You are here: HomeNews2015 10 15Article 387915

Guggisberg; best leader Ghana ever had – Ace Ankomah

Read Comments Comments (126)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

LOOKING AT THE DESTRUCTION NDC HAS CAUSED TO THIS GREAT COUNTRY IN THE PAST 6 YEARS, ANY TALK ABOUT THIS INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT ADMINISTRATION WINNING THE 2016 GENERAL ELECTIONS, WOULD BE DEEMED AS A BIG INSULT ON THE INTELL ...

• LAST DON 8 years ago

In abundance of water the fool is tasty. In abundance of rich minerals the Ghanaian is poor. When one of its members tried to bring transformation you will see the endemic silly minded shouting you cannot do it. Truly a proph ...

• Baba 8 years ago

You can never effectively comment on any leader's performance just by reading the history books. You must have lived under that person to praise or demean that leader.

• akwasi 8 years ago

Baba your argument don't sound right. If in 40 years you are to write or tell your kids about the present NDC ,will you not include all what happen during their tenure . If not then you're not objective. I ve read all the ar ...

• SAY IT AS IT 8 years ago

JUST A PITY TO READ THIS FROM SOMEONE WHO HAVE TOUGHT AT OUR LAW SCHOOL. Hmmm ! That is why it is going as it is in our dear country.
    To me i think these folks whoese people would have been living still with nothing to clot ...

• K.K. 7 years ago

I don't agree, I wasn't born during the era of Gordon Guggisberg, but Korle -Bu, Takoradi harbour and the now collapsed Ghana Railways are there to be see. All people know is NPP/NDC, Hearts/Kotoko Ewe/Ashantis ,Northerners/S ...

• Kofi Nartey 8 years ago

Lat Don, what an excellent brief! I really enjoyed reading your post and in fact, it said it all. Yes, and sadly:-
    1. if one doesn't have the mind of Dr Kwame Nkrumah one can never bring change to Ghanaians and the minds of ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You said it but you forgot to add JJ Rawshit who came to power to eliminate corruption, but today his party are the ones sabotage our country, high unemployment, workers not being paid in years, dumsor, etc.. The way I see, t ...

• They Say They Say 8 years ago

This gov't is moving backward with the help of the opposition. If you don't believe me, explain why five sitting MPs would go to court to block the construction of ATUABO FREE PORT.

• Kofi arhin 8 years ago

Did Ankomah see Korle Bu hospital in 1957? For his information the Surgical block,the Maternity block and all those tall building were constructed under Nkrumah's government.Korle Bu was totally transformed in the early s ...

• TARANTULA 8 years ago

Kofi Arhin, I agree with you. The man is one of those who willingly, in spite of apparently many years of schooling, out of which I understand he has become one of these cheap, exploitative and corrupt Ghanaian lawyers, stubb ...

• tele 8 years ago

truth be told, you are right brother

• Jasmine 8 years ago

THIRSTY!

• Wumbedo 8 years ago

So Don, a person who is been scorched by the sun and has a parched mouth is tasty? Hahaha.

• Saman 8 years ago

How dare you compare the two brains? What do Neggers know other than sex, booz, and party? When it comes to creativity the Negger is light years behind every race. Even simple copying which the Asians have succesfully done Ne ...

• amoah 8 years ago

what can we expect from a man calling himself Ace

undocumented craps

• Bfire 8 years ago

Ace, why don't you tell us how much of our resources did Guggisberg sent from Ghana to his masters in Britain? When there were lack of schools and many children have to walk distances to get education. Be informed that even a ...

• the truth 8 years ago

At least he left some for the Gold coast. What did the other leaders do?

• JH. New York 8 years ago

Saman,you don't know what you
    talk about!.Below are few of the inventions of the Blackman :
    Soap (liquid & solid),Ink(for writing),
    Gas Burnner,Guitar,Shoe,Shoe Lace, Ice Cream,and more than 60 others.
    I will look for th ...

• Novinye 8 years ago

Mahama and his brainless greedy bastards are the worst will be the worst in the history of Ghana. But this Ace Ankama is also sick (not brain dead like dead goat though). Guggisberg was never a president of Ghana but Gold Co ...

