You are here: HomeNews2015 10 16Article 388134

Judges didn’t sign up to be poor – High Court judge

Read Comments Comments (59)

• Create,loot and share 8 years ago

That is why you foolish judges accept goats to influence cases?

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

ARREST THE SUPREME COURT JUDGE JUSTICE ATUGUBA.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Agyimif3 awudifo3 judges in Ghana. Nipa mmoa!

• Kwadaso 8 years ago

LOOK AT WHAT THEY ARE SAYING AND DOING RIGHT UNDER THE EYES OF OUR PRESIDENT.THIS COULD NEVER HAD HAPPENED UNDER RAWLINGS OR KUFOUR'S WATCH.BEING A DEMOCRATIC LEADER DOESN'T MEAN YOU HAVE TO BE WEAK OR STUPID.WITH ALL THE AUT ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Mr judge,you are right to say you didn't sign up to be poor but being a judge is not a calling,being a pastor is not a calling,it is a choice,nobody forced you to be a judge,you chose to be a judge,the same as pastors.

• Omanhene (U$A) 8 years ago

Judge Kyei Baffuor, nobody forced any lawyer to be a judge. Taking a bribe to FREE criminals is STEALING SAFETY from society. Now, if we go by your faulty, condescending and uncalled for logic, then teachers, doctors, nurses, ...

• ...N 8 years ago

The difference between the judges and the other workers is that his appointed for life and the rest NOT. Why the would you expect to be rich from doing ta job that your daily bread is assured for life?
    If you want to be rich ...

• Garvey Marcus 8 years ago

Shame on him.... And this is a judge , what a waste of trust in the justice system

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

That statement right there opens up a window into those judges' mindset. The CJ has no choice but to come down hard on those caught in the web. No Mercy.

• GHANAIAN 8 years ago

As a Judge you are given a Government Bungalow, Police Guard, a Car with Driver, Preferential Treatment when you attend functions, Respect, and all the Acolade that comes with being a JUDGE; not to mention the Power to hand d ...

• Nana Fyn 8 years ago

Not only that, they retired on their salaries. How can a judge be poor. No judge is poor unless you're reckless in life or you want to be super rich. Greedy man.

• Panafric 8 years ago

This idiotic statement can only come from an asante man. Otwibini munchers.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Enough with Asante this, Ewe that, Ga that, is about time we stick to the issues at hand when it comes to the Judicial system because this is serious national security issues. Is about time you grow up.

• I & I 8 years ago

And you call yourself PanAfricanist?

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

Please address the issue and stop this tribal thing and insults. Learn to be civil and sensible please

• K.D 8 years ago

What has Asantes got to do with this.my bro grow up.Eg) me de??

• Akpandza 8 years ago

I believe Anas radar missed this idiot of a judge because certainly he is a judge who accepts bribe.

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

He should be put under the microscope.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Good one there.

• Awudu Nuhu 8 years ago

Agree, but also did not sign on to take bribes

• KWAKU 8 years ago

Who ever signed to be poor or rich, Kyei-Baffuor? In this life? Believe it or not, it is God. Priests in the Old Testament were not trained but born into the priesthood. But Pastors are trained! Know your Bible.
    You all must ...

• Kyei 8 years ago

Look at this cocain Judge. You have mouth to talk bcos your colleagues covered up for you in 2011 when cocain turned into baking powder in your court. You have no shame. You should be ashamed of yourself. You have not yet b ...

• Square 8 years ago

I believe people can respond to issues at stake in any way. That is part of free speech. But some responses coming from certain personalities who you think should 'think 3x' before commenting on their position leaves much t ...

• Johson 8 years ago

Anas was only able to cover a small number of Judges across the country. If he was to extend his undercover work, a lot more Judges would be caught taking all sorts of bribes. Assuming there were 2000 Judges in the country an ...

• Ghman 8 years ago

Hahaha! If Anas had covered 100% of judges and staff, there would be no one to determine their case as they will all be caught. That will mean a total collapse of our justice system. We would have fallen back on Britain to gi ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

"Seek yea first the Kingdom of God and its righteousness and all other things shall be added to you" I see the work of a judge to be above that of a priest, in the sense that the judgments of most priests and pastors are not ...

• GoodMan 8 years ago

You have reavealed that you signed to be rich at the expense of the poor and weak Ghanaians who can't pay bribe.

• Abiba 8 years ago

Ghanaian judges use their position to mass wealth which Rawlings stood against and killed innocent people for doing precisely this? Therefore they should have to face the firing squad too. They judge in favour of those who ha ...

• Bell nono 8 years ago

What have we done to merit such STUPID people flooding sites with equally nonsensical stupid words like this.

• WAHALA 8 years ago

Suddenly a new logic is been added to Ghanaian jargon. ' I did not take up my position to be poor'. Why has this logic become so popular among some professionals? The other day it was one spokesman of the Doctors who made tha ...

