You are here: HomeNews2015 10 15Article 387752

We abandon our customary practices at our own peril – K. B. Asante

Read Comments Comments (20)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Nana Binaddo is a Snake egg and should NOT be allowed to hatch any further eggs. His father is a dangerous man , he took money from outsiders and threw this country into chaos in 60s.

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Why should African women feel ashamed to retain their natural hair? They must treat it to look 'like' white hair before they feel comfortable. Very soon they they will start perming the hair over that private part!

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

Don't blame our poor girls, blame those male chauvinists and genetically inferior Ghanaian women who think cutting off all little girls hair before they start early childhood education is a psychological benefit.

Matter of ...

• The African Patriot 8 years ago

It is an unbelievable pity that we have sold minds like yours that post nonsense even on such a reportage by Prof. Asante. It beats my understanding and shows clearly your hired job you are doing.

Pleae try to remain neutr ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Why do Ashantis bury their Chiefs with murdered people?

• GORGORDUTOR 8 years ago

Every culture used to do it. So Asante were are among the last of the subcultures in our cultural region to give it up! SO WHAT???!! It's in the past. You better worry about the folks who steady carrying out their modern day ...

• Real African 8 years ago

Very good question . ???

• KOFI 8 years ago

Well said!

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

The civilized world now agrees that slavery is an abomination. What moral justification do we get from the God of Abraham on slavery? It appears the creator of the universe clearly expected the black man to be a slave. See Le ...

• GORGORDUTOR 8 years ago

Bravo!! Ayekoo Wutrinkwa!!
    Well said!

• Aj 8 years ago

Mr Joe,I strongly disagree with you. Most High GOD didn't justify slavery, it's was human institution due to idol worshiping and territorial behaviour.we see it happening in some areas as at now.the white man didn't bring Chr ...

• Solokoko 8 years ago

Cultural practices should benefit and develop us in the society; so what practices is this man talking about?? Putting blood on stones/stools and perpetuating our chieftaincy system is not going to help us; it belongs to hist ...

• kofi adu 8 years ago

This common sense has my consideration for the longest. They tried as much to bring us Christianity but got lost along the way,sanctioning(gay).Keep our own. Please.

• Anita 8 years ago

Who are we fooling. When we respected our own cultural practices gay issues was not part of the agenda. Has anyone seen a He goat mounting another he goat with a goat. Or a bull cow mounting a a fellow bull cow.
    This is what ...

• ZOMAYI 8 years ago

WHEN OTHER COUNTRIES ARE TRYING TO ERADICATE POVERTY AND DEVELOP, WE ARE TALKING ABOUT MAINTAINING CULTURAL PRACTICES. WHAT NONSENSE!!! WE SHALL MAINTAIN THESE PRACTICES IN COMPLETE AND UTTER DUMSOR DARKNESS!!!!!

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A Ghanaian Tourist, looking for sex, accepted a prostitute's terms. When she undressed, he noticed that she had no pubic hair. The man shouted, "What, no wool? In my country all women have wool down there." The prostitute sna ...

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

THW PROBLEM WITH PEOPLE LIKE KB ASANTE IS THAT THEY EVELUATE THEMSELVES WITH CRITERIA SET BY OTHERS. GHANAIANS HAVE A DOCTRINE OF GOD FAR SUPERIOR TO THE BIBLICAL NOTION, YET WE SEEK TO BE CHRISTIANS. GHANAIANS POSIT THAT MAN ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Most of the abhorrent fashion faux pas indicated by KB are committed by our ignorant sisters in their ridiculous Brazilian wigs! The wearing of wigs is so past tense as prevailed in the Elizabethan age, so why do our misguide ...

• Real African 8 years ago

K.B. Asante , I salute u , u hv said it all, people like u should rule Ghana, not those sellouts like Akufo Addo, these people don't deserve to rule anything let alone a nation. These people bow for a White man, they dont hv ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

We've let ourselves down. God's creatures