• Salome 8 years ago

Nothing calling itself government will be worse than dramani and his useless team. Below the low IQ executive, members of parliament, goat taking judges, Ghana will cease to exist. Surprisingly this useless president consciou ...

• JAKE 8 years ago

JOHN KUFFOUR ERA WAS THE WORSE OVER GHANA HAVE EVER HAD.PROPERTY OWNERS PARTY.

• KK 8 years ago

THAT IS WHY GOD WILL NOT GIVE NANA ADDO THE OPPORTUNITY TO BE PRESIDENT.

• Nana 8 years ago

Tracing best leader in history to Guggisberg is stupid and absurd. Are you drunk?

• United Ghana 8 years ago

True. It's absurd. I thought this guy had more intelligence than that.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH DID MORE THAN GUGGISBERG.
    MOTORWAY.
    FREE EDUCATIN.
    AKOSOMBO DAM.
    WORKERS BRIGADE.KNUST.
    TEMA HARBOUR.
    CAPE COAST UNIVERSITY.
    POLYTHECHNICS.
    MYOHUANG BARRACKS.
    MICHEL CAMP.
    JOB 600.
    WINNEBA UNIVERSITY. ...

• faith VILLAINS 8 years ago

Nyaniba estates
    city hotel
    caterine rest houses
    meridian hotel
    continental
    kotoka airport
    other estates throughout the country.
    Hey, don't mess with Nkrumah's achievements. It was too much for his durations with measl ...

This grandma was one of the rich Ghanaian women in those days. She shared so much with us. Rest her soul Manu. Born 1910.

• Johannes B Awotwe 8 years ago

Prince...

there was noting like Winneba University at the time of Nkrumah. There was perhaps Advanced Teacher Training College.

• Opoku Kwarteng 8 years ago

...... and of course Kwame Nkrumah Ideological Institute in Winneba.

You left out the ff by Nkrumah.
    Kanda Estates,Osu Estates,Labone Estates,Yaneba Estates,Cantoments Estates,Drs Flats,Latebiokoshie Flats,
    GBC and GBC TV, Burma Camp.37 Military Hospital,Ghana Education Trust : Over 200 Sec ...

Corrections:
    Catering Rest House,Meridian Hotel

• pazuki 8 years ago

Thank you, the most stupid and mentally retarded comments of the century. This guy is kwasia paaa

• school boy 8 years ago

Truly this is the most truthful statement I have ever read on this website. Its a shame how our past and present leaders have all failed us and yet glorify themselves as Lords and honorables. I shit over their heads one y one ...

• Nun 8 years ago

I don't know your background and how you could say such offensive thing. Did you think of what they could have done but didn't do? Whatever your opinion, to say your colonial master was the best government is a very careless ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

He probably admires white people so much he wishes he was one of them. This is the typical display of lack of racial consciousness, inferiority complex from "educated" Africans. Shame on you, Ace.

No, what the guy is the truth. Even a s colonial leader, look at what Sir Guggisberg did. Compare that to what we have been able to do for ourselves. I completely agree that no ruler of Gold Coast/Ghana has done better than S ...

• Charles Adjei 8 years ago

I guess developing only Cape Coast, Takoradi and Accra is ok to qualify the Colonial master a pass?
    Keeping others uneducated, and under development was what Mr. Ace Ankomah wanted. ...

Kofi, what you people are forgetting is that, the same person shipped thousands of kilograms of pure gold to the colonial masters in Great Britain.

It is true he did something for Ghana, but it was just about a micro-frac ...

But Johannes, have we stopped shipping the gold abroad after they left? Now we are even stealing the country's money and saving it in foreign lands. Look at how we are watching foreigners destroy our environment with our own ...

• kofi adu 8 years ago

Fool, he came and took everything including human beings. Wake up.

• Nun 8 years ago

Those who are selling this country cheap abroad simply because they don't like the government should be ashamed of themselves. This is tantamount to treason. Internal politics should be distinguished from matters that questio ...

• Wumbedo 8 years ago

Don't let your emotions cloud your perspectives.

