangerious mahama

What Difference will tarriff raise mean?
    The funds all go into a general common fund and these companies still cannot deliver reliable electricity and water!
    The PURC should be abolished and a new one starywd! Useless org ...