• BSR 8 years ago

When you consider conditions of Service of the judiciary, they can't be said to have signed to be poor in relative terms in the public service. Nobody can justify corruption in any way.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

This is a stupid statement from a judge. To be rich is not about putting the nation at risk, by accepting goat,yam,and other commodities to rule against innocent people to set the bad guys free. What a lowlife judges, isn't t ...

• kwasi kyei baffour,Atlanta,usa. 8 years ago

if the commission set up by the cj to look into the allegations made against the judges finds them guilty,then the law should deal with them.Going to the bench is not a calling.IF they wanted to be rich,they should have been ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

That is the rantings of a sore loser. By the way, who force you to be a judge and why do you accept goats as part of the judicial process?

• slimmart1... 8 years ago

What is this judge's point? Is he saying bribes are the answer to alleviate poverty? What would he do if he has to adjudicate on a bribery case? Let the parties go free if the recipient of the bribe claims immunity from punis ...

• chief 8 years ago

nosense

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Listen to idiocy at the highest pitch. I wonder some of these judges will justify sending someone else attempting to avoid poverty to prison. The decadence in Ghana is got to a point where judges can defend taking bribes of g ...

• Concern citizEn... 8 years ago

Listen to urself bastard.. U alwys talk frm ur stomach,continue to b taking huge bribe n b compromising cases... Ur tym wl kam

• pinanko boyz 8 years ago

depends on the motivation that takes you there??

And by that comment alone, whats his motive then?

• indianpowers black magic rituals 8 years ago

Indian spritualist in ghana call for any help 0244908520

• Yoofi 8 years ago

Nobody forced them to become Judges doing Public Service. They could have become Spare Parts sellers at Duane or Market Women at Makola who have become rich selling imported used tyres and Hollandais clothes.

As long as yo ...

• Yaw Paul 8 years ago

The Honorable High Court judge said it right. I know him personally and he is not one of those who say one thing and practice the other. He started his life on a low key somewhere in Kumasi. He distinguished himself at Circui ...

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

poor journalism. the headline and the text do not match. hwoever there was a mismatch of the comparison between being a pastor and a judge. the pastor wants money. the catholic church is the richest church and they did not ma ...

• Brogya 8 years ago

Ghanaians now know why our judges are corrupt. They take peanuts to skew judgements and then clothe themselves with the cloak of contempt to jail anybody who dares to challenge them. Ghanaian judges have lost their dignity an ...

• Akajatame 8 years ago

That judge kyie is a STUPID man telling me they didn't signed to be poor for that they should collect bribe to enrich themselves FOOLISH MAN.Kyie you are lucky Anas missed you so you can say what you like FOOLISH and IDIOT MA ...

• witch hunter 8 years ago

This judge takes bribes also according to what he is saying so it means even the policeman also joins the service not to be rich and not be poor so eitherway can take bribes to enrich himself or not to take to remain poor

• paul 8 years ago

So they should be rich through the back door, God is watching u

• kaketonti 8 years ago

ELITE,POLITICIANS;ALL PEN ROBBERS.LIKEWISE THE PRIESTS WHO STEALS IN THE LORD'S NAME.THE VULNERABLE HAS NO SAY

• Harry 8 years ago

One of the stupid comments coming from a judge.You retire on your salary..thats more than enough

• Justice Abokyi 8 years ago

What about the ethics of the profession? I am surprised that this noble gentleman is talking about Judges not signing up for "poverty". Before you take the position, is it not clear what the salary and emoluments are? Once yo ...

• KWABENA 8 years ago

So disgraceful of this so-called judge. If he wants to be rich, he should resign from the bench and go and do galamsey. Am so ashamed of this man, Baffuor.

• Jay 8 years ago

Some of you must read and understand the terms of someones speeches. He is not endorsing what his brothersome friends have done but saying that, though every one must be successful in his or her endeavour, must not be done wi ...

• Americano 8 years ago

Is good to become a rich person, but is to how you become rich

• Americano 8 years ago

Is good to become a rich person,but is to how you become that rich person

• ASEM 8 years ago

l guess you did not sign up to be bribe takers as well or you did?

• MR Wu tang 8 years ago

THIS IS AN OUTRAGEOUS STATEMENT INDEED? GHANAIANS NEED AN APOLOGY FROM YOU KYEI BAAFOUR?

• pablo 8 years ago

The citizens didn't sign up to be poor either

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

This is such a stupidly childish comment! Who goes into any profession to be poor? In any case, if you realise that you have mistakenly entered the wrong profession then just resign and find something new to do but just don't ...

• NANA USA 8 years ago

So Akuffo Addo and the whole NPP doesn't know this law and they call themselves lawyers?what a hell is this they are just threatening this Electoral commissioner.Akuffo Addo and this NPP need to be schooled by the NDC for bet ...