• kofighana 8 years ago

What the colonists did in113 years Ghanains use 10 years to sursurpass it Ace Akomah go for president

• Les 8 years ago

this guy is talking like class 6 social studies pupil. he just want to be heard.

• Comment 250 8 years ago

That experiment was an evil design and it has worked perfectly for them, hasn't it?

• Tibaa 8 years ago

To extrapolate from within the buffoonery logic of Ace Ankomah, then, we might need to beg for re-colonization of Ghana if we are to develop. What a fool.

It is people of such caliber who claim to be at the forefront of ou ...

• DHURUWAH 8 years ago

Whatever the British did was to their benefit. Where the hell were you anyway when Guggisberg was our colonial master. I bet you were not even born. Shine your eyes Ace. The railways was to transport our natural resources to ...

• kOBY 8 years ago

Ace,
    Why the comparism between colonial leader and post-colonial leaders of Ghana.The comparism is silly. You don't want o iveany cret to Nkrumah because he was ahead of his Peers in Ghana.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

SO THIS STUPID MAN WAS A LAW PROFESSOR AT GHANA LAW SCHOOL?
    HE IS A HOUSE NIGGER WHO IS PRAISING A COLONIAL WHITE MAN AND SNUBBING HIS OWN.
    NKRUMAH DID MORE THAN GUGGISBERG.

• Bongu Lion 8 years ago

Tone down Prinzy, you´re not the insulting type. The guy made a mistake by failing to mention Osagyefo´s achievements and that´s quite clear but he still have a point with his statements.
    Consider the fact that,that ...

• Etweba 8 years ago

Honestly, how can this chap belittle our leaders. Why then is he still living in Ghana. No leader in any country can achieve everything. They come and go.
    Even his colonial hero could not all so what is he talkin ...

• Agbley 8 years ago

Why this comparison? We are talking about our own brothers and not the person who rule us with the gun. Could we respond to the tactics of their rule today and not talk about apathy? Let us appreciate what we have. Let us ...

• jos 8 years ago

How old is ace ankamah when guggisberg was around sometimes this so called intellectuals makes some remarks you ask yourself whether they are ignorant or just want to be heard.

• Mr Objective 8 years ago

The contemplation of this colonial-apologist does not deserve comment.
    Forward Ever!
    Backward Never!!
    There is victory for us!!!

• popi 8 years ago

If that is what you call a leader ... and of Ghana, I feel really sorry for you. You think anything the likes of them did was for y/our benefit: sad. No wonder: you can never overcome colonized mindedness. You should concentr ...

• Dela 8 years ago

Massa, ,you have got it all wrong. Ask yourself what was the population of Ghana at that time n march it with now. Korlebu has seen massive infrastructure changes since Nkrumah era till now

• DDT 8 years ago

The name" Ace" tells you that this guy was adopted from neighbouring country . He has little knowledge about Ghana and as well as it's leaders. But anyway i agree with you about mahama government failling to prosecute or col ...

• Father Pee 8 years ago

When you read what some ghaians has written about what ace Ankomah said and their responds it is clear some ghanaians lack thinking. Kwame Nkrumah is the most stupid among all leaders Ghana hsa ever had. During Nkrumah time a ...

Nana Addo's father and uncle were traitors.. the Colonial masters were taking care of them.. Nana Addo and his family has milk Ghana dry for a very long time.. .... so any body associated with them are just like them ....

• gregory bespalov 8 years ago

Ace makes a very good point. He cannot be ridiculed for it because he has laid bare achievements and failures over successive governments on the same platform. I am surprised he did not focus on Nkrumah to give him enough kud ...

• Eric 8 years ago

Whatever you do to blacks,blacks are still blacks.Blacks have no brains togovern themselves,blacks have lost their Atom Apart from food and sex blacks have nothing to worry.Disgraced race.

Thank God, someone knows unadulterated history!

• Akwasi Prempeh 8 years ago

I leave in Europe, not very close to the system but Ace is my MAN.He hit it right there. RESPECT Ace.

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 8 years ago

Why are you in Europe? Isn't it because Guggisburg robbed you of your birthrites?

• Kekeli 8 years ago

This are the people who taught at the university and Ghana is last on the academic ladder. How can you compare a colonial master government to post independence governance? Worst government, yes, NDC is the worst except fools ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

He doesn't belong to Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana. If a Lawyer in 2015 Ghana accepts oppression and is indifferent to exploitation by foreigners on our land, then as Nkrumah said, the minds of the people has not changed.

• kwesi 8 years ago

You are damn stupid and a liar.who are you trying to impress? My God, educated person.

When Guggisberg was the governor of the Gold Coast people because of the colour of their skin can not attend some institutions and hospitals.

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

With brains like this is it any wonder some ache for the yesteryears of the unaccountable- colonial-rule of the natives?
    But, I pray the African God hasn't lost hope in the continent. It got a long way to go !

• Toni 8 years ago

How much did the British take? Have you ever considered that our problems stem from colonial rule?

• NII (STAUNCH RASCIST) 8 years ago

WHEN I READ SUCH CRAP FROM PEOPLE LIKE THIS GUY,I VOMIT UNCEASINGLY.ALL I SAY TO MYSELF IS THAT YES THE PROGRAM IS WORKING.SPONSORED CRIMINALS,DEVILS,BASTARDS,PIGS,PEODOPHILES,SODOMISTS,SCAVENGERS,,THIEVES,RAPISTS,RASCISTS,L ...

• Omanba 8 years ago

Kwame Numah wasted the huge amout of moey and resources the colonialists left in the country's coffers.

Was Nkrumah, at Independence, not capable of linking the capital Accra, with all the regional capitals as late Houeph ...

• TUOZZAFI 8 years ago

I don't know who the writer of this article is, but the plural of MONEY is MONEYS and not monies. It is annoying to see monies all over the place. Look for your Practical English Book by Ogundipe & Tredgido .....hahaha

• Kwame Karikari 8 years ago

Tuozzafi, I guess that you have been reading the wrong books. Money is an uncountable noun and as such, it has no plural. Spellings such a "moneys" or "monies" are allowed in certain old or technical usages though. For exampl ...

British English uses moneys and American uses monies. Similarly analogies are colour and color; light and lite, defense and defence...

By the way Ogundipe & Tredgido 'is' neither of both but rather west African English. I ...

• insp we.i 8 years ago

Are you drunk or on drugs, Ace? With a name like ACE, no wonder you have slave mentality. Next time think before you talk.

• akwasi 8 years ago

What Ace wrote is the absolute truth. Face the facts our leaders are selfish.. Look at our present government. Borrowing after borrowing . Too many promises and even handing our tax payer money to unscrupulous individuals th ...

• kk 8 years ago

Mahama is a disaster ,his praise singers are those who benefit from his loots .Some of his so called achievements are very funny,I lough whenever I hear those things .And I believe he laughs too. Those who praise him are dogs ...

• salifu Ahmed 8 years ago

I think its time to let Chinese rules ghana than mahama win again with mahama ghana is Doom

• Dzakpata 8 years ago

Thank you Ace. Even if not the whole truth. The British left Ghana with a good educational system, but we destroyed it. How do you evaluate a hard working teacher now. Every regime after independence created its class of rich ...

• OMAÑNI 8 years ago

Seems this guy is confused,Ghana went to independence was wrong,president used veto to released citizen is failed,what he never said is who will be the perfect,why it is everyone agenda to go radio station to spew nonsense .

• NiiBi 8 years ago

Since when did the imperialist have the best interest of the subjugated at heart .

These half baked intellectuals who buy into the narative of empire that the African is a basket case that needs saving are the reason we ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 8 years ago

As with slavery, the worst damage done by colonialism was to the mind. Frantz Fanon, the internationally-renowned, clinical psychiatrist and revolutionary, who lived in Ghana circa 1958, has already provided us with the an ex ...

• NiiBi 8 years ago

"...The Black man is capable of managing is own affairs..."

I pity Ace Ankomah and his sort who dont seem to understand the way of this world(sitz im leben).

Its obvious the kinda of education we are having is doing us ...

• #kk 8 years ago

Well said massa

• tiger 8 years ago

goes this thug know guggisberg at al.
    no wonder Busia and danquah J.B did everything they could to stop our Independence.The npp thugs are just like the UP thugs

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

A ONE TERM PRESIDENT OF HOW MANY YEARS? WHY CAN'T YOU ELABORATE ON SUCH A PROPOSITION?

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

THIS IS A USELESS COMPARISON. HOW CAN ANYONE COMPARE GUGGISBERG AND GHANA'S OTHER LEADERS? GHANA DID NOT NOT OWE ANY COUNTRY ANY MONEY, GHANA WAS ALREADY RICH IN NATURAL RESOURCES - GOLD, DIAMOND, TIMBER, DIAMOND, BAUXITE ETC ...

I read keenly Mr. Ace Ankomah's proclamations on this subject matter with a very sad heart. The developments he talked about only happened in the southern sector. Gorgisberg kept the 3 northern regions and volter uneducated w ...

• Mudus 8 years ago

The miseducation of the Nigger has just been confirmed by the careless utterances of this so called lawyer. You are really entitled to your own opinions, but I am highly disappointed in all that u said. I used to hold you in ...

Colonial brutal dictator who did what he pleases, stolen resources to his United Kingdom in exchange appeasement of your little biddy biddy self being promoted for accolades and worshipping. Only a son of bifches would recomm ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Ace you find it difficult to accept that apart from Nkrumah and Gen. Acheampon none of your mentors,have offered this nation leadership.So you just make a blanket statement.What was the motivation and profit of Guggisburg in ...

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

ANKOMA NEEDS RE-EDUCATION. COLONIALISM WAS PURELY EXPLOITATIVE. THE RAILWAYS WERE EXTENDED TO KUMASI TO HAUL TIMBER, GOLD AND OTHER RAW MATERIALS TO FEED UK INDUSTRIES. IT WAS CHEAPER TO TRAIN LOCAL WORKFORCE THAN BRING BRITI ...

• John 8 years ago

I think Ace Ankomah was short of saying that Akuffo Addo will score 100% when he comes to power and Ghanaians must vote for him

• Garvey Marcus 8 years ago

What a useless commentator, born in the 1970s u dare talk about guggisberrg as though you were out of your fathers balls at that time....

This is pure illiteracy

• TULA 8 years ago

Massa Ace Ankomah ; your comparison of Guggisberg leadership as the best leader although a good historical piece cannot stand up to proper scrutiny ;I would strongly disagree with some of the points you made because this Gug ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 8 years ago

Hardly any surprise that the morally and racially bankrupt Danquah-Busia operatives should fawn over our past colonial exploiters. The statistics speak for themselves. The CPP led by the great Osagyefo did, in 9 short years, ...

Ankomah that sound like cheap, nothing could be ashanti or swedru od type would have been coacoa kayeye, carrying big bag of coacoa from distance farm to the railway station for his amrado children to eat all the chocolade in ...

• Edefu 8 years ago

>> Below is a partial list of industries that were either in full operation before his overthrow or were about to be launched as part of his government’s seven-year development plan (1963/64-1970). That plan, by the way, wo ...

• Kasapreko KWABENA . 8 years ago

YOU ARE A FOOL !!! Had it not been for Dr. KWAME NKRUMAH, you wouldn't have had education. Kwame Nkrumah, was the man who had made it possible for you, and some other Ghanaians to be talking the nonsense you are dishing out t ...

• WILLIAM ODOIFIO 8 years ago

SMALL BOYS ARE YOUNG!! WHAT THE HELL IS THIS ANKOMAH TALKING ABOUT? SORRY ANKOMA YOUR ANALYSIS FALLS SHORT OF ANYTHING ACADEMIA LET ALONE REALITY!!. ARE YOU REALLY A LECTURER AND A SENIOR LECTURER FOR THAT MATTER? LORD HELP U ...

• TARANTULA 8 years ago

Correct

• DAGADOO,NY,NY 8 years ago

Indeed freedom is sweet!The freedom to open one's big mouth and pour out garbage,the freedom to pick up any History book or google up some History and put it out there verbatim.No analytical mind whatsoever,and make silly co ...

• kwabena ohemeng,london 8 years ago

A typical example of what the NNP is and believes in.They can never stop being puppets and praise singers of the imperialists and the neo-colonialiasts.Praising a colonial governor as the best leader in Ghana even though Gugg ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

Our leaders yearned for independence only to worsen what they thought were the "ills" in our society back then.We could today have been larger than south Africa. It is sad we are denigrating our own capabilities and integr ...

• Afari 8 years ago

I think Ace Ankomah should be sent to the mental health

• Afari 8 years ago

I think Ankomah should be sent mental health for not seeing any good leaders In the past Ghana have

• Concerned citizen 8 years ago

Guggisberg can only be considered the best leader Ghana ever had according Ace Ankomah's definition of Ghana, and his definition of development. It is immaterial to Ace Ankomah if nothing significant was done about the rest o ...

• Danny 8 years ago

Please leave this loud mouth alone, nobody takes him serious.

• N D 8 years ago

The biggest problem about us is our lack of ability to analyse without emotion. Ace simply compared someone who did not have to do anything good here; after all it was not his country, to our own fellow citizen's leadership a ...

• Abdul 8 years ago

What a fool, were the railroads being built to convey Ghana's raw material out or was it for the country's development. "Shegentaka". What's up with these white worshipers? Other than old warehouses in Accra, what other bu ...

• tiger 8 years ago

this Ace guy must be very ignorant about our history.Guggisbery was never a leader of Ghana.check your Facts before you open your mouth

• Julie 8 years ago

This man is always looking for attention, follow him on facebook and read his posts. It like the page of a secondary school boy. I believe he has some sort of psychological problem. Nowadays people have completely stopped off ...

• Lou 8 years ago

What an idiot!!! No brains.

• Bawku boy 8 years ago

Even though people are entitled to their opinions l think ace six is trying to gag Ghanaians with his imperialist ideas. Yes, the imperial governor did all that but he failed to develope the north cause ace's forbears ganged ...

• Efo Kwaaku Canada 8 years ago

This is really stupidity talk, where were this idiot during Guggisberg and he was a lecturer? Tell me one of his implementation helping poor Ghanaians now, 21st century and you are talking about 18 centuries what an amazing i ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

I find this article very strange. Guggisberg was a Colonial Administrator whose primary interests & allegiance was to the British Crown. Therefore, he served in other African countries as a British Colonial Administrator & n ...

• Marquis 8 years ago

We did not have democratic government under the British Rule so you cannot compare his time to anyone. You are definitely wrong. he could have done better than what he did when he had all the money available. The British Gove ...

• K-Lomo 8 years ago

In abundance of water the full is THIRSTY not TASTY

• KB 8 years ago

This Rocky fails to include Osagyefo Dr Nkrumah, this proved that, he's opposition UP, elite family.Opposition UP rates Nkrumah as dictator, outsiders regardes him as great man of Africa. After his overthrown tell me which ...

• beddy 8 years ago

Ace is one critical mind and very analytical on issues and usually spot on. But on this occasion I totally disagree with him.
    I wish he had attached a more scientific evidence to his assertion of leadership supremacy of Sir ...

• kwasi kyei baffour,Atlanta,usa. 8 years ago

you are comparing apples to oranges.governor Guggisberg is a colonial administrator,a foreigner and a white person.i am from Akim oda,he helped the town with a government school where all the then educated people got their ed ...

• Sekyi 8 years ago

Guggisberg didn't face the assassination attempts and bomb throwing that Nkrumah suffered in his bid to develop the country. Guggisberg didn't face that kind of stupid opposition who violently opposed everything Nkrumah did. ...

• Koncerned citizen 8 years ago

Lawyer Ace. Re-phrase your script well. I know Lawyers insist on the right and better particulars. So the facts must be correct. Governor Guggisberg was a leader in the Gold Coast. He never ruled Ghana so how does he become t ...

• Samuel Benison 8 years ago

Unfortunately, Mr.Ankoma, a full blooded Ghanaian, has no achievement to flaunt.The last time I he shocked me was when he openly and shamelessly confessed that he refused to become a judge because he could not trust himself f ...